GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Darksiders II

Awakened by the End of Days, Death, the most feared of the legendary Four Horsemen embarks on a quest to restore mankind and redeem his brother's name. Along the way, the Horseman discovers that there are far worse things than an earthly Apocalypse, and that an ancient grudge may threaten all of Creation. Become the terrifying force which everything fears but nothing can escape. Death Lives in Darksiders II.
Average Customer Rating:
8.792
8.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (56 reviews)
10 stars
13
9 stars
6
8 stars
1
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
20 out of 2483%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Darksiders II
Review 1 for Darksiders II
Fun Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/9/13
SeaLionsRCool
Location: Spokane, WA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I like this game and it is fun. When I play it I will usually spend a couple hours. I enjoy this game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 2 for Darksiders II
Great
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/5/13
savafan666
Death is Great!Hi moves deadly,hit-deadly and kill-awesome!I love that game!A lot of fun to play Death!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 3 for Darksiders II
AWESOME!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/11/12
angelicsatan
Location: Boston, MA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
you play has death… enough said. This game combines everything great about prince of persia, zelda, and god of war, and puts it all in on game. the graphics are a bit lacking but the gameplay more than makes up for it
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Darksiders II
Great just great
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/7/12
Rsork
Location: pa
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This was an amazing game with a long and fun story. There are many puzzles and is much bigger than the first one. However there is not much to do after you beat it. Wish they included a multiplayer like GOW
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 5 for Darksiders II
A Riveting 20+ Hours
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/26/12
Thief
Location: Cypress, TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Most games out today use overused ideas that have been done to death, and so does Darksiders II...literally, and in a good way.
You play as the leader of the Four Horseman of the Apocalypse 'Death' who, during the events of the first Darksiders, wishes to redeem the name of his brother 'War' who is accused of wiping out mankind by, of course, bringing mankind back.
To do this, Death will have to travel for miles on end, kill hundreds of enemies, solve numerous puzzles and destroy a giant golem. And that's just barely scratching the surface of his journey.
The voice acting is done pretty well - yet there's nothing real special about it. The music fits well and sticks with you through the game and graphics follow that of a comic book. Then there's the fighting which, while fun, can be difficult at times. You're constantly surrounded by hoards of enemies, and your camera doesn't help, as it hides alot of them until they're just right behind you, allowing them to get in free shots. The one-on-one bosses can be annoying, but nothing too difficult that it should take more than one or two tries. The traversal is fluent enough, though if you're not careful you can sometimes go careening off of a wall into a pit instead of running upwards because your finger pushed on the joystick a little.
You have your typical leveling system - the cap being level 30 - where you gain a skill point every time you level up and you're able to put your points into two different skill trees; one focusing on melee combat and another for necromancy, which I found both to be useful.
You're able to equip a main weapon - which is always dual-handheld scythes - and a secondary weapon - which you have several choices with including hammer, axe, glaive and claws. You can also equip different pieces of armor which can all have different effects and change up your style of play in different ways.
Their are many secret areas and side quests, which you will have to back-track to get to, as they require special items that you acquire through the game. One of the earliest side quests - which is acquired from the maker 'Thane' - cannot be completed until you have completed the second to last area. There are also a handful of glitches, which can usually be fixed by reloading your game.
Overall a great game, though it could use a little tune-up on its problems.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 6 for Darksiders II
not exactly like Darksiders
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:10/21/12
norcal
only opinion of course but honestly how many *ss backward puzzles have to be in the way of reaching an objective, I believe the first Darksiders had the right blend of action and puzzles Darksiders 2 seems to rely too much on the puzzles replacing a good story line
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 7 for Darksiders II
Best Game I've Played In A Long Time
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/29/12
Wazero
Location: VA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The gameplay and the story line is epic!!! never got bored with it. beat the game once and on my second playthough. this game is a must buy!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 8 for Darksiders II
This game is Amazing!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/27/12
Dtruone
Location: New Jersey
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Just picked this title up and played it for the first time. I am completely blown away! This is the absolute first game that has incorporated some of my favorite features in today's games. I love how it has taken hack and slash elements from God of War and traversing elements from Prince of Persia and put them together. The audio effects send me to a different world and I feel completely emersed in the world that is Darksiders. I am looking forward to playing this game for the next weeks of my life. Thank you THQ and Vigil Games.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Darksiders II
Truly a great game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/20/12
Senshi75
Location: Woodville, WI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I’ve heard all sorts of mixed reviews about this game but in the end I personally had a love/hate relationship with this game. I didn’t play the first game upon it’s release but I did so before tackling Darksiders 2 and I was greatly rewarded. It helped a lot being familiar with the first Darksiders game both story and character wise. Where some people were complaining about the inadequate story line of Darksiders 2 I’m pretty sure they ignored talking with NPCs and tackling side quests where much of the story was fleshed out more than by only taking on the main quest line in my opinion.
The first game was fun and challenging where as the second was fun, challenging and really frustrating. Death’s new combat style took some getting used to since he was so lightly armored and I didn’t realize how difficult it was to face the countless enemies the game threw at me at one time without a proper skill, weapon and armor sets. I liked the addition of a skill tree, leveling and loot system which made the idea of countless side quest less daunting and more rewarding. But I don’t know what the developers were thinking sending in wave after wave of enemies in tight quarters which was one qualm I had with Darksiders 2 on several levels. All in all, combat was never boring but it got repetitive and trying at times on the normal difficulty setting because of this.
The soundtrack was impeccable and Jesper Kyd’s music really made the game enjoyable. I’ve always enjoyed his music and his new spin was totally welcomed. I did however have to change the settings because sometimes the music would overpower the dialog. Overall it created a unique enigmatic atmosphere, like Death himself, for the game and I really enjoyed it.
I really didn’t have an issue with the game freezing or any other reported problems. There was lag in places and I did experience one glitch during a boss fight which forced me to reset it to continue. THQ/Vigil did release a patch a week or so ago to remedy most of the issues players were facing so I don’t see why people should boycott this game simply for bugs and glitches. If you’re a fan of the first game defiantly check out Darksiders 2 because its a totally new experience with some familiar faces and themes and I really liked the ending. I highly recommend it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Darksiders II Official Strategy Guide
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Darksiders II
DS1 is alot better
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/7/12
Guitarjeter
Location: Austin,Tx
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
During my play of Darksiders 2, i found the game to be very poorly made. The graphics, im not a big fan of em but they work i guess. The dialogue was very bad, the music is very boring and doesnt fit with the game. Plus this game is basically a HUGE puzzle. The execution's aren't as great as the first one, you NEVER fight any angels or demons really your stuck in the valley of the dead the WHOLE game. I found it to be very boring. I was very EXCITED for this one, but it was a huge let down.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Darksiders II
Incredible Sequel!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/26/12
FeastOfCrows97
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
For months i've been waiting for ds2 to come out, and when it finally did, I was not in any way dissapointed. THQ did an absolutely incredible job on ds2, the traversal is quick and graceful, the combat is gorey and creative, and the story has players in constant suspense, ds2 is a game not to be missed
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Darksiders II
Extraordinary.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/26/12
djzrma
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is very enjoyable to play and visually appealing. The story captivates the gamer and puts you in the journey of Death. It was obvious that the combat system had a lot of time put into it, as it was the most phenomenal aspect of the game to me, personally. Not simply a button masher, but combinations of various techniques and specials customizable to your play style. The puzzles are another benefit to further engage the player. A couple obvious puzzles later evolve into brain twisters that put most players to the test. The only downfall I found throughout my experience with this game is the rare game freeze. I completed the game with a total of two freezes, however, with the games auto-save feature, little effort or time was needed to put me right back where I was. I highly recommend this to anyone who has played the previous game and anyone who enjoys adventure/action-rpg. games. You will not be disappointed.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Darksiders II
Too many problems, poorly made
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:8/22/12
Lefthooklocke
Location: Florida
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Ds2 had the chance to be a great game and keep darksiders fans interested in the series. Unfortunately this game has more issues from freezing,glitches,characters disappearing to save files being corrupted by the auto save. I loved ds1 and was excited about ds2 but after logging twenty hours the game froze at the final cutscene and I can't finish the game. Plus the side quest of arbiters maze freezes every time you open the book. Very poor made game
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
0 of 13 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
sryanva
 
