GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Metal Gear Solid HD Collection

From the critically acclaimed director, Hideo Kojima, Metal Gear Solid HD Collection offers a handful of the most popular Metal Gear Solid titles from the past in true HD for the first time ever. Featuring three complete games, Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty, Metal Gear Solid: Snake Eater and Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker, the HD Collection offers old and new fans a chance to experience the epic game play, design and storytelling of the MGS franchise. The "Metal Gear Solid (MGS)" series is the seminal work of Hideo Kojima, Japan's master game creator, and the progenitor of the stealth action game genre. The series has become a global phenomenon, with over 27 million copies sold worldwide. The player controls a secret agent from an elite special forces unit who is sent on solo sneaking missions through enemy installations, vast jungles, and sometimes even the thick of battle. Alone and surrounded by the enemy, even a special forces agent will find it tough to come out alive. But that is the secret behind the series' popularity - the cerebral challenge of figuring out how to avoid combat, and the thrill of sneaking through enemy territory undetected.The MGS series is also known for its storyline, which blends seamlessly with the gameplay. The scenarios are based on extensive research and incorporate the drama of actual developments in society. These elements have made MGS what it is today: a mature work of entertainment that transcends national borders and the confines of video games, and one of the leading products of the Japanesecontent business.
Average Customer Rating:
9.88
9.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (61 reviews)
10 stars
23
9 stars
1
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
25 out of 25100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection
Review 1 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection
METAL GEAR SOLID Has done it again!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/9/14
ANIMEJHART2009
Location: Oak Creek, WI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I've been a huge Metal Gear Solid fan for as long as i can remember. Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater HD Edition is an OK game.
the sneaking mission game is still the same, but another level, obviously. It all started back in the early '60's where Naked Snake is infiltrating the virgin cliffs at Tselinoyarsk where sokolov is supposedly being held. He successfully rescued sokolov from GRU operatives. Whle he was crossing the bridge with sokolov, Snake's mentor named The Boss showed up at the right place in the wrong time.Not only that, however, sokolov's been picked up unexpectedly by The Fear, one of the Cobra Units. And then "HE" came along. When i said "he", i meant Colonel Volgin of GRU. Right after that, snake got his butt kick by The boss herself and was thrown off the bridge and was carried away at the river stream. And after all that, the virtuous mission was a TOTAL failure!! after a few days later, Naked Snake was in russia again, only THIS time, it was "Operation Snake Eater." THAT mission was to beat the cobra unit, destroy Shagohod, demolish Colonel volgin of the GRU, and of course, finish off The Boss via The Joy, which it wasn't easy for me to do until now. So, metal gear Solid 3 was fine, but nothing, and i mean, NOTHING, is greater than Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty HD Edition. Except Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots.
Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty HD Edition is the most classic, powerful yet totally the greatest action / shooting game ever like Metal Gear Solid 1! THAT game started when solid snake infiltrated the marine battleship where the new metal gear was been stored in Hold No.3. After solid snake got in the ship on the rainy night, russian troopers showed up and started raiding the marine battleship and took out 3 marines. After snake infiltrated even further to the holds and took pictures of Metal gear RAY, Former FOXHOUND Revolver Ocelot just appeared even right after the marine commander dolph's speech. the russian troopers SUPPOSED to steal Metal gear RAY and bring back russia, but Ocelot has some other plans. At least, that's the idea. When the Former FOXHOUND member Revolver Ocelot said "i'm taking it back," he meant, bringing it back to the patriots, he immediately eliminated colonel sergei gurlukovich and marine commander dolph and took RAY. most of it all, he sank the tanker. Two years later, after the tanker incident, the big shell, the offshore contamination tower was built on the same spot the ship sunk two years ago. That's where the so-called newly reinstated FOXHOUND member Raiden takes place to infiltrate the big shell, according to the simulation by the patriots...maybe. During his infiltration of the big shell, he saw two members of dead cell, Vamp and Fortune, took the black case via "the football" and the president. So, that game was awesome! unlike Metal Gear solid: Peace Walker HD Edition.
Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker HD Edition is an all right game, but those boss battles are VERY difficult to beat when you're playing that boss mode alone. sooner or later, you'll be running outta bullets. I don't know the rest of the story because because i RARELY played it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection
The Near Ultiamate MGS eXperience
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/21/13
JIG2000
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
After completing MGS1 for the first time I decided to continue the MGS experience with the MGS HD Collection. I found this near complete collection to be AMAZING.The MGS HD Collection comes with nearly all the games you need to enjoy what MGS has to offer. This collection includes the original MSX games Metal Gear and Metal Gear 3: Solid Snake, and includes MGS 2 Substance with VR Missions, MGS 3 Subsistence, and MGS Peace Walker. Although it does miss MGS 1 and MGS 4 in the near perfect collection.
Story:
The story for all of these games is written and directed by MGS creator Hideo Kojima. Metal Gear's story is not as exciting as the other ones but it is very important to the series. Metal Gear 2 contains MGS great story writing with plot twists and interesting scenarios. MGS 2 contains most of the brilliant story writing and will not let you down, but you should play MGS 1 to understand the characters more. MGS 3 shows us the gripping story of what started all of Metal Gear's conflicts. MGS Peace Walker does have good story writing and can get somewhat emotional sometimes and shows what happens 10 years after MGS 3.
Graphics:
The MSX Graphics look like the same graphics that were used when they were released. MGS 2 has very good graphics when it comes to the look of the main characters and weapons, but the graphics of some of the guards or minor characters they look un-realistic and their eyes don't blink or mouths don't move unlike the main characters. MGS 3 has slightly better graphics than MGS 2 and lacks the minor character's un-realistic moves I mentioned earlier. MGS Peace Walker was released for the PSP and has worse graphics than MGS 3 like Snake's face looks a bit like PS1 graphics mixed with PS2 but it's because of the PSP's hardware and that was the best graphics they could come up with.
Gameplay:
All of these games involve stealth and they give you ways to maneuver around guards, but you need to be careful.
MG and MG 2 are easy to play but they don't have people telling you "X is for crouch" or "O is to punch" but there is a couple of screens where there are no guards and you could practice and get used to the controls. MGS 2 has very easy gameplay and has people telling you what button does what. MGS 3 has good gameplay, but the CQC moves was a little bit challenging. MGS Peace Walker has better CQC, but lacks some moves like crawling. However, at the beginning of the game there is a tutorial that will help you.
Lasting Appeal:
The MGS HD Collection contains almost all of the original extras, but misses some of the fan favorites. However, VR Missions, Extra Ops, Secrets, and trophies will keep you going.
Overall:
The MGS HD Collection definitely delivers in almost every way, but there are some flaws that keep it from being flawless. The HD edition is the best way to experience MGS if you own MGS 1 and 4 already.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection
Amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/11/13
Masonc11
The Metal Gear Series is just fantastic in itself but i really like how this game takes things and you can see what it took Big Boss to make his Outter Heaven. Fantastic game and of course story line!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection
Replaying Some of the Best Games...... in HD
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/9/12
Knight1114
Location: San Antonio, TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The games in the HD Collection have gotten some slightly noticeable touch-ups, with the exception of Peace Walker which looks better than ever. However, did I buy this just for the HD? No. I bought this so I can enjoy some of the best titles in video gaming history all over again. Play as Solid Snake, Raiden, and Naked Snake/Big Boss as you replay some of the best games of your childhood. If your new to the series, pick this up, it's a great way to get started, especially with MGS 3 in the set. Included with MGS2, MGS3, and Peace Walker is Metal Gear and Metal Gear 2: Solid Snake, which take place before MGS1 and are accessible from the MGS3 menu. This collection pretty much covers up the whole main MGS series with the exceptions of 1 and 4, which can also be bought for a cheap price. And as you remember, each MGS game is loaded with cutscenes and codec moments, but don't worry, the game has great voice acting. Controls are the same as they were on the PS2 minus Peace Walker for obvious reasons. Gameplay is just how you remember: stealthy and action. The multiplayer in Peace Walker is addicting with the massive amount of weapons, missions, and modes. Your missing out on a lot if you haven't picked this up yet. You get all this for $40, it is more than worth it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection
Best franchise/series.. ever.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/23/12
Slipknotdayof9
Location: Newport News, VA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Great for gamers looking to play Metal Gear again (with a decent polish up.. or GREAT polish up in Peace walkers case).. but also great for gamers looking to get into the series (For new people download Metal Gear 1 off psn). The sound/music is great, Metal Gear has always had great music. The graphics arent to bad, and Peace Walker is only a little below ps3 standards (mostly in surroundings). Peace Walker also has pretty fun online. The story and gameplay is pretty much the best in gameing.. period. The best part is.. you play your way. Dont want to kill anyone? Dont... you dont even have to be seen if you dont want to (use tranqs if you still want to shoot without killing). Assassin's Creed before Assassin's Creed.. add that with CQC/martial arts, and alooooooooooooooooooooot of guns.. and you have an AWESOME game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection
best game for ps3
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/28/12
solidsnake1009
Location: ohio
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i didnt expect any online battle or any thing else but i went and played all games in order and peace walker is the best game in the metal gear series
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection
FREAKING AWESOME!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/12/12
GrimReefer1904
Location: San Diego, CA.
