GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Rayman Origins

Michel Ancel, celebrated creator of Rayman®, Beyond Good & Evil® and the Raving Rabbids® returns to his roots to bring us Rayman® Origins: an all new 4-player co-op comic adventure set in a lush, 2D world, teeming with unexpected secrets and outlandish enemies. When the Glade of Dreams is overrun by "nefurrious" Darktoons, the Fairy Council hastily invokes Rayman to save the day; but the hero of light isn't quite all there...To help him, Rayman teams up with his best friend, Globox, and two crafty wizards, the Teensies. Together, the world's most hilarious team of heroes will need to restore peace to the Glade or watch as their beloved home vanishes like a bad dream...
Average Customer Rating:
9.529
9.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
10 stars
12
9 stars
4
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 out of 17100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rayman Origins
Review 1 for Rayman Origins
rayman - rabbids= EPICNESS
Posted on:7/6/11
originalraymanfan
Location: White Lake, MI
for all of you thinking of getting this game becuase you like liked the rabbids, DONT buy this it doesnt (hopefully) have any minigames and is based on a action plot and better not get messed up like rayman "4". back to subject this game looks epic although i think you need 4 players to get 100% completion :(
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Rayman Origins
Could be Better
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/10/12
Soccer123456789
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I got this game the first day it came out. I was hoping it would be good. It was. When I started playing, it was cool and colorful. When I got into the game, I figured out that it was just like Mario. You wlak in a straight line . Sometimes you can go back but you can not come back forword. You do not have special abilities like Mario tho. I am telling you first hand, BUY MARIO INSTEAD.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Trailer
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Rayman Origins
A cool remake of a classic game.
Posted on:8/11/11
RayTheUlitimateGamer
Location: Alameda
First off I want to say, I have decided to start uploading images on my reviews. The images I post are related to what the game is about. An example, if it's a classic game like this one, I will post a picture from Bit.Trip. If it's a music game I will post pictures of music notes. A shooting game, pictures of guns. You get it right? I think this game will be great! It is going to be an excellent remake, I'm sure of it.The best new feature is multiplayer. That will be awesome. It will be bringing back the classic 2-D platforming, it will not have rabbids, thankfully. Those rabbids were starting to annoy me. I hope it also has an online multiplayer. That would be cool.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
5 of 12 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
pacmanlover
USA
 
Please wait while more information about pacmanlover is loaded.
Additional information about pacmanlover could not be loaded.
Top 10 Contributor
Rayman YAY! :) :D
Posted 9/22/11
this is NOT a remake its all new! :) :D it will be good Tust me!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Rayman Origins
Rayman is back
Posted on:6/23/11
metaknightreviewr
Location: mo
rayman used to be in alot of platforming games, but then he came to the rabbid games. i like those games, but im glad the the real rayman is coming back.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Rayman Origins
Mario+Sonic+Donkey Kong
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/18/12
Anonymous
Location: Tyler, TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I didn't really give this game much attention after playing the demo on my PS3, but when I got it for Wii and my wife and I started playing it together I realized the awesomeness I was missing. We both love the old side scrollers like Mario, Sonic and DK and this game is like all three of those combined. The characters are goofy looking, but don't let that throw you like it did me. The art style in the game is simply amazing and the music is some of the best and catchy I've heard in a game in years. The gameplay is some of the most fluid I've seen in a sidescroller since Castlevania Symphony of the night. The amount of levels in the game is crazy too. Just when I thought I was about to beat it I got thirty more levels or more unlocked lol. For 20 bucks you can't go wrong. The fact that it's got 4 player mp makes it a must for all ages too. I'm simply in love with it and I haven't been able to say that about a game since FF8 and Symphony of the Night on the original playstation.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Rayman Origins
Rayman is back, baby!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/4/12
Gamersean
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
It has been nearly a decade since the last proper Rayman game (that being "Rayman 3: Hoodlum Havoc", because no one cared for the rabbids really.) and they could not have made a better way to celebrate this underrated hero than "Rayman Origins"! Rayman Origins is one of the best 2D platformers around (frankly, I hated New Super Mario Bros. Wii) and has some of the most beautiful graphics around! The game is hand-drawn and it feels like you are playing a animated film! The game is hard, yet it doesn't reach Mario Galaxy 2-level difficulty and can be enjoyed by gamers of any age. This game is indeed, a masterpiece.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Rayman Origins
No arms, No legs, and No Rabbids!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/8/12
Tragedy1994
Location: Cincinnati, OH
