GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

The Bureau: XCOM Declassified

The year is 1962. JFK is President and the Cold War has the nation gripped by fear - but a far more powerful and insidious enemy than communism is threatening America. Known only to a select few, a top-secret government unit called The Bureau begins investigating and concealing a series of mysterious attacks by an otherworldly enemy. As special agent William Carter, call the shots, pull the trigger and lead your squad in a gripping third-person tactical shooter set within a high-stakes, covert war to protect humanity. The Bureau's mission is clear - survive, adapt and overcome the enemy threat to protect the citizens from the truth.
Average Customer Rating:
8
8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
10 stars
1
9 stars
1
8 stars
0
7 stars
1
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 450%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Bureau: XCOM Declassified
Review 1 for The Bureau: XCOM Declassified
A Great Name But A Different Game
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:8/26/13
Gnasty
Location: Davison, MIchigan
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
XCOM games are relatively new to me. I wasn't one of the hardcore series gamers that grew up on the PC titles, but when I played XCOM Enemy Unknown I couldn't set it down. It was one of the most surprising games I have every played. That being said even with the new style of game play, I had very high expectations. Unfortunately, The Bureau doesn't hold up to my expectations. The game play was fun, with a command wheel comparable to the Mass Effect games. And the vast array of weapons and backpacks were a added bonus. However, I could never notice the backpacks abilities and the combat got repetitive quickly. The most disappointing part was how confusing and mediocre the story was. The being said if the price drops, which I guarantee it will, I still think the game is worth a play through, but it will never be in the same category as the XCOM name.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for The Bureau: XCOM Declassified
Will the real X-Com please stand up?
Posted on:1/13/12
Miniyota
Location: Central Fla
This may have the same name, but it is not the traditional X-Com we all know and love. Check out FIRAXIS and their upcoming title X-Com Enemy Unknown.... it stays true to the X-Com lineage. That being said, this "X-Com" game still looks like fun; I will give it a try.
7 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
nooby16
 
Please wait while more information about nooby16 is loaded.
Additional information about nooby16 could not be loaded.
Posted 7/19/13
actual it is it's the story of how the bureau was formed and it has all the base strategy elements of xcom
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for The Bureau: XCOM Declassified
Just what we needed ...
Posted on:6/28/13
aco612
Location: Future wetlands of Louisiana
with the rise of the FPS, it seems the tactical 3rd person shooter has sunk; not so fast if Firaxis has anything to do about it! After bringing strategy and turn-based combat back to the consoles with XCOM: Enemy Unknown, it looks as if XCOM: The Bureau will bring tactics back to their roots now, and that is an exciting proposition. It looks as if the tactical layout will be easy to access and manipulate, and while the graphics don't look incredible, they look realistic enough to keep your attention engaged in the scenarios. I'd be interested if there will be a multiplayer component to the game - although I wonder how it could possibly work as a paused-time strategy with 2 competing players - but even if there is not I think the single-player campaign will offer enough replayability to make the cost worth it. Count me in ...
Review 4 for The Bureau: XCOM Declassified
A XCOM diehard fan loves this game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/3/13
AgentCarter
Location: XCOM, HQ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I have spent a good set of years playing the x-com series. I find it interesting that so many people have come to hate as well as love this game, that is has gotten an 8.2. Which is good, yet not perfect.
Gameplay is repetitive was one complaint. So is C.O.D, which is shoot kill and repeat and I don't see people complaining that. I find it challenging, since I have died close to 10+ times.
The gameplay is really interesting and entertaining. Once I get my agents rank to 5, chaos breaks loose. From laser cannons to drop shields to cloaks and bombardments. None of these powers were in Firaxis version.
The story has kept me on the edge of my seat. Is it hard to follow, YES! Which is great! Every mission gives me more questions than answers. It's as if I was watching Sherlock Holmes. Nothing makes since till the very end. And I am watching this going, "Ooooh, that's why."
It is a third person shooter. A lot of people don't know that there has been another x-com game with 3rd person shooter for a good set of years. That is X-Com Enforcer which was released in 2001. This is an asset instead of a setback. Since it is Carter's story, not mine. I am seeing what he is doing and it feels like a story to me.
I always wanted to know how the XCOM came to be, who started it, why. I always wanted to explore the base and see what an agent sees, talk with an alien. I wanted to feel what the agents feels when their friend dies at their hands.
This game delivers all that, and more. Now if people are still complaining over the new gameplay and how it is not the same as the old xcoms, I want all those people to hear this: That is why this game was delayed for a year. To make others happy with the firaxis XCOM, which is an amazing game and all and here's another happy news, There's is another add-on for that game.
Bottom line is this: It's a game meant to explain how xcom came to be. And most people don't even realize that the voice of Agent Carter is the same voice for the Council. HINT HINT!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for The Bureau: XCOM Declassified
No!! X-COM fan for almost 20 years, I wont buy it
Posted on:8/19/13
BryanSPQR
Location: Sonora,CA
I have played every X-com game since the beginning long ago, I love those games and I thought that enemy unknown kept the dynamic that I have grown up loving. this new game does not. its not turn based and more important there is no base construction. I think that any long time fan of this franchise would agree that these are two very important aspects of the games. I for one will not be buying this game. I hope that the next release of X-com will follow the dynamics that have worked well for almost 20 year now. They should have not even called this game x-com, permadeath is the only thing that they kept true. I am crushed to see that popular opinion and the FPS hype has ruined this game. I hope that it does not ruin the franchise that I have grown up with
 
