GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Heroes of Ruin

War raged for over a hundred years until strong, powerful Lords emerged from the fighting to bring a fragile peace to the land. This peace is threatened when one of the Lords, Ataraxis, ruler of the city of Nexus, is taken ill by a deadly curse. A call is sent out, promising rewards beyond measure for anyone who finds a cure. Four mercenaries, each with their own strengths, weaknesses and motivations answer the call. One uses forbidden spells to rain death on her foes, one has guns and bombs to blast his way through, another has a mighty sword capable of slicing through entire packs of enemies, and one other gains strength from savagely tearing through anything that stands in his way with brutal, bladed fists. These unlikely heroes can choose to create a fearsome alliance or venture forth from the city alone. Beyond the safety of the city the land is filled with strange and dangerous creatures, but none as deadly as the evil force behind the curse, which the heroes must eventually confront and destroy.
Average Customer Rating:
8.565
8.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (60 reviews)
10 stars
15
9 stars
2
8 stars
1
7 stars
1
6 stars
1
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
19 out of 2383%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Heroes of Ruin
Review 1 for Heroes of Ruin
Looks awesome
Posted on:7/9/12
Theguyinyourcloset
Location: America...
I played the demo last night, my main problem is that my 3DS kept having internet problems and brought to the home screen, thus wasting one of my uses of the demo, but that won't matter since i'll buy the game. My other problem is that in all the servers i found there was one player who didn't know which way to go, even when i tried leading him, that'll be fixed with voice chat hopefully. The two classes were both fun, you can be the Lion-like Vindicator, or the marauding gunslinger. Both were fun and i hope the other in the full version are as good. The different branching skills were slighty condusing at first but you figure it out eventually. You get quite a bit of customization on your character, with the Vindicator being able to look like a Big Cat, and the Gunslinger being able to look BA with a hood or a cowboy hat. The items you pick up change your appearence, even most of the miniscule seeming items change the way you look. I personnally think i'll get this
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Heroes of Ruin
The Fearsome Four
Posted on:4/24/12
Nintendork99
Location: Hartselle,AL
Heroes of Ruin looks to be an awesome game. In the game the player will be able to choose one of four characters in which the player will be able to customize and so forth. Each character has its own special powers and attacks. First of the heroes is Gunslinger a male who fights using guns. Second is Alchitect a female who uses magic and wields an awesome-looking staff. Third is Savage a male who uses his bear fists as his weapon. And last but not least Vindictator a male half man half cat paladin (warrior) who uses a wicked-cool sword as his weapon of choice. The objective of the game is to find a cure for the king, king Atraxis, who has been cursed and will reward whoever can find a cure. Heroes of Ruin will come out June 26th, 2012. The game is rated T for teen because of fantasy violence, mild blood, and mild language. Heroes of Ruin is going to be an awesome game so don't forget to preorder it. Happy Gaming! :-)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Heroes of Ruin
Not too terribly bad.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:9/14/12
Jawlphin
Location: Coal City, IL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I picked up this game because one, my friend got it, and two, I didn't have any other good 3DS games. I went into this with pretty low expectations. I thought it was going to be a bad rip-off 3DS dungeon crawler clone of Diablo. I was kinda right and wrong at the same time. The classes are a bit limited to a pure melee tank, magic person, gun person, and a healer/sword person. The voice acting is actually pretty good, though the dialogue for the playable characters during combat is repeated a lot, it is still pretty enjoyable. The graphics are really good for 3DS standards and the 3D doesn't seem tacked on at all. Though the game does support up to a 4 player multi-player, I recommend only playing with a friend or two who also has this game, because random people are complete jerks when it comes to loot. The story can be a bit bland at times, but still enjoyable. Overall, you should get this game, but you may want to wait a month or two for the price to drop a bit in the case of possible disappointment.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 4 for Heroes of Ruin
Portable Multiplayer RPG? Yes please!
Posted on:2/25/12
Duskdog
Location: Nashville, TN
If you're considering this game, do yourself a favor and go check out the video on Nintendo's official website. Heroes of Ruin looks like a ton of fun. You can choose from four different classes, customize the look of your character, and adventure on your own or with up to three other people online who can all drop in/drop out seamlessly! They even adjust the difficulty of the dungeons on the fly depending on who you're with, and you can adventure with anyone, even if they've only just started the game and you're much higher level. Dungeons and even enemy placement are generated differently every time, so you can play the same one ten times and never get bored with it. This is another 3DS title that I'm eagerly awaiting!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Aquadragon
texas
 
