GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

The Gunstringer

The Gunstringer marries Twisted Pixel's beloved storytelling, characters, and polish with fresh gameplay mechanics. Players can puppeteer a character through a variety of 3D and 2D gameplay styles, controlling every jump and dodge with one hand, while filling enemies with lead using the other. The Gunstringer provides players with new Kinect shooter experiences that have never been seen before.
Average Customer Rating:
8.889
8.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
10 stars
11
9 stars
3
8 stars
0
7 stars
3
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
16 out of 1889%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Gunstringer
Review 1 for The Gunstringer
Third post for gunstringer
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/19/11
LILHURK
Location: Kinect rules
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
WOW this game was even higher than my expectations. The game is quite short seeing as how i beat it in about six hours but if you turn on hardcore mode you will take atleast twenty to thirty hours to beat its realy crazy hard plus you realy do want to play it over and over and over so the fun never stops. Another great part of the game was its graphics I mean twisted pixle realy out did themselves with there in game art. And last but not least the game is for casual gamers on reguler but this game is awsome for hardcore gaming to with its hardcore mode you will be so frustrated having to restart the level every time you die so its great for hardcore and casual alike. All in All your fourty dollars will not be wasted.P.S. Note that there are nopre-owned availeble that means no ones returned this game EPIC!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for The Gunstringer
Buying it to support a good developer
Posted on:9/3/11
Unbreakable669
Location: Melbourne, FL
I've always loved what Twisted Pixel has put out. Splosion Man, Comic Jumper, Ms. Splosion Man. The only one I haven't played is The Maw which I plan on buying soon. I've played the demo and this game seems like it'll make it worth while to own a Kinect. Besides I also get Fruit Ninja, which may not be the greatest game for Kinect but it's free so I can't argue with that.
 
My Product Recommendations
Comic Jumper
10 out of 10(1)
 
 
 
Ms. Splosion Man
8.5 out of 10(2)
 
 
 
Splosion Man
9.8 out of 10(4)
 
 
 
 
 
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for The Gunstringer
KOOL!!!
Posted on:7/4/11
gamer202
Location: houston,texas
watch the trailer on youtube it looks fantastic, it has 2d and 3d parts in the game, it looks like alot of fun!
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for The Gunstringer
I hate overusing the word but this is epic!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/30/11
Daftendirekted
Location: Lancaster, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The game is AWESOME. Controls: very easy. Move one hand to jump and move around. The other aims your gun. Nothing else except the occasional punch or slap. And it works good even in kind of crowded areas. Gameplay: Awesome. Shoot shoot punch shoot! Shoot skelecton guys, a weirdo inflatable tube guy, and other characters (including cows made of beer cans.) It's fun, simple, and at times, funny. Plus you can earn most of the achievements really easily!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for The Gunstringer
Looks fun
Posted on:8/21/11
Noteguy97
Location: Staten Island, NY
I was starting to give up on Kinect because of all these stupid sports games and stuff but this looks like it's going to make Kinect worth keeping. Sure, it's not going to be Call of Duty or Gears of War, but it will be a game to play for fun. If all you want to do is level up in CoD I wouldn't recomend it. But if you're like me, I like all kinds of games, so I'm exited
 
My Product Recommendations
 
5 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for The Gunstringer
Complete fun
Posted on:8/30/11
Melook
Location: NY
The have a demo available now on the Xbox live marketplace, and man is this game fun.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for The Gunstringer
A fun puppet wielding western adventure!
Posted on:8/13/11
RayTheUlitimateGamer
Location: Alameda
I love the Kinect! Except this game separates it's self from the rest. It has more of an unrealistic element, meaning it's really awesome that you use your body to control a puppet with a revolver. It's more creative than the other games. I'm looking forward to buying this game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for The Gunstringer
First shooter for kinect EPIC!!!!!
Posted on:9/10/11
LILHURK
Location: San diego CA
Wow! When i first got kinect for my xbox i was very skeptical that it would be as lame as ps2's eye was but all that changed as soon as i played it the motion controls where epic but the i worried that i had wasted my money because of the game limitations and thats when i heard about the GUNSTRINGER a 3rd man shooter created only for kinect as soon as i heard about it i ran down to gamestop and pre-ordered it cant wait. And you can quote me on this IT WILL BE EPIC!!! P.S. Does this mean xbox just got another xbox only game Sweet! Halo, Gears of War, The Gunstringer
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for The Gunstringer
Great Motion Control REAL Game
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/23/12
Jureidini
Location: FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
A friend got this with his Kinect Bundle some time ago, we tried it recently and put a good few hours on it having a great time. The puppet character and script are quite humorous and the animation style fits the theme well. This on rail type gameplay works VERY well with the motion sensing Kinect, and where hiccups do occur they are generally overshadowed. The gameplay overall can teach its remote control counterparts a thing or two, but there are still points that feel slow or just not connected. The difficulty scales well and there are big differences in the difficulty options themselves. You will also find there are alot of easter egg style unlockables and achievements to be found. Overall, when looking for a game to be played on the Kinect that is an alternative to the more traditional stuff, this one would be a well executed choice.
 
