GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

SOULCALIBUR V

SOULCALIBUR V is the latest entry in the premier weapons-based head-to-head fighting series. SOULCALIBUR V takes place 17 years after the events of SOULCALIBUR IV and continues the epic story of warriors in search of the legendary SOUL Swords in 17th century Europe. The heroic battles transpire in a beautiful and fluid world with eye-popping graphics and visual appeal. SOULCALIBUR V tunes the battle, ,movement, and visual systems so players can pull off cool dynamic attacks with ease and battle with complete freedom.
Average Customer Rating:
6.98
7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (74 reviews)
10 stars
11
9 stars
10
8 stars
4
7 stars
3
6 stars
8
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
4
27 out of 4955%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for SOULCALIBUR V
Review 1 for SOULCALIBUR V
WOOHOO!
Posted on:1/12/12
blackOPS48
Location: NY
cool soulcalibur v is almost out and it looks like they have new characters there's a video below to see some.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
here's a video of some characters in the game,enjoy!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 2 for SOULCALIBUR V
Things are looking good for Soul Calibur fans...
Posted on:10/12/11
Electronaut72
Location: Acworth, GA
Soul Calibur 4 left something to be desired for me. Sure, the graphics were great and the gameplay was as solid as ever...but it seemed to be lacking in new fighters (Hilde and Algol were the only new canonical characters). Also, something is starting to feel stale about the arenas...am I the only one getting tired of flat, geometrical stages with deep chasms at the edge? Soul Calibur 5 will hopefully address these issues. Zwei and Viola are the only entirely new characters that have been announced so far, but it looks like the returning ones--and their stand-ins such as Patroklos, Pyrrha, Natsu, and Leixia--will be significantly beefed-up with new tricks and moves. I doubt we'll ever see the return of uneven arenas via Tekken 4 and Virtua Fighter 3, but something needs to be done to make the stages in SC5 more organic and exciting. Whatever Namco does, I'm confident this sequel will pack the punch that SC4 was meant to have. If weapons-based fighters are your thing, I say a pre-order is justified.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for SOULCALIBUR V
Worst Soul Calibur to Date
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/3/12
EMAN64
I've owned every Soul Calibur game in the series, (including getting the different versions for gamecube, xbox, ps2, etc... due to special characters per platform). Soul Calibur V is by far the worst of the bunch. First, almost all of the original characters were taken out of the game (1-4 kept the majority of characters in with the exception of a few new ones) for the sake of the terrible story line that this game has. I beat the story mode in under two hours. After noticing no "Tower Mode" like in Soul Calibur IV I tried the create a character mode, hoping it would be better or as good as Soul Calibur IV. It's absolute garbage, no stats, rarely any items, next to no customizables. I give this game 2310 due to it maintained it's fighting system, beautiful graphics, and music. Like some other reviewers said, if you want to play a great game, go back to Soul Calibur II or IV. Will be returning this game the same day I bought it, absolute waste of money.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for SOULCALIBUR V
Best Soul Calibur yet!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/15/12
Sonata
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Soul Calibur V is Awesome the best soul calibur since 2. It has a weak story but the other offline modes are fun, is true the arcade mode is simple but if you enjoy the gameplay (the fighting) it wont even matter, legendary souls is good for improving skills(when you beat it you know your getting good at the game) and the quick battle mode is 240 matches of random create players around the world is distracting and a lot of fun. The creation mode is the best in the series and the multiplayer is easy the best online multiplayer in a fighting game i played, it runs smooth most of the time even if it has a 2 bar connection, also has your standard ranked and player matches with spectator mode and a lobby room similar to that on mortal kombat for text chat and a replay mode that lets you upload your replay or download replays from other players...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
95959595
 
Please wait while more information about 95959595 is loaded.