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game rocks! Especially snake eater. Peace walker is kinda weird though but still fun. Different buttons and features than what I am used to. Pain in the neck getting use to them. But when you do...boy oh boy. Worth every penny.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection
best game series ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/4/12
nathan2921
Location: alabama
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this is the best game series ever! my faverote is snake eater it has love betrayal trust best plot good graphics. now for guns of the patriots, it was better than i expected but i wasn't to happy with the new character raiden but i got to say hes grown on me but i havnt played peace walker yet so thears that and i cant wait for mgr woho!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection
GREAT
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/9/12
awen
Location: venezuela
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
metal gear games are always the best.....single player action...im a fan of this saga since 1998.....these histories are the best time ever...i hope ideo kojima still releases games of metal gear....no game can compare to this....graphics....sounds...screen....from venezuela like most of my friends likes this game a lot
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection
Never Thought the Day Would Come
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/17/12
DynamikDynomite
Location: Boston, MA
The day has finally come, Metal Gear Solid HD Collection has reached my hands. I've been playing all games non stop. As i was basking in my childhood memories i remember that Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater, actually has two extra games unlocked once you beat the game. They are the full Metal Gear and Metal Gear Solid Snake games. These are the first ever Metal Gear games which are 8-Bit. The story line is amazing which is no shocker to long lovers of the game, they intertwine the real world, virtual world, human dynamics, and everything these into these games. These games are epic.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection
5 games altogether!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/29/12
EYenOWonPSN
Location: Portland, Oregon
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Just wanted to put this otu there.. A lot of Gamestop employees will argue and say that they do not know or it does not coem with it but: Metal Gear Solid HD Collection is a compilation of five Metal Gear titles: Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty, Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater, Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker and PS2 versions of Metal Gear and Metal Gear 2: Solid Snake. Dont let them tell you otherwise.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection
Mission Accomplished Best Collection Ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/19/12
Kpats12345
Location: Battle Creek, MI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I've waited since 2009 for them to release this, and its a great collection. It brings back memories on how much time I spent on my Ps2 playing MGS3 and then moving on to the Ps3 to play it in HD. The graphics are superb, Kojima really worked on this and the sound quality is tons better too, there were times when I thought I was playing MGS4. The whole collection from MGS2 to Peace Walker along with Metal Gear and Metal Gear 2 : Solid Snake, this was a big package for just 40 bucks. I could go on forever and tell you how great this collection is, and even the humorous moments are still in the game like easter eggs, and the random posters of super models. I would give this the best HD Collection of 2011. Even though it doesnt include the MGS1 its downloadable on PSN for 10 dollars. It would have been cool if they added Portable OPS as well, but its perfect as it is. And for all the Metal Gear Solid fans this collection is for you, and thank you Hideo Kojima, and lets hope that Metal Gear Solid Rising doesnt fail. Buy this and do not hesitate. :D
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection
Still the best games you can buy!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/30/12
lemans24fan
Location: Erie, Pa
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Many people were lining up in November to get their hands on Mondern Warfare 3, but there were a select few real gamers who were in line, not the get that, but buy this masterpiece of a collection. Every game in the Metal Gear series is amazing, but putting 3 of the games on one disc makes this a sight to behold and one of the greatest values, I have ever seen in videogames.
