GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

El Shaddai: Ascension of the Metatron

Long ago, when the seed of mankind was first taking root, God laid down his plans for the human race. He appointed the Grigori, the most human of all angels in heaven, to watch over them from the celestial realm. The Grigori, known to some as the "The Watchers", dutifully continued their vigilance through the ages. Over time, they became fascinated by the lives humans led, with the uninhibited freedom and passions. Subtle at first, the fascination soon led to feeling of longing, desire and lust. Until one fateful day, the Grigori turned away from God and descended to Earth. When Heaven's highest order, the Council of Elders, discovered the Grigori's betrayal, they were furious. Their anger only grew stronger when they learned that the Fallen Angels had taken in daughters of men, deviating mankind from God's great plan. To set matters right, the Council decided to send a terrible flood to wipe out the entire human race. However, there was one man who objected to the Council's decision. His name was Enoch, a scribe whose righteousness moved God to bring him to Heaven while still living mortal. The Council heard Enoch's pleas and agreed to spare mankind on the condition that Enoch capture the fallen angels and bring them back to Heaven to be imprisoned. To prevent the impending flood, Enoch returned to Earth on a mission to escort the Fallen Angels back to Heaven. Upon his arrival he confronted Azazel, one of the seven who fell. However, Azazel refused to return to Heaven and went into hiding along with the others, warning Enoch not to follow. And so, Enoch's long journey begins...
Average Customer Rating:
7.4
7.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
10 stars
1
9 stars
2
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 560%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for El Shaddai: Ascension of the Metatron
Review 1 for El Shaddai: Ascension of the Metatron
Intriguing
Posted on:6/18/11
DarkSeraph
Location: Washington
Religious themes are often a touchy subject in video games. So much so, in fact, that Nintendo, back in its 8-bit days, pretty much forbade games with religious elements. Despite that, Enix somehow managed to get "Actraiser" to market, and that game is one that is well worth checking out while you wait for this one. That game pretty much WAS a religious experience for its time.
On the other hand, when a religious game goes bad, it's REALLY bad (Left Behind, I'm looking at you.)
So it's interesting to see a publisher--ANY publisher--wade into such controversial waters, and try to do something that's only been done once in gaming history: a mass-market game with religious overtones that's actually a good game in its own right.
Having heard some snippets from the soundtrack, it sounds like El Shaddai is literally aiming for the heavens in terms of presentation. How the gameplay works out remains to be seen, but so far, the graphics look jaw-dropping and the score sounds widescreen-ready. It's still a little too early to be name-checking Team Ico, but that might change once this is out.
Don't overlook this one--it should at least make a good change of pace. One to watch.
12 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for El Shaddai: Ascension of the Metatron
El Shaddai Is great!
Posted on:6/20/11
Aznflavor
Location: Mount Pleasant SC
This game is fresh and pretty new. I played the demo of this game on the ps3 a few weeks ago and it's pretty great. Like standard adventure games however you get to have 3 different weapons when you kill different types of enemies you get their weapons. There is a melee weapons a ring which shoots out stuff and i guess there are some power gloves or something. But this game is fresh because of the graphics and the visuals it's pretty amazing :)
10 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for El Shaddai: Ascension of the Metatron
Okami style meets God of War gameplay..yes please!
Posted on:8/11/11
Simplicity
When I first found out that the director of Okami was directing this game I was sold. Okami is one of my favorite video games of all time simply because of the art style. Upon seeing gameplay videos and playing the demo of El Shaddai, I was even more hooked. The gameplay is very similar to the button combo gameplay style of God of War without the QTE (from what I played in the demo). This game looks and plays simply amazing. Enoch's combat animations are fluid and stylish, making you feel as though you're playing a warrior with finesse. Can't wait until this game comes out!
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for El Shaddai: Ascension of the Metatron
Don't Miss This One!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/29/11
DarkSeraph
Location: Washington
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Okay, let me start this with what I DIDN'T like. The fighting isn't all that great, the ending is too short, and some of the platform punishment in this game will have you using language that would horrify your Sunday school teacher.
That said? If you want to see more original games; games with an artistic bent; or games that take chances, VOTE WITH YOUR WALLET AND GET THIS GAME, NOW.
Put simply, El Shaddai is one of the most beautiful video games in history. There are a couple of places, in fact, where the only thing you're really doing is navigating through a spectacular display of audiovisual art.
For instance, early on, there is one scene where all you're doing is making your way up a gargantuan stained-glass window, with a very reverent organ piece playing in the background, as Archangel Michael comments on the stunning visuals you're moving past. There is some very light platforming here, but the point is to immerse you in the beauty of the scene. And that's not the only place in the game where the main point seems to be "look around, and see the beauty."
Video games have often been accused of gratuitous violence; El Shaddai, on the other hand, can very credibly be accused of indulging in gratuitous beauty. It is a breath of fresh air to see a game try to walk the fine line between video game and interactive art.
