GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Mario Party 9

Grab your friends and family and captain the crew to victory!The party is back and bigger than ever in the Mario Party 9 game for Wii, featuring all-new ways to play! For the first time in the franchise, boss battles crash the party and challenge players to compete to defeat a common enemy. In addition, players now travel across stages together in a vehicle towards a common goal - overcoming obstacles, battling bosses, and collecting Mini Stars stolen by Bowser and his minions. Featuring 80 new minigames, adventurous new stages, and all-new ways to play that blend cooperative and competitive action for up to four players*, Mario Party 9 is the perfect way to get the party started.
Average Customer Rating:
7.091
7.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (137 reviews)
10 stars
28
9 stars
7
8 stars
6
7 stars
3
6 stars
3
5 stars
0
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
6
1 star
8
42 out of 6664%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mario Party 9
Review 1 for Mario Party 9
Not Up to Par Like Past Versions!!!!
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:3/14/12
Sly777
Location: Waipahu, HI
This game is perfect for: party gamers
We own all the mario parties for the wii/GameCube that you can including Mario Party 2, which we play on a daily basis... literally... I bought this game for my wife and she was super excited to get it. We popped it in and it was fun the first level... and the second level.... then we got to the third level and were done. All the levels were exactly the same! Get in a car go point A to point B. No mini games unless you landed on a mini game space. And only luck is the winner. You just run into ministars and whoever's turn it is gets the stars if the dice says so. And you just keep going and going running into stars and 1 boss fight, then again luck picks who is in charge of a captain quest, then the end of the board and whoever has the most ministars wins. All the boards are the same way, just different themes. It gets boring very fast, and has a very low replay level.
If you like Mario Party stick with the classics all are amazing up till this one. It's not worth the $50 price tag when the old ones are better.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Mario Party 9
I'm pretty excited about this game
Posted on:1/26/12
nikkimel56
I'm really excited about this game to come to think of it. I didn't really liked the last mario party, because a year later, It got pretty boring in my opinion, but this game looks WAY better than the last mario party installment. I'm really stoked about this game. Can't wait till this comes out!!!!
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Mario Party 9
Mario Party 9 release date
Posted on:12/3/11
ThaKing2020
Location: Cali
While rumors and speculation have been running abound since the announcement of Mario Party 9 at E3, a particular source is claiming the game will be out in March of next year. The source comes from a NeoGaf post where a member posted a release listing from GameStop. The list reveals quite a bit, including Xenoblade Chronicles getting a North American release date, but what caught our attention was the release date of the upcoming Mario Party 9. According to GameStop, Mario Party 9 will be released March 2, 2012 in North America.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mario Party 9
What is this the 11th installment of Mario Party!
Posted on:8/19/11
CapnTails
Location: greensboro, NC
i think this game is gonna be superb i just hope they don't make it to where everyone is on a kart together when the game comes out. The mini games look amazing as usually! And did I see you can play as koopa troopa for the first time!! Two more things I hope they add back orbs like mushrooms and hammer bros. and like Mario Party 7 everyone has a unique orb power (this time no doubles!!)
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mario Party 9
Best game in the series!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/20/14
bunnyboy4ever
Location: Mushroom Kingdom
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This is without a doubt my favorite game in the series. And from what I can tell this is perhaps the game that has the most divided opinion amoung the fanbase. I say that this is how you revamp a series that some people will say is "the same game every time" The story is pretty interesting having Bowser stealing all the mini-stars from the sky & You have to playthrough every board once before being able to take him on & stop him. The fact that everyone is riding in a vehicle makes it a really big leap in creativity in gameplay. The Bosses are a lot of fun even though I find it odd that Bowser Jr my favorite character in the franchise has the worst boss fight! the bonus that you get for winning on every single board easily makes it one my biggest one more try moments. you also use the mini stars you collect to buy constellations that shaped like several famous characters & items from series & then some to unlocking more vehicle that you can use for the courses. if you have a Wii or Wii U I highly recommend this game! I'm the bunnyboy & I'm so glad that the vehicle is coming back in Mario Party 10!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Mario Party 9
Almost a Completely New Game
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:3/22/12
SteelLumberjack
Location: Texas
This game is perfect for: party gamers
I would like to point out that my favorites in the series are the original three, and the only one I flat out disliked was number 8. Number 9 is like a completely different game though. The mini-games are vastly improved over those of MP8, but the boards themselves leave much to be desired, and the overall formula of the game itself is not necessarily bad, but it's not like the first five where all the maps had the randomly-positioning stars, lots of tactics, etc. The new style is basically a one-way trip that everyone rides along with together, completely eliminating the use of game length since it'll always take roughly the same amount of time. In fact, stars are completely gone and have been replaced by a hybrid system that combines both coins and stars. Plain and simple, MP9 lacks the replay value that the others all have. Everything else, especially the graphics - specifically lighting effects - have been improved. The music is also a massive improvement over the latest couple installments.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mario Party 9
hopefully better than mario party 8
Posted on:6/11/11
DKandDK
This is the first mario party in a while. The series really needs this game to be good in order to survive. The minigames look surprisingly good but I am still unsure of the gameboards though. CLICK THUMBS UP IF YOU THINK THIS WILL BE BETTER THAN MARIO PARTY 8
 
