GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

LEGO Harry Potter: Years 5-7

Based on the last three Harry Potter books and final four films, LEGO Harry Potter: Years 5-7 takes players through Harry Potter's heroic adventures in the Muggle and wizarding worlds. From Privet Drive in Little Whinging to Diagon Alley, Hogsmeade and Hogwarts, players will encounter new faces, new challenges and new magic, preparing them for the ultimate face-off against Lord Voldemort.
Average Customer Rating:
6.286
6.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
10 stars
0
9 stars
1
8 stars
3
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
4 out of 757%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for LEGO Harry Potter: Years 5-7
Review 1 for LEGO Harry Potter: Years 5-7
Not nearly as good as Years 1-4
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:11/14/11
OpheliaBlack
Location: New Hampshire
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
After I played Years 1-4 I had huge expectations for this game, I'll admit. The first game seemed to get everything right and this one promised to be even better. I was horrified to see the graphics in this game, especially in the cutscenes. In those I could barely make out which characters were shown, let alone what they were doing. The interface changed too, and I found the new version awkward to use. I kept switching characters when I tried to switch spells and died many times as a result. I also found it much less informative than the last one, which showed the abilities of each character in your party, which items you held, and told you your current task. If any of this information is available in this game then I haven't found it yet and I've played through Order of the Phoenix. The touchscreen is also underutilized, and while the game saves often you have to complete each long segment before quitting if you don't want to have to start over. Why save if you have to replay the parts that were saved? Why is this game such a huge step backwards? Is there something wrong with my copy that makes the graphics fuzzy and muddy? Years 1-4 was a lot of casual fun, Years 5-7 was a major disappointment. I don't regret buying this game because I love all things Harry Potter, but anyone who isn't a major fangirl like me may want to see what other people think before buying.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for LEGO Harry Potter: Years 5-7
Absolutely hate!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/6/11
BrittanyRoseLove
Location: Tampa, FL
This game is so annoying. I love Harry Potter and I have a very unhealthy obsession with it, but this game sucks. It's not that it's not funny or that it is legos and not the really game because don't get me wrong I love 1-4. This game goes way too quickly. I finish a whole book in less than an hour. Also the controls are a little too complicated. The touch screen is almost never used unlike 1-4 where you barely used the buttons. I liked that about 1-4 it was so much easier to aim. The graphics suck too. It's also hard to know how many hats, red bricks, and wizard cards are in each part of each level. All it tells you is the overall number. If it wasn't Harry Potter I'd take it back, but because it is Harry Potter it will probably just sit on my shelf once I finish all the levels.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for LEGO Harry Potter: Years 5-7
not what i expented
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/4/11
superbenbat
Location: canton ohio
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
im sorry but i likes years 1-4 but 5-7 is ok but not what i expected. the one only reason it was bad is it was qwick too qwick for my oppion. im not a good/or great gammer but this is to qwick for me. idk if was that the stupid cutseanes take up much of the story or what but it was not as good as i thought. now i did like the abbilaty to do spells without having to draw it like 1-4 it was goodbut i felt like it was on easy.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for LEGO Harry Potter: Years 5-7
Please avoid the need to collect all things Harry.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:1/13/12
Catlover8891
Location: PA
I have played the previous harry potter lego years 1-4DS and loved the effort put into the quality of the game. However that being said the new years 5-7 DS has MAJOR quality issues. The videos are blurry and the gameplay is hard to see because the screen is dark. The videos look as though they were not formatted to fit the Ds screen. I tried to exchange the game, but the problems existed within the game itself, and not just the edition I owned.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for LEGO Harry Potter: Years 5-7
fun
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:7/27/14
tinkerbell1996
Location: Foley, AL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
supper fun! i love harry potter! amazing game! i really have so much fun playing it. buy it! you will you have so much fun!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 6 for LEGO Harry Potter: Years 5-7
gona be osome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted on:9/19/11
suger03
I love harry poter annd legos.im gona love it.Lego harry poter 1-4 is cool.so this game is gona be cooler.
6 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for LEGO Harry Potter: Years 5-7
This Is Going to be AWSOME!!!!!!!!!
Posted on:7/18/11
Star025
Location: Canton Michigan
I bought Lego Harry Potter years 1-4 for ds And it is so much fun i can't wait for harry and his friends to come Back!!!!!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
6 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for LEGO Harry Potter: Years 5-7
Harry Potter years 5-7
Posted on:6/20/11
jake225
Location: new york ny
i cant wait for this game! I have harry potter years 1-4 and its really fun. but i hope this game will be harder than th first, cause 1-4 is easy. i beat it in like 15 min.
6 of 17 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for LEGO Harry Potter: Years 5-7
AWESOME!!!
Posted on:10/2/11
SUPERHEROFAN101
Location: Salem,VA
LEGO Harry Potter Years 5-7 for ds is going to be awesome! I've played Years 1-4 and i hope this one is better.
3 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Chrisisbliss94
Newtown, PA
 
