GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Darksiders II

Awakened by the End of Days, Death, the most feared of the legendary Four Horsemen embarks on a quest to restore mankind and redeem his brother's name. Along the way, the Horseman discovers that there are far worse things than an earthly Apocalypse, and that an ancient grudge may threaten all of Creation. Become the terrifying force which everything fears but nothing can escape. Death Lives in Darksiders II.
Average Customer Rating:
9.04
9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (84 reviews)
10 stars
30
9 stars
11
8 stars
3
7 stars
2
6 stars
2
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
44 out of 5088%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Darksiders II
Review 1 for Darksiders II
Hopefully a superb sequel.
Posted on:6/10/11
MrGeneric3000
Location: Earth
The first Darksiders game took me by complete surprise. It was a perfect marriage of hack and slash combat and platforming adventure. The first game didn't do anything revolutionary but it didn't need to. It stuck to an age old formula of solid combat, fun exploration, and a great story. If Darksiders II just sticks to that same formula, it will definately be a winner in my book.
Plus, come one, it's not every day you get to be a Horseman of the Apocalypse. First War and now Death? What more could you need?
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Darksiders
 
 
 
 
 
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
kevin1992
California
 
Please wait while more information about kevin1992 is loaded.
Additional information about kevin1992 could not be loaded.
YIsss
Posted 6/14/11
I knew they were gonna make a second. I knew they were gonna make death the min character.. Well anyways i cant wait to play as death or i should say rider of Death ///_^
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Darksiders II
Amazing story!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/15/14
Miaclockman
Location: Florida
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
When I first bought this game I was a little disappointed as I was expecting something different. However, I gave it a chance and I have had countless hours of pure entertainment, challenge, and lasting appeal.
The game begins with various puzzles to solve that are not very difficult. But, as the game progresses, the puzzles and challenges get more and more difficult.
The game has an interesting storyline, great graphics for 720P, and true lasting appeal. I can't wait to finish it at novice level to try the more challenging levels.
Beside the main quests, there are plenty of side quests to keep you busy for hours! I do have to say, however, that once or twice I had to "cheat" and view a YouTube video when I got stuck.... But I'm not a hardcore gamer either.
I highly recommend this for anyone wanting to immerse themselves in worlds of mystery, danger, and adaptive choice making. The publishers got this one right from the beginning!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Darksiders II
Great, but not for everyone
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/12/14
Boney56
Location: Illinois
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Darksiders II is a very good game with a lot of platform jumping, puzzlers, and a very nice leveling up system. This being said, it is designed for people who enjoy frustratingly difficult "boss" fights, something I am not a fan of. The most disappointing thing is that I really enjoyed all the elements aside from these frustrations quite a bit. A cheat code or two to bypass the torture would have been a welcome addition, but those aren't very popular among game developers these days. Such an unfortunate development for those of us who like to be challenged, but not frustrated. Also, despite being labeled as such, Darksiders II is not a RPG. Leveling a character up does not, in itself, define an RPG. Developing a character means more than gaining access to a rather small set of abilities. However, I really enjoyed the game until I got to a boss fight that frustrates me, gives me headaches, and isn't worth subjecting myself to. But for those who don't mind doing so, it's a great game, and more power to you!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 4 for Darksiders II
Vigil made everything about the first game better!
Posted on:7/23/12
NarcoticSqurl
Location: OH
I've heard a lot of complaints about how Darksiders was a rip off of Metroid, Zelda, God of War, etc. To be honest, I even used the God of War and Zelda combo to describe the gameplay to my wife. The fact is though, that Vigil were already in the middle of production when God of War came out. They did a lot of things in the first one that made it a great game, and brought back screaming memories of a lot of really great old-school games. In all the promotions I've seen for Darksiders II, I can only say that I've not been this excited for a video game in years. Since at least N64. (I'm 21 and have been playing video games since I was 6, starting with the NES).
The loot system, skill trees, customizable armor and weapon combos, and the immense system of weapons and armor is an amazing addition. Not to mention the vast size difference in the world from I to II is a welcome difference. But my biggest reason for being so excited for this game, is Death. Ever since I can remember I've had a fascination with the personification of Death. Death, Grim Reaper, Azrael the Angel of Death, and the image of the Skull in general. I'm excited for this game, and the chance to play this personification. I honestly almost can't wait.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Darksiders II
A great puzzle/action game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/22/12
gamer202
Location: houston,texas
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
darksiders 2 fixes most of its problems that it faced on draksiders 1, but does have its annouying glitchs, but it doesnt damage the overall worth of its self. fighting is fun and easy, and upgradeing on the skill tree is easy but worth while, darksiders has always been all abought over the top action, and brain twisting puzzles, and thankfully darksiders 2 delievers on all my hopes. graphics are good, but when zoomed in graphics are blurry and undetailed, but for the most part they get the job done right! music fits the mood, and sound effects crash and slash till your speakers want to die, but thats a very good thing. For the most part draksiders delievers on all my hopes, wants, and needs. the entire time i played darksiders 2, i was on the edge of my seat, and thats another thing, darksider 2 is LONG!!! (I know thats what she sayed) but still it will take many many hours to 100% beat darksiders 2!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Darksiders II
Fun game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/7/14
BowandArrowartist
Location: Wisconson
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is a really fun game for all of you out there who like third person games like this. I would recommend watching a game play because the graphics aren't the best but they are still fun to play.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Darksiders II
A M A Z I N G@!!@!@@
Posted on:7/19/11
Gearsofwaraddictnumber1
Location: orlando FL
This game is going to be amazing!!! I hope they do a collectors edition for it or something :P
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Darksiders II
Just the Sequel youd Expect
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/14/12
SwiftySwift
Location: san diego
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
presentation: right off the bat the game throws you into the struggle for Death to save his brother War, armed with 2 scythes and an unlimited amount of different secondary weapons this game is that much more playable then Darksiders One. after receiving all of the preoder bonus items i felt an overbearing amount of power over the basic enemies you must face. its like what would happen if diablo 2 went third person and was gifted with a better storyline (I.E. the 'loot' system is a MAJOR PLUS)
Pros: in the first one, War traversed the environment kind of slow. but death 'glides' if you will from ledge to hanging poles and wall jumps to wall runs. just like prince of persia if you will. this makes gameplay that much more fast paced and playable. surprisingly the soundtrack was in my face during all of the combat moments. and it wasnt that bad either. actually enjoyable amongst all the carnage. the level system and skill tree are AMAZING. you have an infinite amount of chaos spell combination to unlock and each spell is unique to each battle.
Cons: Once death is allowed to explore you realize that this game is VERY vast and very over bearing. if you are fans of skyrim and LOVE grinding away on side quests then have fun. but if you are looking for that linear story like the first one then stay away. personally im doing everything i can to find EVERYTHING in every area before i move on.
Verdict: Looks and feels multiple times better then its predecessor. already hours into his journey i am already sure that this will be an experience that i wont want to stop
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
gamer58011
 