My Product Recommendations
Fruit Ninja Kinect - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 800 Points
9.1 out of 10(19)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 10 for The Gunstringer
Twisted Pixel Delivers AA Kinect Title
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/13/11
Plebeianprint
Location: Random Cornfield, In
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
What originally began as an Xbox Live Arcade Kinect title becomes the best argument so far for Kinect in The Gunstringer. This highly affordable title combines intuitive, easy Kinect movement with Twisted Pixel's (the developer of The Maw, Comic Jumper, and 'Splosion Man) hilarious and quality gameplay and storytelling for the best Kinect title to date.
Gameplay consists of controlling the puppet with your left hand (moving it left to right weaves the character, jerking your hand up makes it jump) while your right hand traces, or locks on to your targets, and fires with an quick upward flip of the hand. Imagine making a gun with your hand, fingers extended, then making a pow gesture, and you have it. Gameplay is an on-rails shooter, with jumping segments, falling, and horse chases.
The Gunstringer features day one free dlc, a code for Kinect Fruit Ninja (another excellent Kinect title), and dozens of unlockeables including gamer pics and avatar awards (and I believe a premium theme, but not certain)
While the Gunstringer can be played sitting down with zero difficulties (a plus for Kinect) I found that my arms grew relatively tired from holding them both outward after about four levels, so take the game in smaller increments at the beginning. To offset the tiredness, the game does feature at least four different difficulties, so everyone in the family can play with ease.
An excellent Xbox Kinect game.
 
My Product Recommendations
The Maw
7 out of 10(4)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for The Gunstringer
something to do.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/9/12
joeee
Location: pennsylvania
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i got the downloaded version because it came with my kinect and i thought it was going to be stupid. but i played it and i was actually amused by how it was played. i wanted to play a game that was simple and i didnt have to do alot of moving around. i also wanted a game with a plot. i didnt beat the game yet. i dont know when i will haha. but i will get to it when i have shoulders of an mma fighter lol. but i would say when the price gets cheaper to get this game.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for The Gunstringer
Looks good 4 a kinect game
Posted on:7/31/11
grunge
I don't have kinect, but this game looks great! If I were to buy kinect, The Gunstringer would be why.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Galaga Legions
8 out of 10(1)
 
 
 
 
 