Please wait while more information about Aquadragon is loaded.
Additional information about Aquadragon could not be loaded.
Portable online gaming? im in!
Posted 12/27/12
I have always wanted a online game and/or gaming console.i literally just got a 3ds XL and it is AMAZING! But you have to have your wireless switch on, though. I am noy
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Heroes of Ruin
It... Looks... AWESOME!!!!!!!
Posted on:3/18/12
WWEISAWESOME
Okay, first of all 1 month ago i didnt even know about heroes of ruin. One day i was looking through the upcoming releases on the 3ds shop. so i watched the 3ds walkthrough where one of the creators does a quick demo and talks about the game. Well, he had me at "different every time you play." So a few days later, i went to gamestop and preordered it.Only a couple more months until i pick it up. Bottom Line : BUY THIS GAME
 
My Product Recommendations
 
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Heroes of Ruin
The Best 3DS Game Available... Period.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/22/12
Argyleargyle
Location: Monterey, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I just picked this up recently along with my friend, the gameplay is amazing and suitable for both hardcore and casual gamers alike. I haven't been able to play my 3DS for more than 20-30 minutes here or there in quite a while. My first play on this game was for 6 hours. The graphics are fantastic, character development immersing, gameplay is fun. Hands down, this is the best 3DS game available, no exceptions. Buy it. Buy it now.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Heroes of Ruin
Similar to another game?
Posted on:7/6/12
UltimaWeapon
When I first played the demo I was blown away for many reasons. The rpg wasn't like most square enix games but instead like one of my favorites. Baldur's Gate was a popular game for the computer and had a game for the ps2. The fight with the spiders, the undead, and helping this spirits reminded me of it. How many other ppl thought Heroes of Ruin was like Baldur's Gate: Dark Alliance for ps2? Anyway i really want this game!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Heroes of Ruin
Amazing RPG
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/26/12
GioRoa
Location: Florida
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
When I picked this game up on Wednesday I wasn't expecting much. You know, running through dungeons, doing quests, etc. But it's much more than that, the fact that you can voice chat online on 3DS is mind blowing. Although the headset hasn't come out in US, I don't mind the wait. There's so much to do in the game, reminds me of Pokemon Mystery Dungeon Lol. All in all, this game is perfect for people looking for a great (best) RPG on a handheld. If anyone would like to add me for co-op, my FC is 4940-6303-7463
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
CloneTrooperE
 
Please wait while more information about CloneTrooperE is loaded.
Additional information about CloneTrooperE could not be loaded.
Posted 8/1/12
i added you on 3ds. add me if you want FC: 0688-6131-2716 Name: Dredsen
Customer Avatar
steveo9995
NC
 
Please wait while more information about steveo9995 is loaded.
Additional information about steveo9995 could not be loaded.
Heroes Of Ruin
Posted 7/29/12
I am going to ask for this game for my birthday. i downloaded the demo and i LOVE it.so thanks for the advice!
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 9 for Heroes of Ruin
RELEASE DATE: 6/26/12
Posted on:6/6/12
DeathBringerSr
Location: Sitting at the right hand of Lord Lucifer
This game is worth buying for many reasons. One: Levels are randomly generated, which increases the replay value. Second: daily challenges have already been confirmed for one year = 365 daily challenges across 365 days. Third: Not many of these types of games are specifically made for game systems.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
xChriis503
Ontario
 
Please wait while more information about xChriis503 is loaded.
Additional information about xChriis503 could not be loaded.
Release
Posted 6/13/12
in north america doesn't it release on july 17?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Heroes of Ruin
The Demo Rocks
Posted on:7/6/12
mac13210
Location: Atlanta,GA
I played this demo with some friends and it WAS AMAZING!! It was very engaging and the playability was great I am definitely getting this game.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Heroes of Ruin
Looks like another online multiplayer.
Posted on:7/4/11
jbl8199
Location: Johnstown, PA
I haven't seen a really good classic RPG game on a handheld in a while. I'd much rather SquarEnix make another Final Fantasy game(as long as it's nothing like 4 Heroes of Light, that was a total mess). I'm more into the story based single player RPG's where your main characters have a personality and actually take part in the story instead of just going from point A to point B. I might give this a chance once I find out more about the game, but I'm just not sure about this one.
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Simplicity010
East Northport, New York
 
