GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Harvest Moon: The Tale of Two Towns

Konohana and Bluebell villages were once the friendliest of neighbors. Then a huge dispute erupted between them...over FOOD! Both towns were certain that their cooking was the best in the world. This fierce food feud has transformed the two happy neighbors into the bitterest of rivals.As a new farmer to the area, you choose which village to live in. Will it be Eastern-styled Konohana with its abundant fields of crops, or the animal-loving, European-styled Bluebell? Pick a home, build a thriving farm, and compete in a huge variety of festivals. Develop your skills enough, and you might even find a way to bring these two towns together once again!
Average Customer Rating:
7.368
7.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (93 reviews)
10 stars
6
9 stars
8
8 stars
11
7 stars
5
6 stars
1
5 stars
1
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
2
28 out of 3874%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Harvest Moon: The Tale of Two Towns
Review 1 for Harvest Moon: The Tale of Two Towns
Warning: Get the DS version!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/13
gallowayja
First of all, if this is all you read, then good: GET THE DS VERSION!!! The 3DS version contains a MAJOR glitch that some copies have where the game will freeze every time you pass certain points. Plus the 3D effect isn't very good on it either. So save your money and time by getting the DS version. Okay so now onto the actual game. The game starts off by making you choose between the towns Bluebell and Konohana. Bluebell focuses more on animal tending, and Konohana focuses on farming crops. The game gives you a nice variety of crops and fruit trees, but I felt the animals could have had a better variety. One huge problem with the game is that you can only expand your farm or work on the tunnel once a month. This leads to the game being too lengthy because all you want is the in game time to pass more quickly. Another problem is they make it too difficult to do anything, like befriend animals, make certain recipes, or expand your farm. One nice feature Natsume added was being able to go foraging in the mountain deeply. The game gives you plenty of activities to do while you are not farming. And I wish they gave the characters, well a little more character. My wife in the game literally just sits in my house all day doing nothing. Literally! Come on Natsume, at least have her go out and take walks or something. That's just lazy of you Natsume... Oh and the festivals start to become very boring and repetitive after a while. The game is very addicting though as you want to expand your farm as fast as possible. The music has some pretty nice tunes to it though, and the graphics are simple, yet charming. Overall the game is fun but it has lots of room for improvement.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 2 for Harvest Moon: The Tale of Two Towns
Amazing game...with a horrible drawback.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:11/29/12
AnalogCindy
Location: East Chicago, IN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Don't get me wrong, I LOVE Harvest Moon, and this game was excellent for what I could play. Just don't buy it for the 3DS. Natsume just made a port from the DS to 3DS, and the game freezes if you don't save EVERY DAY, and still freezes occasionally. I got to the fall with no problems, but then it never stopped freezing. I would recommend this to any DS gamer, but please follow my advice or you'll be just as frustrated with it as I am.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 3 for Harvest Moon: The Tale of Two Towns
A little slow, but it gets the job done
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/12/12
Silvastian
Location: Loma Linda, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I'll start with bad, and end with the good to give it a happy ending. The start-up tutorial is kinda slow, and the text speed cannot be adjusted. The 3D graphics seem experimental, and there are bits where the 3D layering hurt my eyes. Okay, now for the good. It's addictive, it's hard to put it down once you pick it up. The game in general is really nice, and most of the sprites are really cute, especially the cow. Overall, it's a good game, despite all the small things, but you have to keep in mind that it was one of the first 3DS games. Though you might want to wait for the new H.M. game "New Beginnings" it promises a lot of customization.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 4 for Harvest Moon: The Tale of Two Towns
My Favorite Harvest Moon Game By Far
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/21/12
Arrilla
Location: Mount Sinai, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is my absolute favorite Harvest Moon game. One of my favorite parts is that I feel like, no matter what, we are always progressing with the main story line. It's not as much of a hassle as Harvest Moon games often are. I love the fishing and critter catching, the requests on the request board and all the elements that really spice things up. The 3D is very unnecessary, and I would recommend buying the regular DS version rather than the 3D to save some money, unless you really prefer the 3D. Overall, it is a very fun game that never gets boring.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Harvest Moon: The Tale of Two Towns
DO NOT GET!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:8/5/12
Ocarinaoftime
Location: TN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The Graphics are terrible, the story is ok and it crashes every time you play it. First it was ok a fun story but before you coul ddo anything else it freezes up everyday you try to play it. And when you have A KID ON THIS GAME THEY BOTH LOOK THE SAME AND YOU CANT TOUCH THEM TALK TO THE OR GIVE THEM ANY GIFTS FOR THREE YEARS!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Harvest Moon: The Tale of Two Towns
