GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

SHIN MEGAMI TENSEI: PERSONA 2 INNOCENT SIN

Over 12 years in the making, the official localization of Innocent Sin provides patient fans with the other side of the Persona 2 arc, a dark adventure about high school students who find their reality being twisted by rumors, and who must draw on their inner strengths, their Personas, to bring back order. Taking advantage of PSP system's 16:9 aspect ratio, higher resolution display, superior audio, and increased horsepower, this remastered version of one of the pinnacles of ATLUS' flagship SMT franchise delivers a sleek new interface, new sidequests in the Climax Theater, and the player's choice of the fully remixed or original soundtrack.
Average Customer Rating:
9.667
9.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
10 stars
2
9 stars
1
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for SHIN MEGAMI TENSEI: PERSONA 2 INNOCENT SIN
Review 1 for SHIN MEGAMI TENSEI: PERSONA 2 INNOCENT SIN
Amazing classic!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/16/12
personafan
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This was my first PSP game, and I was very glad it was. This game is one of my favorites, with it's awesome philosophical story. The gameplay may be a little slow with the animations, but they can be turned off, and collecting demons can be very fun. Also, I think that this game isn't for Persona fans used to 4, as this is an "old school" SMT game. Anyways, get this game because it's the best of the Persona series!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for SHIN MEGAMI TENSEI: PERSONA 2 INNOCENT SIN
Another Solid RPG from Atlus
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/12/12
GrowlanserFan
Location: Philadelphia
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I don't wish to post any spoilers so I will be brief. If you like RPGs and own a PSP, you should buy this game. It's an above average game with a good story.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 3 for SHIN MEGAMI TENSEI: PERSONA 2 INNOCENT SIN
Nostalgic Game... (and that's a good thing!)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/23/11
Blahtothe42
Location: San Diego,CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
(*NOTE* I've been playing this game for 20 hours, but the place I'm at I could get to in about 6 if I wasn't level grinding on purpose and constantly farming for yen and items [on purpose, mind you] because that's what I always do with RPGs like this one. Also, this review was done under the knowledge of being the first one...)
Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 2 Innocent Sin (if you haven't figured it out yet) is the PSP rereleased remixed remstered version of the japanese PS1 release that wasn't released in the US for reasons known for some time now. For those of you (unlike me unfortunately) who have played P2 Enternal Punishment for the PS1, then you probably already know where this game takes place.
You play [insert name here] as you and your friends try to figure out the mystery behind this Joker character, why rumors are becoming true, and how does this all connect to you and your friends. The gameplay reminds me of P1 for the PSP while also reminding me of Radient Historia for the DS. It's turn-based, but you can change the order of you party members before, during, or after random incounters in certain areas. When you do go into battle, you can either kill, contact, or a combination of both to either defeat demons or try to form a pact with them, which could benefit in the long run. You can also find out about different rumors through people or demons and spread them to your advantage. You can change between the newly remixed soundtrack or the original soundtrack, each with their own variations between them. (I kinda wished there was an option to hear the dialogue from the original japanese version, but its not a full letdown [or even a good reason for a letdown] to not buy this game.) You can also instal the game, just like in KH:BBS, to reduce load time, which, in my opinion, is always a good thing.
So, if you're a SMT and/or P fan (past or present), then you should get this game. If you're an RPG fan, get this game. If your were wondering about the connection to this game and Enternal Punishment, then look it up and get this game (even if you already knew). If you only played P3, P3F, P3P, or P4, don't complain about this game not having any social links or even a sim in this game and get this game- that fans were wondering about (especially if you did play the F in P3F). Great game. Great soundtracks. Great story. Great way to bring back those EP nostalgia moments... I think...
Oh, and the mini-soundtrack is okay since it gives you a taste of what to expect music-wise from both sides of the soundtracks (especially if you were listening to it while reading the instruction booklet, for example). Just don't expect alot of songs and, just like any other RPG soundtrack, you can find the other tracks online...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
9 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for SHIN MEGAMI TENSEI: PERSONA 2 INNOCENT SIN
Amazing game!
Posted on:9/19/11
Kabaryu
Persona 2 was originally a duology for the original Playstation: Innocent Sin and Eternal Punishment. Stateside, we never got IS due to unspecified reasons--those speculative will not be mentioned in this review to keep it spoiler free. Judging the game to be awesome in comparison to 3 and 4 is unfair, as Persona 2's graphics are slightly over par from Persona 1. The system used in the first three Personas (1 and both versions of 2) of recruiting demons is fun and at times causes hysterical giggling, a feature this reviewer sorely missed in 3 and 4. Let's hope that Eternal Punishment gets the same makeover, although the original localisation was considerably decent compared to the original localisation of Revelations: Persona. Innocent Sin is for those who've played the original Persona on PSP, or those who had played Eternal Punishment when it was released ten years ago and was left scratching one's head and wondering "how did we get here?" New players who are looking for the graphics of today's games might be disappointed, but those of us old enough to remember EP will not be upset. Enjoy!
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for SHIN MEGAMI TENSEI: PERSONA 2 INNOCENT SIN
This game.
Posted on:9/17/11
Kanji
Location: New Jersey
I honestly think this game will be very good. I'm literally so excited because this is the only Persona game I haven't played yet. I liked Persona 3 and 4 so I want to play this game so badly. I didn't like Persona 1 that much ._. BUT from the screenshots new opening song and gameplays I saw it looks so epic.
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for SHIN MEGAMI TENSEI: PERSONA 2 INNOCENT SIN
review
Posted on:9/9/11
Ikra
Location: FL
Ive played P4 and that's kinda what got me hooked, i cant wait for this game to come out pre-ordered and waiting.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for SHIN MEGAMI TENSEI: PERSONA 2 INNOCENT SIN
now anyone who is going into this from 3 or 4
Posted on:9/8/11
senpai
Location: tatsumi port island, japan
i see alot of people are all like "oh i loved 3 and 4 cant wait for this one" well honestly this one is nothing like those. basically, they have no social links no life sim no social stats (academics, understanding, etc...) and its really more your basic RPG, random battles and all. dont get me wrong its still a great game and i cant wait to have it in the US but this is somthing people dont seem to know and its kinda important.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
10 of 12 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Vampire13
California
 