Additional information about 95959595 could not be loaded.
not
Posted 2/24/12
you prlly havnt played the game its so bad.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for SOULCALIBUR V
s-w-e-e-t
Posted on:10/15/11
zeldahero
Location: Ohio , OH
The 4th was really awesome and this will be too . The new characters and weapons look sweet . along with the returning past characters looking different but still cool ! The new story and fighting areas look epic . The soul calibur fans out there will not be dissapointed I can tell that already !!! : )
 
My Product Recommendations
 
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for SOULCALIBUR V
The Soul Still Has a Faint Glow
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/4/12
Viselin
Location: PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The Good:
+A diverse cast of fighters
+Small tweaks to the gameplay really add something to the battle
+Customizable characters
+Gorgeous game and a great soundtrack
+Intense, fast paced gameplay is the best you're going to find in the series yet
The Bad:
-The story mode is forgettable
-The new characters are fun to play as, but no individual stories or relationships are explored
-It is actually a shame that Soul Calibur V offers the fewest amount of gameplay modes out of any game in the main series. The gameplay is immensely fun but previous games in the series have offered a much more robust single player experience
Soul Calibur has been a modern staple in the fighting game genre since the first game hit the arcade in the late 90's. Showing us interesting characters and creating an exciting fighting system that few games can imitate to this day. The games have always been fun to play because the gameplay has always been expanding. As the fighting genre evolves, however, Soul Calibur can't seem to keep up. Not because it offers something so similar with each new installment, but because it seems to offer less. Soul Calibur V is a good game, but only the die hard Soul Calibur fan is likely to appreciate it for what it is. If you're looking for great gameplay and a lot of fun, Soul Calibur V delivers. But it comes up short in other areas.
In terms of story, Soul Calibur V offers to take its story a bit more seriously than the fourth installment. Unfortunately, much of the story isn't a lot of fun. You'll be controlling Sophithia's son Patroklos. If you opt to play through the story, you're going to have to take time to get acquainted with him because you'll be playing as him a lot. In other instances you'll play as his sister Pyrrha instead. Since it's primarily Patroklos's story it makes sense to play as him, but if you're not experienced with fighting as him (or don't prefer him) the story mode is likely to feel like a chore. That doesn't matter anyway because the story isn't all that exciting. There are set piece battles that have you fighting various characters throughout, but the intermissions in between aren't quite as well presented. There aren't a lot of cutscenes but rather a lot of hand drawn storyboards to present the story... but they're not very detailed. The pacing is even worse as the story moves slightly too fast at parts, with sudden turns and changes without the proper set up or backdrop. You're simply going to find yourself in a lot of instances in which you simply don't care what's going on. It's just all around bad.
The story in Soul Calibur has rarely been as interesting as the relationships between characters, though. Unfortunately Soul Calibur V doesn't always play up to that, either. Most of the characters you remember don't return. Rather characters that were either trained by them... or descendents are here instead. And while some of them are fun to play as, Soul Calibur V does almost nothing to really introduce you to these characters or get you to understand them. The lack of individual stories ends up taking away from a lot of the new characters. They control well in combat, but it's hard not to miss some of the other characters that we've grown familiar with over the years and actually invested in. Here are there are virtually no individual stories to explore.
In this day and age, offering a good single player experience in a fighter is quite important. Soul Calibur V offers the story mode and an Arcade mode, but not much more beyond that. There's a Legendary Souls mode, which unlocks after completing the story where you'll fight some really tough opponents, but it's not very long. It's hard to admit that one might be craving more. This is especially strange because previous Soul Calibur outings have offered up a pretty delightful single player experience. Soul Calibur II had a very expansive (and very fun) weapons master mode. Soul Calibur III had a story mode and chronicles of the sword mode. Soul Calibur IV even had the Tower of Souls, which was more or less a challenge mode in and of itself. It's a shame, then, that Soul Calibur V offers up much less. The Arcade Mode has also been downgraded. There are now only six battles instead of eight. You can, however, choose different paths for a very different experience.