Tons of Funs
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/8/12
Suzy86
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I honestly don't think a lot of the reviews below are being fair to this game. I started playing Harvest Moon back on the N64 and I've played almost every Harvest Moon that's released on a Nintendo system since then. I've thoroughly enjoyed Two Towns, it ranks up there with my personal favorites. I will admit, though, this version of the game 'does' glitch pretty badly at times, when in the mountains sometimes the game will freeze and the system turns off (this usually happens after playing a few days in a row) and it gets laggy when there's a lot of stuff on the screen. I'd recommend getting the regular DS version if you're undecided, just to avoid these two little problems. Other than that, this is a wonderful and addictive Harvest Moon I've only grown to love more the longer I play it!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Harvest Moon: The Tale of Two Towns
A mediocre farming game
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/24/12
OcarinaOfAwesome
Well, I can't say that this is the worst Harvest moon game. It is definitely better than Sunshine Islands, but nowhere near as good as HM DS. First off, this game has two towns. Sure, that sounds like a great idea, but there are hardly any characters to meet in each town, and the ones that do exist have little to no personality. Also, both towns are EXACTLY alike, besides the main exports. Seriously, there are hardly any differences. My main problem with this game is the "Story". Two towns hate each other because of food. Hmmmmm... not exactly winning material. All complaints aside, this game would be great for young children, or someone who wants a tiny taste of the Harvest Moon experience. Also, I never experienced the glitches mentioned in previous reviews.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Harvest Moon: The Tale of Two Towns
It has a glitch
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/24/12
elegant
I just bought this game and it started freezing. I took it back and tried a different copy. This one does the same thing too. I called Nintendo thinking it was my game system even though every thing else works right and they said it was the game. I called natsume. Here is what they said in a email:
It seems there is an issue with the memory usage. While we try to pinpoint the exact cause, we have a few suggestions that might help reduce the frequency of this issue occurring in your game:
Limit the amount of times you play the petting mini-game each day to about 5 times or less. The petting mini-game uses a bit of memory. Try talking to your animals, petting them every day, and letting them out on sunny days to avoid having to use the petting mini-game as much.
Make sure to save at the end of each day (in-game time). That way, if this issue occurs to you, you won't lose any saved data.
After saving your game for the day, fully power down and restart your 3DS. If you don't want to do this every day, try every other day. Restarting your 3DS will reset the memory.
One or all of these steps should help reduce the occurrence of this issue happening in your game. In the meantime, we are continuing to look into this issue.
I am sorry if you cant play a game to its full capacity it isn't worth it.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
10 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Harvest Moon: The Tale of Two Towns
Stick with it, it's better than you think.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/1/12
Ashika
Location: New Market, MD
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I have been playing this series for years now, and I must say it began as a sore spot on the HM franchise. However, as I kept playing, I noticed that I could not only learn different things such as cooking skills, and other basic things, but it isn't as easy as people think. You can mine, but you need to get Eileen to first free up the passage between the towns. And the cooking contest is a lot more fun when it gets later on in the game and both teams are hitting it with high stamina recovery items. The only real appointments are that no matter who you marry, the kids look the same, and that they made it a tad hard to get the maker sheds. If you stick with the game, and don't just shut it out as a boring 'easy' game, you will find the complexities of it, and getting all the Wonderful Stones are a real challenge. Also, choosing the town would be better suited if you know which you like better. Bluebell is better if you wanted to raise more animals than crops, and Konohana is more traditional HM with farming rather than animals as the focus. But, Bluebell does still allow farming, you just have a lot less land and Konohana has a barn, but it is much smaller than the Bluebell one. So, just pick your talents, choose your friends wisely because they may determine if you are going to marry your dream guy/girl, and keep an open mind. It really does help.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Harvest Moon: The Tale of Two Towns
its ok
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:4/28/12
blubblub959
Location: california, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
its not my favorite harvest moon game. i dont like how you have to move from one town to another, and i feel like there is to many rooms in the mountain place, because once ur in there and u get everything, you dont have enough time to talk with everyone in the other town! also when i do play this game, i feel like im just forcing my self to play rather then enjoying the game. i havent played all the HM games, but i would recomend getting grand bazar or ome of the rune factories :D
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Harvest Moon: The Tale of Two Towns
Not good for long time players of the series...
