GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Metal Gear Solid HD Collection

From the critically acclaimed director, Hideo Kojima, Metal Gear Solid HD Collection offers a handful of the most popular Metal Gear Solid titles from the past in true HD for the first time ever. Featuring three complete games, Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty, Metal Gear Solid: Snake Eater and Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker, the HD Collection offers old and new fans a chance to experience the epic game play, design and storytelling of the MGS franchise. The "Metal Gear Solid (MGS)" series is the seminal work of Hideo Kojima, Japan's master game creator, and the progenitor of the stealth action game genre. The series has become a global phenomenon, with over 27 million copies sold worldwide. The player controls a secret agent from an elite special forces unit who is sent on solo sneaking missions through enemy installations, vast jungles, and sometimes even the thick of battle. Alone and surrounded by the enemy, even a special forces agent will find it tough to come out alive. But that is the secret behind the series' popularity - the cerebral challenge of figuring out how to avoid combat, and the thrill of sneaking through enemy territory undetected.The MGS series is also known for its storyline, which blends seamlessly with the gameplay. The scenarios are based on extensive research and incorporate the drama of actual developments in society. These elements have made MGS what it is today: a mature work of entertainment that transcends national borders and the confines of video games, and one of the leading products of the Japanesecontent business.
Average Customer Rating:
9.897
9.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (65 reviews)
10 stars
27
9 stars
1
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
29 out of 29100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection
Review 1 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection
best game for ps3
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/28/12
solidsnake1009
Location: ohio
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i didnt expect any online battle or any thing else but i went and played all games in order and peace walker is the best game in the metal gear series
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection
MGS is a PlayStation Exclusive!!!
Posted on:10/26/11
Animeman1000
Location: Orlando, FL
OK so I'm tired of XBOX people complaining about this never being out for XBOX before and others happy. I've been playing MGS since MGS2. And I've played every game. From the Gameboy one, Metal Gear 1, Metal Gear 2:Solid Snake, MGS1, and right now I'm playing Acid and will be playing Acid 2. I hear us PlayStation fans complaining how it should stay on PlayStation and I totally agree with them. I mean how come XBOX gets Halo, Gears of War, Splinter Cell Conviction, and over 200 XBOX 360 exclusive game and PlayStation only has 190 PlayStation exclusive games. 1 more game is not gonna matter. Plus they make games all the time. So can't we just have this. And who cares who makes it or publishes it that doesn't matter. Now you can argue with me all you want I still think this way and I always will.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
6 of 16 found this review helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Tagonn2321
 
Please wait while more information about Tagonn2321 is loaded.
Additional information about Tagonn2321 could not be loaded.
Metal Gear
Posted 12/3/11
Metal Gear started on the MSX not the Playstation you fanboy.
Customer Avatar
BoneShackles
 
Please wait while more information about BoneShackles is loaded.
Additional information about BoneShackles could not be loaded.
Posted 11/28/11
Kojima always wanted it to be multiplatform
Customer Avatar
dogs1234
New Mexico,NM
 
Please wait while more information about dogs1234 is loaded.
Additional information about dogs1234 could not be loaded.
Top 1000 Contributor
xbox 360 vs ps3
Posted 10/29/11
guys come on who really cares.. lay off, i get you guys want this to be ps3 exclusive, but seriously does it really matter, they get to experince the same game we did back on ps2. not all of us can afford both systems or only one... it shouldnt matter what system is better.. only draw back for 360 is they will never get to experience the 1st one at all... i for one could care less i'm just glad that there remaking the game.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Review 3 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection
No XBOX 360
Posted on:9/15/11
Animeman1000
Location: Orlando, FL
They should have kept in on the PlayStation. Sorry, but that's where it started and that's where it should stay. There are a lot of games that they make the whole thing XBOX only, and then there are some where they make the first one for 360 only and then the 2nd one for PS3. And they are just now releasing a 3DS Edition which they shouldn't have, but that's just my opinion. I mean if the 360 can have Halo, then PlayStation should have Metal Gear Solid.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
14 of 31 found this review helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
ramrodTM
 
