GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Kinect Star Wars

Kinect Star Wars brings the Star Wars Universe to life like never before. Harnessing the controller-free power of Kinect for Xbox 360, Kinect Star Wars allows fans to physically experience training as a Jedi, using the Force and battling with a lightsaber. Using full body motions, players can live out the ultimate Star Wars fantasy, no controller required.
Average Customer Rating:
7.9
7.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (60 reviews)
10 stars
10
9 stars
8
8 stars
6
7 stars
0
6 stars
1
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
25 out of 3083%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Kinect Star Wars
Review 1 for Kinect Star Wars
The Force is kind of weak in this one (but there).
Posted on:8/11/11
rhinnawi
Location: Fairview Park, Ohio
As an hardcore Star Wars fan, I must repeat what many have said before me: WE WANT STAR WARS: BATTLEFRONT III. I haven't played much Republic Commando, so I can't say I want Republic Commando 2 (yet). As for KOTOR, there's already Star Wars: The Old Republic MMORPG coming out soon, and I do believe it's going to be epic. The $60 I've put in demand that, as does the financial stability of LucasArts, which will go bankcrupt if this is not successful. As for Kinect Star Wars, as a huge Star Wars fan, I know I will still like it, as I like every Star Wars game I've played, so that's not saying too much right there. It looks fun and for all ages, though more kid-friendly than anything. I tried looking online, and I couldn't find anything relating to being able to play it with a controller as well, which is an option available for Child of Eden. I do see a lot of potential here, though (with Kinect). You stay more active while playing, and you can actually do force moves the way you seem them in movies, which I've always wanted to do in a game. However, I do think it would be somewhat weird to be twirling around a non-existent lightsaber, but that's just something small. I'm definitely getting this game seeing as I was able to pre-order the Star Wars Xbox 360 Kinect Bundle (around $484 including the tax, $450 without), and this game comes with that system, as does Kinect Adventures and a white Kinect, a custom limited edition R2-D2 Xbox 360 with a C-3PO-style controller and a 320GB hard drive. If you can afford that, I recommend you save up for it instead, and you'll still get this game. I've pre-ordered it and I pay little by little every week to pay it all off as I work. By the time it's released (12/30/2011), it should be paid in full, and if you can't afford it in the end and you've already pre-ordered, you can always cancel that pre-order and get your money back.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Inside Xbox: Limited Edition Star Wars Console Bundle - Comic-Con 2011
6 of 12 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ZackZesati
San Jose, CA
 
