GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Your Shape Fitness Evolved 2012

Your Shape Fitness Evolved 2012 is the new sequel to Your Shape: Fitness Evolved, the #1 fitness game on Kinect. Exercise your way with a customizable, social and fun experience that delivers serious results. As one of the most extensive fitness offerings on the market, Your Shape includes over 90 hours of activities. Your Shape provides an even wider array of activities to suit your tastes and fitness goals, including zen classes, latin dance and boot camp. The state-of-the-art motion tracking has been pushed to the next level with brand-new floor movements and an enhanced feedback system that guides you on how to improve your technique and results.
Average Customer Rating:
7.111
7.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
10 stars
1
9 stars
2
8 stars
2
7 stars
2
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
6 out of 967%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Your Shape Fitness Evolved 2012
Review 1 for Your Shape Fitness Evolved 2012
Mixed Feelings...
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:11/23/11
Remo
Location: Minn, MN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I have played the first version and was excited to get my hands on the next version looking for new challenges and improvements. After exercising for the past two weeks with 2012, I'm not entirely impressed. What I’m impressed with is the different and types of exercises (a big plus).
However, there are two issues with the game, in my opinion. For one, the new version lacks instruction (none) on movements (the first version provided instruction, but only once and couldn't revisit the help later, if you needed it). I think this a major drawback, especially for individuals not coordinated (causes a lot of frustration). Second, the game claims flexibility in exercise routines. However, all the game does is allow you to choose exercises targeting different parts of the body for your workout.
With that said, I will continue to use the program because it does get my heart going (which is my goal).
If you learn quickly and very coordinated, then this program is for you.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
16 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Your Shape Fitness Evolved 2012
Great Exercise Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/9/12
michele5389
Location: Chicago, IL
Not sure what others are talking about, but this game is exactly what I expected. I do not exercise as much as I should (40+) and this game got me moving again. The exercises were challenging enough and fun. MY kinect recognized me even when I was on the floor and the movements I made. What I liked best was that in the games I was not an avatar, it was actually me - I guess this is the camera feature in the kinect or something :). If you are like me, over 40 and have been way too slack in keeping fit, this is a good game for you!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Your Shape Fitness Evolved 2012
Fun for those that want it to be
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/22/12
Agibs
Location: OR
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
the intro and game play are great. sometimes the game wont register your moves but if you do the moves right and stay in step it will get almost all moves. this one will whoop your butt if you commit and give it your all. me and my wife use this daily for a half hour apiece plus have competitions. combined with dieting and other exercises and maybe UFC personal trainer (i use it too) you will see results. it really makes gaming fun and worth every second of it. i don't understand why it got low ratings its really fun and a great workout game. besides its a game that makes you workout. one CON is that the calorie count was off for my first 3 days. you have to go in and set your personal info (ht, wt, age) and it gets way more accurate.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Your Shape Fitness Evolved 2012
DO NOT BUY!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:2/20/12
DFWV
I was really excited to give this a try. I used to use Wii Fit and loved it despite it's simplicity, so I thought I'd love this with all of its options. I WAS WRONG.
Starting this game up is like walking into a gym for the first time. If you have no idea what you want to do, you're out of luck! I could not find ANY options that helped me create a routine. Sure, there are plenty of options, but you're free to do them as you choose. No guidance what so ever!
Like another reviewer said, instructions are very brief and if you miss them, that's it. Also, there's very little prep time before exercises. You're thrust right into them.
Don't even get me started on the Kinect sensor detection, either. I was represented by a mass of a blob that was barely identifiable as human. Half of the time the game detected and rendered my FLOOR into my character render.
Overall I am very, very displeased with this title. Sure, it give you lots of options for exercises, but honestly I could do those on my own without the game. A little structure and guidance would have went a LONG ways.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 21 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
akbratt94
A, VA
 
Please wait while more information about akbratt94 is loaded.
Additional information about akbratt94 could not be loaded.
I am sorry....
Posted 3/22/12
It sounds as if you have had a horrible experience. It helped me when using the game to pay attention to the avatars examples for some of the movements..the ones where you have to use weights for example.
Signing in an account online also helped because I could get feedback.
Adjusting my sensor helped also so that I had it measuring more accurately.
