GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Halo: Combat Evolved Anniversary

Halo: Combat Evolved Anniversary is a spectacularly remastered version of the original "Halo" campaign, created in celebration of the 10th anniversary of one of the most beloved franchises in gaming history. With a bounty of new features including cooperative play over Xbox LIVE, a bundle of some of the most beloved multiplayer maps in "Halo" history reimagined for Xbox LIVE, new challenges and a new story to uncover, Halo: Anniversary is a must-have experience.
Average Customer Rating:
8.935
8.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (643 reviews)
10 stars
105
9 stars
40
8 stars
15
7 stars
9
6 stars
2
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
2
160 out of 18487%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Halo: Combat Evolved Anniversary
Review 1 for Halo: Combat Evolved Anniversary
Worthwhile & Epic!
Posted on:6/8/11
SomeKidBen
Location: New Bedford, MA
Reliving the classic in Full HD with the Reach engine, Xbox Live multiplayer, and the ability to switch back to classic visuals; Breathless. All at an outstanding price of $39.99. This is a must have for anyone who has or hasn't experienced Halo CE, and will make some fans emotional. GET THIS TITLE! Thank you 343, I hope to possibly see this done with Halo 2 in the future with xbox live game play as well.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Halo CE: Anniversary
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
LieutenantPrice
Seattle, Washington
 
Please wait while more information about LieutenantPrice is loaded.
Additional information about LieutenantPrice could not be loaded.
Has potential, but not sure yet
Posted 6/11/11
If they are releasing this as a standalone and it will run on the same engine as Reach, it may not be as fresh as some like. But the campaign remake will be good.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Halo: Combat Evolved Anniversary
Halo: Combat Evolved Anniversary (Preview)
Posted on:6/8/11
Paramask
Location: PA
Preview: On 11/15/2011 ten years after the release of Halo: Combat Evolved one of Microsoft’s top shooters Halo: Combat Evolved Anniversary will be released. So far few details about the game have been revealed; however, this game unlike the previous games will be made by 343 Industries. The game will feature a premastered campaign with similar gameplay but upgraded graphics and sound. 343 has talked about a mode that would allow a player to switch from the original 2001 version and the new 2011 version of the game. Also with the game the player will receive 7 multiplayer maps available for download to Halo: Reach. These maps will be premasterings and remakes of original maps from Halo: Combat Evolved. Only two of the seven maps Beaver Creek and Damnation have been confirmed.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halo: Combat Evolved Anniversary
SOOOOOOOOOOOOOO EXCITED!
Posted on:6/9/11
COD234
Location: Ada, MI
I play 360 and ps3 i mostly play ps3, but every now and then i play my halos on the 360.This looks awsome and should be a great game.I love halo and cod, and Imfamous 2
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
enjoy my vids
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halo: Combat Evolved Anniversary
Halo CE-A and Halo 4 are gonna be amazing
Posted on:7/2/11
TJP37
Location: Deptford, NJ
OK, i'm going to clear a lot of things up for you guys, because clearly nobody else knows what they're talking about. First of all, it will not be a two-disc set, it will be one disc that has a seamless connection between the campaign, multiplayer, and other options. Below is a picture of my proof. And another thing, there will be virtually no changes to the gameplay. The graphics are simply an engine running over the original engine of Halo: CE. This layer has no effect on gameplay, it only is a visual layer. And besides, you can switch between the graphics with virtually no lag. The sounds and music are basically the same from the original. It has been updated to be higher quality, and will not change when you switch between graphics. Any gameplay tricks that you could do in the original, you can do in the new game. And now my thoughts and opinions. I think this game will be a great addition to the Halo series and a fantastic gmae to bridge Reach and Halo 4. It will also revitalize the life of Halo and show people how important the events of Halo Reach were. Also, I think the fact that it uses Reach for multiplayer it a great idea because it will seamlessly connect to people on the Reach disc and probably will encourage people who don't own Reach to go out and buy it, so they have all the maps. I am really waiting for this game and I am getting it the day it comes out, see you all in Halo!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Halo: Combat Evolved
9.5 out of 10(30)
 