As someone who has been playing Stealth games for years, Mainly metal gear solid, I can assure anyone who is looking at this game that they will not be disappointed.
Yes, the gameplay isn't for everyone and the story can be a lot to wrap your head around at first, but with multiple difficulty settings and nice tutorials, it is easy for any gamer to pick up and enjoy this amazing saga game by game. I wont give away any plot points now as you should experience them for yourself.
This HD remastered Collection just looks fantastic, and that is really saying something due to the fact that these games were some of the best looking videogames when they first came out. Seeing the action in 16X9 widescreen with the fantastic lighting effects and smooth textures never gets old.
The first game in the collection is MGS2: Sons of Liberty (Substance Version), It features 3rd and 1st person stealth action and has one of the craziest plot twists to date that i'm sure most of you reading this already know about. It does have a top down view like the original MGS, and features the series first use of 1St person gunplay. Plus over 500 VR missions when you are done with the story.
The second game is MGS3:Snake Eater (Subsistance Version). Regarded by many as the best Metal Gear game, The boss battles, Need I say more? A thrilling story set in the Cold War, you play as Jack, Aka, "Naked Snake", aka "Big Boss". Survival in the wilderness is the theme of this game, trapping and catching your own food is key and "On site Procurement" is the only way to expand your collection of Guns, Gadgets, and other toys to play around with as you progress through the story. MGS3 features a 3D rotatable camera (Splinter Cell-esque) for easy viewing of the environment. Plus the game comes packed with bonus content such as the ability to replay any boss battle at any time and try to acheive a better time. Also, the game has both 8 bit Metal gear games with it. "Metal Gear" and "Metal Gear 2: Solid Snake", so technically this package includes 5 MGS games.
The 3rd game in the collection is Peace walker, the latest release in the MGS Saga was at first only available on the PSP but now has transitioned to the big screen, adding HD Graphics and a second analogue stick for console smooth controls and graphics. Set after MGS3, you once again play as Big Boss. This time you get to build your own army of soldiers, tanks and even build your own metal gear. The single Player story is huge and you can even team up via PSN or XBL with freinds to play through the game. This entry never gets old and there is just so many things to do.
In all, Each game is about 15-20 hours each, but if you do all there is to be done, you may stretch each game well over 40 hours. Without a doubt, this is a huge amount of gameplay for a lower price than even a brand new game. In may opinion, they could have charged $100 dollars for this collection and it would still be well woth it. Luckily its even cheaper than the new brand new games.
Do yourself a favor and buy this collection. You cannot go wrong with this.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
11 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection
One of the Best.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/25/12
Halish
Location: Shreveport, La
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I started playing the MGS games around 9, and i've loved them. MGS2 IMO is the best of the 5 games out atm, but if you have not played Metal Gear or Metal Gear Solid Snake you are missing out on so much! They are in the menu of MGS3( your welcome ). and if you have never played these games, I would recommend this to you if you enjoy shooter games that have more than a "point and shoot" feel, this has a great story behind it that will cause you to play till the creds start rolling...after just play again but this time, try not to die ;P
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection
Amazing game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/18/12
jmvelez12345
Location: Bushkill, PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
a must have for al mgs fans. and comes with three games a great deal as well. just brings back memory
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 16 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection
Best Series on One Disc
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/16/12
vallejoarmy
Location: Houston, TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
All the descriptions I have read have all said there are three games on this disc. They are wrong. There are actually 5! MGS2, MGS3, MGSPW, and as well as the games that started it all, Metal Gear and Metal Gear: Solid Snake! This was a wonderful surprise and I can't wait for MGR: Revengence! The original MG games are under MGS3 Menu. Enjoy!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection
Make's You Remember Why You Luv Metal Gear
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/15/12
Niggles
Location: NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
After I heard they were adding Peace Walker to the HD Collection that sealed the deal for me as I wasn't able to play this Masterpiece not having a PSP. I had already bought the PS2 MGS Collection a while bak so I wasn't exactly excited for those 2. I didn't see much of a difference between MGS3 HD and PS2 MGS3. Never the less Peace Walker ended up being one of the best MGS titles I have ever played and that made the collection worth it. In all honestly tho I wish I could have just bought Peace Walker seperately as that wuz the only new thing to play in this collection. If you already played MGS3 & MGS2 many a time and played MGS PW on ur PSP this collection will disapoint you. If you neve played Pecae Walker you prob won't regret buying it but you will wish you bought it used cause there's not much Lasting appeal to this game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
blackfang21
New York
 
Please wait while more information about blackfang21 is loaded.
