GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

SOULCALIBUR V

SOULCALIBUR V is the latest entry in the premier weapons-based head-to-head fighting series. SOULCALIBUR V takes place 17 years after the events of SOULCALIBUR IV and continues the epic story of warriors in search of the legendary SOUL Swords in 17th century Europe. The heroic battles transpire in a beautiful and fluid world with eye-popping graphics and visual appeal. SOULCALIBUR V tunes the battle, ,movement, and visual systems so players can pull off cool dynamic attacks with ease and battle with complete freedom.
Average Customer Rating:
6.98
7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (74 reviews)
10 stars
11
9 stars
10
8 stars
4
7 stars
3
6 stars
8
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
4
27 out of 4955%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for SOULCALIBUR V
Review 1 for SOULCALIBUR V
Why take out characters and lose fans?
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:1/11/14
kingpool
Location: Redford
It was great knowing soul calibur 5 was coming out after the great installment of soul calibur 4. It was not great, however, to remove many of the characters from the game. As a person with a life, i only have time to play with one character, and many others are the same. But when you take out a fan's only character who are you to play with? I am not a fan of this game anymore because it was just a stupid idea to take out characters and even replace them with other stupid looking characters. Tekken has over 50 characters and on it's like 8 installment. Never did they take numerous amount of characters out of the game. And if they did, they replaced with a similar character having about the same move set. Officially not a fan anymore.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 2 for SOULCALIBUR V
Great multiplayer, horrible singleplayer
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:8/28/13
Overrwatcher
Location: Irvine, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Let me sum this review up with one question: Do you like playing 3D fighting games like Soulcalibur online? IF YOU ANSWERED YES, buy this game now. It's everything you're looking for, and more. The fighting is super solid, there is plenty of multiplayer content, and the entire game was designed around multiplayer. Ezio is actually a surprisingly good addition, and I can see his ranged-focused kit pubstomping hard and changing up the game (noobs don't know 8-way movement). IF YOU ANSWERED NO, avoid this game and get Soulcalibur III instead. It's a step down in every way in that aspect. SCIII had a campaign for every single fighter, with multiple decisions and endings. Yes, every single fighter. SCIII also had another campaign which actually played kind of like a strategy RPG. Meanwhile, there were dozens of different game modes, tons of unlockables, tons of challenges, tons of everything. What does Soulcalibur V have? One horrible 2-hour campaign about an egotistical little brat whose sister becomes corrupted, a mode where you fight 6 random fighters, a mode where you fight random custom fighters, a mode to fight higher difficulty AI (i'll get to this), and a VS mode against either another local player or an AI. That's it. After 6 hours, I was sitting there, realizing that I had done everything interesting in the singleplayer that there was to do. It doesn't help that the AI kinda sucks. Either it sits around staring at you, or it does a 20-move combo and blocks in the .0001 second that it's given the opportunity to. There's no good in-between. What makes it worse is that in the campaign's normal difficulty, the entire game is the former except for the last 5 missions, where it immediately jumps to the latter, thinking that you can handle it. So, there's no point in that higher-difficulty AI thing unless you happen to play fighting games professionally. Overall, the game has a ton of fun and good options, but only if you play multiplayer. If you're a singleplayer person like me, then it is awful.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 3 for SOULCALIBUR V
singularity excellent
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/18/13
benkark
Location: The United States
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Perfect!creating a character for online lets a gamer get the feeling of creativity and they get to use any characters fighting style! Online rooms are great. I :just have so much to say. I'll put it into one word. EXCELLENCE
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for SOULCALIBUR V
DISAPPOINTING AND A DOWNGRADE
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:4/1/13
HAZEEN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
SOUL CALIBUR 4 WAS THE BEST ONE YET! THIS GAME DOES NOT HAVE THE NICE FLUID MOVEMENTS OF THE PREVIOUS FIGHTING GAME. IT IS LACKING IN DEPTH AND SEEMS BARFED OUT FOR PROFIT. THE STORY IS COOL BUT KIND OF GENERIC. ITS JUST DULL. SAE YA $$$$$$$$$$$
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 5 for SOULCALIBUR V
Buy Soulcalibur 4
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:3/26/13
acheron
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The new characters are terrible, there just copies of others and they're actually worse than the original characters. It's also been bit by the we want to be street fighter bug, all about combos/speed and not about tactical placement and timing. The CPUs cheat, they'll do the same moves in a 4 times in row. They seemingly change difficulty during battles, going from hit sponge to kill you in 15 seconds of a massive overpowered super combo. There are clearly over powered characters, Nightmare is not only strong but now as fast as Kilik. In terms of customization; to unlock items you have to clime up a lvl tree where you get actual customization items far and few between.