Please wait while more information about gamer58011 is loaded.
Additional information about gamer58011 could not be loaded.
great game, but game breaking glitches
Posted 11/1/14
This is an awesome game 5 stars for sure. Problem with it that makes it unplayable is the lack of saving options and frequent game save corruptions when nearing the higher levels of completing the game. Basically when your 20-30 hours gameplay (3/4's into the game completion), the save file will fail to load. It's a common issue that has no fix for Xbox 360 currently.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Darksiders II
Simply Amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/22/12
SLive
Location: New Jersey, Nj
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is amazing it surpassed all my expectations. The combat graphics puzzles and boss's are all perfect I felt it real hard to put this game down once i started. Even though i just beat it the large amount of side content and the crucible only add to the replay value of this game. Bottom line this is a great game and a perfect way to end the summer. This games only flaw is probably that you don't see the last two horseman Strife and Fury but hopefully will get a chance to see them in Darksiders 3
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Darksiders II
AWESOME DEATH FOR ALL!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/15/12
PunkerRockx23
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I've been told that Darksiders was a rip off of God Of War and that it wouldn't be near as good as it should be. Well I haven't played the first one to be honest I jumped into the series such like when I jumped into Mass Effect and got Mass Effect 3, Well I have to say I've never been excited or amazed by any other game. This has blown my mind away like there is so much stuff to do on here it is addictive. I just got this game like 8/15/12 and I mean I've never been so amazed and or addicted to any other game then Darksiders 2 I would give it a 10/10 for Gameplay. It has to be the best game of the year in my opinion. And it has all rights and should be Game Of The Year and also comes with DLC content for Tomb and not to mention just more content around the corner for hours and hours of gameplay. I cannot wait for the weekend and be on this game alot more. If you want to add me on Xbox Live just add MassxPunisher that is my gamertag.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Darksiders II
I've done some research.......
Posted on:7/30/12
AwesomeShadowNinja123
Location: West Covina, California
In my original preview, all I said was that I was expecting this game's release and that it looked beast. I've done a lot of research into it and realized that this game is gonna be even AWESOMER than I thought it was going to be. Not only will there be lots of weapons ranging from guns to giant hammers, and a bunch of sets of armor, but it will also have detailed RPG elements AND a world that is twice as bigger and has TWICE as many things to do. There might be some form of customization for Death to make him unique for your taste, hopefully it will be something like the customization for Commander Shepard on Mass Effect 3. There's also countless dungeons and side quests that you will be able to do! I'm looking forward to getting the extra content in this Gamestop exclusive pre-order. The game will feature you trying to kill different demon kings and an infinite amount of enemies, you will even get to fight a deranged version of -------SPOILER ALERT------- War himself! And this games is also said to feature the other two legendary horsemen somehow. As Death you will be able to scale walls, run faster, traverse land easier, and you can pull off deadly chain combos! I really want the combat to be something like Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning's, because that games fighting layout was perfect (except for the fact you couldn't jump). I'm hoping this game will be as AWESOMELY FANTASTIC as I've been thinking.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
weezzy
new york
 
Please wait while more information about weezzy is loaded.
Additional information about weezzy could not be loaded.
your research
Posted 8/16/12
well your research is wrong!! this game is terrible!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Darksiders II
Can't Wait!!!!
Posted on:6/21/11
soulouloilister
I've been waiting so long for another Darksiders that it's not even funny, and now that this has been announced, I am soooo happy. I loved the original Darksiders, so this one is going to be even better hopefully. I just miss War being the main character.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Darksiders II
Darksiders 2 Open World!
