GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Professor Layton and the Last Specter

Professor Layton is Back with a Puzzling Prequel This fourth installment of the Professor Layton puzzle adventure series begins a new trilogy that is a prequel to the original games. Three years before the events in the Professor Layton and the Curious Village game, Professor Layton receives a letter from his old schoolmate Clark, telling him that "a mysterious giant is destroying the town." The professor heads to the town of Misthallery to investigate, and is joined by Emmy, his new assistant. What is the meaning of all the destruction, and is it related to the village's folklore legend of a "specter"? The unfolding story details how Professor Layton and his apprentice, Luke, met.
Average Customer Rating:
9.143
9.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
10 stars
4
9 stars
2
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 786%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Professor Layton and the Last Specter
Review 1 for Professor Layton and the Last Specter
I can't wait!
Posted on:6/10/11
Gamersince93
Location: Right here
Professor Layton games are the best. But this is such a mysterious case. none what id expect but heck i guess this will be my last DS game......or Pokemon Gray will come out eventually. THEN Hopefully they announce Professor Layton X Ace Attorney to the U.S.
16 of 23 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
catwithhat25
 
Please wait while more information about catwithhat25 is loaded.
Additional information about catwithhat25 could not be loaded.
Posted 7/10/11
what about professor layton and the mask of miracle for the 3ds, I hate that they are spliiting the second trilogy onto two different systems.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Professor Layton and the Last Specter
There's MORE
Posted on:9/1/11
SyFyTy1
Location: Lakeland, Fl
A gaming magazine, in an interview (this week) with the developers announced this game will also come with a second built in game in the US entitled. Laytons Life in London or something that sounds like that.... That is in addition to this already proven series. If you like fun stories (adult and child alike) and puzzles, you WILL love this game. It has character top spare. Don't forget to check out the rest of the series, they are all hits.
9 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Professor Layton and the Last Specter
Prof. Layton does it again!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/13/11
Lemony
Location: Tx
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I thoroughly enjoy a good puzzle, and this game definitely gives you plenty to solve. I own the rest of the series, but this one is currently my favorite. I'm still playing it and I can't seem to put it down!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Professor Layton and the Last Specter
could be really good or a complete letdown
Posted on:10/8/11
Milhalala
Location: NJ
I've been looking forward to this game since it first came out in japan in 2010, and after seeing all the exciting trailer's for the spectre's flute and how the giant question of how Luke and the Professor met answered had me willing to wait a little longer than usual for them to perfect this amazing story. But seeing how last minute all this was announced in america, and the rather lackluster voice acting for descole has me worried that this game might not exactcly be up to par with the rest of the series. I'm still buying this game in the 17th (even if it is released on a monday..) and I'm hoping that Level-5 will go above and beyond expectations like they always do ^-^/
5 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Professor Layton and the Last Specter
Gotta have it!
Posted on:10/9/11
CelticGamer
Location: Cuyahoga Falls,OH
After having played the other three, I can't wait to get this one.
9 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Professor Layton and the Last Specter
Level 5 Pieces Together Another Great Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/21/12
The2ndMusketeer
Location: Santa Claus's Attic
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Level 5 has already made a trilogy of great Professor Layton games, and the fourth one (1st in a new trilogy) in the series shows how well they've mastered it.
The story follows Layton as he solves the case of a mysterious specter that seems to be destroying a small town, Misthallery. Following him is his new assistant, Emmy. This girl is quick with her mind and fists, never afraid to take on a challenge with either. As they start looking for clues, they come across boy, the mayor's son. This boy is famous in Misthallery for seemingly predicting the exact time and location the specter will strike. Interestingly, this turns out to be the same boy that accompanies Layton on his later adventures.
The touch screen controls are, just like the others in the series, crisp and easy to handle. There's not much difference there, but that a good thing. The gameplay is like the others too, but as well, that's a good thing. All I need is more puzzles to keep me satisfied. The minigames in here a fun to solve, including getting a toy train to the station, directing a play, and helping a fish get gold.
One thing that was advertised much was a minigame, titled "Professor Layton's London Life". They say its a 100+ hour RPG, but really its just a dumbed down and less fun version of Animal Crossing. its fun when your first start off, but after a while it just gets repetitive. Even if you don't touch this game, you're still looking at around 17 hours of playtime. WAY longer than other DS games.
In the end the story left me heart wrenched and sad, but satisfied. I don't think it was as good as Unwound Future's ending, but this series is by far the best story you'll get on the DS.
So, this is another masterpiece made by Level 5, and they sohw no sign of stopping right now. One of the best games on the DS to date.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Professor Layton and the Last Specter
BEST PUZZLE SERIES
Posted on:9/26/11
minimuffins
Location: a house
i can not wait for this game to come out. i love the layton series and i want to play this one.
7 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Professor Layton and the Last Specter
First is last
Posted on:7/11/11
Bungie4Ever
Location: Katy,TX
If you ask me it is strange that level 5 makes a professor layton game thats the first in the franchies but last in the series (for the ds). Im still wondering what the 3DS on is going to be like.
12 of 24 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
zatchbell
 
