GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

The Gunstringer

The Gunstringer marries Twisted Pixel's beloved storytelling, characters, and polish with fresh gameplay mechanics. Players can puppeteer a character through a variety of 3D and 2D gameplay styles, controlling every jump and dodge with one hand, while filling enemies with lead using the other. The Gunstringer provides players with new Kinect shooter experiences that have never been seen before.
Average Customer Rating:
8.889
8.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
10 stars
11
9 stars
3
8 stars
0
7 stars
3
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
16 out of 1889%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Gunstringer
Review 1 for The Gunstringer
Great Motion Control REAL Game
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/23/12
Jureidini
Location: FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
A friend got this with his Kinect Bundle some time ago, we tried it recently and put a good few hours on it having a great time. The puppet character and script are quite humorous and the animation style fits the theme well. This on rail type gameplay works VERY well with the motion sensing Kinect, and where hiccups do occur they are generally overshadowed. The gameplay overall can teach its remote control counterparts a thing or two, but there are still points that feel slow or just not connected. The difficulty scales well and there are big differences in the difficulty options themselves. You will also find there are alot of easter egg style unlockables and achievements to be found. Overall, when looking for a game to be played on the Kinect that is an alternative to the more traditional stuff, this one would be a well executed choice.
 
My Product Recommendations
Fruit Ninja Kinect - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 800 Points
9.1 out of 10(19)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 2 for The Gunstringer
Stick e'm up
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/20/12
Jguy2
Location: NJ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Best kinect game ever. Easy game play , great graphics , good story that isn't hard to follow. My brother and I would totaly recomend to tons of shooter fans.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 3 for The Gunstringer
ehh
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:9/17/12
Cj95x
Location: Michigan
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
idont like this game its not a very good game even for kinect, maybe for 5 year olds? not for anyone else,
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 4 for The Gunstringer
A hardcore view
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/5/12
ACupOJoe
Location: AZ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I would say that i am a hardcore gamer, so when i was given this gift for Christmas with kinect i was little put off by it. However, The Gunstringer is the best game for kinect, it is amusing and it is so cash. Buy this game if you want to know what a good kinect game is.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for The Gunstringer
something to do.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/9/12
joeee
Location: pennsylvania
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i got the downloaded version because it came with my kinect and i thought it was going to be stupid. but i played it and i was actually amused by how it was played. i wanted to play a game that was simple and i didnt have to do alot of moving around. i also wanted a game with a plot. i didnt beat the game yet. i dont know when i will haha. but i will get to it when i have shoulders of an mma fighter lol. but i would say when the price gets cheaper to get this game.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for The Gunstringer
The word "Epic" has been officially overused...
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:1/2/12
Dabriad
Location: Lexington, KY
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
It's ok...I guess. My kids like it better than I do, which is why my rating may seem higher than my written opinion of it. First of all...I have some bad shoulders, so holding my arm straight out from my body constantly isn't really that fun...secondly...i'd rather actually aim and fire the gun myself for each target, rather than simply passing over six of them with a cursor, and making a motion, and having all the work done for me...this game is far too easy for an adult, and somewhat redundant...The concept was very cool, and the graphics entertaining and funny...not a flop, but I wouldn't call it great by any means.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 7 for The Gunstringer
I hate overusing the word but this is epic!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/30/11
Daftendirekted
Location: Lancaster, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The game is AWESOME. Controls: very easy. Move one hand to jump and move around. The other aims your gun. Nothing else except the occasional punch or slap. And it works good even in kind of crowded areas. Gameplay: Awesome. Shoot shoot punch shoot! Shoot skelecton guys, a weirdo inflatable tube guy, and other characters (including cows made of beer cans.) It's fun, simple, and at times, funny. Plus you can earn most of the achievements really easily!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for The Gunstringer
RDR for Kids
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/16/11
dangerclose
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
In my mind this game id rdr for kids and kinect. i personally like gun rdr and its brother rdr (red dead revolver and read dead redemption) a lot better but the gunstringer is for kinect which i like but unlike gun and the rdr brothers sadly its not free roam. i know rdr (revolver isnt a free roam but in my mind its just as good as a free roam) anyway back to the review the gunstringer is very fun its awesome with fruit ninja but the gunstringer has s*xual themes but not that bad ( someone is refered to as madam) the violence isnt bad at all the drug side is you shoot beer bottles (note i havnt beaten the game) and thats pretty much it so if your thinking of getting it its a mistake you havnt already so quit reading reviews and GO GET IT
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for The Gunstringer
Great Kinect Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/13/11
AndyOn
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Its a really good and fun kinect game and it comes with fruit ninja kinect. It's $40 and you can't beat it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for The Gunstringer
Fun for everyone.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/8/11
airic
Location: Middleburg, FL
This game is perfect for: party gamers
First Kinect game ever played that was challenging and fun.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for The Gunstringer
Epic
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/2/11
gshckkid
Location: new jersey nj
Epic it is so great, with the gameplay and all of that
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for The Gunstringer
awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/27/11
soustek
Location: raleigh
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
favorite kinect game really just perfect so fun been playing for 2 weeks now
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for The Gunstringer
Last post for gunstringer
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/22/11
LILHURK
Location: Kinect rules
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Okay I swear this is my last post for the gunstringer, but I thought it important to tell you why you should get this game. First off Gameplay, 1.The game idea is perfect for Kinect seaing as how the best way to control a marionett is with your hand. 2.the levels have the same feal while having still lots of veriety from firing a shotgun to blasting a flame thrower to swinging a sword to throwing your best punches theres always a veriety of leveles to choose. 3. This game has one of the best tracking for the kinect so far with very detailed movements. Seacond Graphics, 1.The whole game is set to be a marionett play so everything is suposed to be hand made which looks realy cool like soda can cows, popcicle bridges, and denim rivers. 2. The in depth colar is beautiful from the blue bones to the green samuri forest its always very vivid. 3. The intergration between real life and cartoon is amazing and is best seen in the epilouge. Third sound 1. Again twisted pixle is good with there intergration between live crowd laughs and in game narators and if your not a big fan of that get some funny in game commintarie in the bonus store. 2. I don't no why but the narators voice is very soothing. And last but not least Lasting Appeal. 1.With a veriety of game modifiers the game is constintly remade plus with hardcore mode its like a whole new game and theres already a free dlc "The Wavy Tube Man Chronicles" . 2. Non stop action and very adictave. 3. Always striving for gold but is very very hard to get on any level plus prety hard achivements for some. 4. Lots of bonus matiriel that you can only get by playing the game and earning money. Hope this makes you think about getting the Gunstringer and/or a kinect. God bless goodbye!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for The Gunstringer
Great Game! My Favorite Kinect Title!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/20/11
USCStyle
Location: Los Angeles, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I would highly recommend this game to anyone with Kinect. I wasn't sure what to expect, but this one really delivers. Constant action, unlike a lot of Kinect titles. The graphics and sound are well done, and the voiceovers add to the western theme. Rise Of Nightmares was described as the first adult themed Kinect game, but this should follow a close second. It's aimed at an older crowd I think, but anyone can play it. The controls are well done and there's hardly ever a dull moment. I'm only getting bronze stars even on early levels, so there's definitely replay value for me. At the pricepoint they're offering this at, this one is a no brainer if you have Kinect and like action titles!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for The Gunstringer
Third post for gunstringer
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/19/11
LILHURK
Location: Kinect rules
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
WOW this game was even higher than my expectations. The game is quite short seeing as how i beat it in about six hours but if you turn on hardcore mode you will take atleast twenty to thirty hours to beat its realy crazy hard plus you realy do want to play it over and over and over so the fun never stops. Another great part of the game was its graphics I mean twisted pixle realy out did themselves with there in game art. And last but not least the game is for casual gamers on reguler but this game is awsome for hardcore gaming to with its hardcore mode you will be so frustrated having to restart the level every time you die so its great for hardcore and casual alike. All in All your fourty dollars will not be wasted.P.S. Note that there are nopre-owned availeble that means no ones returned this game EPIC!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for The Gunstringer
Awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/13/11
coolbutt
Location: earth
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
WOW! This game is awesome! Best Game Ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for The Gunstringer
Twisted Pixel Delivers AA Kinect Title
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/13/11
Plebeianprint
Location: Random Cornfield, In
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
What originally began as an Xbox Live Arcade Kinect title becomes the best argument so far for Kinect in The Gunstringer. This highly affordable title combines intuitive, easy Kinect movement with Twisted Pixel's (the developer of The Maw, Comic Jumper, and 'Splosion Man) hilarious and quality gameplay and storytelling for the best Kinect title to date.
Gameplay consists of controlling the puppet with your left hand (moving it left to right weaves the character, jerking your hand up makes it jump) while your right hand traces, or locks on to your targets, and fires with an quick upward flip of the hand. Imagine making a gun with your hand, fingers extended, then making a pow gesture, and you have it. Gameplay is an on-rails shooter, with jumping segments, falling, and horse chases.
The Gunstringer features day one free dlc, a code for Kinect Fruit Ninja (another excellent Kinect title), and dozens of unlockeables including gamer pics and avatar awards (and I believe a premium theme, but not certain)
While the Gunstringer can be played sitting down with zero difficulties (a plus for Kinect) I found that my arms grew relatively tired from holding them both outward after about four levels, so take the game in smaller increments at the beginning. To offset the tiredness, the game does feature at least four different difficulties, so everyone in the family can play with ease.
An excellent Xbox Kinect game.
 