The single player experience isn't much in Soul Calibur V but the strength in the game definitely exists within it's multiplayer. The actual play style has changed up slightly, but it's going to be extremely familiar to fans of the series. There is now a critical meter to pull off critical strikes. It's not likely to be necessary, but it makes for a much better implementation than Soul Calibur IV's Critical Finishes. They can also drastically turn the tide of battle. Battling is more fast paced here than ever before. It's also accessible to newcomers and series veterans alike. Many of the moves can be simple to pull off, but dig deep enough and there's some actual depth here. The only thing that really keeps it down, is that sometimes button mashing will help almost anyone finish a battle. Likewise, in some matches against AI controlled characters you can get them into an endless loop of grabs and throws. Don't think this will take away from the experience. Every character's move list is incredibly diverse. There are simple moves, sure, but every character also has a good set of moves that require a lot of skill and precision to pull off. Especially against other players. It's not just important to know your own movesets, but your opponents as well. Soul Calibur V is incredibly simple to play, but it will take a lot of time and patience to truly master it. Indeed, the story has little to offer, but the gameplay remains a fantastic staple. Enough to keep you coming back over and over again. It's fast paced, has a lot of variety... and at the end of the day it's just fun.
There are around 28 fighters to play as this time around. This is a slightly smaller roster than Soul Calibur IV, but it does cut down on the number of clones you'll find. There are also custom characters that you can create. The customization is quite in-depth because there's a lot you can do to create some very unique characters with various types of armor and clothing. It isn't quite as robust as Soul Calibur IV, however. In Soul Calibur IV the equipment actually impacted stats. It isn't quite the same here. Everything here is an aesthetic choice. And while it robs the game of some strategy, it does mean that you can create some pretty unique (and laughable) creations to battle with.
As mentioned earlier, Soul Calibur V does not bring back several characters. Quite a few series favorites such as Ivy, Siegfriend, Nightmare and Cervantes return (and they're instantly familiar) but even the new characters are likely to feel familiar since they are descendants (or students) of previous characters in the series. Leixia, for instance, is more or less Xianghua and plays very similar to her. Natsu replaces Taki... so on and so forth.
Ever since Soul Calibur II, we've seen cameo appearances in Soul Calibur. Soul Calibur II gave you a different character based on the console you chose (either Heihachi, Link or Spawn) while Soul Calibur IV offered up Darth Vader, Yoda and the Apprentice. Broken Destiny offered PSP players the chance to play as Kratos while Lloyd Irving from Tales of Symphonia popped up in Soul Calibur Legends. The guest character here is Ezio. Of all the characters to make an appearance in Soul Calibur, Ezio is probably the best of the lot. His move set is well defined and he just meshes with the nature of the game in and of itself.
If there's one thing we can be certain about with Soul Calibur it is that the games will ALWAYS look beautiful. Soul Calibur V is no exception. The animations are amazing and fast, the levels are gorgeous with astonishing detail. There isn't a lot that keeps it down. The music is also a lot of fun to listen to and the sound effects are amazing. What is a downer is some of the voice acting. The chit-chat before and after each fight has always been something forgettable in Soul Calibur, and those familiar with the series aren't likely to pay much attention, but rather jump into the fighting.
The good news is that the gameplay alone saves Soul Calibur V. When you battle with friends, especially, the game is immensely fun. From a multiplayer standpoint, Soul Calibur V certainly shines as the brightest out of the entire series. With the diverse set of moves that any character can pull off as well as the slight addition of Critical Edge strikes, Soul Calibur V can easily keep you entertained when you have someone to play with. Thanks to the fast pacing of the matches and the intensity of the battles you can happily enjoy Soul Calibur V in spite of the fact that the story in and of itself is completely forgettable and that there aren't nearly as many gameplay modes as previous entries in the series. Given the depth of the gameplay you're still likely to have a lot of fun with it. If you're a fan of Soul Calibur you'll find that in terms of gameplay the soul still burns.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
EXAGamer
Wilkes-Barre, PA
 
Please wait while more information about EXAGamer is loaded.
