GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

NBA 2K12

With over 5 million copies sold worldwide and over 20 Sports Game of Year awards, last year NBA 2K11 allowed you to BECOME THE GREATEST with MJ & the Jordan Challenge mode. This year the NBA 2K franchise is back and bigger than ever, providing fans with the opportunity they've always dreamed of - to finally END THE DEBATE as to who are the best teams and players of all time with the ALL-NEW NBA's Greatest mode. Featuring 15 legendary players such as Michael Jordan, Magic Johnson, Larry Bird, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, and Dr. J, NBA's Greatest let you relive some of NBA's most celebrated careers and rivalries, painstakingly recreated in historical detail. In addition, several innovative gameplay features have been added putting fans center court of an unprecedented basketball experience.
Average Customer Rating:
4.727
4.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
10 stars
1
9 stars
0
8 stars
3
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
2
5 out of 1145%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NBA 2K12
Review 1 for NBA 2K12
Looking for improvements.
Posted on:7/10/11
BamRty
Location: Birmingham, Al
It's BamRty from youtube, I'm looking for improvements from last year.
It's sad to say but nba 2k on the ps2 has been the same since nba 2k5.
It hasn't had any improvements what so ever. The graphics have been the same. It's just a roster update over and over again. Hopefully this year it has my player mode along with the xbox 360 and p3 features. It doesn't have to reach the 3rd generation's graphics. But last year us ps2 users didn't get to relive the jordan moments at all. All I'm saying is that I hope the ps2 has the same features as the xbox 360 and ps3. I'm not including the graphics since people swear the ps2 graphics can't reach any higher. But if it did it probably would look like the wii's version. I'm not too fond of the wii's nba 2k's graphics either but at least the wii had the jordan challenge and the my player mode. All in all I'm just hoping for a better experience for the ps2 version.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NBA 2K12
Good basketball game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/7/11
ThomasT
Location: Orange, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
If you have played NBA 2k11 for PS2, don't expect much from this game. It's basically the same game with a few improvements. The core gameplay is the same as last year, but the developers have refined it a bit. The layup glitch where you inexplicably miss wide open, easy layups seem to be fixed. On the graphics side, the game look exactly the same as last year's game aside from some minor changes. Every mode from last year's game has made a return to this year's version. You'll have fun with the Association mode and the Street mode where you can play half court, full court, one-on-one, or 21. It's fun if you have a friend to play it with. The soundtrack of this year's game is very good and includes some great beats. Other than some minor gameplay fixes, about the only new thing they added to this game is the three NBA legendary teams: the 95-96 Bulls, 85-86 Celtics, and the 90-91 Lakers. You won't find the My Player mode or other features found on the newer systems. By PS2 standards, this isn't a bad game but it could've been better had the developers put more effort into it.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
12 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for NBA 2K12
Hey Gamers,
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/4/11
PCProductions
Location: Philadelphia, PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Pat from Pat and Catoo Productions here and I really agree with BamRty that NBA 2K12 for PlayStation 2 needs improvement. A lot of it! The is more than 10 million* players that play NBA 2K games and, if I can say so myself, NEEDS a CHANGE. 2K Sports please hear us out. PS2 is still here, and we are not going to stop playing so lets us enjoy playing please.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
9 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for NBA 2K12
not good game.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/7/12
coleloca
Location: Alamba
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
it has bad graphics like 2k8 same voices but just a diffrent commentator but i know they can do better.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for NBA 2K12
Great
Posted on:7/6/11
republic
I am so glad to see ANOTHER game for the ps2, and even though I don't like what the guy above me is saying, you sort of have to agree with him. What I would do is wait maybe 3 weeks or a month after it comes out, wait for it to go on sale, then purchase it.
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for NBA 2K12
Well see
Posted on:9/14/11
Tyreke6679
Location: colorado springs
well see what happen im kinda looking forward to nba 2k12 on ps2 if they would just fix the gameplay so everyone wide open on a fastbreak wont miss layups a player can be one foot away the basket and will miss a wide open layup also the cpu rarely ever dunks......another thing the ame is way to easy u can blow out any team by fifity pts almost everyone who can dunk will dunk on anyone in their way even from the free throw line on to other problems lebron chris paul and d-wade still look how they did when they were rookies lebron is skinny as a toothpick even kendrick perkins looks skinny they need to update the gameplay and the players it is ridicoulos all in all im kinda lookng forward to this game but well see
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for NBA 2K12
PS2 is gonna be lame
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:10/21/11
BGgamer
Location: Inkster,Michigan
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
2k12 on the ps2 will suck. They said ps2 2k11 was gonna be good but it didnt even have the jordan challenge or my player. all you could do is use jordans teams and play againts todays teams. Anyways, the graphichs sucked and i recomend getiitng it on xbox360 or ps3. Thiers a big differince. trust me! Dont get it for ps2!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
7 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for NBA 2K12
No improvement. What am I paying for? A r
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:10/25/11
jcminst
Location: Texas
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I actually was inpressed with the 2k sports games for ps2 up until now. I havent seen any real noticable changes since 2k10. I didnt even bother to buy this game cause I have had a ps2 since the release. And up until 2k5 or 2k6 the graphics have stoped improving. What made me mad was 2k charge 30 dollars for this game. I could easily go online and update the rosters on 2k11. On top of that they dont even update the rosters during the year like the xbox 360. Atleast you could do that geez. Im glad I got a Xbox 360 its a bit better than ps2 version. Ps2 users its time to upgrade obviously developers dont care about the console anymore.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for NBA 2K12
AWFUL, AWFUL, AWFUL
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:1/17/12
coops12753
Location: Stoughton, MA
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This is the ligit worst game I have ever invested 30 dollars in. I traded in 2k11 and gift cards for 2k12. When I got hom I deleted all save data for 2k11. Worst decision ever. If I hadn't I would have gone back to the store and demanded a refund. There are no new modes, graphics or rosters. They DIDN'T even bother to put in ROOKIES. This game is as stated, should be called NBA 2k11.5 or 2kCRAP. This game sucks.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
7 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for NBA 2K12
It's Basketball
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/11
Flash30
Location: Manahawkin, NJ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
No graphic updates and other roster problems due to the lockout...but great game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
coleloca
 