Please wait while more information about zatchbell is loaded.
Additional information about zatchbell could not be loaded.
1 more
Posted 10/8/11
there's going to be a professor Layton vs. ace attorney
Customer Avatar
catwithhat25
 
Please wait while more information about catwithhat25 is loaded.
Additional information about catwithhat25 could not be loaded.
Posted 7/24/11
Japan has already recieved the first 3ds Layton game called Professor layton and the mask of miracle. the video parts of the game is the same but the speach bubbles and people are in 3d now, some of the puzzles also use the gyroscope.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 9 for Professor Layton and the Last Specter
Looks Promising
Posted on:7/6/11
NintendoGirl
Professor Layton and the Last Specter looks like another wonderful installment in the Professor Layton Series. I just cannot wait to delve into Layton and Luke's past to see what the duo experienced before the Curious Village.
5 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Professor Layton and the Last Specter
Amazing Series
Posted on:9/10/11
Laytonplayer
Location: Jacksonville, FL
I love the Professor Layton series and the 3rd game is so far my favorite. I wish the game still had the original title "Professor Layton and the Spector's Flute" like the tranlated Japanese title but maybe Level 5's US branch changed the title because the flute isn't that important. We will see soon enough.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
5 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Professor Layton and the Last Specter
Very Interesting
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/20/11
momoko
Location: belle plaine,MN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
When I first turned on the game I was expirincing a lot of dramacitic stuff at the beginning. I can't wait to venture more in the game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Professor Layton and the Last Specter
OMG the puzzle pleasure.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/1/11
QueenPinky
Location: Arizona
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is awesome. The pleasure and pain of playing this game is crazy. Some puzzles are challenging and drive me crazy whereas others are simple. The simple ones make me feel brilliant, the challenging ones make me feel more determined. I know some people are not like that so if you hate a challenge don't play this game. I gave this game a 9 for gameplay because I found it annoying that I had to tap so much for reading all the captions. There is A LOT of tapping, especially with all the dialogue. Overall, I am enjoying this game. The story line is great and I like the characters. I LOVE the Puzzles! :)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Professor Layton and the Last Specter
Disappointing
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:2/14/12
Bossman7
Location: Huntingdon Valley, PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I am a HUGE Prof. Layton fan, but this game just didn't cut it. Sure it had a bit better graphics, but it wasn't well thought out. First off, the initial interactions between Layton and Luke were a bit off, and I thought Luke would have an interesting backstory. The plot was very lackluster, as you could see every twist before you got to it. The professor never invented anything cool (even I could make a catapult out of a boat) and I HATED the new girl. She totally disrupts the non forceful aspect. Anyway, Unwound Future is really hard to top, and this game just didn't do it.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Professor Layton and the Last Specter
Very fun and somewhat challenging
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/11
SpunkyBrewster
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is very fun, no doubt. The only problem I see with it is the fact that whenever I'm about to do a puzzle, I pray for it to be difficult, but then see it worth only a few picarats. Still, the puzzles are very fun.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Professor Layton and the Last Specter
If you like the others, get this one too
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/30/11
Doovad
Location: New Jersey
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Note: I am an 19 year old, sophomore in college.
I've played all of the others and this one follows the same formula. Solve puzzles, follow a plot. And there isn't anything wrong with this one either. The Professor Layton games are just so well done that the gameplay works. If you've played the others, you know what to expect and you will like this one too.
Pros:
The plot. I felt that the plot in this game was much better than the previous ones. It felt coherent and more in depth than the others. I was also able to piece some parts together before they actually make you (they do mini-puzzles where you explain the plot and they explain how things are put together to reach the conclusions). There are still some ridiculous moments, like when they reveal the specter for the first time, but they still seem to oddly fit the Layton universe.
The puzzles were, as usual, varied and mostly well thought out. There were only a few that I just couldn't understand what they were asking and required a hint coin. There were also a lot more hint coins, probably due to a much larger area that you can explore. It certainly felt more open.
The soundtrack was also very fitting and well done, I give that an A.
Cons:
The difficulty. I can't say for certain, either they toned down the difficulty to attract a younger age group or I am simply growing older and recognize the puzzles more. I completed the game with 107 of the 133 hint coins I found (they keep track for you). It just felt too easy, going through the game in roughly 10 hours. However, I completed the game with only about 110 puzzles done, so I'm probably going to the harder ones now, along with the quirky minigames.
I played about 30 minutes of the London Life, and it seems pretty cool, a kind of Animal Crossing with quests blend. You also can see all of the characters from the old games, which is pretty neat.
Overall: If you like solving puzzles, along with the thinking, turning the DS, and staying up later until just the next puzzle, get it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10