Additional information about EXAGamer could not be loaded.
...
Posted 12/8/12
That is the longest comment on Gamestop i have ever read.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for SOULCALIBUR V
Could flop...
Posted on:8/24/11
Ventus147
Location: TX
This is highly critical of the Soul series, but I noticed that AFTER SC3, Namco has been slacking off. SoulCalibur Legends for the Wii wasn't all that great, and I argue that Soul Calibur 4 for PS3/360 was even worse. The reasoning I have for those points are that SC4 had next to no modes at all, where did Team Battle and Time Attack and Survival (as separate modes) go? Where is our Weapon Master-esque mode?
The things I want SC5 not to do are:
-Tailor the audience to online gamers, not everyone can play online so they best be making the game have the same kinds of features offline such as leveling up a style or gaining EXP.
-Have a few amount of game modes. Game modes are what made SC2 and SC3 shine: Soul Calibur 2 had Arcade, Time Attack, VS Battle, Weapon Master, Survival, Team Battle, VS Team Battle, and possibly more with Extra versions of those modes. SC4 lacked so many required features of a proper Soul game, I hate to even refer to it as a Soul Calibur.
-Focus on graphics. This is where SC4 screwed up badly - it was so focused on having amazing graphics that Namco left out game modes, characters, and fun.
Now, you may say 'online play makes the game!' but I beg to differ: look at Goldeneye 007 or Perfect Dark for the Nintendo 64. Soul Calibur 2 for the PS2/GC, and more games. And you may also say 'graphics make the game!', but still I refer you to 007, PD, Zelda:Ocarina of Time and more games. Soul Calibur 5 needs to do what it does right, or else it'll fail just like SC4 did. I have high hopes for seeing Nightmare in this game, but other than that I'm not interested in the 17 year time skip...
7 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for SOULCALIBUR V
Downgrade from Soul Calibur IV
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:2/3/12
Nicopopolis
Location: Tulsa, OK
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Soul Calibur V just didn't live up to it's lineage for me. I bought the game on launch day, completed the story mode, and well, after that, there's not much left to do except try to earn "player points" so you can get unlocks so you can.... um... do what again? The clash system is gone, but there's this impact system that just honestly, isn't as good. You can make a custom chatacter and go online and play against other player.... records... or something. It's really to me, after playing Soul Calibur IV that had tons of game modes to conquer with unique rewards for each one and even if you did decide to just spend all day fighting your friends, still got rewarded for your game time, this one didn't live up to expectations with reduced playability, and reduced options. Even in the story mode, you're forced to play an unlikeable character through an unanimated storyboard presentation that is unfufilling for a $60 game.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for SOULCALIBUR V
not quite what i expected
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/2/12
quinncinati
Location: new jersey
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i was really looking for a great story mode in SC5 and tthats not quite what i got. instead of previous story modes where you pick your character and each has a ungique ending SC5's story is only played by three different characters(patroklos, pyrhha, Z.W.E.I.) who you can only play as during certain missions. its also fairly short only 20 episodes and it only took 2 hours to beat. although the story was easier to follow than SC4 and also more interesting being the fact that you cant freely choose from over 24 characters i most likely wont be playing story mode again. SC5 also lacks different modes theres only story, online, vs battle, quick battle, arcade, and soul legends. what i do like though is being able to customize your character a whole bunch more than SC4 and also only having to worry about it affecting your appearance. I also like the ability to level up your player profile offline it can make playing offline a little more interesting. The thiong i love most would defenitley be the new brave edge and acritical edge moves for each character wich lets you turn the tide of battle!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for SOULCALIBUR V
This Was Amazing!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/2/12
IpiRayan
Location: Nowhere, IL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Almost everything about this game was wonderful! The graphics, movement, and music was great. I loved creating characters and the story was interesting (even if the sound kept glitching on me during the panels). There was quite a bit of lag online but that's to be expected. I played it almost nonstop this weekend and even my sister (who doesn't play much) got involved (she loves the online play).