My Product Recommendations
 
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for The Bureau: XCOM Declassified
WORLD WAR III
Posted on:1/15/12
ReviewMWBer
Location: New Orleans, Louisiana
This game looks very dangerous, making it seem as if it is War of the Worlds combined with a related Left 4 Dead. To me it looks very cool but we will just have to see what this game has to offer. I consider trying it before I buy it.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for The Bureau: XCOM Declassified
Looks Interesting. 8/20/13 = Great Day!!!
Posted on:8/7/13
duarte
Location: fairfield
ive read and seen lots of things from this game and i got to say i am glad they decided to go the same route as the older xcoms and leave behind that FPS version from what ive read and seen (and also i have to say i love the way they have been advertising this game as well) this actually looks like its shaping up to be better than i expected but well see when it releases on 8/20/13 which is also the same day splinter cell blacklist and saints row iv come out and i have those pre ordered as well. 8/20/13 is going to be a great day and it cant come soon enough.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for The Bureau: XCOM Declassified
Its gonna be good
Posted on:6/19/11
00007
Location: Portland, OR
This looks good. Its being made by 2k, who generally make good games. The trailer potrayed it as kind of creepy, but in the zombies kind-of-way, where it freaks you out, but then you shoot the zombie and everything's okay. The xcom series has responded well with critics and audiences. Let's hope 2k can carry on this tradition.
4 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ticker
 
Please wait while more information about ticker is loaded.
Additional information about ticker could not be loaded.
true to it's roots? lets hope so
Posted 9/10/11
Played the original on PC when it first came out and absolutely loved it. The game was completely open and you could play it any way you wanted: deciding what to research, what to fund and build etc... almost like the old Syndicate game; but with aliens.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for The Bureau: XCOM Declassified
Just......NO.
Posted on:10/19/11
UpgradeJ
Location: Union City, NJ
This game may look good but the gameplay just doesn't work. They use Mass Effect style gameplay but in first-person so its harder to aim your actual skills. Its also a squad based shooter which again doesn't work well in first person. From what I've seen of the gameplay the "aliens" are interesting to look at, but there is little variety all you fight are leeches that infect humans, shapeshifting cyborgs that use guns for some reason, and shape-shifting satellites that fire surprisingly small but destructive lasers. Chances are the only people who are going to buy this game, are people who have no idea that XCOM is actually a series of RPG's on the PC, now being turned into an FPS.
4 of 30 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for The Bureau: XCOM Declassified
August 20th is a good day.
Posted on:6/9/13
AC3Assassin
Location: Hoover, Alabama
So Far August 20th has some wesome releasing titles such as the new Splinter Cell: Blacklist, Saints Row 4 and the new FPS XCOM: Declassified. I am looking forward to this and can't wait for it to release, I have been seeing comparisons to COD but in no way this looks like COD. Neither does it have zombies! This game is about your elite squad defending the Earth from Alien invasions not zombies people we have enough good zombie games like: Dead Island, Left 4 Dead, Resident Evil and many more, XCOM Enemy Unknown is persoanlly an awesome game I just think an FPS turn could make a good impact on the XCOM games.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 11 for The Bureau: XCOM Declassified
There are 2 games called xcom
Posted on:1/11/12
Knizel
Location: Aston, PA
For some reason 2 different companies are both making new games called XCOM. This is the FPS version of the game which looks semi interesting but they are indeed remaking the original TURN BASED Strategy version as well. Go to gameinformer.com The strategy version is the February 2012 cover story, it also has a fall 2012 release date and i expect that us real XCOM fans wil much prefer a modernized reimagining of the original game, which will be called XCOM: Enemy Unknown, not just XCOM which is the FPS.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
AC3Assassin
Hoover, Alabama
 
Please wait while more information about AC3Assassin is loaded.
Additional information about AC3Assassin could not be loaded.
Top 50 Contributor
Not Even
Posted 6/9/13
Bro COD is nothing like XCOM, I purchased XCOM Enemy Unknown and it is a strategic game not a FPS, this is an FPS and to me it looks great I personally don't think it looks anything like COD, I don't see why just about every FPS that comes out someone has to compare it to COD.
Customer Avatar
Cheezit
Orlando Florida
 
Please wait while more information about Cheezit is loaded.
Additional information about Cheezit could not be loaded.
Just like call of duty?
Posted 12/27/12
JUST LIKE CALL OF DUTY AND MANY OTHER GAMES.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 12 for The Bureau: XCOM Declassified
I love this game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/22/13
Dashel
Location: NH
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I don't know what people were expecting but as a tactical, squad based, shooter, this ROCKS! They have streamlined the command process so it feels smoother, and keeps you engaged in the fighting. This reminds me a lot of MASS Effect. I love the story and the voice acting in this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 13 for The Bureau: XCOM Declassified
Not worth $50 +
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/3/13
DSquare23
Location: AZ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Wait for a major price drop. This is not worth a high price at all. Story is very bland. Characters are mediocre. Gameplay is kinda fun. But like I said wait for a major price drop
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 14 for The Bureau: XCOM Declassified
Sweet!
Posted on:7/18/13
dustgrinder
Location: LA County, CA
Now, I never played the classic XCOMs but I have played and liked XCOM enemy unknown which was similar but kicked my fps-loving butt. Now I can't wait for a possibly easier game that has you in control of someone! cannot wait for this to come and for more hopefully in the future.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 15 for The Bureau: XCOM Declassified
A change
Posted on:6/12/13
BruhBruh
Location: Pennsylvania, PA
For everybody out there it has been a while since you all txt on this comment thingy but it is confirm they are changing it to a third person shooter so cod people srry even tho it really wasn't IMO every game is differ but yea they have changed it so c u later ;-)
0 of 2 found this review helpful.