Please wait while more information about Simplicity010 is loaded.
Additional information about Simplicity010 could not be loaded.
I hate to correct you...
Posted 7/11/11
Though this game isn't developed by Square Enix. Square Enix just published the game(kinda like Batman Arkham Asylum). They really didn't have anything to do with the game itself.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Heroes of Ruin
A whole lot better than I expected!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/29/12
MrKen
Location: Richland, Wa
This game is perfect for: party gamers
1st, I highly recommend playing this on a 3DS XL. The 3DS screen size doesn't do the actual details justice. I actually bought the 3DS XL so I wouldn't miss anything.
1st the 3d graphics are great, especially as you get to the later acts (like Act III & Act IV ). If you like Daiblo II or III, you will really like HOR.
The only con I would have would be load times, but you can avoid a lot of these by just closing your 3ds and letting it go into sleep/standby mode.
If you aren't into dungeon grinding, this won't be your game. If it is then you'll be logging some serious time beyond just the main game!
Highly recommended! Even over Super Mario 2 for 3DS!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Heroes of Ruin
Well worth the wait
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/20/12
BowserRules
Location: Detroit
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I've been waiting a long time for this game to come out and I'm glad it's here. I played the demo from the Nintendo E-shop which didn't seem to thrilling, but I decided to buy the full version anyway and I'm glad I did. This game is great! If you like a RPG such as Diablo, LoL, or DOTA, than you'll be able to pick this game up easy. I like that you're in full control of your character rather than just clicking where to move and clicking what to attack. Hopefully they'll continue to update this game with new innovations.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Heroes of Ruin
Hero's of Ruin!
Posted on:6/13/12
RabbidAssassin
Location: Yuba City, CA
I've been waiting for this game to come out for a very long time now. To me this game is the only Action RPG on the Nintendo 3DS that looks like it will be worth getting all jazzed up about. Its not only a great looking RPG, but it also has 4 player co-op via WiFi and Local play. I love the way the game looks and takes me back to the D&D type of game style. I've been telling everyone that I know with a Nintendo 3DS to check this game out. Other then the normal Nintendo main stream game like Super Mario, Legend of Zelda, etc... This is the game I've been looking forward to playing more then any other game on the 3DS system.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Coleslaw7
 
Please wait while more information about Coleslaw7 is loaded.
Additional information about Coleslaw7 could not be loaded.
HOLY RPG!
Posted 7/10/12
Played the demo and it was awesome. Kind of reminded me of Skyrim with the undead and spiders sprits etc. Totally gonna get
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for Heroes of Ruin
Not enough there to be worth your $40
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:7/24/12
CrackRok
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
I'm glad I didn't write this review within the first week of owning it. If I had, I would've given it a 9/10. There are daily quests, and linking to the HoR website to earn XP seemed like a lot to strive for. That was then. I was addicted and couldn't put it down even to use the bathroom. How, a week later, I realized it was just a quick fling. The stages are repetitive. I mean each stage in a particular chapter is almost the exact same as others within the same chapter. I thought they kept pushing the release date back because they wanted to perfect it, but we still got an incomplete game. There is almost no reason to go back and redo previous stages except to do online daily challenges. those were fun for a while, but then they lost their flavor. If had had just played the game through, I could have finished it in about 6 hours. I haven't even finished the main story, nor do I intend to. The plot is boring. I'm a huge fan of cutscenes and stories of most games. This game had me skipping each and every one. Do yourself a favor and rent it. Voice chat was the only good thing it had to offer, and would love to see more online games use this feature. I WANT MY MONEY BACK!!
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
4 of 12 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
jbl8199
 
Please wait while more information about jbl8199 is loaded.
Additional information about jbl8199 could not be loaded.
Top 100 Contributor
Posted 7/25/12
You forgot to mention how insanely easy the game is. Even most bosses go down in a few hits. I'd recommend renting this as well, or at least wait for a price drop.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for Heroes of Ruin
My wallet is taking a blow!
Posted on:2/23/12
LuigiBeatsMario
Location: NC
There are so many great games coming out for the 3DS! Those of you that don't have one GET ONE NOW! Only get one if you have a whole lot of money though or if you can pick from all these great games!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Heroes of Ruin
Heroes of Ruin
Posted on:5/28/12
Crossfighter123
This game is bound to be good because every time you go in a dungeon it changes its route. also there is different versatility for all the class so you can chose what style fits you the best
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Heroes of Ruin
Should be really good but.....
Posted on:3/25/12
nadinsk8er
I have wanted this game ever since they announced it and its delayed till JUNE, but i guess a delayed games is better than an unfinished game.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Heroes of Ruin
Not worth it
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:8/31/12
Godzillafan920
I just got heroes of ruin yesterday and i was really into it. However, this is a really short game and i was really disappointed. The gameplay is fun, the voice chat is not that good, and the people online are treasure hogs. They take it all for themselves. After experiencing what really goes on in heroes of ruin, i dont like it. i am returning it for mario kart 7.
This is a good starter game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Heroes of Ruin
Hope this has a good single player.
Posted on:6/10/12
jbl8199
Location: Johnstown, PA
Sure multiplayer is nice once in a while, but I like rpg's with a good single player storyline too. I'm not really into games where you're just running around doing the same stuff over and over. I might give it a shot if it's more than just going around beating up a couple of monsters. I'll probably wait until I see more reviews before I decide on this one.
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>