GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Harvest Moon: The Tale of Two Towns

Konohana and Bluebell villages were once the friendliest of neighbors. Then a huge dispute erupted between them...over FOOD! Both towns were certain that their cooking was the best in the world. This fierce food feud has transformed the two happy neighbors into the bitterest of rivals.As a new farmer to the area, you choose which village to live in. Will it be Eastern-styled Konohana with its abundant fields of crops, or the animal-loving, European-styled Bluebell? Pick a home, build a thriving farm, and compete in a huge variety of festivals. Develop your skills enough, and you might even find a way to bring these two towns together once again!
Average Customer Rating:
7.375
7.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (95 reviews)
10 stars
7
9 stars
8
8 stars
11
7 stars
5
6 stars
1
5 stars
2
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
2
29 out of 4072%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Harvest Moon: The Tale of Two Towns
Review 1 for Harvest Moon: The Tale of Two Towns
Such A Great Game! I Guess We ALL Have To Wait
Posted on:10/31/11
tooshie13
Location: New York,NY
Harvest Moon: Tale of Two Towns! I can't wait even though I sound so calm in my headline! This game is so GREAT and so EVERYTHING! I can't stop looking at the reviews on this website and the videos on YouTube! I basically know ALL about this game, and this is my first HM! I'm a little mad that the release date was pushed back not once, not twice, but a BUNCH of times, which is making me fustrated and ALL of the Harvest Moon lovers and FANS! Well, the game is has its point, and its worth the wait. 3DS peeps get there copy with better graphics! I don't have a 3DS but I'm getting one in Aquq blue! I have a DSi right now, but thats getting quite old and theres plenty of room for something new. Now the game is full of excitment, and makes me want to jump up and down and up and down all day! In the game you get to choose between two towns: Bluebell or Kanahona,(you can switch every season,I'm still trying to pick which town I want to start out with) and you make a living! In Bluebell you take care of animals and in Kanahona, you have a farm and grow crops! You make money, you can get married and have children, you can cook, do request from the message board that villagers assigned,ect.! I think this is the best game for the 3DS YET! Don't foget about all the othe great games that are coming out: Animal Crossing 3DS, Super Mario 3D Land, Mario Kart 7 3DS, Zelda: The Orcarina of Time (that came out already!) Oh!, and even though its not for 3DS, Pokemon Black and White! I just love Pokemon! I'll right a little review for it! I dont have it but I'm getting it! Oh and don't forget: Cooking Mama 4: Kitchen Magic!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
This video will tell you what Harvest Moon: Tale of Two Towns is mainly about!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Harvest Moon: The Tale of Two Towns
Town @ War
Posted on:8/1/11
ZeldaGeek4Eva
Location: Indiana
If you’re a long time Harvest Moon player then you’ll then know that the player has the objective to save the land(s). For the Tales of two Towns- the towns Konohana and Bluebell are at war over whose has the best cooking in the world! Since you’re a new face to the area they’re cool with you. So can get to choose live in Eastern-styled Konohana or European-styled Bluebell. It’s gonna be epic :D (info provided by ing)
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
The Bachelors & Bachelorettes
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Harvest Moon: The Tale of Two Towns
Great game, minor glitches
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/13/11
xWarriorhime
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
After the disappointing wait for the game, I received my 3ds Harvest Moon game with an Alpaca Plushy (pre-order gift). I have to say, I love this game. I’m a huge fan of the franchise, and I have most of the ds games (I prefer portable games). You can choose a male or female character, and you start by having to choose Bluebell (farming based) or Konohana (crop based) farming.