Now, that's not to say the game is perfect. In fact, you could say that as a video game, it makes for an impressive art show. Again, the fighting isn't all that great, as it relies on single-button timing and not Maddenesque permutations of multiple controller buttons. It simplifies combat, to be sure, but you can argue that it reduces fights to button-mashing monotony.
And then, there's the platforming. Oh, MAN, there's the platforming. Some of the 3D platform sections can charitably be described as brutal. Again, be prepared for frustration on some of those sequences. They can get UGLY.
All that having been said, however, this is one game I'm glad I own, and a game that I'm definitely going to be returning to from time to time. This is the kind of game that you'll want to have around to experience again when the mood strikes. Once you figure out the game's secrets, replays are pure experience.
But even though the ending does end on a very reverent note, it's just way too short. Heck, there's an in-game exposition scene/credit crawl early on that's longer than the actual ending. A game like this deserves a better ending than it got--although, in all fairness, there are enough "wow" moments throughout the game that one final cut scene probably couldn't top them. And, again in fairness, the music under the closing credits is a terrific send-off to a terrific experience.
I know I've given long shrift to what I don't like about this game. But honestly, those are the only real problems I have with a game that is, in almost every other regard, a sublime, top-notch, do not miss this, title. The visuals are perfection; the audio makes me wish I had a better sound system; and the overall experience--gripes aside--is one that I'm glad I'll get to experience anytime I please.
So, to summarize: no, the gameplay isn't perfect, and there are parts of this game which will frustrate you. But DO NOT MISS THIS GAME. It's a special game, and one you will be glad you played. It's also a beautifully executed work of gaming art, the kind of game you don't see very often, and the kind of game that deserves to be supported. Vote with your wallet on this game. Buy it new, and buy it now.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for El Shaddai: Ascension of the Metatron
A unique gaming experience
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/8/11
setsugekka
Location: Ohio
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I had been interested in getting this game as soon as I saw the trailers for it. After it was released in Japan, I watched some more gameplay videos from it and wondered if it would really stack up when I could play it for myself. Personally, I wasn't disappointed one bit. The fighting is fun (though a little repetitive and easy at times) but where the game really shines is in its platforming. The levels are all innovative and designed to perfection. They're all linear, but jumping around on its own is an extremely satisfying challenge. For as many times as I fell in this game, you would think I would have found that an annoying thing - but it was fun in the way that falling in an old Mario game is fun. It makes you want to keep trying over and over, timing your jumps just right. Fighting enemies doesn't shine as much as the platforming, but it didn't do anything to hinder my experience. The only major flaw of the game is in the story. It can be very confusing and feels sort of rushed when much of it is being told through between-level dialog scenes. However, I still really enjoyed the story the game presents and hope there will be a sequel that will follow what happens after the events of the game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for El Shaddai: Ascension of the Metatron
Meh
Posted on:6/19/11
Xfasiuos
If the demo is anything to go by the game isn't worth 30$ let alone 60$. The only thing it has going for it is the art. Game play is shallow and repetitive. No doubt within a month you can find this in a bin at your local retail store for under 20$.
5 of 21 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for El Shaddai: Ascension of the Metatron
Impressed so far.
Posted on:8/13/11
nhaer042
Location: Greenville,SC
It looks great, combat is fun and challenging, platforming is awesome, and the premise is very intriguing. And that's just the deomo! I can't wait to see the rest of the game.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for El Shaddai: Ascension of the Metatron
Looks good but plays bad
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:8/30/11
direwolf8282
Location: Queen Creek, AZ
This game really accels in the graphics department. The gameplay is horendous. It is a couple little monsters u fight and then a boss battle. You do this over and over. Definitely gonna return this game. Good thing I bought it used.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
2 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for El Shaddai: Ascension of the Metatron
Repetitive action adventure & gorgeous atmosphere
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:8/22/11
safeandsound6
Location: Irving, TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Im not going to blame this game for trying to be different than gow or dmc.But all they accomplished was the graphics. graphics-wise this game is something u never experienced...but falls short really bad on gameplay. it only give u bare minimum of hack and slash and weakly impliment some new idea which become tedious and repetitive really soon.this game had a huge potential to be great but they blew it.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for El Shaddai: Ascension of the Metatron
Good but not Great
Posted on:6/19/11
jamiefff
Location: CA,SF
good looking game but has Weird story and the graphics remind me of Prince of Persia
3 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for El Shaddai: Ascension of the Metatron
most awesome game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/19/11
AnimeMajorette
Location: Pittsburg,TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I love this game!!!!! I the unique graphics were amazing, and how you could revive yourself many times, was so cool. The story line was truly interesting too. I highly recommend this game, too many people. I played a demo a few months before I got it, and that;s when I was just hooked. Try it. You'll probably be hooked too. the fighting and game play is sort of like God of War, but it still a really good game. It's especially good for people who like a bunch of action and fighting games.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for El Shaddai: Ascension of the Metatron
Too raw and unfinished
Posted on:7/17/11
Lehrin
Location: New York
It had good ideas but it wasn't linked together properly
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 20 found this review helpful.