DO NOT BUY THIS! I REPEAT DO NOT!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 6 for SOULCALIBUR V
This game is perfect for everyone
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/12/13
dstock
My friend recomended this game to me and I wasn't expecting much. Once I started playing I was hooked I even bought a fight stick. Alone it is fun to work on combos and different moves, while when you have company over it is a great party game amongst friends. a must buy for any fighting game fan.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for SOULCALIBUR V
Horrific Game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/30/12
bwanye3117
Location: Minneapolis, MN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game sucks. It is not as good as the first 3.Cool characters, kinda. Bad game play!!!!!!!!!!!!! Bought it, sold it back. got a better game for less.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 8 for SOULCALIBUR V
FANFLIPPINGTASTIC
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/26/12
BROKU
Location: Hillsborough, NJ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Ive been a fan of soul calibur since i was 9 when it came out on the game cube i was happy with the ending and was impressed by the game play and loved how they simplified it. This is a perfect game for hardcore and casual gamers alike.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for SOULCALIBUR V
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/14/12
Cool10men
The game is extrmely fun.The graphics are great.The sound track is great too.The story was not the best.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 10 for SOULCALIBUR V
great game! story was ok though
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/8/12
bigblue95
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i got this game couple of months ago defintly worth 35$ i love the game graphics are great i love the game play and fighting style. every character is unique with his own set of attacks and specials theres so much moves and combos i still haven't tried all of them yet. i also love that they have ezio in it(love assassins creed) and i love creation mode there's so much customization ive made tons of characters and real life ones from other video games or movies. i spend hours just making someone so over all great game very fun! the only con is the story was a bit short and could of been better besides that its awesome
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for SOULCALIBUR V
It's a Good Game.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:6/26/12
simongwade
Location: USA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Overall, this game is a great pickup for $30.00. The game has great graphics and the fighting on the game is pretty great as well. The online mode can be a bit frustrating at times, but it's not insane. If you have the money laying around and you're looking for a fighting game, I would recommend you choose Soul Calibur V.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 12 for SOULCALIBUR V
Awesome customization, cheap gameplay
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:6/16/12
nomorefanboys
Location: Colorado
First of all lets get the bad out of the way. This game is a decent fighter but it is highly unbalanced and many fighters have cheap moves. Fighting nightmare can be a nightmare if you win the first rounds he will resort to cheap tactics. Fighting online is really bad high disconnection rates and lag probably the worst of any fighting game besides Tekken Prime 3ds. There is a a decent game here if you are forgiving of its many flaws.The graphics are good some here might say the best I wouldn't say it's the best looking but it is a good looking game. Customization on this game is fairly deep but it has its flaws as you can't add say a jacket over a shirt or weirdly some women clothes are available for men characters but mens clothes is not available for women. the other not so good thing is placement of tattoos is limited and uses outdated ways of placing tattoos. Customization is probably the only thing that will keep you playing just to unlock more clothes, accessories, armor, weapons ans such. The other dumb thing about customization you can't use a lot of accessories that the cast of characters has on. In short customization gives you an illusion that you can do anything but falls short. The story mode is bad and glitchy. Namco has a good start but they have a long way to go. My suggestion is to buy Virtua Fighter 5 Final Showdown for the ultimate 3d fight online experience. Cause the online on SCV is lacking. Its worth a rental though.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for SOULCALIBUR V
Ridiculously Disappointing.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:6/9/12
supermage
Location: Cincinnati,, OH
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