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/22/12
Harvestmoonguy
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I've grown up with Harvest Moon. Back To Nature, A Wonderful Life, Magical Melody, even the original! But this has got to be one of my least favorite installments of the series. First, they took everything about harvest moon and split it in half. One town is used for farming while the other is used for livestock. If you've played the series for a long time, do not start in the livestock town. Your 'farming' experience is replaced with cows and chickens and it feels wierd to have one without the other. i had to restart and go to the farming town. The farming town is actually signifigantly better than the Livestock town for several reasons. The people are overall better and the crop raising makes it more of a Harvest Moon rather than an Animal Moon. The graphics are a disapointment considering that the land is in very little 3D, making it look like they wanted to sell the game for a couple more bucks and slap a 3D on it. The music, just like every other game, is good but a little repetitive. Overall, i would probably recommend this for first time players getting used to the series, but caution long time players.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Harvest Moon: The Tale of Two Towns
Lots of fun
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/11/12
AutomatedDoll
Location: Upland, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Got this for my birthday and iv enjoyed it ever since. I haven't experienced any glitches (yet anyway) just a little lag here and there. I highly recommend it!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Harvest Moon: The Tale of Two Towns
Sometimes easy isn't always best.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:4/8/12
Kaida
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I bought this game yesterday thinking it was going to be good since the majority of Natsume's games are, only to find this game was released half-arsed. They have taken out a good portion of the games unique features and assets for the sake of the two town split up and to keep the clock running. It isn't difficult to make it over the mountain in time for the shops, and they've made the relationship stuff a real bore. Haven't even owned it for a day and now I want to take it back. If you're looking for a Harvest Moon game to keep you occupied, this isn't the one.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Harvest Moon: The Tale of Two Towns
A horrible experience to a good series...
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/10/12
AnalogCindy
I love HM games. This one, however, is too hard to play. For those of you fortunate enough to not experience the problem I'm going to describe, keep playing. First, the game freezes. A lot. All on the mountain, where you HAVE to be. Natsume won't release a fix for it. Second, if you choose to live in Konohana, the game LAGS around your farm. It's horrible! I won't buy another Natsume/Harvest Moon game until they finally do something right.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Stephie
Michigan
 
Please wait while more information about Stephie is loaded.
Additional information about Stephie could not be loaded.
Posted 3/14/12
You should've gotten the DS version instead; that version has no lag/bugs. (or at least the ones you've described)
I think the reason it lags is because of the 3D they had to install into this version. Not only that, but the DS version is cheaper.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for Harvest Moon: The Tale of Two Towns
I ♥ This Game~
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/29/12
liz0430
Location: Front Royal, VA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I absolutely LOVE the Harvest Moon games, and this is a great game to own if you have a 3DS ♪ I love the graphics and storyline for this game, and the only problem I have with this game (and the other HM games) is that after you reach year 3 of the game, the appeal and fun starts to wear off... But hey, whenever that happens, I just start a new game! So overall, this is an EXCELLENT game, especially for casual gamers like myself~
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Harvest Moon: The Tale of Two Towns
BEST GAME EVAR!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/9/12
Ariel555
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I absolutely love this game!! This is my first time trying the harvest moon series and I am in love! It reminds me of the animal crossing series, but better! If you're a girl who loves the role playing, farming/growing crops, going out on cute dates type of games you will adore this!! I will definitely continue to purchase the harvest moon series from now on!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Harvest Moon: The Tale of Two Towns
Decent, better than GB
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/7/12
Viselin
Location: PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is a definite improvement over Grand Bazaar, but it's still not up to the quality of tree of tranquility or animal parade. To summarize, you're a novice farmer tasked with uniting two feuding villages using the power of...cooking. Yeah, IDGI either, but hey, HM isn't about the plot. When you start out the game you pick from one of the two villages: Bluebell - which has a larger barn but TINY fields, so you focus more on animals. Or Konohana - which has TONS of fields, but a tiny barn so you can only keep 5 animals. Ever. Period. The barn in Konohana never expands, just the fields. And vice versa for bluebell.