Please wait while more information about ramrodTM is loaded.
Additional information about ramrodTM could not be loaded.
Posted 9/30/11
Metal Gear started on the MSX2. Not the NES. The NES version was a poor port to the US.
Customer Avatar
snakeeater
shadow moses
 
Please wait while more information about snakeeater is loaded.
Additional information about snakeeater could not be loaded.
Posted 9/28/11
i agree dude. i have a 360 (and enjoy it very much) but some games which stick to a certain console, should stay that way. the most famous best-selling games are almost always like that, with only a few exceptions. halo, gears of war, metal gear, uncharted, etc. they are the greatest. thats why i have both consoles.
Customer Avatar
IPride
 
Please wait while more information about IPride is loaded.
Additional information about IPride could not be loaded.
Posted 9/16/11
Playstation is not where it started. Metal Gear was on the Nintendo.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Review 4 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection
Mission Accomplished Best Collection Ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/19/12
Kpats12345
Location: Battle Creek, MI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I've waited since 2009 for them to release this, and its a great collection. It brings back memories on how much time I spent on my Ps2 playing MGS3 and then moving on to the Ps3 to play it in HD. The graphics are superb, Kojima really worked on this and the sound quality is tons better too, there were times when I thought I was playing MGS4. The whole collection from MGS2 to Peace Walker along with Metal Gear and Metal Gear 2 : Solid Snake, this was a big package for just 40 bucks. I could go on forever and tell you how great this collection is, and even the humorous moments are still in the game like easter eggs, and the random posters of super models. I would give this the best HD Collection of 2011. Even though it doesnt include the MGS1 its downloadable on PSN for 10 dollars. It would have been cool if they added Portable OPS as well, but its perfect as it is. And for all the Metal Gear Solid fans this collection is for you, and thank you Hideo Kojima, and lets hope that Metal Gear Solid Rising doesnt fail. Buy this and do not hesitate. :D
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection
The Biggest Reason Why I Got A PS3
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/3/12
Haydeo
Location: Tucson AZ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I got into Metal Gear only a couple of months ago when I played Twin Snakes, and the game blew my freaking mind. I've never owned any Playstation generation, so at first I couldn't play any of the sequels, but I wanted to so badly. Ironically enough, the HD collection came out soon after I got into Metal gear. I still didn't have a way to play it though, so I had to seriously consider getting a PS3. I spent about $300 mostly just to play this collection and I don't regret anything. This is a fantastic franchise, and the HD collection did not disappoint. All the games have excellent game-play, and a story that can put many movies to shame. When you beat each game, you get a feeling of how brilliantly well thought out each game is. It is a bit unfortunate that this collection doesn't come with MGS4 or 1, but surprisingly enough MGS3 comes with the first two Metal Gears for the MSX2, which was quite a pleasant surprise. Altogether you get five games for less than the price of one. That alone should be enough to make you want to buy this. This is an amazing collection of truly epic games.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection
Freakin Awsome!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/22/14
SpikeTheKid
Location: Colorado
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This collection is awesome. The game is wroth every penny. The gameplay is addicting and fun to play online with people.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection
Best. Game Collection. Ever.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/15/11
Gamersince93
Location: Right here
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I'm just going to let it out and say it, buy this game.
This game is amazing. And one of the best HD collections so far. It has
Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty.
Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater.
And Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker.
But the best part about these games, is that its the Subsistence versions of 2 and 3. That means theres bonus features that wasn't in the original. MGS3 is the crown jewel. It contains 2 legendary MG games. the original Metal Gear, and Metal Gear 2: Solid Snake. So you have a bunch of Metal Gear games in 1 Disk. Mainly there isn't much to review the actual games because they are from the PS2 era. And there are a TONE of trophies in this game. There's nothing left to say about this except for buying the game. I'm not kidding If you're a newcomer to the Metal Gear franchise, you will love this game and become a MG fan.
My final Verdict for this collection is a 9.75 out of 10. This game is fantastic, perfect for MGS fans out there.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
EliteSniper
Ashland, KY
 