Please wait while more information about ZackZesati is loaded.
Additional information about ZackZesati could not be loaded.
I KNOW WHAT YO MEAN
Posted 8/13/11
I SO FEEL YOU! they hella need to make another Battle Front! esp since you cant play 1 or 2 on a slim
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Kinect Star Wars
Great game! Short campaign.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/8/12
Prkr007
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is an excellent one! it uses not only the kinect in combat, but in other game types, such as the dance mode. This game is the best one out for kinect yet! The kinect follows your movements, its not like other ones where you have to do specific motions, you just slice and dice with your hands and the lightsaber follows. My only complain is that the campaign is too short. They should've gone with more missions but the missions present were fun and a challenge. There are a lot of other game types though but the campaign is what i mainly got the game for so i was disappointed. The dance mode is so much fun though, and all the parodies of great songs are awesome and hilarious. Other game types include raincor going around and destroying stuff, pod racing, and i think one more but i cant remeber right now. Overall, this game is a really good one for all ages, yes, even younger kids though the rating is "T". I recommend this to all who love, and those who don"t love, star wars and to those who want a fun, exciting, and moderately challenging game!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Kinect Star Wars
One of the much better Kinect games!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/7/12
thecasualgamer98
Location: AZ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
After all the mixed criticism about this game, I was a little worried about buying it. Turns out, this game is actually really good. Playing as a jedi was extremely good, and using a lightsaber and the force is very cool although at times there is a small lag, but nothing too big. Riding a speeder bike and fighting in space is awesome, but its actually really easy. Lightsaber Dueling is something I heard was lame but its actually more fun than I thought and though its not at all the best thing about the game its pretty cool. Dancing though very weird is SO fun taking the moves from dance central and giving it that star wars twist was so funny. Podracing might be one of the best modes, the controls work great, the story is pretty charming, and though with few the tracks for each planet are awesome. And lastly playing as a rancor is cool BUT some of the controls can get pretty wonky but its still a decent mode. On another note, the graphics r a mix cause very often it looks beautiful or even cintematic, but other times its just sad when it looks just a small amount above the level of TOR. Still overall, there is alot to do in this game for a kinect game, and every mode has something fun to offer, and for that it makes a very good kinect game. (P.S though im giving this game a 9 Im just doing that to be nice cause if I could I would give it a 8.5).
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
14 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Kinect Star Wars
High Hopes
Posted on:10/25/11
starwars10
Location: California, CA
I have very high hopes for this game and i believe this will be a success like force unleashed. Just let it get time. Many people were at the comic con and E3 and stuff like that and said "This game looks like its terrible because you have to say light saber on!" and i believe that if it was terrible at E3 then Lucas Arts will note those fans and improve it! Is the game out yet? NO so why are people saying its terrible when its still changing into a better game which other people haven't played yet. I say wait till its out and then judge it, but lets hope its a good game. I'm not saying its a good game but lets look and see what it becomes shall we?
23 of 27 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Kinect Star Wars
great game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/29/12
teen
Location: AL
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I think that this is really a great game for anyone that doesn't mind getting up and moving around a little. But I think that the jedi part was a little short but still a lot of fun and I also thought that the pod racer took a little getting used to but after you got used to it it was a lot of fun
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Kinect Star Wars
Not going to be a hit...
Posted on:3/28/12
JestoNsane4u
Location: Chicago
I don't want to say too much cause, it seems I always get voted down when I give a bad preview, but if you look at my previews they are pretty accurate with the releases they coordinate to. On another note, this game is going to be another kinect FAIL! I have watched enough HANDS ON gameplay videos to know, this game is going to have bad response to your actions, and you won't be freestyling with your lightsaber as much as you think you'll be able to. Anyone remember when Fighters Uncaged came out? Pretty much what this game is going to be. I'm sorry, I'm just as big of a Star Wars fan as much as the next guy, but I will not be supporting this game. Whatever happened to the "Jedi Knight" series? I loved that game, how you actually controlled the actions of your lightsaber, not just random swinging... Video games have gone way downhill as far as gameplay...
21 of 57 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
blademaster1121
MI
 
Please wait while more information about blademaster1121 is loaded.
Additional information about blademaster1121 could not be loaded.
Top 1000 Contributor
the force isnt strong with this one...
Posted 4/4/12
u have only seen previews of this u havnt even played it urself.... dont judge it till u play it and i own it and it has blown my mind it responds quite well and i dont have to really jump that high in order for my character to jump in most kinect games u have to jump pretty high but this is pretty good its one of the most responsive kinect games iv played
Customer Avatar
Javin
Wichita KS
 
Please wait while more information about Javin is loaded.
Additional information about Javin could not be loaded.
It's Awesome
Posted 4/3/12
I've done part of the Jedi destiny only so far, but it is awesome!!! Yes, at times the Kinect makes it more difficult then it should be. This is understandable when it is the first version of it and you can't expect it to read perfect when you play Kinect Sports bowling, throw the ball straight, and end up getting a gutter ball.
Being a Jedi is awesome and this takes place after Episode I. I enjoyed every moment today and I look forward to many more hours playing this game.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 7 for Kinect Star Wars
A reason to get Kinect
Posted on:6/8/11
ajax0014
I don't have Kinect yet, but I love Star Wars and there will be other titles in the future I will play that incorporate Kinect. It's about time I got Kinect, and then I'll get this and Mass Effect 3, and use the voice controls being added to that. This game does look like it needs a little work, but otherwise it's coming along nicely.
10 of 12 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
8321DarthVader
 
