GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor 2

With an all new story and cast, an expanded roster of demons to manage, vastly expanded party interaction, an all new soundtrack from composer Kenji Ito, plus a host of refinements and improvements over its predecessor, Devil Survivor 2 delivers everything fans loved about the first game: an intense narrative with multiple endings based on player actions, the beautiful visuals and sounds the SMT series is renowned for, the addicting challenge of collecting, customizing, auctioning, and fusing every last demon in the game, and much more.
Average Customer Rating:
8.222
8.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
10 stars
3
9 stars
4
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
7 out of 978%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor 2
Review 1 for Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor 2
The Art of Surviving - Part II
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/27/12
KnightMan
Location: Some Castle, England
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game... is really tough. Not a tough as the first one but still difficult. First off, this game has nothing to do with the first Devil Survivor. Compared to it, the story has greater character development but somewhat of a weaker story. The new FATE system lets you develop relations with characters and the conversations now seem more important than just a waste of time before the next big battle. The new multi-crank ablities help out alot, making it easier to crack skills. The new skills are helpful for physical characters but not much new in the magic department. This game also requires you to unlock way more demons than before by fighting optional bosses and getting your FATE level up. This makes it more of a challenge to unlock all the demons but makes a better experience. This game has so much replay value it reeks. In my second play through and I cannot even fight the strongest boss. That is as much as I can say without spoilers....
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor 2
Personal Demons? Line 'em Up
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/1/12
PaperMemories
Location: In amazement
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game, like the first, will trap you in a web of mystery. The game hasn't evolved in the battles, because they are exactly the same in both games, but one good thing is that you have more demons and a few new attacks to use. Nothing much, but hey, take what you can get. Now, unlike the first game, this has nothing to do with religion, really, but more with politics. The game throws you a few curve balls, which lead you to make your own decisions. Each choice you make will ultimately lead you down a different path. Like the first game, there are multiple endings, which leave you wondering if you picked the right one. Some people might go insane over it, but for me, I couldn't stop letting my mind wander over if I was making the right, and best choice for the WORLD, and my characters. The game doesn't connect with the first, which is kind of disappointing, but the game is still great. Waiting for a third, and likely to replay.
"Let's survive."
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor 2
As good as the first one
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/5/12
RebellionSlayer
Location: Eagle Pass,TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I got this game the same day it came out, why? because I love all the games related to Shin Megame Tensei, the gameplay is the same as the first game, the soundtrack is awesome I like the boss battle theme and the sad theme, the desing of the characters are incredible but what can we expected from the same guy that created Durarara, it has no voiceover but it has some cutscenes that compensate the voices, I hope that they do an edition for the 3ds with the same improvements that Overclocked had, the story of the game is good and I think that it is longer that the first game.
The game is awesome, I asked earlier why did I got this game? first: it is the sequel of one of my favorites games, second: this game will be difficult to get in a few days just like the first one and third and not least "It's a new born classic"
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor 2
Can't wait!
Posted on:6/25/11
MinatoKun
Devil Survivor was easily the best DS game, IMO, and this seems like it'll be a close second. There's a new artist doing the sprites, but they look like the original to me, which by no means is a bad thing. This is going to be like the Persona series, the games don't really have to much of a connection besides the odd reference and the same Demons. The only game that i think would be better then this is Overclocked, but I can't see the 3DS 3D so i dont think i'll be playing it v_v
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor 2
omg
Posted on:6/24/11
digitalblade
Location: new york ny
wow i cant believe another one is coming out. the first one was amazing i hope this one will be the same
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor 2
FINALLY!
Posted on:8/21/11
Tokuro
I'm so glad that Atlus is finally releasing this title in English! I've been wanting to play it, and though I knew Japanese, the game was so expensive! I'm an absolute fan of Suzuhito Yasuda and I'm so happy that he's doing the character designs for this game too! > uuu< I can't wait to play it c:
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor 2
YES, YES YEEESSSSSssss.
Posted on:8/5/11
SyFyTy1
Location: Lakeland, Fl
What the other two previewers said was right on the money, the previous game is amazing. It follows suit that this one will only strengthen the series. It is more than a game it is a gamers work of art, in that there is not one aspect to this game that didn't reflect a creative thought; it is a pleasure to play, see and hear. If you enjoy RPG style gaming and don't get this game, you need to ask yourself, why not. I'll bet you can't come up with a good, valid reason why NOT. Don't think you'll buy it later when prices drop, not with this one, you will have along wait for that.
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor 2
Devil Surviving Fun! XD
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/22/12
SaintOfJustice
Location: Sacramento, California
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is everything the previous game was.....And More. The amount of fun I had playing this game astounded me, and the re-playability of the game is Huge.