My Product Recommendations
 
42 of 44 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mario Party 9
Series saved after the Mario Party 8 Disaster!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/18/12
Dephicits
Location: Baltimore, MD
This game is perfect for: party gamers
Mario Party 9 basically saved the series after Mario Party 8. I mean Mario Party 8 was a complete disaster, the stages were terrible, controls were awful, and Bowser became a softy, lame. There were a few things I was worried about when I heard about the Mario Party 9, traveling together in vehicles, collecting mini stars rather than stars, and normal dice only rolling up to 6. But it all works. Stages are all fun and refreshing. Each stage has something different about them. For example, running away from Boos in Boo's Horror Castle so you don't lose half your mini stars or chasing dolphins in Blooper's Beach to gain those extra min stars. The mini games are extremely fun to play, so are the all new boss battles! The controls are great. I'm a huge fan of the Mario Party games for N64, but I'd have to say this is my new favorite Mario Party game. I would say best of the series. So get this game, no question!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
animalcrossing3D
Lake Stevens, WA
 
Please wait while more information about animalcrossing3D is loaded.
Additional information about animalcrossing3D could not be loaded.
Top 500 Contributor
I think you've got that backwards
Posted 3/26/12
You mean series ruined after the Mario Party 8 just fineness. What was wrong with #8?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Mario Party 9
Should Be Good
Posted on:2/13/12
Boz90
Location: CT
A lot of people are saying that the Mario Party series has changed and they should go back to what they used to be like in the first couple of games. While it is true that the game has changed I have to say it is better that they did. If the series came out with 9 games, and they were all very alike, they would not sell any copies and the audience would be begging for a different type of game or something fresh and new. Now that the series does change over time, I don't understand why people are begging for it to go back to what it used to be. There is a classic mode in this which is great and some new modes and I think this will be a great addition to the series. Especially after announcing a few years ago they would not be able to make any more Mario Party games. It should be good just like the other ones.
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mario Party 9
Mario is back... for the ninth time!
Posted on:6/15/11
dolphinboy
This amazes me because there has been 9 parties! It all started on N64 in the late 90's. The first Party the original, was a total success, then they made a 2nd Mario Party, then a 3rd. And that was it for the N64, then it went on to GCB. They, made a fourth, then a fifth, then a sixth, then a seventh! So far GCB has the most parties so far. Then there is one game people don't consider as a party, but it is Mario Party Advanced on GBA. Then there is one on the DS, Mario Party DS, it is my favorite DS game and the minigames are fun. Now if you go back in order, they now made it for the wii in 2007, Mario Party 8. And to people it was average, but not all people. So this is Nintendo's comeback, and I've played the DS version, Mario Party 7, and Mario Party 8. And those were good. Mostly about the awesomeness in party games are the minigames. The minigames in Mario Parties are good, and fun but this, this looks awsome. I saw the trailer and there was things when someone would try to burn or tag you, and the last person who stands, wins. And one about that everyone has to try to burn their opponents against a huge shocking ray. Whatever it is, it looks cool. But a change I saw in the trailer is that they used cars, with more than one person in it. Maybe it is just party mode, but I hope in the game allows you to unlock diffrent people and cars. So this is nice on the Wii and it has been like 5 years since the last Mario Party, so it is about time. So if you're excited about this click the pointing thumb upwards, and wait for a new Mario Party on the Wii! Plus I hope Nintendo could make a tenth, on the Wii, or 3DS!
18 of 21 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mario Party 9
BEST MARIO PARTY GAME EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/14/12
MARIOFAN25
Location: CHARLOTTE,NC
This game is perfect for: party gamers
mario party 9 is the best game on the wii right now. the stroy begins with bowser and bowser jr have thier sights on the sky. they have stolen all of the mini stars and mario and his friends must get them back. the stages in the game are absolutley colorful and amazing. from a bomb factory and a beach to a boo mansion and jungle. but the biggest addition is the over 80 mini games. you can ride bullet bills, go bowling with goombas, climb a mountain, throw toppings on a pizza and chop wood. the bosses in the game are fun to play. from a cheep cheep and a whomp to a lakitu and a wiggler. the special blocks and dice can really make the gameplay fun and epic. the bowser stages can also mix the game up. he can make you battle for half of your stars and can also reverse the mini game. party mode is fun to play alone but is best with 2 or more. but overall this game is fun and will keep being fun more many years to come.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mario Party 9
Loads of fun with friends!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/29/12
WhoopDeeDew
Location: Kentwood, MI
This game is perfect for: party gamers
Ok, I haven't really played many Mario Party games before this game, only 8, advance, and DS. I remembered my friends used to have MP8, and it was a lot of fun, so I went and bought myself MP9. And I'm glad I did! It's just what you'd expect, you're all on a gameboard and you play mini-games and move around to try to get the most mini-stars by the end of the game! This game changes things up by having boss battles, everyone riding together, and the boards are kinda linear, but I didn't really notice that last one. This game, however, is pretty much based on luck, so some people might get frustrated at times while the rest will be having fun haha. The graphics are really good for this game. I was playing on a big HD TV at my friend's house and the graphics still looked pretty decent. I didn't really notice the music much while I was playing, but I know it's pretty good. All in all, it's a party game, so get lotsa your friends and family and just play this game together and you won't want to stop playing! I know I'll be having fun with this game for a long time!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Mario Party 9
SHY GUY FOREVER!!!
Posted on:9/30/11
PPLuvsChikorita
Yes!!! This is bound to be one of the best Mario Parties ever as Shy Guy is finally going to be a playable character!!! Shy Guy is my most favorite character and he's finally playable! Definitely getting this game as long as it's boards are more exciting than Mario Party 8.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
10 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Mario Party 9
Noth'in to Party About
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:3/25/12
MrL234
Location: Iowa
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This by far is the 2nd worst Mario Party (first being Mario Party Advance). The idea of traveling in a vehicle with everyone is not a good idea. All you have to do is hit the dice block, be lucky enough to collect mini stars, and you win. No skill is needed. Minigames hardly ever appear, so don't expect to collect a lot of mini stars that way, unless if you are playing a boss battle. Still, there is a great varity of minigames and all of the clasical characters present and there are a few new players that I think many people enjoy. I hope that Nintendo will note that this gameplay is not good and not do anything like it for the future. Still, like all games, there is a target age group, and that is littler kids like anywhere nine and lower. This is because of skill needed to become the superstar. In conclusion, this is not a game for hardcore gamers and is best for just starting gamers or little kids.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Mario Party 9
Party Of 9
Posted on:2/27/12
Dmanator
Location: Converse, TX
I Have Been A Long Time Fan Of The Mario Party Series! Every New Game Is Always Better Then The One Before It! I Can't Wait To Add This Game To My Library! I Have The First 8 From N64 To Wii! I Even Have Mario Party Advance, Mario Party -e And Mario Party DS! In Conclusion, I Really Want This Game!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
10 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Mario Party 9
mario party(for the whole life)
Posted on:6/14/11
52zz
Location: Tegucigalpa,Honduras
this is a surprise,i think i`m going to have a heart attack,this new mario party is going a big success in the world of videogames.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Mario Party 9
YES YES YES no....
Posted on:9/18/11
Mobogsly
Location: IL
i was super exicted when i saw they were making another mario party. I have all of them 1-8 and my favorite is 2 ( random fact ) and i thought they stoped making them because they made pac-man party.... IT WAS TERIBLE BTW..... So when i saw they were making a new one i got super exicted and now i cant wait. The only down side is it looks like the movement is gonna be all the same.... that means u cant go UR way and do UR thing.. I really hope they let u PICK what way YOU want to go and not have a dumb computer lead the way... i also hope this game will have online so i can play with my friends like animal crossing did
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Mariofreak1
Bullhead, Az
 