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for SOULCALIBUR V
Still The King Of 3D Swordplay
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/10/12
Electronaut72
Location: Acworth, GA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Soul Calibur 5 makes some important changes to Namco's signature weapon-based fighter, but is mostly more of the same...with a few things missing. The storyline takes place 17 years in the future from the last game--which means many of the series' mainstay characters have been replaced with their younger proteges. Sophitia is succeeded by her children, Patrokolos and Pyrra (and Elysium, respectively)...while Taki's stand-in is her student Natsu, ect. These characters are basically upgraded versions of their older counterparts; improved in most aspects with different attacks and animations. Newcomers Z.W.E.I and Voila add some much-needed diversity to the Soul Calibur weapon roster, and Ezio from Assassin's Creed fills the guest spot nicely. The gameplay has received a few improvements as well, such as the Critical / Brave Edge system which axes the instant death moves of SC4 for super attacks that require meter that builds over the course of battle (think hyper combos from Street Fighter 4). Arcade and Story mode are the main single-player attractions in SC5, and while the Story mode is short and stars mainly Patroklos, it narrates in a more organized fashion than previous entries. Character Creation returns, and is very robust with plenty of new items to tinker with (you can even use Devil Jin's move set from Tekken!). However, you'll notice there ARE some things lacking from SC5. The decision to cut some the series' most beloved characters is a real head-scratcher (Zasalamel, Talim, Yun-Seong, and Setsuka are nowhere to be found here). Tower Of Souls mode has also disappeared, and there are no individual endings in Arcade mode--at all. While Soul Calibur 5 may seem to have taken a few steps backward, it's still the king of weapon-based fighters. The character models and stages are slightly more refined than SC4, and the musical score--one of SC's long-running strong points in my opinion--ultimately satisfies with it's epic orchestral compositions. Online play is smooth, and the whole package is definitely an improvement over the SC4. Fighting fans probably won't be disappointed, save for the few older characters that are missing.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for SOULCALIBUR V
THE BEST GAME EVER!!!
Posted on:8/5/11
mattbadd
Location: San Diego, CA
Oh my god! I can't wait, SoulCalibur is the best game on the planet! the customization possibilities on SoulCalibur IV shocked me, I can't wait to see how they could possibly top it! I plan to become a video game designer when I graduate and SoulCalibur is about 45% of my inspiration with 45 of the remaining 55% being Kingdom Hearts and 10 of it being Tony Hawk (the whole series but especially Proving Grounds). SoulCalibur is that good, tied for best only because Kingdom Hearts has a slightly better story line, but with this upcoming game, that could all change! It could just take over the world of video gaming! I have to say thank you NAMCO, you're the best and I hope to work for you soon. NEVER STOP MAKING NEW ADDITIONS TO THE SOULCALIBUR UNIVERSE!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for SOULCALIBUR V
FANFLIPPINGTASTIC
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/26/12
BROKU
Location: Hillsborough, NJ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Ive been a fan of soul calibur since i was 9 when it came out on the game cube i was happy with the ending and was impressed by the game play and loved how they simplified it. This is a perfect game for hardcore and casual gamers alike.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for SOULCALIBUR V
Hopes Are Up
Posted on:12/24/11
SuperNinjaReject
Location: Princeton, TX
Soulcalibur is the most thrilling fighting series on the market. I mean you got swords and armor and what not... how could it not be awesome! Though i wish they made the ladies a little less revealing... Come On Guys! They're FAKE!! ... Exhibit A ... its a VIDEO GAME!!!
Nevertheless, I do recommend buying this game. You won't regret it! Character creation is da Bomb!
