GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Xbox 360 Kinect Zoom

Decrease the space needed to play your favorite Kinect games with Nyko's Zoom for Kinect. The Zoom reduces the play range required to enjoy Kinect software by up to 40%, allowing you to play closer to your TV. Zoom's wide angle lens also enables two people to play in an area normally only suitable for a single player making it ideal for those in smaller apartments or dorm rooms. Specially designed optical lenses fit over the Kinect sensor and clip into place making set up a breeze with nothing to plug in. No additional software or calibration is required. The design of the Zoom blends seamlessly with the look and feel of the Kinect. The Zoom opens up a whole new world of Kinect play to those who previously lacked the space required to fully enjoy it.
Average Customer Rating:
4.596
4.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (68 reviews)
10 stars
13
9 stars
4
8 stars
4
7 stars
4
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
29
25 out of 5744%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Xbox 360 Kinect Zoom
Review 1 for Xbox 360 Kinect Zoom
Looking at the promises and apect of pros and cons
Posted on:8/12/11
GameandTechguru
Location: Florida
Well the Kinect is obviously something we are all interested in since this goes with the Kinect. Unfortunately I was too hasty and wanted one so bad that I bought it and found out I was in for a major redo of my play space so just barely squeak in which is not fun, thankfully someone out there has much more imagination that I to fix this problem and make it 100% more accessible to XBOX users.
From what I have found and dug up this is how I am stacking the pros and cons as I see them.
PROS: [All] of the Kinect abilities now cut down to an optimal distance of 2-5 ft instead of the out of the box 5-10 ft to get best performance.
[Makes] small family rooms more exciting by reduction of required space.
[Rumored] to improve built in mic support.
CONS: [Miss-leading] name makes you think you would need more space rather than less.
[Extra] $30 when this should have been addressed immediately
[Any] of the older cons you may not have liked.
I myself cannot wait for this so I wont feel so cramped which is currently my only complaint, as noted in the pros it is RUMORED! to improve the mic. I could not find concrete evidence in either direction so I placed it under pros in the event it is true but if not the mic is already spectacular so its only a bonus if true.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
5 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Xbox 360 Kinect Zoom
Great for small playing area.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/14/13
Artherious
Location: South Ogden, UT
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
My playing area is 6' by 6' and it was hard to even play Kinect Adventure. I bought this about 4 months ago from Gamestop for $19.98. It took me a week to find the best place to put it. I wall mounted it above my TV at about 5'4" off the ground. I would recommend that you run the Kinect calibration then tracking and then Kinect ID. I haven't had any problems with it after I found the perfect spot. Now I can truly play the Kinect without running into my couch or walls.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Xbox 360 Kinect Zoom
Despite other reviews. . . it works fine.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/7/11
Jerrydd
Location: Little Rock, AR
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The size of my house, my L shaped sectional and the wall where my tv is all contributed to a problem: I could not comfortably play the Kinect.
Some games I'd actually have to hop onto the couch to try to continue.
I bought this device and dusted off the Kinect. After RECALIBRATING with the little paper card that comes with the Kinect, I can actually play games now.
There is no question that this works. Mind you that I had previously about 80-90% of the space that the Kinect required but the games kept putting me up against my couch (which can't be moved). I would say that I now get to play about 6 to 8 feet from the Kinect (random numbers from off the top of my head).
A note about calibration:
While I could do the card calibration, I could not do the step and do this pose or that pose calibration. It put me stepping onto the side of the sectional (I have a bad layout). The card calibration should be all you need though. It focuses on distance.