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Gaming icons come and go. Legends like Crash, and Spyro fade into obscurity and bargain bins, but at least people remember them for what they once were. For those who don't remember Rayman, there were 3 great platformers, a short-lived animated series (it was dumb, but at least he got a show), and several racing games, Rayman fell into a Rabbid-induced coma. But fret not my friends, because he's awake again, and this is possibly his best outing yet. Originally planned as a downloadable title, Rayman Origins is sort of the reboot for the series. Except unlike most reboots, it's awesome. Origins is one of the best titles to grace the recent 2D revival, and possibly one of the best sidescrollers of all time. The gameplay is hard to describe in words, so just hop on over to youtube or watch the video above. Basically it takes the best parts of Mario and Sonic, and incorpates them into the first Rayman. There are 10 worlds to explore, but the first four are lacking bosses, which was kind of weird, but whatever. Rayman can jump, swim, glide, swing, fly, wall run, and wall jump, and the levels take advantage of all these skills quite frequently, so it never feels dull or too easy, even when you're breezing through the earlier levels. The controls are perfect. No motion controls, and the movements are spot on. I never once died because of loose controls or cheap levels. The game supposts three controller types, all of which work flawlessly. For the most part the music was great, but i did find the music in the water levels to be annoying, and there is a scrapped theme for the final boss, which sounds so epic, i can't fathom why they scrapped it. Oh yeah, i almost forgot, the water levels in Origins are actually fun. Although its called "Origns" there's not much of a story involved. Rayman and his friends wake the dead with their snoring, and cause a bunch of nightmares to be born. So they fight the nightmares, save some provacatively dressed nymphs, and face off with a Mr. Dark impersonator. The story is really watered down from what was originally planned, which i found to be the only real flaw. That and the fact that the camera is zoomed out a bit too much at times. You can play with your self or with up to four players, but either way this game is a blast.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
randomgamer911
 
Please wait while more information about randomgamer911 is loaded.
Additional information about randomgamer911 could not be loaded.
Thanks alot!
Posted 3/25/12
This is a well written review. i so agree with your point about this game. Your review is actually one of the resons why i want this! :). can't wait to get this! thanks! :P
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Rayman Origins
He's Back, and Better Than Ever!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/31/12
CardKingdom101
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This game is so much fun! I love how the levels are short, yet challenging. The storyline is awesome! I definitely recommend this to Rayman fans, and kids who want an action - packed adventure.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Rayman Origins
best game on wii!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/10/12
Gamer3098
Location: Winchester, VA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is just awsome. The gameplay and controls are perfect. The hand drawn grapics are just amazing. ubi art frame work did a great job on doing the grapics. The sound is really clear, the music is awsome but not as good as the zelda series. There is so much playable characters, time challanges, and medals to unlock in this game that means that there is a lot left to do even after the end credits roll. But why is it $19.99?
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Rayman Origins
Rayman Origins is Amazing!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/23/12
GixxerPixxie
Location: Colorado
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I love this game and I've only had it for a couple of days. I have found myself laughing often about certain aspects of this game. It's SO addicting and a great side scroller!! It definitely has it's challenges even from the first stage, so I don't see getting sick of it too soon. I think this game should be in anybody's collection weather a hard core gamer or not.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Rayman Origins
big time awsomness
Posted on:6/17/11
jake345
Location: mcallen
finnnaly a decent rayman game with zero rabbids i guess the rabbids are busy with thier new kinect game alive y kicking wicth will proballly be extreimly bad, anyway back to rayamn the game is weird and in e3 it looked hard but i think i will master it in no time it has crazy elements and crazy action that makes no sense it might be good. even if it is extreimly weird wannna know what i mean in the game you are just in a volcano minding your buissnes when tetris blocks begin to fall !!!! you might think how do i know its tetris well the tetris music starts playing up how weird
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Rayman Origins
The best sidescrolling platformer for the wii.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/28/12
Deaththysoul
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game starts out very odd and the story doesn't give you much insight on the charecters but this is one of the best looking and best playing games i've played on the wii definitly in the top ten best games for my wii collection. Very tough last level and other parts but once you beat the game you feel vey rewarded and satisfied.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Rayman Origins
Decently hard but awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/1/12
Telesador
Location: Levittown, Pa
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is a pretty difficult game especially if you are trying to get everything, but it is worth it. Expect to spend lots of hours bubbling enemies (defeating) and doing all of the challenges. Worth every penny for sure.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Rayman Origins
Look's great!
Posted on:7/29/11
goomba
Location: Indianapolis,IN
I have played most rayman games, but this one looks like the best. Read the previews in both Game Informer and Nintendo Power, so I am psyched about this awesome platformer!