6 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for SOULCALIBUR V
it's about time
Posted on:5/26/11
gamefan4564
Location: shelbyville mi
it's been about 3 years since the forth soul calibur, and I want to see this come. I'm a huge fan of the series and I want to see what comes with this game
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
AyaAki
 
Please wait while more information about AyaAki is loaded.
Additional information about AyaAki could not be loaded.
Can't Wait
Posted 9/5/11
I was starting to think that the 4th one was the end...I hope Kilik and Xiangha are in this one...I mean if maxi is they have to be there two Can't wait to use the new characters as well...I hope that they also focus less on the online play...because sometimes people are just not into online play...
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for SOULCALIBUR V
Great Game But Lacking
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/4/12
SilverDiamond18
Location: Tampa, FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is an awesome fighting game. I love the new characters in this game how they fit well into the gameplay with there unique fighting skills; for example, if you play as Xiba it is not the same as playing as Kilik. Z.E.W.I and Viola you must learn how to use their additional weapons to fight at their full potential. The graphics are beautiful better than SCIV and when the armor breaks it has a better affect. The online gameplay is fun an enjoyable but sometime it lags a lot then you cannot finish your game and sometime it very annoying. The other con in this game is the story it is short and dry. The cutscences are beautiful but there is a limited amount, and even though Patroklos is my favorite character, but I wanted to know more about the other new characters and their storyline and how it interwined into the SC series, and some characters are not even in the story for example Raphael.The soundtrack is great but the character saids the most cheesey lines but it's Japan what do you expect.The character creation is great and more develop where you can adjust everything to your taste. This game has great gameplay, graphics, and new character but it lacks story and character development. The offline gameplay has a great setup but lags a lot even if you have 3 bars. I love this game but it still needs improvements.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for SOULCALIBUR V
great game! story was ok though
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/8/12
bigblue95
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i got this game couple of months ago defintly worth 35$ i love the game graphics are great i love the game play and fighting style. every character is unique with his own set of attacks and specials theres so much moves and combos i still haven't tried all of them yet. i also love that they have ezio in it(love assassins creed) and i love creation mode there's so much customization ive made tons of characters and real life ones from other video games or movies. i spend hours just making someone so over all great game very fun! the only con is the story was a bit short and could of been better besides that its awesome
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for SOULCALIBUR V
Hope this is GOOD.
Posted on:9/8/11
cleanS2K
Location: Melbourne, FL
I love the SC series. I just hope they realize that people want to play as new and original characters, NOT corney crossover characters. When they started that it ruined the franchise. just my opinion.
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for SOULCALIBUR V
An alright game.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/12/12
Yuffieisbeast
Don't get me wrong this is a good fighting game but it feels like a thousand steps backwards from the last soulcalibur. The original characters are what made soulcalibur and they took a lot of them out and three characters are mimic characters which is kind of dumb. I think the new cast of characters just ruined the series. So if you have played any other soulcalibur games I'd recommend the 4th before this one and this one is definitely not worth this price and if you have 4 just don't buy it and save yourself from a total dissapointment.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for SOULCALIBUR V
total headache i mean really..
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/5/12
PrinceBlast
Location: GA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Soul Calibur is always been known as one of them games u have 2 know wut ur doing to win not just press buttons and win ( like Tekken for Example) but ya number 5 charcters like Maxi got nerfed (downgrade) rlly bad i mean dang and dats mi best charatcer and hes da headache part if ur a real good fighter like me u love to counter well da counter is basically gone u have 2 have a certain amount of energy 2 perforom counters now i mean dang...so wen ur gettin pressured wen blockin wantin to counter and checkin ur bar 2 c u can do it especially online ur gonna get grabbed or hit outta ur guard cuz da bar is so tiny u can barely read it fast and see it wen it goes up so ya if u counter and u dnt have enuff energy u'll b wide open...and ya dats game..total hadache 4 true soul claibur fighters dis is mi total least favorite
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 9 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>