Please wait while more information about Mariofreak1 is loaded.
Additional information about Mariofreak1 could not be loaded.
The wait is almost over!
Posted 9/23/11
*Yes its finally being made! I have waited so long for this. It looks great, I like the minigames, and the characters that i have seen so far. Now if they just add in the option to play online and make it so you can travel alone instead of having the computers drag you somewhere you dont want to be, ill be fine with this game. Im a HUGE mario fan I have almost all of the mario games. This could be the best party mario has ever thrown yet.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for Mario Party 9
Better Be Good!
Posted on:7/13/11
SuperSDRocks
Location: Rochester, NY
I hope this game is good, and I hope this is gonna be the best Mario Party yet! But I don't get why everyone is traveling around the board TOGETHER!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
KeybladeMaster16
AK
 
Please wait while more information about KeybladeMaster16 is loaded.
Additional information about KeybladeMaster16 could not be loaded.
Top 1000 Contributor
Possible answer...
Posted 8/30/11
Maybe because they'll have some kind of team mode where the games are 2 on 2 or something. I guess when it comes to innovation, Mario Party does a pretty good job.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for Mario Party 9
Don't listen to the reviewers, this game is great
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/22/12
skorr
Location: NJ
This game is perfect for: party gamers
Okay, if you really want to know if this game is good, go one youtube and watch people play. Search DazRan303 and Mario Party 9. I did, and the game was a blast! I like the whole idea of mini-stars and the new mini games are fun. Some people are afraid of the change, but the developers obviously used it to advance the game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Mario Party 9
Cant Wait!
Posted on:1/5/12
BlueYoshi77
Location: Massachusetts
Wow been really waiting for a new mario party for 2 years i bet you guys were too mario party 8 might've been not their best work but This time Nintendo has some new content like No Hudson all 4 players ride in a car together [ or a sub a magic carpet!] also there's bosses that you have to face in story board there's very little info about the boards except Toad's Road which you saw at E3 Boo's Horror Castle and a unknown underwater board i predict this game will be a huge hit and it is defiantly not the death of Mario Party
 
My Product Recommendations
 
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>