Pro-
-Addicting Game play
-Having a horse from the start
-Choice of farm preference (Animal or Crop)
-Great Graphics
-Organized/Clean looking screens
-Increased Animal product (through a correct number of treats)
-Separate Screens for fish/bugs/miscellaneous items
-Trenches (I love these so much)
Con-
-Laggy, sometimes crashes
-All the characters have an obsession (Cam loves Flowers, Dirk loves mail)
-Harvest Goddess doesn’t act ethereal in any way
-No harvest sprites
-Have to wait a season for every upgrade
-Pierre takesc forever at his cooking contests
Overall though, I’d recommend it! It’s a really fun game, and I’m completely in love with it
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Harvest Moon: The Tale of Two Towns
Come back to farming with this new release
Posted on:6/28/11
Yamatol
Relive the Harvest Moon franchise with this new title. Two villages have a conflict. The village of Konohana, a farming based village, and the village of Bluebell, an animal raising based village, were once in good terms. The villagers used to be friends with villagers from the other village. But both villages had arguememts on... FOOD. Their cooking styles are different. With an arguement, the villages than seperated. As the main character, you can choose which village you would like to live in. The main goal is to build friendships with the villagers of each village and try to reunite the villages. With all new characters, and some previous characters such as Pierre, Nathan and Alisa from Harvest Moon: Sunshine Island and Dirk from Harvest Moon: Grand Bazaar, there are unknown possibilities. Also, there are new animals such as Alpacas, Bees, and Owls. Experience different ways of farming like using a waterwheel that can help make pickled cabbages and turnips. Have a new adventure with the newest release of Harvest Moon games.
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Harvest Moon: The Tale of Two Towns
Finally a harvest moon on the 3ds!!!
Posted on:8/2/11
DKandDK
Not much to say except that im definetely getting this game and I am looking forward to the new cast of characters and to what Natsume will bring to the 3ds. CLICK THUMBS UP IF YOU THINK THIS GAME WILL BE A MUST HAVE 3DS GAME!!!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
58 of 66 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Harvest Moon: The Tale of Two Towns
super excited for my 3ds copy
Posted on:10/8/11
Megaman06
Location: Fort Myers, Fl
Game is Beast
Hi everyone I picked up the DS copy of this game and to be honest I have not been able to put it down. I can tell you this much im only a season into the game I just started summer but the game so far is awesome the art is a little too cutsy for me but with all the new added features this game is good. You can farm the mountain for various supplies and goods to sell, you can catch bugs and butterflies and ship them and the shallow rivers and streams you can walk right up to fish and press the A button and scoop them up just move slowly cause they dart away like crazy. There are all sorts of animals you can interact with on the mountain like HM: Back to nature, and there are deep rivers where you need a fishing pole to catch fish ( I havent found the rod yet but working on it). I will def be trading my ds copy for a 3ds copy but for those of you who think you have to choose between crops and animals your wrong no matter which town you choose you can do both I chose Konohana because I liked the japanese style with the hanging paper lanterns and the tile roofs it took me a few days but i saved up the money went to bluebell (the other town) and bought a calf and chick and enough food for 5 days for both I got a free brush and milker from the lady in the game and I have a field of turnips and potatoes growning right now. The game looks incredible and runs flawless no glitches like HM:DS. I will definitely pick up the 3ds version and I recommend this game to anyone who enjoyed the early harvest moons like HM: Friend of Mineral Town, <--- Thats the game I want a 3ds remake of or atleast a GBA download on the E-shop. I hope this helps make your decision a little easier.
17 of 18 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
tellica4ever
 
Please wait while more information about tellica4ever is loaded.
Additional information about tellica4ever could not be loaded.
3DS version
Posted 10/11/11
this is the second time the developers have pushed back the 3DS version. they need to stop pushing it back and get it out so we can play it. they dont need to pull a Zelda developers page and keep pushing the release date back. its irritating when they do that. it was supposed to be released today. now i gotta wait till after my bday to get my own game picked up that i pre ordered for my own bday present. just make sure they dont push it back again and i'll be half way happy.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Harvest Moon: The Tale of Two Towns
I better get my alpaca.
Posted on:10/5/11
Rylie
Location: OK
Seriously, I pre-ordered this game just so I could have that Alpaca plushie. They need to stop freaking delaying it. Seriously. Other than that, I love Harvest Moon. I have more Harvest moon games than I have fingers to count them on. And I was so happy when I found out this game was coming out.
12 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Harvest Moon: The Tale of Two Towns
Great Game Bad programing
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:11/3/11
DavidT
Location: Gulfport, MS
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Its harvest Moon DS all over again Farming fans. the graphics are good decent story nifty mechanics... so why the bad review... simple, game breaking glitches. on my 2nd copy of the game and natsume has gone the way of atari releases junk product for inflated prices. the main premise of the game to reunite the two towns seperated by a mountain. only problem is try passing through said mountain and there is a 75% your system will lock up forcing a hard restart of your system. you can not even go back to the home screen. do not buy it is time for gamers to stand up for themselves and let developers know that we are not gonna give away our money for broken products!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Harvest Moon: The Tale of Two Towns
Worth the wait!