Please wait while more information about Chrisisbliss94 is loaded.
Additional information about Chrisisbliss94 could not be loaded.
Not what I expected at all!
Posted 11/13/11
I am a huge Harry Potter fan; I've read all of the books at least 4 times, played all the games and seen all the movies. I got LEGO Harry Potter years 1-4 a couple of weeks ago and enjoyed it a lot. The graphics were alright and the game itself was very fun. When I heard that years 5-7 was coming out, I went online and bought it ahead of time. I recieved it a couple days ago and started playing right away, but it was really dissapointing. It's not like years 1-4 in that the touch screen area is shown as a type of "spell casting" area, but its very confusing to use. Most of the time I spent playing was spent watching different scenes play itself out and the game's plot skipped over a lot of important details. Also, the game doesnt start out like years 1-4 in that you dont really get to pick out which story and scene you'd like to play. You're forced to play it out the way the designers chose it. I'm really dissapointed by the overall quality of the game and plan on returning it as soon as I can.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for LEGO Harry Potter: Years 5-7
Can't Wait!
Posted on:6/27/11
BunnyBunnyGamerGirl
Location: Atlantis
I Didn't Know they were making a sequel! Do you think that ***** Will Die in The game? What about ******? Or ***** , ****, **** Or *****? It is a Family/ children's game. But Still...
PS. Also Can't wait for Last HP movie! 17 More days!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for LEGO Harry Potter: Years 5-7
Really???
Posted on:8/14/11
ruffian1
Location: Alexandria, KY
I'm not a Harry Potter fan, so if you want information about the game, stop reading...NOW. I'm dissappointed that Lego makes Harry Potter sets and games. I'm not getting this game, but you probably are. If you want my personal opinion get Aragorn's Quest instead.
4 of 31 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for LEGO Harry Potter: Years 5-7
I'll pass.
Posted on:9/17/11
SladeJT
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Okay, so we had Years 1-4 and now it's 5-7? I'm just going to wait for "LEGO Harry Potter: The Complete Years" if I end up buying it anyway. I'm just tired with LEGO action games. They're all the same gameplay with different skins. Over. And over. And over. It was okay when I was playing LEGO Indiana Jones, Star Wars IV-VI, and Batman. But now that there's also LEGO Star Wars III: The Clone Wars, Harry Potter, and Pirates of the Caribbean... I'm just tired of the LEGO franchise-based games.
0 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for LEGO Harry Potter: Years 5-7
Better than 1-4
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/8/12
thesquirrelmeister66
Location: Moorseville, IN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I thought 1-4 was good, but then I played this. I totally love how you can duel Voldemort and others. You can play as over 150 different characters, and make your own characters! Now you can aim your spells, making it easier than 1-4. Now you can use the Unforgivable Curses. You should play this game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for LEGO Harry Potter: Years 5-7
Pretty good.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/11/12
cool32121
Location: brooklyn,ny
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
the gameplay is better than the 1-4 one.well the really hard part is duels against voldermort you have to press y rapidly on the ds.other than that its pretty good.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10