My Product Recommendations
The Maw
7 out of 10(4)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for The Gunstringer
Something new for a change
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/13/11
Jimk691
Location: fwb,fl
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The whole game is different and takes a fresh new outlook on gaming. The way the theater is a backdrop at times is cool and the 2d works too. The game is just nothing but fun and finally shows what the kinetic can do and does it better than anything so far.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 19 for The Gunstringer
twisted pixel potential
Posted on:9/11/11
LILHURK
Location: Kinect rules
I've already written about how awsome this game is gonna be but i have just realized something if twisted pixel playes there cards right we could be looking at a potential sequal and/or trilogy, now im thinking even maby a prequal like why and how the gunslinger was betrayed and it could be called Legend of the Gunstringer LOG for short. All in all the Gunstringer has great potential to give millions of hours of fun.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for The Gunstringer
a little question
Posted on:9/10/11
cbb360
Location: washingtion,tacoma
when the game comes out can some let me know the stuff that 11 year olds should be seeing?note my recommended items are my fav things
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
LILHURK
Kinect rules
 
Please wait while more information about LILHURK is loaded.
Additional information about LILHURK could not be loaded.
Top 50 Contributor
Act two
Posted 9/19/11
basicly just dont let your kid see act 2 it has a couple of sugestive parts but dont worry it will be easy for you to play through it quickly
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
1 2 next>>