Posted on:9/29/11
Kittycouch
Location: Carrollton, Texas
I seriously can't wait to get this. I was a little torn between getting the regular version or the 3D version, but theres actually some more reason to wait, other then the fact that it's 3D! Theres no way to confirm it, but Fogu says that there's an extra petting mini-game only in the 3D version, so quicker animal friendship levels! And that there's improved graphics, too! And with the way the convo bubble and things pop out, it'll actually seem more orginized, etc. As far as the game itself goes, I'm pretty satisfied! I wish there were one or two more bachelors, for more options, but the two-towns thing seems fun! I wish I didn't have to pick between animals and crops, but I'm fine with going to Bluebell. Hopefully they won't keep delaying the release date like Animal Parade (at least in my area), but I'm counting down the days! SUPER PSYCHED!!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Harvest Moon: The Tale of Two Towns
Not good for long time players of the series...
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/22/12
Harvestmoonguy
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I've grown up with Harvest Moon. Back To Nature, A Wonderful Life, Magical Melody, even the original! But this has got to be one of my least favorite installments of the series. First, they took everything about harvest moon and split it in half. One town is used for farming while the other is used for livestock. If you've played the series for a long time, do not start in the livestock town. Your 'farming' experience is replaced with cows and chickens and it feels wierd to have one without the other. i had to restart and go to the farming town. The farming town is actually signifigantly better than the Livestock town for several reasons. The people are overall better and the crop raising makes it more of a Harvest Moon rather than an Animal Moon. The graphics are a disapointment considering that the land is in very little 3D, making it look like they wanted to sell the game for a couple more bucks and slap a 3D on it. The music, just like every other game, is good but a little repetitive. Overall, i would probably recommend this for first time players getting used to the series, but caution long time players.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Harvest Moon: The Tale of Two Towns
It has a glitch
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/24/12
elegant
I just bought this game and it started freezing. I took it back and tried a different copy. This one does the same thing too. I called Nintendo thinking it was my game system even though every thing else works right and they said it was the game. I called natsume. Here is what they said in a email:
It seems there is an issue with the memory usage. While we try to pinpoint the exact cause, we have a few suggestions that might help reduce the frequency of this issue occurring in your game:
Limit the amount of times you play the petting mini-game each day to about 5 times or less. The petting mini-game uses a bit of memory. Try talking to your animals, petting them every day, and letting them out on sunny days to avoid having to use the petting mini-game as much.
Make sure to save at the end of each day (in-game time). That way, if this issue occurs to you, you won't lose any saved data.
After saving your game for the day, fully power down and restart your 3DS. If you don't want to do this every day, try every other day. Restarting your 3DS will reset the memory.
One or all of these steps should help reduce the occurrence of this issue happening in your game. In the meantime, we are continuing to look into this issue.
I am sorry if you cant play a game to its full capacity it isn't worth it.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
10 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Harvest Moon: The Tale of Two Towns
Looks awesome!
Posted on:8/7/11
Stephie
Location: Michigan
This looks great! I've always loved these games. And you even get a cute little plushie if you order from here. What more to ask for?
Little warning to first time players, you'll get addicted...fast.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
10 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Taryn
 
Please wait while more information about Taryn is loaded.
Additional information about Taryn could not be loaded.
Release Date Change?
Posted 8/16/11
I preordered this, hoping it would come out in September like it said when I did it. Has it been pushed to October? Thats not cool.
Customer Avatar
soniczx
cocoa FL
 
Please wait while more information about soniczx is loaded.
Additional information about soniczx could not be loaded.
harvest moon tale of two towns why the date defit
Posted 8/13/11
why it 10/11/2011 and it was 9/13/2011 is it still 9/13/2011 ? mean the 3ds one. ?
