GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

El Shaddai: Ascension of the Metatron

Long ago, when the seed of mankind was first taking root, God laid down his plans for the human race. He appointed the Grigori, the most human of all angels in heaven, to watch over them from the celestial realm. The Grigori, known to some as the "The Watchers", dutifully continued their vigilance through the ages. Over time, they became fascinated by the lives humans led, with the uninhibited freedom and passions. Subtle at first, the fascination soon led to feeling of longing, desire and lust. Until one fateful day, the Grigori turned away from God and descended to Earth. When Heaven's highest order, the Council of Elders, discovered the Grigori's betrayal, they were furious. Their anger only grew stronger when they learned that the Fallen Angels had taken in daughters of men, deviating mankind from God's great plan. To set matters right, the Council decided to send a terrible flood to wipe out the entire human race. However, there was one man who objected to the Council's decision. His name was Enoch, a scribe whose righteousness moved God to bring him to Heaven while still living mortal. The Council heard Enoch's pleas and agreed to spare mankind on the condition that Enoch capture the fallen angels and bring them back to Heaven to be imprisoned. To prevent the impending flood, Enoch returned to Earth on a mission to escort the Fallen Angels back to Heaven. Upon his arrival he confronted Azazel, one of the seven who fell. However, Azazel refused to return to Heaven and went into hiding along with the others, warning Enoch not to follow. And so, Enoch's long journey begins...
Average Customer Rating:
6.571
6.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
10 stars
2
9 stars
2
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
4 out of 757%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for El Shaddai: Ascension of the Metatron
Review 1 for El Shaddai: Ascension of the Metatron
A mesmerizing mix of animation, color and sound...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/26/11
Spizzarri
Location: Chicago, IL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Ive been playing games since 1979 (showing my age) and as games evolved to what we have today, I was completely shocked when I bought El Shaddai. I was immensely blown away by the morphing and ever changing colorful animation of the stages. Ive never seen such intense imagery capture me like this game has. The story line was fresh, unique and surreal. The action was indeed action which was wild and engaging to satisfy a multitude of gamers at any level. Of course the music was as real as any orchestra that melded with the creative backdrops to drown you into a world that was fresh and timeless... purchase this game...!!! The companies need to create alternatives as this title to free up the first person genre. I still love first person, but this title will always stand alone in a class by itself... Heres to, I hope, possibly more games that will break the genres in the near future...
Spizzarri, Chicago IL.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for El Shaddai: Ascension of the Metatron
A religious sheep in a (stylish) wolf's clothing
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:8/19/11
TheSpaniard
Location: New York, NY
Reading all of the rave reviews about this game, I decided to pick it up and give it a shot. That was my first mistake. El Shaddai is a mix of beautiful scenery, well orchestrated music, a fairly generic assortment of special moves and slashes and a fairly epic set of villains. But those issues were not the problem I have with El shaddai. MY problem is with the incredibly deep religious overtones. You would think this game was sanctioned by the church itself (seriously, check it out if you don't believe me). After playing for about three hours, I just couldn't continue facing the onset of religious nonsense this game was continually spewing. It's like playing "bible games" circa 2011. If you can get past this, you have yourself a fairly linear game with a rather bland storyline and a set of enemies that you will get no satisfaction from killing. If you're still curious, Give El Shaddai a shot. But don't say I didn't warn you...Just remember, Magazine and internet reviews of video games can sometimes be deceiving.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 47 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
sonicgeek14
GA,Lawrenceville
 
Please wait while more information about sonicgeek14 is loaded.
Additional information about sonicgeek14 could not be loaded.
OKAAAY!
Posted 12/28/11
i don't know what this guy above or below me is talking about, but you either like the game or not. The religious aspects of this game does not overshadow any other element what so ever, so go and try it yourself. Enjoy!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for El Shaddai: Ascension of the Metatron
The most beautiful game ever made.
Posted on:6/17/11
GunstarJoe
I've been following El Shaddai since E2 2010, and after completing the demo six times, I can't wait for this game to come out! I'm a huge fan of Clover Studio and the El Shaddai team is led by ex-Clover guys, including the art director from Okami. Basically if you loved Okami's beautiful art style and the combat systems from Devil May Cry and Bayonetta, you need to buy El Shaddai. We need more games like this in the future!!
I was worried the full game wouldn't live up to the standards set by the demo, but then I saw the motorcycle stage on G4TV during E3 and saw Eurogamer's 9/10 review score and I was sold. If you haven't played the demo yet, GET IT!
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Poizon
Pittsburgh
 