Additional information about blackfang21 could not be loaded.
Top 500 Contributor
Posted 1/20/12
actually there is quite a difference in mgs 2 and 3. but you screwed up the score of a perfect 10 being the only person who put an 8 while everyone else put tens. i think you're being a little overreactive, and it wasnt a review on the game.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection
The Biggest Reason Why I Got A PS3
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/3/12
Haydeo
Location: Tucson AZ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I got into Metal Gear only a couple of months ago when I played Twin Snakes, and the game blew my freaking mind. I've never owned any Playstation generation, so at first I couldn't play any of the sequels, but I wanted to so badly. Ironically enough, the HD collection came out soon after I got into Metal gear. I still didn't have a way to play it though, so I had to seriously consider getting a PS3. I spent about $300 mostly just to play this collection and I don't regret anything. This is a fantastic franchise, and the HD collection did not disappoint. All the games have excellent game-play, and a story that can put many movies to shame. When you beat each game, you get a feeling of how brilliantly well thought out each game is. It is a bit unfortunate that this collection doesn't come with MGS4 or 1, but surprisingly enough MGS3 comes with the first two Metal Gears for the MSX2, which was quite a pleasant surprise. Altogether you get five games for less than the price of one. That alone should be enough to make you want to buy this. This is an amazing collection of truly epic games.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection
Best. Game Collection. Ever.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/15/11
Gamersince93
Location: Right here
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I'm just going to let it out and say it, buy this game.
This game is amazing. And one of the best HD collections so far. It has
Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty.
Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater.
And Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker.
But the best part about these games, is that its the Subsistence versions of 2 and 3. That means theres bonus features that wasn't in the original. MGS3 is the crown jewel. It contains 2 legendary MG games. the original Metal Gear, and Metal Gear 2: Solid Snake. So you have a bunch of Metal Gear games in 1 Disk. Mainly there isn't much to review the actual games because they are from the PS2 era. And there are a TONE of trophies in this game. There's nothing left to say about this except for buying the game. I'm not kidding If you're a newcomer to the Metal Gear franchise, you will love this game and become a MG fan.
My final Verdict for this collection is a 9.75 out of 10. This game is fantastic, perfect for MGS fans out there.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
EliteSniper
Ashland, KY
 
Please wait while more information about EliteSniper is loaded.
Additional information about EliteSniper could not be loaded.
justin
Posted 12/26/11
when i first played this game back on the ps2 system i thought it was awesome. but now since several games have come and gone if makes me nostolgic when i play this game. i am currently playing mgs2 and its awesome how well it is. so much has happened from mgs2 to mgs4 its hard to fathom the similarity between the two. personally solid snake will never die and it will never be, in my mind, old snake. this game series has been and will always be one of my favorite games. back when it came out for the nes system. i havent played mgs3 or peacewalker yet so i am looking forward to those next. here is for metal gear never leaving.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection
Replay Value to the extreme
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/12/11
Xeodian
Location: Phoenix, AZ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Best thing about these games were the replay content, in the substance versions you get VR, original metal gear games from the MGS3 substance, only metal gear PS1 isnt part of it but you can get it off PSN if you need to have it. also has peace walker which is online. it'll be a good while before you might even get tired of one of the several games this one is packed with.
However, for the ppl wondering about mgs2 substance, no you cant play ninja raiden in the main story, but bomb disposal is pretty nice :P
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>