4 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for The Gunstringer
Lots of Fun
Posted on:7/14/11
Kaylila
Location: Austin, TX
Got to play this game at E3. It was a lot of fun. The Kinect controls were really easy to use and they work just fine whether your sitting or standing. Thats a really good thing especially if you want to try and play for more than an hour. Definitely recommend it.
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for The Gunstringer
RDR for Kids
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/16/11
dangerclose
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
In my mind this game id rdr for kids and kinect. i personally like gun rdr and its brother rdr (red dead revolver and read dead redemption) a lot better but the gunstringer is for kinect which i like but unlike gun and the rdr brothers sadly its not free roam. i know rdr (revolver isnt a free roam but in my mind its just as good as a free roam) anyway back to the review the gunstringer is very fun its awesome with fruit ninja but the gunstringer has s*xual themes but not that bad ( someone is refered to as madam) the violence isnt bad at all the drug side is you shoot beer bottles (note i havnt beaten the game) and thats pretty much it so if your thinking of getting it its a mistake you havnt already so quit reading reviews and GO GET IT
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for The Gunstringer
Great Game! My Favorite Kinect Title!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/20/11
USCStyle
Location: Los Angeles, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I would highly recommend this game to anyone with Kinect. I wasn't sure what to expect, but this one really delivers. Constant action, unlike a lot of Kinect titles. The graphics and sound are well done, and the voiceovers add to the western theme. Rise Of Nightmares was described as the first adult themed Kinect game, but this should follow a close second. It's aimed at an older crowd I think, but anyone can play it. The controls are well done and there's hardly ever a dull moment. I'm only getting bronze stars even on early levels, so there's definitely replay value for me. At the pricepoint they're offering this at, this one is a no brainer if you have Kinect and like action titles!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for The Gunstringer
Last post for gunstringer
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/22/11
LILHURK
Location: Kinect rules
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Okay I swear this is my last post for the gunstringer, but I thought it important to tell you why you should get this game. First off Gameplay, 1.The game idea is perfect for Kinect seaing as how the best way to control a marionett is with your hand. 2.the levels have the same feal while having still lots of veriety from firing a shotgun to blasting a flame thrower to swinging a sword to throwing your best punches theres always a veriety of leveles to choose. 3. This game has one of the best tracking for the kinect so far with very detailed movements. Seacond Graphics, 1.The whole game is set to be a marionett play so everything is suposed to be hand made which looks realy cool like soda can cows, popcicle bridges, and denim rivers. 2. The in depth colar is beautiful from the blue bones to the green samuri forest its always very vivid. 3. The intergration between real life and cartoon is amazing and is best seen in the epilouge. Third sound 1. Again twisted pixle is good with there intergration between live crowd laughs and in game narators and if your not a big fan of that get some funny in game commintarie in the bonus store. 2. I don't no why but the narators voice is very soothing. And last but not least Lasting Appeal. 1.With a veriety of game modifiers the game is constintly remade plus with hardcore mode its like a whole new game and theres already a free dlc "The Wavy Tube Man Chronicles" . 2. Non stop action and very adictave. 3. Always striving for gold but is very very hard to get on any level plus prety hard achivements for some. 4. Lots of bonus matiriel that you can only get by playing the game and earning money. Hope this makes you think about getting the Gunstringer and/or a kinect. God bless goodbye!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for The Gunstringer
Fun for everyone.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/8/11
airic
Location: Middleburg, FL
This game is perfect for: party gamers
First Kinect game ever played that was challenging and fun.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for The Gunstringer
awesome
Posted on:7/15/11
kingofthegamers
I would love to get up and start shoting at my old gang who betrayed me in this great kinect game
3 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for The Gunstringer
Kinect has failed
Posted on:8/9/11
mariogamer45
The poor lineup of games coming in the future makes me regret my decision to get Kinect. As cool as it may be, I really do think that Kinect is doomed for life. The only good kinect game that's coming out is kinect sports season 2. The fact that microsoft is also having kinect compatibility with many big name games is a stupid idea because no one will want to use kinect to play, mass effect 3 for example. When microsoft says on a game case that it's "better with kinect sensor", it means that it probably makes the experience worse. To all the gamers that are thinking of getting kinect, please for your own sake hold off on getting it until 2015.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
4 of 47 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
captin739
reading pa
 
Please wait while more information about captin739 is loaded.
Additional information about captin739 could not be loaded.
i agree but 2013 look beast
Posted 8/12/11
I got kinect for chrismas & the future game lineup sucks I hope saints row the third won't be also a kinect/controller game I just want it controllor experienced anyways look on ign. 2013 kinect games look beast with resident evil 6,no more heros death burst, call of duty mw3 kinect, kinect joy ride monster trucks, & more beast games but right now kinect sports 2 is what I will get.....
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for The Gunstringer
The word "Epic" has been officially overused...
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:1/2/12
Dabriad
Location: Lexington, KY
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
It's ok...I guess. My kids like it better than I do, which is why my rating may seem higher than my written opinion of it. First of all...I have some bad shoulders, so holding my arm straight out from my body constantly isn't really that fun...secondly...i'd rather actually aim and fire the gun myself for each target, rather than simply passing over six of them with a cursor, and making a motion, and having all the work done for me...this game is far too easy for an adult, and somewhat redundant...The concept was very cool, and the graphics entertaining and funny...not a flop, but I wouldn't call it great by any means.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 2 next>>