Please wait while more information about Vampire13 is loaded.
Additional information about Vampire13 could not be loaded.
Posted 9/20/11
Yes, I second this, I loved 3 and 4, but this one is just hundreds of times better for those of us who like traditional RPG's, to bad this one isn't in first person like the old Shin Megami Tensei games and the first in the persona line of games.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for SHIN MEGAMI TENSEI: PERSONA 2 INNOCENT SIN
CANT W8
Posted on:8/4/11
haha382
Location: California
I love this series. I played 1,3, and 4 and loved them. This series has a great story and great characters. it is one of the reasons why i got a PSP minus 4. I cant w8 to till it comes out. i already pre-orderded it
2 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for SHIN MEGAMI TENSEI: PERSONA 2 INNOCENT SIN
I thought the day would never come...
Posted on:7/20/11
ShadowJKL
Location: MN
I love the Persona series, but my favorite has to be Innocent Sin and Eternal Punishment. I've played both of the original Playstation titles and The PSP version (Japanese release) They kept all the original content un-touched and included a new opening and soundtrack. If you are one of those people who have only played 3 and 4 and have no clue about the first and second game, I highly recommend buying this game.
5 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for SHIN MEGAMI TENSEI: PERSONA 2 INNOCENT SIN
thank you
Posted on:7/8/11
GaliDragon
I love collecting this series and playing all the games. I hope it stays true to the original game. I have been wanting to find the Japanese versions. Maya Amano is one of my favorite characters. I hope they include a Tshirt, that would be epic, or something else. Or tarot cards! I can not wait!!
4 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for SHIN MEGAMI TENSEI: PERSONA 2 INNOCENT SIN
YEAHHH!!!
Posted on:7/1/11
Type0
Finally bring it to our coast. I'm so pumped up for this game. I thing Persona is one of the must try games for anyone. Ever if people hate this game they have to at least try it out cause it will be a major experiance for any gamer. Try it wether you love it or hate it this will be a gaming experince that you ill never forget!
5 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for SHIN MEGAMI TENSEI: PERSONA 2 INNOCENT SIN
FINALLY
Posted on:6/23/11
digitalblade
Location: new york ny
i fell in love with persona 3 persona 4 persona 3 fes.....now i finally got my psp repaired from sony and i cant wait for this game to come out....this game and the game for ps3 called catherine is gonna be epic
5 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for SHIN MEGAMI TENSEI: PERSONA 2 INNOCENT SIN
Looking foward to it,but there will be problems
Posted on:6/22/11
Raventheblack
Location: Mi
Now don't get me wrong i'm no hater here i've loved the persona series ever since persona 2 eternal punishment came out into america,many people didn't understand why the first half(persona 2 innocent sin)never came out in america,well i'm here to tell you why and also why their gonna screw things up with this series again,the simple answer is suggestive themes such as.....hitler,yes adolf hitler himself in the original game is a boss,and because he is america would not allow this game into its shores,it's rather sad to know how much people wanna avoid any evidence of any terrosist event in any games and yet most games out now are war games having to do with terrorsists anyways(theres no logic in that whatsoever)anyways we have popular games out now with a history of hitler like wolfenstein which is a great game so i dont understand why persona cant have him,so anyways they plan to block out hitler in this game or edit him in a way that it doesnt directly say its him,i find this move vulgar in trying to keep to the original version,in fact i wouldnt even be surprised if people are so scared of the word hitler that god forbid they won't even post this preview buzz,another thing they did in the game was a closet scene in which it had a reference into an inappropriate but funny suggestive material,im sure they'll edit that out as well,this being said if they keep the original music and dont mess with anything else with the game im sure we wont have any problems,i had a lot of issues with the persona 1 remake including the god awful battle music and the fact they replaced so many needed items in the game with useless junk(like for instance the majority of the melee weapons were replaced with gems or empty boxes),they also took a lot of enemy battle animtions out like the demon foxes doing the waltz or demon girls screaming at you,i was very displeased with these kinda edits and i will note if they do this again it will kill the game off regardless of how many fans they have.
14 of 32 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Squigz
 