 
 
 
 
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halo: Combat Evolved Anniversary
Brings Back Memmories.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/28/11
BahamutZERO
Location: Utah, UT
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This Game Is Amazing. The Campaign Is Fantastic And Short If You Know Exactly Where To Go From Playing The Older Version. The Multiplayer Is Really Really Fun Surprisingly. They Didn't Remake The Halo 1 Multiplayer, Instead They Used The Reach Multiplayer And Put In Four Of The Halo 1 Levels (Hang 'Em High, Prisoner, Beaver Creek And Damnation) And Two Of The Halo 2 Levels (Headlong and Timberland) All Six Are Very Great Remakes Of The Classics. I Really Liked The Multiplayer Actually Because You Get To Play On Those Levels With The Abilities From Halo Reach, Like The Jet Pack And Hologram. The FireFight Is Also From Halo Reach And They Give You One Map To Play It On. But Don't Be Disappointed, Because They Picked A Really Great Level To Play It On. They Used (Halo) The Second Mission Of The Campaign. There Is One Thing That You Should Know Though, They Used The Exact Game Engine From Halo Combat Evolved So The Gameplay Won't Be Very Different. Actually, It Is Different Because The Graphics Actually Make Feel Different. If You've Played Through Halo Combat Evolved Then This Game Will Feel The Same As When You Played The First One Because They Didn't Change The Levels At All Or The Weapons, They Just Made Them Look Different Which Is Really Cool. So Basically The Campaign Is The Exact Same As From Combat Evolved, Just The Graphics Changed Which Effects The Game In A Really Really Good Way. Oh Yeah And They Give You A Feature Where You Can Change The Graphics Back To The Old Ones Or The New Ones At Anytime. So The Campaign Is Fantastic! The Multiplayer Is Epic! The FireFight Is Sweet And The Whole Game Is Worth It Fully. If You Loved Halo Combat Evolved, Then You Will Love This.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Halo 2 Triple Pack
9.5 out of 10(4)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halo: Combat Evolved Anniversary
this is going to be awesome
Posted on:11/3/11
DRAGONLORD98
Location: Chula Vista,Cal
this game is going to be 1000000000000000 times better tan gears of war, batman, battlefield, bio shock and call of duty
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Halo Reach Limited Edition
9.6 out of 10(100)
 
 
 
 
 
11 of 34 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
bc2rules
seminole,fl
 
Please wait while more information about bc2rules is loaded.
Additional information about bc2rules could not be loaded.
Top 250 Contributor
ya
Posted 11/5/11
I like how you didn't mention skyrim cause it will destroy all games with at least 300 hours worth of gameplay for each character.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Halo: Combat Evolved Anniversary
Remastered successfully!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/27/11
superkevbot
Location: NV
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
An amazing campaign, exciting game play, rigorous waves of alien hordes jumping at your face, and an epic soundtrack, combined with stunning visual graphics (10x enhanced from the previous version of Halo) creates one of the best gaming experiences of all time! If you're a hardcore gamer, this game is for you!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Halo: Combat Evolved Anniversary
a game to buy
Posted on:7/24/11
xXReconXx
Location: Missouri
The game Halo CE was the start of the whole fps and since i have been on Xbox live I have been talking to my friends why don't they redo Halo CE and look at it now it has been fully remastered and has done an amazing job I can't wait to see what the inside of a covenant cruiser looks like.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 9 for Halo: Combat Evolved Anniversary
Almost perfect
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/20/11
Devbo23
Location: Amarillo, tx
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I have always wanted to play this game, i am a big halo fan and had herd this game was good, but the graphics were so awfull in the original that I wanted to wait and what do you know they. Came out with a remastered version. And that's where I'll start my praises, these guys didnt just put a new paint job on this thing, they went and made it look almost as good as halo reach, now that doesn't mean go in expecting battlefield graphics, I'm saying expect wonderful art design and colors and details, and pushing the back button let's you go and play with original graphics which I like to use as a refence point as how far weve come in 10 years. The gameplay and sound design are as good as the graphics, with tight controls and powerful sounding guns. If you'd want to relive old memories I think there is enough new content for you guys, or experience this game for the first time you won't be disappointed.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Fighting off the flood in halo CEA
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halo: Combat Evolved Anniversary
Brings back great memories... :..)
Posted on:6/10/11
ENRAGEDxPILLOWS
Location: Bakersfield, CA
I'm sorry to say but after having heard the conformation of this game I dropped my order on MW3 and put it on this game. Who needs another fake action shooter anyway? This game right here is the reason Xbox is still a contender in this race for a super system. Without Halo, Xbox would have crashed and burned. This game needs to slap Call of Duty right off the top sales for me to be confident that the human race isn't a huge pack of lemmings still. Now multiplayer, Xbox Live co-op, and remastered graphics and sound. This game is going to be unbelievably amazing. Even a remake of a 2001 game can top MW3...that's telling you something.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Halo Reach Limited Edition
9.6 out of 10(100)
 