Please wait while more information about Poizon is loaded.
Additional information about Poizon could not be loaded.
Simply Beautifull
Posted 7/14/11
A friend called me yesterday and asked if I knew anything about this game. I had not even heard about it, really. He went on to tell me to get the demo and I did. Finally jumped on and played it today, WOW!!! They graphic style is just beautiful, the controls are pretty smooth and easy, etc. I could go on and on about how good this games going to be if it is anything like the little bit of demo I got to play. Pre-ordered it immediately after playing the demo. This looks like one of the best "under the AAA radar" games this year.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for El Shaddai: Ascension of the Metatron
El Shaddai - A Beautiful & Unique Adventure
Posted on:8/11/11
StokedRider
Sadly, games are all too similar these days; when we're lucky--which is very rarely--we get a game like El Shaddai, an artistic and unique experience that revitalizes my hope for the future of the video game industry. Combining 3D action combat like a Bayonetta or Devil May Cry, 2D side-scrolling platforming levels like a Mario game, and unique visuals brought to you by one of the artists for the cult classic Okami, El Shaddai brings a fresh approach to a genre that doesn't get enough play these days, and I welcome it. El Shaddai is a must-play title.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for El Shaddai: Ascension of the Metatron
A refreshingly different type of game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/20/11
Jamz
Location: Annapolis
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Keeping in mind this game is based on dead sea scrolls book of enoch; its a refreshing change of pace from the gritty shooters/actiongames of late with the same generic shaved headed hero with a scowl (looking at you gears of war, infamous, force unleashed, etc etc :P). and honestly it does a great job of story telling, with scenes of lucifel and enoch in game engine, rendered cutscenes etc etc. keeping in mind its based on a JEWISH text, not a christian text, and its not preachy, i found the story to be fascinating myself. but they way it is all portyayed the graphics are absolutly mind blowing and prove truly games can be art. the colors chosen explode off your screen, if you have 1080p you'll be in visual heaven. the gameplay is easy to pick up but the battle system does have nuiances that are necessary to truly have fun (button mashing will get you only so far). the music is sweeping and perfectly suited and very memorable .but another thing to keep in mind is if your looking for a dmc/gow clone look elsewhere this game is much more than just a hack&slash. but i truly have to say, if we can make games about greek, roman & Japanese religious themes for games, why not jewish and christian? definatly give this a shot if your looking for an action game that is delightly different.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for El Shaddai: Ascension of the Metatron
Just Beautiful
Posted on:6/24/11
Xiled
Location: Mission Viejo
This is the most beautiful game ever. Just beat the demo and loved it. The art of the game blends so well with the gameplay. Even the simple music with the soothing surroundings is amazing.
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for El Shaddai: Ascension of the Metatron
Shockingly stunning and absolutely breath taking.
Posted on:8/3/11
SmokinStrings
I downloaded the Demo and am rather inclined to say it was well worth the wait. As if the graphic detail of this game didn't blow me away enough, the gameplay is simple yet new and imaginative. You have armor to protect you from blows, that fractures and chips away as you get hit, and can get power ups to recover it between battles (sometimes during). To acquire weapons, you stun your enemies and take theirs, making them your own. Utilizing a gift from God, you can purify your weapons AND YOU WILL NEED TO DO SO as they become tainted as you slay more and more enemies. The plot was a little difficult to follow (it was really late) but I am excited about the game. Would I pay $60 for it? Heck no.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Battlefield Bad Company 2
7.6 out of 10(108)
 
 
 
 
 
 
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for El Shaddai: Ascension of the Metatron
Breath taking graphics dude!
Posted on:6/29/11
dotdot9
Location: NC
Although it is +750 mb for the demo it was TOTALLY worth it. The only downfall of the game is that you don't have indications/hud to help out but dannng the graphics were freaking unbelievable! I was so wowed over the entire scenery that having zero hud didn't really bother me. For people who care a lot about game play, this isn't the game for you-- you don't have many attack buttons or menus for your items.
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for El Shaddai: Ascension of the Metatron
Fun in a weird way
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/25/11
FCBM
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
For one, I know that this is not a popular game at all. None of my friends have ever heard of this game. The storyline is a little confusing and has to do with religious concepts which I do not like in a game. The graphics are weird but are good. The game has a better start than end.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for El Shaddai: Ascension of the Metatron
Beautiful!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/30/11
GQ0025
Location: Baltimore, MD
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I plan to pick this game up today, I have played the demo on Xbox live and i was sold. I love the graphics and the game play, Some people on here gave this game bad reviews because they don't understand the true nature of this game. But I for one after experiencing this game first hand and hearing some of the other reviews will be purchasing this game for keeps. Don't let the bad reviews fool you go try it for your self if you have Xbox live, its in the demo section.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for El Shaddai: Ascension of the Metatron
If u like jumping
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:1/13/12
Thor7861
Location: rancho cucamonga
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
pretty much the whole game is jumping going up and across a tower story line doesnt make too much sense the graphics are ok the color is alil crazy with a slice of cell shading its extremely repetitive game and the fact that u can respawn pretty much any time makes the challenge not worth the effort the idea was right i suppose but seems like it was a game that hd a short deadline to complete
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for El Shaddai: Ascension of the Metatron
terrible
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/20/12
xGravexDancerx
horrible story, sketchy gameplay, one of the worse games i have ever played. i fully regretted that purchase
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.