The towns really vary in visual appeal. Bluebell is a rustic European style town and Konohana is a feudal Japan styled town. Besides that, both have general stores, and a horse/pet store. Bluebell has the feed/livestock store and Konohana has the seed store. You can travel between both towns, but before you get the owl it takes 3+ in game hours to run between both on the horse.
Pros:
-The music is amazing. The best for a harvest moon handheld yet, especially given it has pieces from the previous games in it. :P
-The graphics are FANTASTIC. The backgrounds and art are just...awesome. When you're foraging on the mountain sometimes you've just got to pause and admire the scenery.
-The ambiance is very good too. When I say ambiance, I mean the small stylistic things that pull you into the game. For example, as the seasons get close to changing, the scenery starts to change to reflect it. No more BAM it's Summer and suddenly the trees are all greener. It slowly transitions and you can see the lilypads/etc. growing in the rivers.
-The addition of trenches removes the tedium or watering every plant. Basically you dig a trench and water once, and every square in that trench gets watered. However, the trenches degrade over time if nothing is planted in them, and once a single trench is interrupted, you can't connect them again.
-Wide cast of characters that aren't as bland as the GB cast. Though they still lack distinctive personalities that have made other HM games good.
-The addition of the request board, I assume borrowed from the rune factory games, gives you something to do in between farming and fishing.
-Lots more festivals...though this has its downside.
-The choice between two towns is kinda nice, however it contributes to an overall "halved" feeling in the game. It just doesn't feel like a complete experience when you can only focus on crops or animals, not both.
-Alpacas!
-You can fish by hand and catch critters!
-Lots of wild animals roaming around. They're super cute.
Cons:
-No mining, still. In GB I didn't mind it, but I'm starting to miss having it as something else to do. Technically ore stones exist in the game and you can sort of mine once the tunnel is opened, but not in the sense of like, the wii games where you explore deep into a mine, etc.
-Some of the wild animals, like the bear, will attack you if you get too close and don't befriend them. It gets annoying when you are trying to forage.
-See the pro about the two towns. Again, feels like half an experience regardless of which farm you're on. In bluebell you're never going to have enough crop fields to farm decently, plus you have to run to konohana to get more seeds. While in konohana you can have only 5 freakin' animals which means if you already have cows by the time jersey cows are introduced, you gotta sell one of your favorites to make room.
-You can only upgrade one farm at a time per month, and any upgrades only apply to that ONE farm. So if you buy the bigger house to have a kid in and then decide you want to move to the other town? Gotta pay the 1 mil and change to upgrade the other place too. Ugh.
And the biggest con of all requires its own section:
Okay, I am with the person who did the other review and complained about the seed/etc. shops. This was, bar none, the worst design decision in any HM game. To sum it up, the shops have a random inventory daily. They're closed on their days off (for the seed shop it's Mon AND tue) for festivals (of which you will have at least one weekly cause of the cooking festival. Most weeks it's 2 festivals.) AND ON RAINY FREAKIN' DAYS. WHY does rain make someone WHO SELLS SEEDS close their doors? IT'S RAIN. It's not like it's a hurricane!
To put this into perspective, I'm in the middle of summer right now. The seed shop has been closed for the last FIFTEEN DAYS due to a combination of rain, typhoons, festivals, and its days off. That's 15 days out of 31 for the entire season, and given that corn and tomatoes have a 7-10 day grow time? I've lost the entire month in terms of crops. NICE. The few times the store has been open, due to the random inventory all he's sold has been soy beans (a mo and a half of grow time) and fertilizer. NO ACTUAL SEEDS. I imagine this will get better once I get the seed maker but COME ON. Half a month and no chance of planting seeds? I can't even take part in the radish festival because herpderp I can't buy any radish seeds.