Please wait while more information about EliteSniper is loaded.
Additional information about EliteSniper could not be loaded.
justin
Posted 12/26/11
when i first played this game back on the ps2 system i thought it was awesome. but now since several games have come and gone if makes me nostolgic when i play this game. i am currently playing mgs2 and its awesome how well it is. so much has happened from mgs2 to mgs4 its hard to fathom the similarity between the two. personally solid snake will never die and it will never be, in my mind, old snake. this game series has been and will always be one of my favorite games. back when it came out for the nes system. i havent played mgs3 or peacewalker yet so i am looking forward to those next. here is for metal gear never leaving.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection
No matter the generation or decade.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/15/11
soldierofgod
Location: Orlando, FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Metal Gear Solid (Saga) has been the most explosive and entertaining game I have ever played, and it is my favorite. In the world, MGS has put the name of "Snake" in glory throughout the years. This game, and not because it's my favorite, trully is the greatest game- of it's categorie- ever made. Not Uncharted, Call of Duty, Battlefield, Resistance, Fallout, or any other that has to do with war. The story of this saga was made so brilliantly, and the characters are one that anyone would want to be. People, reports, or the media might say that Uncharted is the best game made, or best game of its generation, but I want to take you back to 2008. In 2008, when Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots was released, the reviews were astonishing. The report that caught my attention and may be insignificant for you guys, but remember that the little things are the most important, was, “If any game could get a rate of 11, Metal Gear Solid would be the one,” Game Informer Magazine, 2008. No game has lived to its expectations, not even Call of Duty. I think Mr. Kojima would agree with me on that. The only thing that changes of Call of Duty is the story and some weapons… it’s the same thing over and over again. Now, you guys wait till MGS: Rising comes out, and we you will see the truth, but all you need to do is play all the games and pay attention to see what I’m trying to say here. God bless!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection
Still the best games you can buy!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/30/12
lemans24fan
Location: Erie, Pa
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Many people were lining up in November to get their hands on Mondern Warfare 3, but there were a select few real gamers who were in line, not the get that, but buy this masterpiece of a collection. Every game in the Metal Gear series is amazing, but putting 3 of the games on one disc makes this a sight to behold and one of the greatest values, I have ever seen in videogames.
As someone who has been playing Stealth games for years, Mainly metal gear solid, I can assure anyone who is looking at this game that they will not be disappointed.
Yes, the gameplay isn't for everyone and the story can be a lot to wrap your head around at first, but with multiple difficulty settings and nice tutorials, it is easy for any gamer to pick up and enjoy this amazing saga game by game. I wont give away any plot points now as you should experience them for yourself.
This HD remastered Collection just looks fantastic, and that is really saying something due to the fact that these games were some of the best looking videogames when they first came out. Seeing the action in 16X9 widescreen with the fantastic lighting effects and smooth textures never gets old.
The first game in the collection is MGS2: Sons of Liberty (Substance Version), It features 3rd and 1st person stealth action and has one of the craziest plot twists to date that i'm sure most of you reading this already know about. It does have a top down view like the original MGS, and features the series first use of 1St person gunplay. Plus over 500 VR missions when you are done with the story.
The second game is MGS3:Snake Eater (Subsistance Version). Regarded by many as the best Metal Gear game, The boss battles, Need I say more? A thrilling story set in the Cold War, you play as Jack, Aka, "Naked Snake", aka "Big Boss". Survival in the wilderness is the theme of this game, trapping and catching your own food is key and "On site Procurement" is the only way to expand your collection of Guns, Gadgets, and other toys to play around with as you progress through the story. MGS3 features a 3D rotatable camera (Splinter Cell-esque) for easy viewing of the environment. Plus the game comes packed with bonus content such as the ability to replay any boss battle at any time and try to acheive a better time. Also, the game has both 8 bit Metal gear games with it. "Metal Gear" and "Metal Gear 2: Solid Snake", so technically this package includes 5 MGS games.
The 3rd game in the collection is Peace walker, the latest release in the MGS Saga was at first only available on the PSP but now has transitioned to the big screen, adding HD Graphics and a second analogue stick for console smooth controls and graphics. Set after MGS3, you once again play as Big Boss. This time you get to build your own army of soldiers, tanks and even build your own metal gear. The single Player story is huge and you can even team up via PSN or XBL with freinds to play through the game. This entry never gets old and there is just so many things to do.
In all, Each game is about 15-20 hours each, but if you do all there is to be done, you may stretch each game well over 40 hours. Without a doubt, this is a huge amount of gameplay for a lower price than even a brand new game. In may opinion, they could have charged $100 dollars for this collection and it would still be well woth it. Luckily its even cheaper than the new brand new games.
Do yourself a favor and buy this collection. You cannot go wrong with this.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
11 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection
excited
Posted on:9/25/11
alexj765
Location: LA, CA
I am excited for the game but I was hoping that it would have metal gear solid included in the game. maybe its just me but i'd take MGS1 over the PSP port.
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection
MGS
Posted on:10/30/11
woohahhhhh
Location: New York, NY
I don't know why everyone is complaining that MGS has been apparently a Playstation exclusive. First off, they ported MGS 1 to gamecube, which was an amazing port and should have been on this disk but oh well to that. There was also a version of the original MGS1 on PC. Secondly, they made MGS 2 Substance on Xbox and PC as well. So Metal Gear has never been just a Playstation exclusive. But mainly, I can not be happier with this release. MGS 1 was the first video game I ever got, making me instantly fall in love with the series. MGS 2 was the first game I got for my ps2 as well. MGS is my all time favorite video game series, and this will bring back so many memories. Just reserved it today, and I plan on beating all of them as fast as I could back in the day.
9 of 15 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Buttertoth34
TInley Park, IL
 