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Rayman Origins
One of the best platformers of all time!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/31/11
SR388E102
Location: WA
Wow! That's the one word to describe rayman origins. Everything from the gameplay, the controls, the level design, the animations, the music, and the challenge makes this a must own that all wii owners should experience. The gameplay is very unique than most other platformers. There's the simple running and jumping, but you'll unlock new moves such as attacking using punches and kicks. You'll be able to run on walls, change size through tight spaces, swim underwater, and use your helicopter hair to glide or fly with the wind current. This game has one of the best controls I've ever experienced in a 2D platformer. The controls are tight, precise, fluid, and perfect. However, some people might have some discomfort holding the wii-remote sideways, by holding the B trigger down to run. But I've gotten used to it, and using the B trigger feels fine to me. If you don't like holding it sideways, I reccomend you use the wii-remote and nunchuck combo. The classic controller feels the least comfortable. One of the best parts of the game, is it's clever level design. The levels have a rythmic pattern, that requires stage memorization to get through the tough parts. The levels are challenging, but fun. The unlockable level land of the livid dead will put your platforming skills to the test, and it's the best level design in the game. Platforming isn't the only thing you do in rayman origins. There are these moskito levels where you ride a moskito in a 2D shooter level. One of the cool things is that you can suck up enemies and spit it out at another group of enimies. You don't have to keep tapping the fire button, you can just hold down the fire button to autofire. But I prefer tapping it, because you get to fire faster. The moskito levels are fun, but not as fun as the platforming levels. The highlight of the game are the animations. The art style is pleasing to look at, but it's the animations is where the visuals shine. It feels like you're playing an interactive cartoon that controls like a platformer. The music is great too. The music is what also brings the stages to life with lots of charm. For a game that was originally planned to be a downloadable title, there's quite alot of replay value. You could try to get all the electoons and gold medals on all the levels by collecting enough lums and entering secret areas. You don't have to collect every single lum like in rayman 2 (or rayman 3D for 3DS), just enough to pass the mark. You can do time trials after you beat a level. Time trials are like speed-runs to get through the level as fast as possible. The clever level design is what makes these time trials more fun. The difficulty has a perfect balance. It's easy to play, can be finished with enough practice and patience. You do have unlimited lives, which eases the fustration. The real challenge is to get all the electoons, the gold medals, and the speed trophies. Overall, rayman origins is an awesome game! It's a love letter to anyone who has enjoyed a 2D platformer and more. I can't wait to see what the future holds for rayman. It's great to have the limbless hero back!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Rayman Origins
One of the best Rayman games ever!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/20/13
Curley
Location: California, CA
This game is perfect for: party gamers
I've been a Rayman fan for a while, and this game makes a great comeback for Rayman as one of Ubisoft's main mascots. In fact this game won 13 awards @ E3, and other unofficial awards for magnificent platforming. I highly suggest for others to play this through before playing the sequel. And 1 more thing I like about this game is this:
NO RABBIDS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 17 for Rayman Origins
The first real Rayman game since Rayman 3 (2003)
Posted on:8/8/11
Blueking
Location: Oregon
Its been over eight years since a Rayman game was made for true fans of the limbless hero. Ubisoft must of heard the prayers of many gamers begging for a true squeal to Rayman 3, but instead we are getting a prequel to the original 1995 Rayman Forever and it looks awesome. From the video I see that like in Rayman forever you have to free the Electoons from the cages, and those green guys are back. Man November is going to be an awesome month for gamers because quite a few games are coming out that month. I am so getting this.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MarioNumba1
 
Please wait while more information about MarioNumba1 is loaded.
Additional information about MarioNumba1 could not be loaded.
Rayman Returns!
Posted 4/9/12
A highly recommendable game for Mario, Sonic, Donkey Kong, or platformer games fans of any kind! With cartoonish graphics and silly endings, this game reigns supreme to the bulk of the Wii games out there!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for Rayman Origins
Finally
Posted on:11/8/11
MrOtterland
Location: New York, NY
Finally a real Rayman game every Rayman game as been a remake so it's about time to make a new game Thank You Ubisoft!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Rayman Origins
Fantastic platformer!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/18/13
theawesomegamer92
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Rayman Origins is a fantastic platformer for anyone. Even though it looks very silly, it is very challenging. The graphics are great, the music is outstanding, and with the perfect controls, every mistake feels like your own and not some cheap or unfair game mechanic. I would recommend this game to anyone who loves a good challenge or a platformer.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for Rayman Origins
rayman still has it
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/28/12
nintendoisunderated
Location: nintendo land
I am a big rayman fan, but for the past few years I have not played a rayman game. This game rekindled my interest in rayman and now i want rayman ledgends. I would recomend this game to anyone but especially platformor fans. I would even recommend this game before some mario games. (nsmb2)
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 2 next>>