GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Shinobi

Betrayed by your friend, you must battle an ancient and evil clan in this epic continuation of the acclaimed ShinobiTM series.
Average Customer Rating:
9.1
9.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
10 stars
5
9 stars
3
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 1090%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Shinobi
Review 1 for Shinobi
Nintendega's Review for Shinobi 3D
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/11/12
nintendega
Location: Clock Town waiting for the moon to fall!
This was the first Shinobi Game I had ever played. I had seen gameplay videos for the original for the genesis and the game gear version of the first one as well and they looked amazing. I got this game in a sort-of "what the heck" kind of moments and ended up loving it. The free play mode is really cool the story mode is fun. The controls are pretty simple and fun. The extra content is very vast such as unlockable art, trivia, music, and cheats to use in free play mode. The gameplay is very fun overall but kind of short. Overall the game is a good time-passer type game and is a good game to bring on a long trip or like in a waiting room or something. I really like this game but if you asked me about it I would tell you to rent it first. Sega is amazing and I hope they continue to make more games like this and more amazing Sonic games as well!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Shinobi
Awsome Ninga
Posted on:10/10/11
pacmanlover
Location: USA
in the 90s the Shinobi games ware poperly and Awsome Hard platformers with Ation and Hack and slash game play and Epic power ups! the new game shode be Good it looks cool its a fanes full platformer with deep conbat that Looks sayed is Sadisfing. i looks cool i will pobily git it! SO im happy to see one of Sega,s bigest frachises make a come back. now with this sweet game and sonic Gearchis comeing out its going to be awsome for Sega and thare Fans. this game seams realy interactife like u have a lot of concroll of ur cherter and the Grphifes seem smooth detelled and colorfull arty that fits the games personality and the horse riding Levil looks so fun all of the game looks good it seems the Jungile Levil has A lot of Nather insierd design and Interactifenes. the Levils are Art and Have good Place mint and traps and U Have to Love and play this game the perfixed start for new Shinobi player the Perfixed trofit retern for Shonbi Veterns PS u can git the Old shobi games on the wii shop chanils VC. this game is difert and Fun Unlike any Other game and a Difert shinobi its Looking so good.
1 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Shinobi
Sega's Classic Franchise Makes Glorious Return
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/6/12
StokedRider
Shinobi is back in its 2D form on 3DS and it doesn't disappoint. I waited a few months to bite on this game due to some mixed thoughts, but I feel that those mixed thoughts were ultimately unjustified, because Shinobi on 3DS is a brand new Shinobi game for the franchise's most ardent followers. Not only does Shinobi stay true to its roots, but it brings it all in nice eye-popping 3D visuals exclusively on the Nintendo 3DS.
- Smooth and intuitive gameplay
- Difficulty modes for any level of player
- Great 2D movement with 3D graphics and nice 3D effects
- Varied environments that are all nice to explore
- Challenging and rewarding enemy encounters
- Lots of unlockables (Art, music, etc.)
- Achievement system to track your best accomplishments in-game
I definitely recommend Shinobi to any old-school gamer looking for something new on their 3DS.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Shinobi
main reason to get a 3ds
Posted on:7/15/11
kingofthegamers
I loved shinobi 3 it was a great game.There are a bunch of reasons to get a 3ds but, this is best reason I can think of.
4 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Shinobi
Shinobi is back and badder than ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/29/12
nomorefanboys
Location: Colorado
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Awesome game Sega really hit the nail on the head with this one. This is one of the must haves on the 3DS. the graphics although not quite perfect are very stylized and work really well they are kind of cell shaded with a mix of the old shinobi design mixed with designs of the PS2 versions. Gameplay is awesome it plays better than the original shinobi games I know I loved shinobi 3 for the genesis which i still play on the Sonic genesis compilation disc which I highly reccomend. On Shinobi 3ds you have a button for throwing knives which can be thrown while on the ground or jumping like in other shinobi games except the knive regenerate here. there is more sword play here than in previous shinobi games you can run up to an enemy and slice away, charge and slice or jump and spin slice downward which i use a lot. The sound is great as well. I love using the 3d efect on this game it works well and really makes the graphics pop. The cut scenes are top notch as well. the levels are like fresh takes of previous ideas they work really well. if you love ninja games and love classic Shinobi buy this game you won't regret it. It is just to bad other video game websites haven't given this game a better score so many will miss out if they listen to those scores. i love ninja gaiden as well but this is my new favorite ninja game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Shinobi
FINALLY! RETURN OF SHINOBI!
Posted on:6/10/11
Meyoname
Location: Las Noches
I have high hopes for this. Like I HOPE its not as crappily done as the PS2 version of it. I hope that they learn from Team Ninja and the re-releases of Ninja Gaiden of how fluid and awesome a game about ninjas SHOULD be... well... Maybe with a adjusting difficulty setting on it to not scare new players.
2 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Shinobi
the true spirit of ninja master returns
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/1/12
gamestriker
Location: new york
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