Please wait while more information about 8321DarthVader is loaded.
Additional information about 8321DarthVader could not be loaded.
i have bad luck
Posted 6/28/11
id love to get this game but the problem is,i dont have a kinect,because i have bad luck!!!!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Kinect Star Wars
star wars fan favorite
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/4/12
blademaster1121
Location: MI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is for a lack of a better word AWSOME! this game has blown my mind i thought it wouldnt be that to terribly great from so many negitive comments iv heard about it and well i love star wars and i just had to pre order this thing and when i picked it up and started playing it became so addicting i almost didnt want to stop but eventually my arms started to get alittle sore but still its not like u can play any kinect game and not get sore in one way or another but still this is a really good kinect game for those who like motion control games and star wars its great for the whole family!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Kinect Star Wars
One of the new reasons to get Kinect
Posted on:6/12/11
RablerRableRable
it looks great. i see the game being alot of hack and slash and it will probably get very repetitve and boring...buuuuut its STAR WARS!!! your a freackin JEDI!!!! the E3 demo was a little delayed in the movements but that could be a early demo and it could be fixed which i hope it is but i dont think it will be a big problem if its you actually playing
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
llamamilk
 
Please wait while more information about llamamilk is loaded.
Additional information about llamamilk could not be loaded.
WHAT?!
Posted 6/19/11
$50? That sounds like a waste of money to me. I saw this game at E3 and it was basically a rail shooter, except with a lightsaber. I would really appreciate a real reason to buy a Kinect.
Customer Avatar
gamaholic
 
Please wait while more information about gamaholic is loaded.
Additional information about gamaholic could not be loaded.
Sweet!!!
Posted 6/15/11
Everyone who posted comments on this game were right this is what we've been waiting for. i personally thought kinect was a waste of time until i saw the demo and people playing this game. It's incredible. Well done Lucas. Well done.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 10 for Kinect Star Wars
Excited and Delighted
Posted on:12/28/11
CatatonicGamer
Location: Kansas
I'm thrilled they're coming out with this and already have plans on pre-ordering my special edition copy! The experience alone will be worth the money, but I have a good feeling about this game and will remain hopeful that it will meet my expectations.
That being said... I want more good Star Wars games like Old Republic, now THAT game rocked so flippin' hard it nearly blew my face off when I first got it and I STILL play it to this day. :3 Wonder when they'll give us some more of that.
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Kinect Star Wars
When will LucusArts listen to their fans?
Posted on:8/4/11
UlquiorraCifer
Location: Hueco Muendo
When will LucusArts listen to their fan? They need to bring back good games like Knights of the Old Republic, Republic Commando, and Battlefront 3. We need another hardcore Star Wars game and not this catering to little kids.
9 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Kinect Star Wars
I love star wars but this was a disapointment
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/13/14
Mindspark
Location: New Jersey
I would love to actualy play the game but i cant even choose what to play. the stupid game dosent even read me. It is simple DO NOT GET!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 13 for Kinect Star Wars
Fun Game, BUT
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/22/12
JamDude
Location: Colorado
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Kinect Star Wars is a great game for kids. All the game modes are fun. The main story is short and really is not what anybody expected. The graphics are bad for a new game. The kinect is slow at your reaction time. Yet, this game is still very good. This is probably one of the kinect games actually worth buying. The dance mode is fun for all ages. The pod racing takes a little to get use to but its also very fun. The Rancor Rampage is the best mode out of them all. Overall, this game is good for Star Wars fans and kid gamers looking for a good solid kinect game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Kinect Star Wars
KINECT STAR WARS ROCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/27/12
Hamburger
Location: Colorado
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is awesome. I was really looking forward to it coming out on the kinect. I've played a lot of star wars games before but none as awesome as this one. The game rocks. If your a star wars fan get the game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Kinect Star Wars
Not dissapointed
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/28/12
Dave1234
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Most Kinect games dissapoint me due to bad controls. This is not the case. This is a very good Kinect game. Very fun with friends. 3 complaints however: lightsaber "duels" could have been better (but still good. using the lightsaber works great, but the forumula in "duel mode" can be better), graphics could have been better, and the storyline isnt the best. It takes place between Ep 1 and 2. Would have liked if it was after 6, or just followed the storyline of all the movies (a few major missions from each movie). But anyway, its a great game, best when played with friends.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
da3324io
Mexico,New Mexico
 