Please wait while more information about Buttertoth34 is loaded.
Additional information about Buttertoth34 could not be loaded.
Top 250 Contributor
no MGO
Posted 11/11/11
they have just the single player campaign they don't have the awesomeness that is MGO. So when the other systems get MGO then you can talk.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection
Best Series on One Disc
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/16/12
vallejoarmy
Location: Houston, TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
All the descriptions I have read have all said there are three games on this disc. They are wrong. There are actually 5! MGS2, MGS3, MGSPW, and as well as the games that started it all, Metal Gear and Metal Gear: Solid Snake! This was a wonderful surprise and I can't wait for MGR: Revengence! The original MG games are under MGS3 Menu. Enjoy!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection
Metal Gear Solid HD collection is a must
Posted on:10/6/11
spardinng
Location: Fresno,Ca
I'm a huge MGS series fan i've played all MGS games and i definitely say this game is a must for me.. I've been dying to find a trade for my ps3 that is not backward compatible for a ps3 that is backward compatible just to play MGS 2 and 3 but when i heard this game is coming out i definitely went to Gamestop right away and pre-ordered it.. Definitely worth the 50 bucks for this collection has 2 of the greatest games that was available at the PS2 and 1 one of the greatest games in PSP so 55(50+tax) is not that bad of a deal.. Really pumped up for this game.. November 8 can't get fast enough
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Animeman1000
Orlando, FL
 
Please wait while more information about Animeman1000 is loaded.
Additional information about Animeman1000 could not be loaded.
MGS is a PlayStation Exclusive!!!
Posted 10/26/11
OK so I'm tired of XBOX people complaining about this never being out for XBOX before and others happy. I've been playing MGS since MGS2. And I've played every game. From the Gameboy one, Metal Gear 1, Metal Gear 2:Solid Snake, MGS1, and right now I'm playing Acid and will be playing Acid 2. I hear us PlayStation fans complaining how it should stay on PlayStation and I totally agree with them. I mean how come XBOX gets Halo, Gears of War, Splinter Cell Conviction, and over 200 XBOX 360 exclusive games and PlayStation only has 190 PlayStation exclusive games. 1 more game is not gonna matter. Plus they make games all the time. So can't we just have this. And who cares who makes it or publishes it that doesn't matter. Now you can argue with me all you want I still think this way and I always will.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection
Super Excited!!
Posted on:8/16/11
Kpats12345
Location: Battle Creek, MI
Im so glad the HD Collections are coming out this year! It saves me the trouble of having to buy a PS2, then buy MGS2 and MGS3, then spending another 20 for Peace Walker when I can get all in one for just 50 dollars! With trophies included this is gonn a be the best collection yet!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection
Cant wait
Posted on:8/4/11
Hawks
Location: Princeton
i loved the 2nd and the 3rd snake eater is my favorite... and heres my chance to get to play them again i know theres a lot of ppl out there thinking this is a bad idea because its an older game but i love the idea...wish they would do the same for kingdom hearts 1 and 2
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection
no Snake vs Monkey
Posted on:10/1/11
ashley50
Location: California
This game being also released on the 360 made us lose one of the feature that MGS3 should have, Snake vs Monkey.
releasing it on 360 made them cut off the game. Well, good thing I still have my PS2 version of MGS3 Subsistence.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Animeman1000
Orlando, FL
 