After tons and tons of hype, SCV finally released with a hearty slap across my face as I realized exactly how far this franchise has sunk. Allow me to break my review into sections. GAMEPLAY: The gameplay of SCV is the same as its predecessors, only ten times as frustrating. The AI is absurdly cheap, and constantly spams the worst moves and combos over and over until you beg for forgiveness. But the biggest slap in the face comes from the single player gameplay. In short, story mode is a joke. It tells a single story that follows newcomer Patroklos who earns my undying hatred as the single most annoying character in the franchise's history. Also, the game features a roster of over 30 characters, all who don't get their own story in story mode. Why should we care about a bunch of new fighters if we don't even get to find out their stories? Additionally, arcade mode is boring AND difficult, so it easily makes me want to play a different game. The only sole savior is the customization mode, but even that feels a little on the skimpy side with less customization pieces than SCIV with Namco attempting to fix the issue with insanely pricey DLC. The single player gameplay is boring and the multiplayer is average. Both are frustrating. GRAPHICS: In short, SCV is the most gorgeous fighter game out there, no joke. If you can handle getting your rear constantly handed to you by cheap AI, the lush scenery and expressive character models are genuinely impressive. I just wish such a gorgeous fighter wasn't ruined by such forgettable gameplay. SOUND: SCV's soundtrack is phenomenal. The entirely orchestrated music fits perfectly with the game and also serves as a source of excitement in such a lackluster game. LASTING APPEAL: Most will be tired of SCV in the first few hours of playing, myself included. Although the character creation was enough to secure my attention for a while, it wasn't enough to keep me interested in the limited amount of gameplay. It's very disappointing to see such a AAA game series sink so low. My opinion? Invest in past SC games or find another game that does a better job of making the fighting game SCV was SUPPOSED to be.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for SOULCALIBUR V
SC5 is awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/4/12
Mrlespaul
Location: Virginia
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The graphics look really good. Soundtrack is good. The gameplay feels really smooth and just flows. Lots of different modes. Character creation. This game is great and will last me some time. I have enjoyed all the SC games and I think 5 is a great addition to the series and definately has the best gameplay.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for SOULCALIBUR V
Awesome!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/3/12
Wolfdragon17
The game is great, the graphics are great, the fighting and moves are great, the sound is great, it is just a great game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 16 for SOULCALIBUR V
good game namco
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/5/12
adri1234
Location: Arecibo,PR
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is good have a good online and good offline modes to play i recomended this game for all gamers like me.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for SOULCALIBUR V
Worst Soul Caliber yet
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/3/12
xgmac13x
Location: Killeen, Tx
Graphics seem like they have gone backwards. I have always played on xbox and bought ps3 because i expected better graphics. Sound is ok game play is ehhhh. Out of all the others this one is the worst.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for SOULCALIBUR V
This Was Amazing!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/2/12
IpiRayan
Location: Nowhere, IL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Almost everything about this game was wonderful! The graphics, movement, and music was great. I loved creating characters and the story was interesting (even if the sound kept glitching on me during the panels). There was quite a bit of lag online but that's to be expected. I played it almost nonstop this weekend and even my sister (who doesn't play much) got involved (she loves the online play).
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for SOULCALIBUR V
The best fighting system the series has ever seen.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/28/12
KillerSodaCow
Location: Apple Valley, MN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Simply put, the fighting system is the best yet in the series. The developers obviously took most of their development time tweaking the fighting system and the online components. The Singe Player modes do suffer though in the process, but in my personal opinion, the trade-off is more than fine. I'd rather have a great FIGHTING system with little single player offerings, than a poor fighting system with a bevy of single player options.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for SOULCALIBUR V
the good and the bad
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/27/12
robot01100011011
Location: only stalkers read this
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The Bad
Story is a major letdown
spammers online lucky to meet someone who isn't
Character creation is decent but not what I was expecting
left out a lot of the old characters
The Good
Fun to play with friends
Fun if you play with a non spammer
cool new characters
Overall
I enjoyed the game because I have always been a soulcalibur fan and it had a good online when able to play with non spammers and very enjoyable with friends
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>