Posted on:6/4/12
xXShadowXx500
I just found out that Darksiders 2 is going to be open world! Pre-ordered immediately!! The first was really fun but I didn't plan on getting the second until I found out that it is going to be open world. Can't Wait!!
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Darksiders II
Darksiders II looks amazing
Posted on:8/12/12
Doomguard
If you liked the first game, chances are you are going to love the sequel. The developers look to have taken everything about the first game that worked and upped the awesome level. Not only is it just an action/adventure title,It will be an action?adventure/RPG which will have great re-playability with New Game+ and Arena modes, not including the new loot system and kill system to customize Death to your liking. They've also increased the world to twice the size of the original. I'll be shocked if this game does not deliver like I believe it will. I bet it will be a contender for game of the year.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Darksiders II
Darksiders in a whole new way.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/15/12
Kegley
Location: Florida
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This sequel is what I think the first game should have been. There is a complete loot system with multiple types of weapons, different pieces of armor, and varying levels of rarity as you progress through the game. The combat is a lot faster compared to the first, and is a lot more fun. You can buy new moves to create bigger combos and which weapon type you use creates different moves as well. The game this time around using an RPG focused leveling system for your character, with each level you gain a skill point you can use to gain either new combat abilities or new summoning abilities, which adds more depth to the combat system as you play through the game. The game's world is much larger than the first, and a complete playthrough should take around 25 hours of solid fun. There is also a New Game+ mode where you keep all of your skills and levels then start over again, that mode along with a soon to be released "Arena" mode offer a lot of gameplay choices even after you have beaten the game. Darksiders II for me is the RPG I wished the first one would be, but Death's storyline and character have taken this franchise to a whole new level. Must own game, you won't be disappointed.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Darksiders II
Oh man...
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:8/23/12
SpecialK740
Location: Boston, Massachusetts
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
For all the hype generated around the release of this game, I'm utterly shocked by the amount of glitches and pit falls that THQ was somehow unable to fix before their release date. I'm actually interested to know if anyone has actually beaten this game. Not due to the difficulty level like Dark Souls, but due to the programming blunders that make it absolutely impossible to progress through the game. For instance, on two separate play throughs (15 and 8 hours respectively) odd happenings prevented me from continuing farther in the game. On the first attempt, a NPC who normally responded to the talk button by performing an action was no longer able to be interacted with. As a result I couldn't be thrown to some ledge where a blatantly obvious switch for the door in front of me was. On the second attempt I was concluding a puzzle that involved a glowing ball. Upon throwing the ball across the room, it landed on a rock and despite the fact that it rolled off the rock, the ball was still rock height and floating ridiculously in the air. At this point I was no longer able to interact with the ball and furthermore was unable to finish the puzzle. On both occasions, previous save files were loaded to try and beat the glitches. This proved ineffective after numerous attempts. I would consider myself an avid gamer and as it turned out there was absolutely no other option than to start a new game. To be quite frank I am tired of starting a new game in Darksiders 2, which is a shame because the controls, graphics, and storyline are all intriguing and satisfying. All in all, this game is fabulous, but is majorly handicapped by serious malfunctions that make it nearly impossible to play and ultimately enjoy. My advice, wait until you can buy this game used for 17.99 or perhaps, wait until a confirmed patch has come out that fixes the brutal bugs. Just for the record, I was playing on XBOX 360 and I honestly have no idea if this review holds true for Darksiders 2 on other platforms. Good luck.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
8 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
dmbfan1
 