This game is a strategy game, but it isn't too difficult to get a hang of. This game is also perfect for any Megami Tensei fan.
Of the little problems I got with this game where the graphics, and the lack of voices but to be completely honest these retract absolutely nothing from the game. I suggest this game for anyone who loves Strategy games RPG's or Shin Megami Tensei to try it out, you dont even have to have played the first game to get into this one. :D
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor 2
An excellent follow-up to the first Survivor.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/15/13
RiRyn
Location: TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
If I wimped out and played on easy my first time on Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor Overclocked, this beat the wuss out of me with a lamp post. It's incredibly hard with its bosses, necessary level grinding, and the sheer amount of enemies or stipulations present in battles. Faint of heart should avoid this, for it is truly a hard-core game. An excellent follow-up, with a wonderful and surprising, for me at least, story-line. I would have preferred that they released it on the 3DS instead, but oh-well. Sound was okay, though I like the first game's better while the battle system and game mechanics were solid as usual. Once again, exceptional replay value for the multiple endings; kind of disappointing since there were more endings in SMT: Overclocked. Still, I recommend it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 10 for Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor 2
Shin Megami Tensei rules.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/5/12
ShinMegami
Location: San Diego,CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I have played Shinmegami games before like Devil Survivor (1) and all the Personas and I can't get enough please make more Shinmegami games for the Ps3. This game is awesome from the story line to the fights I recommend this to anyone who loves rpg game play. Way to go Atlus=).
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor 2
Lets Survive... AGAIN!!!
Posted on:2/15/12
KnightMan
Location: Some Castle, England
Looks like one of the last great DS game. Before going to 3DS games, buy this game. Now I'm going back to playing Strange Journey and Persona PSP.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor 2
Next Best Thing
Posted on:10/10/11
ChanceD
Location: My Computer
So looking forward to this. Orignal game is awesome. Overclocked is even better. So ready for this one.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor 2
awesome
Posted on:7/8/11
GaliDragon
Shin megami Tensi games are beyond awesome. I love the story, characters, and collecting demons is so addicting. It looks like this game will be better than the first!! This series is my all time favorite series. I want to own every Shin Megami Tensi game there is! You won't need to buy the first to enjoy this game. Each Shin Megami Tensi game can stand alone. But I suggesting getting them all!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor 2
My life is complete
Posted on:8/13/11
Lass
I can't wait for this game to come out! I enjoyed the first one sooooo much! I swear! This will be the only game I probably play next year after it comes out. I checked out the wikia of it and it seems really interesting! Consider this already bought:)
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor 2
i want it
Posted on:12/4/11
crazylove
Location: new york city
omg!!! i have the first one for the 3ds and im going to get a psp this month with persona 2! i loooove shin megami tensei games! this game is a must on my list!
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor 2
yes
Posted on:6/19/11
Mono
when my friend told me a second one was coming out i thought we was lying. i can't wait until this one comes out i loved the first one and i bet i'll love the second one. i just wonder if the two conect at all? the first one had an amazing story, good game play, and good replay value. i hope this will be just as good.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Gamerfan19
Topeka, Kansas
 
Please wait while more information about Gamerfan19 is loaded.
Additional information about Gamerfan19 could not be loaded.
A must!!!!!!
Posted 12/15/11
I already have Devil Survivor Overclocked and have already beaten the Gin and Naoya/Kaido route. I have this one on Pre-Order, I am an extreme game fan even though I am in college so who cares.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor 2
uhhhhh
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/17/13
MrMike
Location: Saint Charles, MO
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
look, devil survivor 2 was a good game in some departments, but when it actually came down to battle demons, this game was very frusterating and difficult. this is the kind of game where you have to constantly train your "demons" to actually be able to beat a battle. Because usually, whenever i face an enemy, i always lose. whenever i buy a demon, it just ditches me because apparently, i have to have "mone" or "macca". Overall, this was a great game, mainly for the story. but the actual battles was just so terrible, annoying, etc. I am still stuck on the "hacked lady" boss battle as we speak.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor 2
90/100
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/25/13
animemagician
Location: Fremont, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The game draws you into the story, and allows a lot of thinking when it comes to creating monsters and choosing their attacks. This was my first Shin Megami game, and I was not disappointed. It's only for an anime fan though, otherwise you won't be drawn into it. The graphics aren't spectacular either, but above average.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor 2
Horrible game!!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:5/22/12
OneEye
Location: Conway, MO
This game is not worth your time. I bout it played for two hours because i kept telling myself that it would get better...it didn't
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 38 found this review helpful.