 
 
 
 
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halo: Combat Evolved Anniversary
Ah The Memories
Posted on:10/20/11
UnworthyxSavior
Location: Ludlow, MA
Halo is one of the most know fps games out there. I noticed the game was $39.99, its probably one of the biggest deals on a game out there. Re-live the classic Halo experience or play with the updated graphics in single-player. Then when you're done, play on the classic maps that every Halo fan should know and love. The multiplayer will be played using Reach multiplayer but that came to no surprise. Remember Halo 3: ODST? Sort of the same deal except we're not paying $60.00 for a single-player game with an already made multiplayer. With the return of a classic experience, classic maps, and at a reasonable price this game is a definite MUST for any Halo fan of any age.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
 
 
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halo: Combat Evolved Anniversary
a remake of a classic xbox game? HECK YEAH!!!!
Posted on:8/12/11
CelticsFan98
Location: New York, NY
this game looks incredible. im really happy 343 industries is remaking the game that revolutionized the fps genre. the improved graphics look beautiful and updated, and you can finally play co-op and multiplayer over xbox live in halo 1. another cool feature is that classic mode will let you play the original version of halo 1 at anytime. plus it doesn't hurt that that the game includes one of the best campaigns in gaming history. im really excited for this game because im a massive halo fan but i never played halo 1 or 2 so this will be new for me. however even if you have played it before buy it because its only 40 bucks.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
7 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halo: Combat Evolved Anniversary
Reliving what set off the FPS genre
Posted on:8/12/11
Willard
Location: PA
Halo Combat Evolved was a game that changed the way other people and I played video games. Back then this game was amazing. Now with a fully remastered campaign, it will be an even greater thrill to play. Also, with the remake of seven multiplayer maps, it will also make it even better. It will also be interesting learning some back stories from the terminals spread through out the campaign. I preordered this game the moment it was available for preorder. I just cannot wait.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Here is a video giving more details on the game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
7 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halo: Combat Evolved Anniversary
.........
Posted on:8/14/11
callofhalo
Location: scotsdale, arizona
i think the game will have great multiplayer but i am not thrilled with the campaign i have been a fan of halo since day 1 i bought halo combat evolved the first day it came and i loved halo since. but this looks this looks dull to me. i think they shoud keep the old graphics. what i think is terrible i that they made the assault rifle reach style -_- . and they also changed the look of master chief helmet i thought it looked amazing the way it was.. so if you want to play Halo CE you can download it in the Xbox360 gamemarket or you should go buy yourself a good old xbox... *-*
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
 
 
1 of 14 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Aeylid
 
Please wait while more information about Aeylid is loaded.
Additional information about Aeylid could not be loaded.
Dude, think again...
Posted 8/16/11
It had been stated that you are not bound to the new graphics. you are allowed to change back to the original look at any time you like. that should satisfy your disappointment.
Customer Avatar
SwiftKlark
 