This is frustrating beyond belief. It's weird to play a farming sim with no actual farming. I mean really?
However, despite these glaring flaws, the game itself is pretty fun if you're a fan of the HM series. If you're new to the genre I'd recommend another title over this one, something with a more familiar HM vibe that isn't as frustrating(like either of the wii games, or HM: DS). But if you're a bigger fan, this one takes the elements of past games and improves on it. It was definitely worth the purchase.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
10 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
pixy
 
Please wait while more information about pixy is loaded.
Additional information about pixy could not be loaded.
Grr!
Posted 4/27/12
Let me start off by saying I love this game. I like being able to focus more on animals than on crops. The cooking festivals are a little ridiculous because I never seem to have the right ingredients for the recipes and if I just wing it I always fail. Luckily I found a little walk through guide to help me with recipes. BUT the biggest problem I have with this game is at least 10 times now, since I've bought it 3 days ago, it has an error and shuts down. I'm not sure if its the game, some kind of glich, or my nintendo itself. It's irritating beyond belief because there's no way to save unless you go to bed for the night. And it always crashes in the evening after I've just gotten everything done. What's the deal? I almost want to return it and see if another one does the same. Hmm.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for Harvest Moon: The Tale of Two Towns
So far so good...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/7/12
Topsy
Location: Laurelville, OH
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I have only played this once so far because of my busy schedule, but I think I am really going to like it. This is my first harvest moon game ever and i think it may become a little addicting. It reminds me a little of animal crossing, which I love, but still is it's own game. Can't wait til I have some free time to really play it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Jinixy
Nonya
 
Please wait while more information about Jinixy is loaded.
Additional information about Jinixy could not be loaded.
HM TOT on 3ds?
Posted 5/22/12
When they re-create TOT on the 3ds then I'll be happy, content and impressed. lol
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for Harvest Moon: The Tale of Two Towns
Another Great Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/28/12
DBILLZ
Location: Connecticut
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Natsume did another great job with this chapter of Harvest Moon! They didn't mess to much with a good formula. The 2 town system (one is animal specialties and the other is plant specialties) is a good addition but took a wile for me to get used to. If you liked the other Harvest Moon games there is enough additions to this game that it really felt like a new experience. I you haven't played a Harvest Moon game before, all the better. There is no time like RIGHT NOW to get into a great gaming franchise.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Harvest Moon: The Tale of Two Towns
An under rated game that should be more popular
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/26/12
DKandDK
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
To me this was a good entry in the series. Actually I think this is the most solid entry on a portable system this series has had. first and foremost I have not experienced a freeze glitch yet, but it does lag around the farm area sometimes. well anyways Tale of two towns has most of what Harvest moon fans want to see, great asortment of crops, animals to take care of, expansions and being able to get married and start a family. I'll start off with crop growing, the crops are very easy to plant because you could plant them anywhere on your property like in magical melody. They brought back crop trenches which allow you to water or fertilize any crops in the row you want with only one action. Again a great asortment of seeds, but it will take time to unlock them all. animals are also fun, but it really hasn't changed very much from other titles. The difference between the two towns is one town you could have bee hives and the other you could have a fishing pond, so choose wisely. The festivles are fun except for the cooking festivle which gets really repetitive. Yes the storyline is bad, but really is it ever good in any harvest moon , noe except for AWL and AP. Friend ships are also different. It takes a while to friend people because there is a very limited amount of gifts people like. the friendship meter is new and personally one of my favorites. I do have complaints about this game though like the lags, The unreasonably long time it takes to complete a day, The worst one though happens to be expansions they are really overpriced. To HAVE A KID YOU HAVE TO PAY 1,000,000G! NEW editions: The request board allows you to give requested items to villagers who asked for specific items, and they give you a reward. The mountain area is a place where you can forage items hand fish regular fish or catch bugs great idea OVERALL ; GET THIS GAME IT IS A GOOD GAME!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>