Also, it does indeed scratch the Kinect so apply very carefully, lens side first.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
10 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Xbox 360 Kinect Zoom
Doesn't work. Just... doesn't... work.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:10/14/11
pir8capn
Location: Atlanta, GA
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
It doesn't matter what type of gaming I do with the Zoom - the blasted thing just doesn't work. I've adjusted lighting, draped the couch in a light absorbing blanket for better contrast, worn white body-hugging t-shirts so I don't have loose clothes. The Kinect (by itself without the Zoom) works fine without any of the above changes, but I'm scrunched up against the couch to play. I'd rather do that than fiddle about with the Zoom hoping it will work. For fitness / dance programs like YourShape Fitness or Michael Jackson Experience, the Zoom distorts your body shape, keeping the game from accurately assessing your movement. For precision shooter / action games like Child of Eden, your image is so fuzzy that the cursor jumps all over the screen. For broad stuff like Kinectimals for my kid, playing with the Zoom frustrates him so much that he would rather not play. Seriously, this think is so bad that it's keeping a kid from wanting to play a video game. If that isn't a deal breaker, I don't know what is. Don't by this trash.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Xbox 360 Kinect Zoom
Great for apartments
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/10/12
Lauryn
Location: Fairport, NY
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I don't understand why so many people have said this doesn't work. I use it in my apartment with Dance Central and it works great. I used to have to push my couch all the way back to the wall, and even then I would be right up against the couch in order to play. This makes it so I don't have to move furniture and can comfortably play in a smaller space. My recommendation is to read the instructions carefully (I'm a technical writer so do it and keep others like me employed!) and make sure you hear the piece snap into place over the lenses so you know it is on correctly.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
21 of 22 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Xbox 360 Kinect Zoom
Worked wonders for me
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/11
Tastykakepms
Location: Houston,tx
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I read all the bad reviews and was really hesitant about getting it but made sure I could return it if it didn't work. Well. I've got to say I was pleasantly surprised. I set it up according to its instructions placing it between 2.5-4 feet off the floor and then played my Zumba game. It tracked me perfectly the whole time and was never choppy. I'm glad I went ahead and bought it because it finally made playing my kinect in a small space enjoyable. I stand probably about 4.5 feet from my kinect when playing. I have nothing to gain by writing a good review I just wanted to post saying that it worked incredibly well for me.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
12 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Xbox 360 Kinect Zoom
DEFINITELY WORTH MY $30
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/11
terramueller
Location: Van Dyne, WI
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
We have a small living room, and large furniture, had to stand right up against the recliner to do anything. not good for exercising running, jumping, etc. Happened to see this thing in teh store and thought "Hey, worth a try." I don't know what everyone's problem is. THIS THING IS AWESOME!!!! Make sure you CLIP it on properly and MAKE SURE TO RECALIBRATE YOUR KINECT. Even before my hubby calibrated it it was picking him up and didn't have any trouble selecting options or anything. DEFINITELY WORTH MY MONEY, AND MAKE PLAYING IN OUR NARROW LIVING ROOM WAY BETTER! THANKS FOR SUCH A GREAT PRODUCT! (now we just have to get more kinect games :) we got the kinect for xmas and only have 2 games )!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Xbox 360 Kinect Zoom
Not the greatest but it works
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:11/26/11
redcraze01
Location: Appleton, WI
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I dont know how so many people are having issues with this?! I can only assume its because people are just putting it on their kinect and not going back through the tuner again to tune the kinect settings. I purchased this and reconfigured my tuner and its worked great! Also be sure to clean your kinect lens before just putting it on, a dirty lens will affect performance of it too. The only thing I noticed was a halo effect but it hasnt interfered with its performance as of yet and so far Ive tried it on 3 different games with success!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Xbox 360 Kinect Zoom
Awesome - Totally Worth it!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/17/11
Xabier32
Location: Raleigh, NC
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I am not sure why others have rated it a one or less :( This thing is awesome. I live in a smaller apartment and always was way against the wall or the couch and would have a hard time playing my kinect games well. Since getting it all that has changed. It hooked up in a few seconds. I went into kinect turner and saw that I had it too far up. (Since the wide angle lense makes it appear larger if you have it near 5 ft or higher it wont detect the ground) easy fix. lowered it back down off of my tv and works wonders! No problems since, matter of fact I think it reads my movement BETTER than before. If you are on the fence listen, I read those previous bad reviews as well before purchasing but trust me. Read the directions, hook it up, and you will be fine!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Xbox 360 Kinect Zoom
Awful... Feels like a hack, don't buy this one.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/11
TheImpetuousOne
Location: Atlanta, GA
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Once I installed this I immediately regretted it. I agree with the others, it just DOESN'T WORK. The only positive thing i can say is the device "looks cool" . I see how they intended on this to work; Put a lens on the front of the Kinect that's like looking through a pair of binoculars the wrong way and viola!!!! The kinect now thinks you're further away! Ummm this didn't work as well as they hoped. What they don't tell you is, now you MUST play 40% closer. Now 6 feet away is almost too far while using the Zoom. Body tracking decreases if not completely failed unless you stand 1 foot away. There was a black halo around the viewing space in the kinect monitor at the bottom right of the dashboard... My kinect was scratched a little upon installation. Need I say more? This was a FAIL for Nyko, I usually love their products. I'm returning mine as soon as I finish typing this. Buy something else with your 30 bucks!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Xbox 360 Kinect Zoom
If I could give this a zero I would
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/21/11
Tatts
Location: Silver Spring Md
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
As soon as i saw this thing at E3 I knew I had to have it. I pre ordered this the first day it was up for pre order on here. Set up was easy, just snap it on and you're done. But getting the Kinect to actually find me and keep track of me is a whole other story. With out the add on the Kinect finds and recognizes me right away. But snap this on and I MIGHT be able to get it to work for a minute. For the few minutes I could get it working I did notice that it improved the playing space a lot which is why I am giving this a one star. But it all most never works and I've tried all kinds of lighting and positions. With this on you can see when the kinect starts up the window in the corner is all most filled with black and can't view me. But when i take it off the picture is clear and can find and track me with in seconds. I do not recommend people buy this. Save your money.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Xbox 360 Kinect Zoom
wow....