Please wait while more information about SwiftKlark is loaded.
Additional information about SwiftKlark could not be loaded.
Posted 8/16/11
i heard the u can change the graphics from old to new
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 15 for Halo: Combat Evolved Anniversary
WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted on:9/5/11
DubZro360
Location: Houston,TX
this game will be the best halo ever cant wait and dont forget halo 4 evreybody
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halo: Combat Evolved Anniversary
Not Really...
Posted on:7/28/11
asaliko
Location: wisconsin
This game is just a reboot of the first game. It can't be opponent of Battlefield 3 or Modern Warfare 3 although Modern Warfare 3 is not that good. I think the next halo game will be halo 4, I hope 341 will not going to mess it up.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
9.5
 
My Product Recommendations
 
4 of 34 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halo: Combat Evolved Anniversary
only one day left........
Posted on:11/13/11
mastercheifrulezz
Location: tn
this is going to be way better than reach!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!by the way if you buy this, buy halo 3 first otherwise you wont know whats happening.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
1 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
xSxGhostWolfxSx
Connecticut
 
Please wait while more information about xSxGhostWolfxSx is loaded.
Additional information about xSxGhostWolfxSx could not be loaded.
Um....I'd get this first....
Posted 11/15/11
Yeah buddy.......Halo Combat Evolved actually came BEFORE Halo 3. Halo Combat Evolved explained what the rings were, then Halo 2 was the assault on earth, then Halo 3 was taking back earth from the covenant and the explination of why the elite were basically cast out from the covenant. Halo ODST takes place during Halo 2 from the ODST point of view. THEN HALO Reach is the prequel to all the games, the soul purpose the humans know who the Covenant are. So I highly reccomend getting REACH first so you know whats going on, then Combat Evolved
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for Halo: Combat Evolved Anniversary
The Perfect Compliment to a Perfect Prequel
Posted on:8/31/11
GrYpH
In my opinion, Halo Reach was by far the best Halo game to have come to fruition. It literally ends, with credits rolling, at the exact moment in time that Halo: Combat Evolved begins (there is actually about 30 seconds of overlap). After completing Halo Reach, I immediately turned around and popped in my old relished copy of Halo: CE and began playing it. Although my first thought was "boy do I wish the graphics were the same". And what to my wondering eyes should appear, but a 10th Anniversary Edition of Halo: CE with new graphics and gear! I was sold on this the moment I heard about it. Done and double done! Now I will truly be able to pick up where Halo Reach left off, without moaning and groaning over the degradation of graphics from one game to the next. But the new question that entails: when will 343 re-release Halo 2 with a graphics upgrade?
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
10 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halo: Combat Evolved Anniversary
will be amazing
Posted on:10/28/11
brownbeaur
Location: china town, CA
always a fan. they offer something most fps dont have anything near. Great shooter. Unique guns. Amazing story. and a consistently great multiplayer that last me 2 years per game. Can you ask for more? Even most battlefield and cod players wont admit they get frustrated after 10 months or less with their game. Halo is just a plain blast. The campaign is godly. And the multiplayer is just plain fun. I love that hardcore and casual gamers can pick it up and have fun. Even when i own at battlefield or cod im always worried about some guy sitting in a bunker a mile away or that one guy who has the map memorized with his special fun he played days on end for. Isnt that a completely unfair advantage? Anyways..this game will rock. Any fan of halo will not be dissapointed as usual. Even odst was a success even after people complained. the single player rocked and the multiplayer got even better with new modes. could halo get any better?
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halo: Combat Evolved Anniversary
THUMPS UP IF YOU JUST CANT WAIT!!!
Posted on:8/26/11
Ferni655
Location: Los Angeles, CA
IF YOU READ MY OTHER PREVIEW BUZZES I SAY THAT I ONLY MAKE THEM WHEN ITS A GOOD GAME. I KNOW THAT PEOPLE ARE REALLY EXCITED FOR THIS GAME BACAUSE ITS A REMAKE FOR ONE OF THE BEST GAMES OF ALL TIME. THE GAME THAT GOT PEOPLE INTERESTED IN PLAYING VIDEO GAMES, HALO! SO THUMPS UP IF YOU JUST CANT WAIT.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
53 of 57 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 33 next>>