the shinobi raises again. fans of the old sega and arcade versions should get this game. it has a new look but it respects the older games in the franchise. use new melee combat as well as throwing knives to take out enemies. the game begins in fudal japan as jiro's village is attacked by zeed an evil orginization behind many shinobi games. you find yourself in the future like samurai jack to fight a new wave of enemies. who is behind these attacks is it a new enemy or an old one find out as u sweep along the game with the skills of a master shinobi.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Shinobi
Excellent game, just plain awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/22/11
24gamer
Location: Montgomery,AL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I am in love with this game. The gameplay is great the graphics are lacking slightly, but that kind of adds to the game if that's possible. This is a side scrolling game so the 3d doesn't pop as much as I'd hoped but really the gameplay makes up for it. It can get challenging at times so it is probably not suited for young kids, but then again it is rated t for teen. If you likes any of the past Shinobi games you will love this. This is a definite must buy and a great breakaway fro the kiddie games the 3ds is flooded with right now.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Shinobi
Great ninja action!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/25/12
NewWaveNinja
Location: //ERROR//
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is a modern entry in the Shinobi series, exclusive to the 3DS. The gameplay is side-scrolling and is quite like the original 1990's Shinobi games, as opposed to the PS2 one. The notable changes are an easy difficulty setting and achievements, not the Xbox Live kind, but the closest Nintendo has come to that. There's also a Free Play mode, however, I have never tried it.
On a last note: Play the game on easy unless you have beaten a Shinobi game before. Trust me, it's still hard enough.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Shinobi
The ninja returns!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/24/11
Matty
Location: Port St. Lucie, FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Shinobi is back to its own arcade style game for the 3ds. The gameplay is awesome, some of the bosses are defeated in one try(if you find the bosses pretty hard, keep trying until you exploit their strengths and weaknesses, use magic if you need to, and try to take as minimal damage as possible until you keep playing the same area multiple times.), and I just beat the Shadow Master, which I guess is a master of the shadows as the game might call him, and I'm doing the final level in order to unlock the credits and get an accomplishment for doing so. I'm doing it all on beginner, so don't blame me if I don't have enough practice to make it to the normal difficulty. I also love the horse riding stage in the Oboro Clan level and most of the enemies are easy to defeat with just a single kunai. The only flaw to this game was the Streetpass Challenge maps. You're not supposed to get hit once or you go all the back to the beginning. I've beaten one Streetpass Challenge map(Map #1)by simply throwing kunais at my enemies and using magic, maybe. Overall, this game is pretty good. There's some things good about it and some things bad about it, but overall, it's pretty decent. So, if you're looking for a challenge during the holidays, get yourself the game, Shinobi now before they're sold out. I hope you have a Merry Christmas every year, and remember; Christmas isn't about playing video games all the time. It's about being with your family during the holiday season.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Shinobi
Sega Ninga leaps back in to action! :) :D :) :)
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/4/11
pacmanlover
Location: Amaica :)
Shanobi is a game i have ben looking ford to ever seens i heard it was comeing on the 3DS. i have never played a past Shanobi game but so i whant be compering it to thim. ok. Shanobi is a Ninga and the wolds are full of life and charm the music is good the cute seens look mazing & the 3D give deepth and add a cool efect to the loges swaying back and ford the tree,s have wend and ever thang looks good. The graphices work well in contect of the game wen ur play it the game u will be to bissy haveing fun & trying to to die u whant notes that thay Graphice art the bust but the 3D and animtion looks great sand out form the crowed. i never had any slowdown or any thang so it looks and plays smoothly and Fine. it is hard not unfar gest unbalist but it gits `u can all so unloock hard dream worlds sages and play thim any time u whant and git other players levils by steet pass but only the dream world levils and only 1 at the time the rest u must unlook in the story mode. the peristem worlk perfixly and the updated magic sitem works great over all it a fun and Compet packege and well made i reimind to 2 ever one esecaly shanobi fans. PS Super Mario 3D Land and Mario Kart 7 are out now so pick thim up for ur 3DS and if u dont have a 3ds git one it has lots of good games with more on the way! :) :D :) :) shanobi is back and even tho THAY were ent meany of thim i stile injoyed the levil were u code ride ur house in 3D thay ware fun thay woll game is fun! :) thanks Sega now can u plz make a New Nights or shinmo or ip.??? :) thx for reading this have a good day good bless and i love u! :) :D :) :) good game! :) this game is realy good i loved it & its more fun than it looks. :)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Shinobi
A Fair Review
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:4/30/13
TheRealYuma
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
The gameplay is fun but has issues (there's no blocking). Level design isn't quite perfect and while the cutscenes are well-animated, with some exceptions, they aren't good at telling a story. If you don't care about a story and love bad-hard difficulty, this game is for you. Not a good return for Shinobi.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 13 for Shinobi
Bloody Salvation
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/24/11
Mayo
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
This game is perfect for: party gamers
Be a real Ninja and slash little evildooers who come to life in real 3D that makes you play the game non-stop as you discover newer and better places/techniques. Maybe a little to hard for normal but I recommend you take time switching to more powerful specials as it's easier to acquire extra lives that way.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Mayo
Las Vegas, Nevada
 