Please wait while more information about Animeman1000 is loaded.
Additional information about Animeman1000 could not be loaded.
Posted 10/26/11
I feel the same way. I mean people always complain how some games only come out for the PS3, but there are games like Halo, Gears of War, Splinter Cell Conviction, Saints Row (The first), etc.. that have only been made for XBOX 360. So I think they should have kept MGS on PlayStation. If everyone else wanted to play it, but they couldn't to bad. I just feel like they messed it up. I mean they released MGS2 for XBOX and that was OK. But I'll still get it.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection
GreaT!!
Posted on:6/30/11
Pupi
Location: Fajardo,PR
In my opinion this is the best story of all times and now in ps3!!
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection
Metal Gear Solid??....Enough Said.....
Posted on:9/8/11
Ace313
Location: Detroit, MI
If you know about Metal Gear, you know whats coming. If you dont, get wit it. Metal Gear, hands down, has the most brilliant storyline and is the best game idea created ever. Props to Mr. Kojima for thinking this up. This game literally defined my expectation for video games since I was a kid playing MGS on my dads PS1 back in '99. No game's storyline has ever gripped me the way this one has and Solid Snake (Spoiler Alert!!) even after his death will always live on. My only dissapointment is that they couldnt include all the games. MGS fans...youve been waiting for this. Yes ill be getting MW3 the same day as well, but never will I forget the game that defined the Stealth-Action genre.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Ace313
Detroit, MI
 
Please wait while more information about Ace313 is loaded.
Additional information about Ace313 could not be loaded.
Agreed
Posted 9/17/11
No doubt i wish it would have given a lot more
Customer Avatar
ticker
 
Please wait while more information about ticker is loaded.
Additional information about ticker could not be loaded.
Great idea but why?
Posted 9/10/11
I love the MGS series as much as anyone, I even remember playing the original Metal Gear on Nintendo, but why just include these few select titles?? To truly make it a collection they should maybe go back to the multi-disc packs and put MGS 1/2 on one disc, 3/4 on another and MAYBE include the PSP games on a separate disc or in another pack altogether. MGS3: Snake Eater is by far my all time favorite of the series- the first to use camouflage; I love the battle with "The End" in particular.
I'd spend 60.00 for just a HD version of that game so getting 3 for less than that is a steal. Just wish they would've put ALL the titles into it.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 19 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection
one less playstation exclusive
Posted on:9/27/11
abc1234
Location: Louisville, KY
how can they make this for 360? this is a playstation classic. that would be like making halo for the ps3.
13 of 20 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
nowhere, nowhereland
Because
Posted 9/30/11
Let's have a lesson in third party and first party publishing. SONY does not publish MGS. Konami does. MICROSOFT publishes HALO, therefore making it first party. Seeing how konami publishes MGS, it is third party, meaning it can be on either console. MGS2 was on 360 in substance, and mgs1 was on gamecube. Really the only one that is exclusive now is MGS4, which didn't even have to be because konami publishes it. Get it now?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection
5 games altogether!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/29/12
EYenOWonPSN
Location: Portland, Oregon
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Just wanted to put this otu there.. A lot of Gamestop employees will argue and say that they do not know or it does not coem with it but: Metal Gear Solid HD Collection is a compilation of five Metal Gear titles: Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty, Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater, Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker and PS2 versions of Metal Gear and Metal Gear 2: Solid Snake. Dont let them tell you otherwise.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>