Please wait while more information about sryanva is loaded.
Additional information about sryanva could not be loaded.
Posted 8/26/12
There are plenty of solutions to your problems. Don't hate on the game so soon. Patches will be out to fix the bugs and glitches. I've had problems too, but I took the time (and high road) and found threads dedicated to helping other solve their problems.
Customer Avatar
Baconater
Springfield, Indiana
 
Please wait while more information about Baconater is loaded.
Additional information about Baconater could not be loaded.
Posted 8/26/12
From what it sounds like, the problem is your system, not the game. The game is great, and freezing along with save file corruptions are due to the console you're using. Go get it fixed.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 14 for Darksiders II
Love the game. Love the company. Keep it up THQ!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/19/12
FireAssassin
Location: Pahrump, NV
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I've been waiting for months for this game and I am so happy it's finally out. This game has gone above and beyond my expectations. Really hope there's a third one.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Darksiders II Official Strategy Guide
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Darksiders II
The Perfect Sequel
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/19/12
SuperNinjaReject
Location: Princeton, TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The world is so much bigger in this installment! After playing it for just a few minutes, I realized that there was so much for me to do! Now don't get me wrong.. It's not a full, hardcore RPG. It's open world with side quests and looting (new armor and weapons), but is still lacking some role-playing elements. This doesn't take away from the game at all because the story overpowers any of it's small flaws. The Legend of the horsemen can be so intriguing, and this installment hasn't let me down . Do yourself a favor and buy the first title, it won't disappoint.. War is a name to remember! Buy them both! They're worth it!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Darksiders II
Go get sleeping dogs...
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:8/18/12
Psvitatj
Location: Brooklyn
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Go get sleeping dogs great game 3 your money darkslders sucks waste of money :-( leave it in GameStop ....
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
0 of 30 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Darksiders II
enjoyable "Buuuut"
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/18/12
RaGa
Location: San Antonio, TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
DS2 was very enjoyable to play. The graphics are as great as the first, the mapping of each realm are very large and much more to explore than the first DS. there are many various primary and secondary weapons. Although (spoil alert) "do not read past this warning", as I played furthur into the game there seemed to be a bug during the arbiter's maze side quest i was able to play to level 4 of the maze cause i had not collect the 4th scroll but when i found it and went back to read the mystery book it froze on me, I had to manually restart my console and retried and the same thing kept occurring as in the same spot I hope they fix this bug. I really like this game though and how the story unfolds.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 18 for Darksiders II
Darksiderssssssss!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/16/12
darkerthanblack
Location: phoenix, az
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Better than the first, very kingdoms of amalur like!!! But, better. It doesn't get any better than this.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Darksiders II
Just what you would expect
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/16/12
Flames7777
Location: Hialeah, Florida
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is what you expect at first i thought it was going to boring but HECK NO I was wrong!!!!!! this has got me glued to the tv screen for hours and what I love most about is the animation it has its just sooo mind blowing!!!!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for Darksiders II
GOOD SEQUEL
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/15/12
Ankthetank44
Location: Kansas
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game so far has lived up to its potential, It has beaten the first darksiders by a landslide. Playing as death is really fun, all his abilities and his weapons is amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>