Please wait while more information about dmbfan1 is loaded.
Additional information about dmbfan1 could not be loaded.
Posted 9/2/12
your copy must have been defective man cause mine has had 1 very insignificant problem since i got it and i have it on xbox 360 too.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Darksiders II
awesome
Posted on:10/12/11
war23
Location: arcola il
the first game was really awesome and i was really hoping that this one would bring all the brothers togather instead of one but it was really good beacause it takes thought and i cant wait to see what this ones has to come
6 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
pikkon9876
 
Please wait while more information about pikkon9876 is loaded.
Additional information about pikkon9876 could not be loaded.
not all the riders are male
Posted 4/22/12
strife is the baby sister of the group.
Customer Avatar
Teckie
Virginia
 
Please wait while more information about Teckie is loaded.
Additional information about Teckie could not be loaded.
Promises 2 be Epic & its DEATH this time my fav. 1
Posted 3/15/12
I agree with you completely this one looks to be more challenging and more fun then the last one
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 18 for Darksiders II
more fighting
Posted on:8/31/11
citronella
Location: ny
i liked the last one but as you progressed in the story line puzzles became more frequent and fighting less so please less puzzles more FIGHTING in darksiders 2
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
DarkMesmeric
???????
 
Please wait while more information about DarkMesmeric is loaded.
Additional information about DarkMesmeric could not be loaded.
CANT WAIT!!!!
Posted 10/1/11
Its gonna be so awesome!!!Just knowing that there is going to be a DARKSIDERS 2 is magnificent i cant wait for it to come out!!!!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for Darksiders II
Coooool
Posted on:6/29/11
gamer777777777
I have actualy never checked into darksiders until gameinformer 219. then i red about DS2 and freaked AWSOME! and now i am buying the first and eagarly awaiting the second. for anyone not sure what to think do this make zelda goth, take assassin's creed open world (for DS2) ad crackdown graphics, christian/greek apocalypse, and bada boom bada bang you have darksiders.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Darksiders II
Awesome
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/14/12
JakeB
Location: Kansas City MO
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Keeps the good stuff from the original, and adds a much more in-depth experience as well. Also, gotta love being Death.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>