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 13 for Harvest Moon: The Tale of Two Towns
Delayed again
Posted on:9/21/11
SakuMo
I'm a little bummed this was delayed yet again. First it was delayed to two weeks after the DS version, now it's over a month after...I'm excited to play this one on my 3DS, but honestly, I'm thinking of buying the DS version anyway, much as I don't want to spend the extra money. It's ridiculous that this one is delayed so far behind the DS version.
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Harvest Moon: The Tale of Two Towns
I wasn't aware of this game's existence,
Posted on:8/17/11
KnickerBopper
but after stumbling upon it just now, I must say I am interested. I only just recently adopted a Nintendo 3DS myself, and one of the reasons why I've been holding off is because I'm waiting for some great software to hit, such as the new Animal Crossing.
Now, I know, I know, they aren't the same game, and in most regards, they are very different. But if I can remember from my GameCube days, I liked both the original Animal Crossing and whatever Harvest Moon title it was that was available for it.
So, would this game be worth my time (and hard-earned money) if the only experience I've ever had with the series is the GameCube version and the only reason I'd be getting it is because I want to play an Animal Crossing-style game for my 3DS? I surely wouldn't mind a few more games to play while I wait for the major winter drop, and future of 2012.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
3dsgirl
 
Please wait while more information about 3dsgirl is loaded.
Additional information about 3dsgirl could not be loaded.
Posted 8/25/11
Harvest Moon games are pretty much for specific types of people. If you like Animal Crossing, I can definitely understand why you would be drawn to the idea of Harvest Moon. Both have realistic tasks that need completion as well as a "town" feel. Not much has really been changed in the Harvest Moon series since you originally played it, so if you're really itching for something to play on the 3DS in the meantime this might be a good buy for you. My advice would be to wait until some more information comes out about it if you are unsure, or even waiting until there are a few reviews of the game.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for Harvest Moon: The Tale of Two Towns
cannot wait for 3d!
Posted on:10/11/11
darly
I absolutly cannot wait to get this game, well I couldnt wait at all so I got the DS version and absoultly loved it. Probably when I get my copy of this 3DS version (and my cute little alpacha :) ) I'll trade in my DS copy towards the 3DS one. But, over all I know the feel of the game and cannot wait to get the 3DS copy. Come on October 25th, come sooner!
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Harvest Moon: The Tale of Two Towns
Stick with it, it's better than you think.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/1/12
Ashika
Location: New Market, MD
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I have been playing this series for years now, and I must say it began as a sore spot on the HM franchise. However, as I kept playing, I noticed that I could not only learn different things such as cooking skills, and other basic things, but it isn't as easy as people think. You can mine, but you need to get Eileen to first free up the passage between the towns. And the cooking contest is a lot more fun when it gets later on in the game and both teams are hitting it with high stamina recovery items. The only real appointments are that no matter who you marry, the kids look the same, and that they made it a tad hard to get the maker sheds. If you stick with the game, and don't just shut it out as a boring 'easy' game, you will find the complexities of it, and getting all the Wonderful Stones are a real challenge. Also, choosing the town would be better suited if you know which you like better. Bluebell is better if you wanted to raise more animals than crops, and Konohana is more traditional HM with farming rather than animals as the focus. But, Bluebell does still allow farming, you just have a lot less land and Konohana has a barn, but it is much smaller than the Bluebell one. So, just pick your talents, choose your friends wisely because they may determine if you are going to marry your dream guy/girl, and keep an open mind. It really does help.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Harvest Moon: The Tale of Two Towns
This looks to be a promising release for the 3DS.
Posted on:7/31/11
Scolex
Location: Jacksonville, FL
I'll admit that this preview buzz is going to be a little biased, as I've been a fan of the Harvest Moon series from the start. I'd go on about my collection, but let's just say this - I bought a PSP for the sole purpose of playing Harvest Moon: Hero of Leaf Valley. Anyway, this seems to be a very promising HM release. It seems to be bringing elements from the Magical Melody, Back To Nature, and Wonderful Life games together for the graphics. The cover art style reminds me greatly of the cover art on the Gameboy and Gameboy Color editions. There have been a few hiccups in the past line up, and I found one to be entirely cringe-inducing (Harvest Moon DS and it's "Cute" counterpart), but this one seems like it has great potential. Let's just hope it lives up to what expectations we Harvest Moon veterans have. Though, let me say this - if you're going to be so picky as to rule out a game before it even hits the shelves, you'll be missing out on a pretty sweet looking alpaca plush. Oh, and the game'll be pretty neat, too. (Seriously, though. Alpaca plush? Yes, please!)