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/17/11
Donnyskillz
Location: Baltimore Md
Age: 45-54
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i bought this and put it on,...and it didnt work,..i didnt realize that it had to click in place,...once that happen...i swear that im only 2 feet away from the tv...and its astounding...whats even better it worked flawless with video kinect....its really bulit well, and worth every penny...dont hesitate...if you dont have space...this will give it to you.,..make sure you have your xbox and kinect turned off before installing,...once installed turn it back and and your in business.i cant wait for the new xbox dashboard....
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Xbox 360 Kinect Zoom
Kinect's newest addition
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/15/11
Skates94
Location: Dallas, TX
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
When it works, it is truly amazing technology. It reduces the play space from 6-8 feet down to 2-4 feet. It does not always work though. I had to stand perfectly in one spot throughout the duration of a game, almost pressed against the TV screen, otherwise I was out of range. It could not always read my movements perfectly, but perhaps it was just the game. Nyko took a huge step forward for the kinect. Just a little too far. You really have to be right next to the TV or it won't register you completely. I appeared blurry to the camera if I was more than 3 feet away. When I was less than 2 feet away however, the sensor couldn't capture my whole body. In a year or two, this addition to the kinect will probably be perfected. In a few more years, it will be programmed into the kinect. It will be probably be worth the wait if you haven't bought this yet.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Xbox 360 Kinect Zoom
Zoom works well
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/28/11
darthcouchpotato
Location: Mercerville, NJ
Age: 45-54
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
My daughter wanted the Kinect for Christmas but my family room / play area is not very large. To play the Kinect properly as sold by Microsoft, all the furniture in the room (couch, side table, coffee table, lamp, etc) would need to be removed. So I purchased the Zoom. It works as advertised, but does require adequate lighting in the room for it to work well. A tip: do not have room lighting behind the player, but have the lighting to the sides and front of the player(s).
Installation was a snap (it is well designed) literally. Using it, I only need move the coffee table and an ottoman out of the way (we need to move the Ottoman for many Wii games as well).
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Xbox 360 Kinect Zoom
Can't wait
Posted on:7/8/11
BrooklynSaga
Location: Hillsborough, NJ
I believe this will be a must have for any Kinect'er, thanks NYKO.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Xbox 360 Kinect Zoom
COOL
Posted on:7/1/11
r3znov
Location: yourmom,YH
it looks like its going to help alot for space problems
 
My Product Recommendations
 
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
pacmanlover
USA
 
Please wait while more information about pacmanlover is loaded.
Additional information about pacmanlover could not be loaded.
Top 10 Contributor
maby it will be better?
Posted 9/7/11
kinect,s NO good!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Xbox 360 Kinect Zoom
Kinect Needs Glasses
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/20/11
GQ0025
Location: Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
My first impression what that the lens did exactly what it said it would do. It decreased the amount of space needed to play my Kinect games. I followed the directions on the paper and the zoom fits perfectly on the Kinect device. You have to make sure it clicks in to place. The only two flaws i have found so far was that the lens from the zoom reduced some of the actual camera view, you can see where its blocking some of the actual view from the camera so it looks like their is some back around the edges of the screen, the other flaw was that when I played games like "Your shape fitness evolved or Michael Jackson experience" The image of my body on the screen was jumpy and it would not stop; causing me to not be able to select the options on the screen with out messing up. Overall i was satisfied with the quality and the fact that it does what it says its going to do.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Xbox 360 Kinect Zoom
Works great
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/13/11
GunStringing
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
dont have to move my couch to use kinect any more. playing gunstringer about 4 feet from the kinect
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Xbox 360 Kinect Zoom
It just doesn't work.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/3/11
Bonkekook
Location: Mi
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Like some other reviews I read, I too was excited for this when I saw it earlier this year. I preordered it. I was ordering it for my old room, which I needed the extra space for. I have moved since then, but I still would like to use less space in my new place. I opened it up, snapped it on with all the accessories turned off, went through all of the startup and calibration....and it didn't work. It can't recognize me and it can't recognize my movements. So I ripped it off the Kinect and went back to the scrunched but playable normal sensor. Its just not worth it. Hopefully someone will make one that's more reliable in the future.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Xbox 360 Kinect Zoom
Works as Advertised, but not perfect
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/13/12
Christuffer
Location: N. Charleston
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The product works as advertised and it does exactly what it's supposed to, albeit the Kinect is still a very finicky machine. If you install it correctly to the face of the Kinect, and recalibrate the Kinect as best you can, it DOES work. The Kinect Tuner is very difficult to please, even with the Zoom. I found that ignoring certain parts of the tuning process altogether saved me a lot of stress. On a sidenote, after installing the Zoom and calibrating the Kinect, I was able to play 'The Gunstringer' with no hitches at all while standing only a couple feet away from the Kinect. Again, the product works, but certain Kinect games have very poor controls. Don't blame the Zoom, it might just be the game. I suggest trying 'Gunstringer' or 'Fruit Ninja' to see the difference for yourself. Worth the money, though it could stand to be a bit cheaper.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 3 4 next>>