Please wait while more information about Mayo is loaded.
Additional information about Mayo could not be loaded.
Epic Bloody Salvation
Posted 1/3/12
Wow! Still playing this game after I reviewed it when I bought it. Like I said, this game comes to full 3D life as you have little meanies try to kill you as if they each had little brains powered by batterypacks. LOL, the scenes are enormous and take more than the actual screen can display at once, and they all appear as if they are fully working and run something else connected to them. The action scenes are unbelievable like the water one, the air one... not to ruin the surprise... but the aircraft carrier level where you see like a hundred full sized airplanes... that's WOOOOOOOOOOOOW! Plus, it might be very hard, but once you beat a whole level with its sublevels you restart from there plus you can save where you left off. WOW Sega really programmed a full-action game! This game obviously has decades of research put into it! Definately buying the 3DS sequel! Good job Sega! I'm gonna love passing this game down to my nephew so he can play on his own 3DS I bought for him. Reminds me of when I was a kid with my older brother's Sega Genesis and Shinobi lol
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for Shinobi
I don't really know much about the game....
Posted on:7/15/11
RayTheUlitimateGamer
Location: Alameda
I've heard Shinobi's a fun game, I'm thinking about downloading the original from Wii Shop, but from what i've read about it it sounds good. I just don't think they should have put it on the 3DS. There are enough fighting and platform games already. I say it should be on PSPVita.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
0 of 19 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Shinobi
Sweet ^_^
Posted on:5/28/11
AlphaBlargHonk
Location: Flagstaff, AZ
"Shadow Dancer: Secret of Shinobi" was one of the best games ever. I just hope that this can live up to the "Shinobi" title. Anyways, it looks to be epic. ^_^
 
My Product Recommendations
 
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Redshadow777
 
Please wait while more information about Redshadow777 is loaded.
Additional information about Redshadow777 could not be loaded.
Posted 10/5/11
Agreed! Shadow Dancer was the best Shinobi game of all time in my opinion, great to see someone else agree! This game looks awesome! ^_-
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for Shinobi
looks good
Posted on:5/28/11
gamefan4564
Location: shelbyville mi
even though I've only played one of the games in the series, this looks like it will be an exciting revival, and I want to see how the 3d turns out
 
My Product Recommendations
 
0 of 2 found this review helpful.