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Harvest Moon: The Tale of Two Towns
Decent, better than GB
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/7/12
Viselin
Location: PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is a definite improvement over Grand Bazaar, but it's still not up to the quality of tree of tranquility or animal parade. To summarize, you're a novice farmer tasked with uniting two feuding villages using the power of...cooking. Yeah, IDGI either, but hey, HM isn't about the plot. When you start out the game you pick from one of the two villages: Bluebell - which has a larger barn but TINY fields, so you focus more on animals. Or Konohana - which has TONS of fields, but a tiny barn so you can only keep 5 animals. Ever. Period. The barn in Konohana never expands, just the fields. And vice versa for bluebell.
The towns really vary in visual appeal. Bluebell is a rustic European style town and Konohana is a feudal Japan styled town. Besides that, both have general stores, and a horse/pet store. Bluebell has the feed/livestock store and Konohana has the seed store. You can travel between both towns, but before you get the owl it takes 3+ in game hours to run between both on the horse.
Pros:
-The music is amazing. The best for a harvest moon handheld yet, especially given it has pieces from the previous games in it. :P
-The graphics are FANTASTIC. The backgrounds and art are just...awesome. When you're foraging on the mountain sometimes you've just got to pause and admire the scenery.
-The ambiance is very good too. When I say ambiance, I mean the small stylistic things that pull you into the game. For example, as the seasons get close to changing, the scenery starts to change to reflect it. No more BAM it's Summer and suddenly the trees are all greener. It slowly transitions and you can see the lilypads/etc. growing in the rivers.
-The addition of trenches removes the tedium or watering every plant. Basically you dig a trench and water once, and every square in that trench gets watered. However, the trenches degrade over time if nothing is planted in them, and once a single trench is interrupted, you can't connect them again.
-Wide cast of characters that aren't as bland as the GB cast. Though they still lack distinctive personalities that have made other HM games good.
-The addition of the request board, I assume borrowed from the rune factory games, gives you something to do in between farming and fishing.
-Lots more festivals...though this has its downside.
-The choice between two towns is kinda nice, however it contributes to an overall "halved" feeling in the game. It just doesn't feel like a complete experience when you can only focus on crops or animals, not both.
-Alpacas!
-You can fish by hand and catch critters!
-Lots of wild animals roaming around. They're super cute.
Cons:
-No mining, still. In GB I didn't mind it, but I'm starting to miss having it as something else to do. Technically ore stones exist in the game and you can sort of mine once the tunnel is opened, but not in the sense of like, the wii games where you explore deep into a mine, etc.
-Some of the wild animals, like the bear, will attack you if you get too close and don't befriend them. It gets annoying when you are trying to forage.
-See the pro about the two towns. Again, feels like half an experience regardless of which farm you're on. In bluebell you're never going to have enough crop fields to farm decently, plus you have to run to konohana to get more seeds. While in konohana you can have only 5 freakin' animals which means if you already have cows by the time jersey cows are introduced, you gotta sell one of your favorites to make room.
-You can only upgrade one farm at a time per month, and any upgrades only apply to that ONE farm. So if you buy the bigger house to have a kid in and then decide you want to move to the other town? Gotta pay the 1 mil and change to upgrade the other place too. Ugh.
And the biggest con of all requires its own section:
Okay, I am with the person who did the other review and complained about the seed/etc. shops. This was, bar none, the worst design decision in any HM game. To sum it up, the shops have a random inventory daily. They're closed on their days off (for the seed shop it's Mon AND tue) for festivals (of which you will have at least one weekly cause of the cooking festival. Most weeks it's 2 festivals.) AND ON RAINY FREAKIN' DAYS. WHY does rain make someone WHO SELLS SEEDS close their doors? IT'S RAIN. It's not like it's a hurricane!