Please wait while more information about Squigz is loaded.
Additional information about Squigz could not be loaded.
Posted 8/13/11
Actually that's one of the reasons this game took so long to make it here. The other reason is the option to have a gay relationship.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for SHIN MEGAMI TENSEI: PERSONA 2 INNOCENT SIN
in love
Posted on:6/7/11
personalover
Location: delaware
my best friend introduced me to the person 4 like a year ago and when i beat it i started searching for p3 lol and now i'm almost finish the game and p2 comes out XD. the weird thing is i told my friend the only reason i would buy a psp is if they came out with p2 for it and i guess my dream come true cause i'm getting a p2p soon XD. i cant wait to play p2 & get the p3 verison for psp 0.o
3 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for SHIN MEGAMI TENSEI: PERSONA 2 INNOCENT SIN
10+ Years Since US P2 Eternal Punishment
Posted on:6/5/11
ReijiKingCrazy
Location: Leavittsburg, OH
Whenever I first had P2 EP, I never knew period it was the second half of a game...which explains why a lot of the stuff didn't make much sense that happened during the main story, haha. It wasn't until some time later I found out about Innocent Sin, sorely disappointed it wasn't released in the US (save for a few fan translated ISOs and stuff like that)...BUT NOT ANYMORE! I can't wait for this game to come out...it's the only SMT related game released in the states that I DON'T own. Being able to see the full story now for what it's worth, I can't wait to go back to Sumaru City and see the other side of the story never told! :D I'm just glad they didn't do too much editing to the game, besides making a certain character into someone else...just by name change more than anything I've heard. ;)
6 of 12 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
babyhuey36
 
Please wait while more information about babyhuey36 is loaded.
Additional information about babyhuey36 could not be loaded.
Posted 6/21/11
your in for a real treat trust this is by far one of the best rpg's made and im so happy they kept the original soundtrack and op so you will get to experience the way the game was made and the remixed version. can't wait
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for SHIN MEGAMI TENSEI: PERSONA 2 INNOCENT SIN
Finally!
Posted on:6/4/11
PinkFire
Location: CA
At last, I can own the entire Persona series! I own Persona 4, Persona, and all three Persona 3 games. Thus, I was incredibly sad that this game was missing from the line-up. I hope they re-do Eternal Punishment as well. (The original PS version costs about $140-$80, yikes!) However at the moment all I can do is dance! Innocent Sin for the win!
3 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
lucifer2
 
Please wait while more information about lucifer2 is loaded.
Additional information about lucifer2 could not be loaded.
YEAAAAH
Posted 6/7/11
I have played persona 3,4, and the remake of 1. 2 is the only one I did not play. Why did they not relese the game in the US in the first place?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for SHIN MEGAMI TENSEI: PERSONA 2 INNOCENT SIN
The Bison in me is saying: "YES!!! YES!!!"
Posted on:6/3/11
Blahtothe42
Location: San Diego,CA
I've been a fan of the Persona games since I first played P3:F. I have all of the PS2 american releases with the original persona and P3P for PSP. I've played all of them multiple times and have unlocked almost everything in each one. I first heard of this game from my friend, who introduced me to the series in the first place, about a month ago, and in my mind, Bison keeps telling me to yell out "YES!!!! YES!!!!" every time someone mentions this game or even this series in general. I can't wait till this game comes out on american shores. And when I get my hands on it, the Bison in me will cry out once again!!!!
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for SHIN MEGAMI TENSEI: PERSONA 2 INNOCENT SIN
I've waiting for 2 years for this.
Posted on:5/29/11
namine23
Location: los angeles, Ca
I've waited so long for this game to come out. I totally recommend people to play this game as well as any other Persona games.
4 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for SHIN MEGAMI TENSEI: PERSONA 2 INNOCENT SIN
The Persona Series is Epic.
Posted on:5/27/11
Scottgoboo
Location: Round Rock, TX
If you never played a Persona game (especially P3P) you are missing out on some amazing games. The story/plot of the games can be only be described by me as epic. If your not a big fan of of story, I'm going to go out there and say this is not for you, you should still give it a try, if any game can make you like games with amazing story/plot it is this one.
The music tracks are great and the voice acting are of superb quality and the graphics are just awesome for a Portable Gaming system.
Bottom line: Buy it. Buy it used if you have to, to check it out and if you don't like it return it but you have to give it a chance.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for SHIN MEGAMI TENSEI: PERSONA 2 INNOCENT SIN
I've waiting for 2 years for this.
Posted on:5/27/11
namine23
Location: los angeles, Ca
Finally, This is a really good game. I totally recommend it, as well as all the other Persona games. I'm so glad Atlus decided to release it here in the U.S.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>