Please wait while more information about coleloca is loaded.
Additional information about coleloca could not be loaded.
Posted 4/7/12
this game is wack it is like nba 2k8
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for NBA 2K12
NO ONLINE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted on:10/3/11
kingoftheworld
Location: 02301
online made 2k much betta graphics need improvement really bad because it the same since NBA 2k5 no my player mode in 2k11 i pre ordered it betta not be a waste of money or ill bring it right back please 2k make this game betta please it could be our last year :(
4 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for NBA 2K12
Horrendous
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/11
CacaBoyJonathan
Location: Maplewood, NJ
2K11 was really terrible nothing was fun and enjoyable it was a complete disaster and this doesn't change also u can call this game NBA 2K11.5 this doesn't deserve to have a different title cause its the same game as last year. thats why i bought a PS3 and it has My Player, Blacktop, Better Gameplay, Presentation, basically everything is better dont waste 30 something dollars on this, get a ps3 or xbox 360 plz
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for NBA 2K12
>:O
Posted on:8/10/11
Improvement
This game needs some improvements i think 2ksports should put a my player mode nd make the players have a real form just bczu the ps2 is really old doesnt mean dat u have to make the games worse so can you guys please put the players real forms nd make the players realistic nd have a my player mode because it gets boring really fast if we just play association mode.. just please make these improvements
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for NBA 2K12
okay game
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/9/12
ket1015
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
NBA 2k12 on ps2 is an okay game but the gameplay is not so good because to many miss layups, open miss 3s, foul called on user and much more. This game dont have no new features but they do have new legendary teams and also allow the user to mess with the roster more freely with the legends.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for NBA 2K12
dallas mavericks champs
Posted on:8/28/11
mavssssssssssssssssssss
Location: dallas
how about them mavs ccccccccccccccchhhhhhhhhhhhhaaaaaaaaaaammmmmmmpppppppssssss
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
5 of 19 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for NBA 2K12
Good Game but....
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/10/12
KBreezie
Location: NY,NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Good game love it and it is my first time purchasing an NBA 2k game. Made me an even bigger fan of basketball, but there is a glitch in my player mode that after the all star game you lose your starting spot. Then have to win it back even if you were going ham that season. Other than that really like the game although that glitch made me not want to play for a while.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 17 for NBA 2K12
NBA2k12
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:6/28/13
mrcharles
Location: miami
This game is good but not as good as NBA2k13. Its not fair to the people that have nba2k12 because it dont have the modes that nba2k13 has. and PS2 only has NBA2k12 Not NBA2k13 and nba2k12 is basically the same as nba2k11. so i think they sould make nba2k14 or nba2k13 for ps2!
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 18 for NBA 2K12
no way, ps2 is almost dead
Posted on:6/4/11
gamefan4564
Location: shelbyville mi
just get the ps3 or xbox 360 version, ps2 does not have much life left. it's time to let the ps2 go slowly and enjoy all the other games that came for it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
 
1 of 19 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
drose1
Anguilla, Mississippi
 
Please wait while more information about drose1 is loaded.
Additional information about drose1 could not be loaded.
yeah it almost
Posted 9/24/11
i believe that 2k12 has to be a little bit more exicting then 2k11 plus it has the old time lakers celtics and bulls my guess is the more teams they put on 2k for ps2 the more sells they would get for the game think about it
Customer Avatar
ML10
MARGATE, FL
 
Please wait while more information about ML10 is loaded.
Additional information about ML10 could not be loaded.
CMON
Posted 8/13/11
they should let u enjoy, the game jst like ps3 n xbox 360..or else u jst trowing yall money away..it's da same graphics year after year...so y buying it...dats y i said i will never get a new ps2 game..unless it's $5:99 cus dats wat it really worth..
Comments (2)
Comments (2)