To put this into perspective, I'm in the middle of summer right now. The seed shop has been closed for the last FIFTEEN DAYS due to a combination of rain, typhoons, festivals, and its days off. That's 15 days out of 31 for the entire season, and given that corn and tomatoes have a 7-10 day grow time? I've lost the entire month in terms of crops. NICE. The few times the store has been open, due to the random inventory all he's sold has been soy beans (a mo and a half of grow time) and fertilizer. NO ACTUAL SEEDS. I imagine this will get better once I get the seed maker but COME ON. Half a month and no chance of planting seeds? I can't even take part in the radish festival because herpderp I can't buy any radish seeds.
This is frustrating beyond belief. It's weird to play a farming sim with no actual farming. I mean really?
However, despite these glaring flaws, the game itself is pretty fun if you're a fan of the HM series. If you're new to the genre I'd recommend another title over this one, something with a more familiar HM vibe that isn't as frustrating(like either of the wii games, or HM: DS). But if you're a bigger fan, this one takes the elements of past games and improves on it. It was definitely worth the purchase.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
10 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
pixy
 
Please wait while more information about pixy is loaded.
Additional information about pixy could not be loaded.
Grr!
Posted 4/27/12
Let me start off by saying I love this game. I like being able to focus more on animals than on crops. The cooking festivals are a little ridiculous because I never seem to have the right ingredients for the recipes and if I just wing it I always fail. Luckily I found a little walk through guide to help me with recipes. BUT the biggest problem I have with this game is at least 10 times now, since I've bought it 3 days ago, it has an error and shuts down. I'm not sure if its the game, some kind of glich, or my nintendo itself. It's irritating beyond belief because there's no way to save unless you go to bed for the night. And it always crashes in the evening after I've just gotten everything done. What's the deal? I almost want to return it and see if another one does the same. Hmm.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for Harvest Moon: The Tale of Two Towns
Good Game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/8/11
luvmario
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Don't get me wrong, this is a good game, but I was expecting more. There are no major twists or big additions. The only other Harvest Moon game I own is Harvest Moon: Island of Happiness. Honestly, they're almost exactly the same. The storyline is a bit different, but the day to day gameplay is very similar. I do think it was a good buy though, because there are no other 3D Harvest Moon games. It has a cute storyline, but it could be better. The two villages hate each other because of food. The mayors have an argument as to whether Bluebell or Kohana has the best cooking, and end up blocking the tunnel and not talking to each other because of it. Despite this, I would say it's a good buy. The day to day gameplay is fun, with enough twists, differences, and new characters that it can keep me entertained for hours. Like previous games, it is a bit repetitive, but honestly, I don't get tired of it. The biggest thing I love about it is it's a game that you can play for a long time without beating it. My biggest complaint about video games is when they only last a few hours-a few days. This game doesn't have that problem. The graphics are much better than previous Harvest Moons and the sound is much better, but still a bit annoying. My biggest complaint about this game is that you can't have animals and crops. You have to pick one unless you make two accounts, which is very annoying. Overall it's a good game. I would recommend it, but if you're debating between this game and another, pick the other one. It isn't one of those mind-blowing games you can't live without, but it's a nice addition to my game collection.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
xCrystalx
 
Please wait while more information about xCrystalx is loaded.
Additional information about xCrystalx could not be loaded.
You can have both
Posted 11/10/11
I'm not sure how far you are in the game, but I live in Bluebell and have crops, too. You just don't get much room for the opposite until you choose to expand your farm.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for Harvest Moon: The Tale of Two Towns
It's the new HM game, in 3d, exclusive to NA
Posted on:10/25/11
Revenile
Location: Nowhere important
To be on topic, I cannot wait for this game to finally launch, I have been waiting for months. However to clear up confusion on the date changes, only two date changes were officially "Delays" the first being when the DS version came out before this one, and the second being delayed to November 1st from "October" as Natsume, the company who does these English localization had NOT mentioned an official release date for the 3DS version until the November 1st date. And do not fear of another date change, the game HAS GONE GOLD, it WILL release on the 1st, weather gamestop gets it in that day is not for certain, might be a couple days after that, but seriously people calm down, this is the final release date for this title.
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
dluckey
 
Please wait while more information about dluckey is loaded.
Additional information about dluckey could not be loaded.
Just Called GameStop
Posted 10/27/11
It will not be released till November 29th.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
1 2 3 4 5 next>>