Hope it goes better for you. It really is a great work out "game" once you get use to the visuals. Just my opinion , of course :)
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Your Shape Fitness Evolved 2012
Best fitness videogame for 2012 - with a warning
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/1/12
ExAthlete
Location: Cleveland OH
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is by far the best videogame workout of all the current offerings, including the other consoles. But be warned, this "game" is not for the faint of heart. Even some of the "beginner" levels of the Sports Preparation mode are extremely taxing, and require at least a medium level coordination. The instructors move very quickly, and there isn't much in the way of exacting coaching. If you're looking for a game to explicitly tell you that your arms/legs are in the wrong place, this isn't it. It will still do that, but the clock will still be ticking down. The vast majority of the activities are paced quickly, so you'll have to be careful of fatigue.
Overall, a great way to get fit.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Your Shape Fitness Evolved 2012
So Much To Do!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/3/12
KnibsLian309
Location: Boston, MA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I love this game! It is so much fun and there are so many options. You can track your progress online, create goals, enter events,and compare your progress to others.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Your Shape Fitness Evolved 2012
nice fitness game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/28/12
MikeyMike
Location: Kansas City, MO
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I really like this game. There are tons of options and as long as you have half a brain you can piece together a workout or do one of the short routines they have made. The Kinect works really well and picks up my movements. I have not had any problem with the game recognizing my movements. Definitely recommend for someone looking for a cheap and moderate workout.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Your Shape Fitness Evolved 2012
A great game for dedicated weightloss
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/27/12
Kono
Location: St.George
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is a great game, at 28$ it WAS a great price too, apparently Gamestop decided to up the prices because it was selling too quick. Squeeze every penny I suppose.
Anyway, to the game. It gives you 8 minigames and about 30 or so mimic workouts. I found the 8 minigames to be great, not so much for the "do as our 3d trainer does, this game is a vast improvement above Kinect Fitness evolved of the previous edition, having said that, it still has issues detecting motion in certain workouts and that can be frustration when giving a full "warrior pose" with sore muscles.
Another "feature" happens to be the calorie tracking, but beware, for the first 100 or so calories there's some sort of glitch surrounding the numbers "43" as in "you're 43 calories ahead of your friend" when you're not or when your friend has the same calorie count. There's also the painfully long time it takes to register on Ubisoft's various websites that finally grant you the ability to share your progress on facebook, I gave up and posted the calorie updates manually.
This is the interesting thing though, default calorie equations are set to the average 8 year old girl, meaning if you weigh 170 or higher chances are you're burning way more than 5 calories per 15minute workout. I found myself some 200 calories in until I noticed an option to input height and weight which increased a dissatisfying 3 calories for kicking a digital soccer ball to 12calories. With proper weight ratios you could burn a big mac in about an hour of low impact workouts.
So whats the one primary hangup? Well first of all most people will agree that minigames are going to be infinitely more fun that just copying the actions of a perfect yoga or boxing instructor, so knowing that mastering all of the fun minigames takes a mere 1-3 hours takes it down a notch. This especially damages the replay value if you like minigames but dont feel like doing the same ones over and over. The in-ability to access your ipod during the game takes it down another notch. The price drop and then sudden price SURGE takes it into the stratosphere of "no".
Its the best workout game on the 360, it has its charms, its a good workout, lasting appeal is hit and miss depending on your taste and how much you enjoy the same workouts and games.
The game itself can be set from a price to content ratio, but I will give it a 7/10 on the game itself.
44$ for it? 5/10 who still pays 5 less used instead of buying new?
28$? 7/10
9$ 9/10
Your Shape Fitness 2012;worth 28 dollars, not so much when brought back up to 44 dollars.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Your Shape Fitness Evolved 2012
Finally! Onyl 1 week left!
Posted on:11/1/11
Kjammer
Location: Pheonix, AZ
The first Your shape was awesome and the workout actually work! Now this one is going to be awesome and I can't wait! Best game ever invented and actually does something for you!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 19 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Your Shape Fitness Evolved 2012
boring
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:7/27/12
eiadflkejf
Location: NC
There is not much flexibility as to what you do in your workout. Not many choices of workouts. Gym games are boring and takes too long to create your profile. Besides all that its ok
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.