Please wait while more information about da3324io is loaded.
Additional information about da3324io could not be loaded.
pretty darn good!!!
Posted 1/2/14
This game rocks. To me, the best mode is the jedi one where you get to play as a jedi! If your right handed, its gonna be a pain using the force.Dont try and be cheap and use both hands,cause that wont work unless they tell you to use both hands.SPOILER ALERT:they will tell you to lift something using both hands on the first level!! You also have to know how to swing your hand to strike with your lightsaber. If you want to strike down move your right hand down and so on. I dont want spoil the game and tell you about rancor rampage mode.HINT:its very fun. one last thing get a new version because half the time a used game will be scrathed or just wont work period this a good game for people with anger issuses and a good game for son father bonding time.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for Kinect Star Wars
Star Wars Fans will love this!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/4/12
DarthATV
Location: Bethlehem, PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Star Wars Fans should love this but non Star Wars fans will hate it. Great sounds, great gameplay but it doesn't feel like the actual jedi way. I just began it and already my arms tired but so far its pretty cool. Can't get over the sounds and the music with it is awesome. I wish they had an option to be in the dark side. I think LucasArts needs to make a more darker game like batman did. Hopefully a battlefront 3 comes out! Overall I would rent the game if your no in love with Star Wars. If you LOVE Star Wars like me, then add it to your collection.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
E6M6P
 
Please wait while more information about E6M6P is loaded.
Additional information about E6M6P could not be loaded.
BF3
Posted 4/12/12
lolz it did come out!! & may I say, IT ROCKS!! :3
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Kinect Star Wars
Okay Game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/30/14
Gamer102103
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is alright but it won't last for long. Graphics and gameplay are excellent and sound is good too.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 18 for Kinect Star Wars
Good, but..
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:7/17/12
CoDL0v3R
Location: Tampa, Flordia
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I love this game the pod racing was very fun, the rancor rampage is AWESOME, even the dancing is fun, but the main reason your going to buy this is for the Story Mode. Ok, so, well it's WAY short, I beat it in 5 hours, and you dont run, you just fly forward, and then most of the time you are just jumping or moving left and right, but it wont sense it. The worst of all, it had nothing AT ALL, to do with the normal movies. BUT, it brought a lot of fun into the house, so it was worth it.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Kinect Star Wars
STAR WARS!!!!!!!!
Posted on:6/16/11
Hehediscus
Location: Buffet
I was against getting a kinect before but now Im not so sure that I won't get it. Star wars makes everything better like that. I can't wait to play it and the other E3 games!
8 of 12 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
pacmanlover
USA
 
Please wait while more information about pacmanlover is loaded.
Additional information about pacmanlover could not be loaded.
Top 10 Contributor
kinect sucks!
Posted 9/7/11
U cant compare the kinect to the wii. the Wii is a good consoll the kinect is a bad add on made to make so fast mony! Microfost is gooding to fail the last 2 E3 sucked! i bett is game going to be on reals and u cant fill the fores cuz thays no remot! it going to suck! PS U need a big open space to play kinect unlike the wii with u can gest set down and play by poniting and shaking ur wii mont now and thin. Kiect has lag and bracks easy the fores is waek with this one!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for Kinect Star Wars
SPECTACULAR SERIES COMING TO KINECT!
Posted on:9/6/11
BSADULSKI
Location: Palm Bay, FL
I have never really noticed that Kinect did not have any serious series such as the Star Wars series until a couple of days ago. In addition to this serious being added to the Kinect Game lineup, this game should have some awesome features not seen on any other console before. With the ability to play this game without the use of controllers is really fresh. Although, I do believe we should have the choice to be able to use the Kinect Sensor or use the controller such as they way you can in Forza 4. This game seems like it is going to be a great seller for LucasArts, and seems to be a very fun game as well. As soon as I get some extra cash, I think I will go ahead and pre order this game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>