GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Metal Gear Solid HD Collection

From the critically acclaimed director, Hideo Kojima, Metal Gear Solid HD Collection offers a handful of the most popular Metal Gear Solid titles from the past in true HD for the first time ever. Featuring three complete games, Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty, Metal Gear Solid: Snake Eater and Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker, the HD Collection offers old and new fans a chance to experience the epic game play, design and storytelling of the MGS franchise. The "Metal Gear Solid (MGS)" series is the seminal work of Hideo Kojima, Japan's master game creator, and the progenitor of the stealth action game genre. The series has become a global phenomenon, with over 27 million copies sold worldwide. The player controls a secret agent from an elite special forces unit who is sent on solo sneaking missions through enemy installations, vast jungles, and sometimes even the thick of battle. Alone and surrounded by the enemy, even a special forces agent will find it tough to come out alive. But that is the secret behind the series' popularity - the cerebral challenge of figuring out how to avoid combat, and the thrill of sneaking through enemy territory undetected.The MGS series is also known for its storyline, which blends seamlessly with the gameplay. The scenarios are based on extensive research and incorporate the drama of actual developments in society. These elements have made MGS what it is today: a mature work of entertainment that transcends national borders and the confines of video games, and one of the leading products of the Japanesecontent business.
Average Customer Rating:
9.577
9.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
10 stars
19
9 stars
5
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
24 out of 2692%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection
Review 1 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection
Buy it now!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/9/12
Halloweener
Location: Hesperia, Ca
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is an amazing game. The Metal Gear Solid is a series that I've always loved so seeing Konami let the series come over to Xbox 360 is an amazing thing. On to the individual games. Metal Gear Solid 2 Sons of Liberty made a lot of changes from the original. It introduced hanging from rails, going into first-person and more. It does have problems though specifically the story. I won't go into much but by the end of the game don't be surprised if you find yourself confused. Also Raiden, who is often hated on, isn't that bad of a character. Metal Gear Solid 3 Snake Eater is probably the best of the trio. It introduced amazing camouflage techniques and both a great story and a good sense of humor. Not only that but it comes with the original 2 Metal Gear games from the MSX! The last of all the games is Metal Gear Solid Peace Walker. Peace Walker is a very unique game for the series. It essentially takes away the linear gameplay and let's you do the main story's missions whenever you want. There are also sidequests where you can play as other characters that you recruit from another feature in the game. You also have to take care of a staff hiring soldiers, cooks, medics, and more. The cutscenes are animated like a living comic book which is very unique. Overall a couple things have been cut from the original games like snake vs. monkey, the secret theater, and portable ops but this is still a great game. Even if you have played all of these before it is great to see these all in stunning HD. This is definitely worth the money.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Trailer for the game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection
Hideo Kojima awesomeness
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/12/14
Supermcawsomevill
Location: Yuma, AZ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Hideo Kojima you did it again. I love on how he made this collection. It comes with three awesome games but the only bad things about those games are that you need to be online to get the achievements
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection
An odd, and illogical bundle.
Posted on:10/29/11
PFro
Location: Ohio
The thing on most people's mind is probably that they aren't including the biggest, most influential title of the franchise into an HD remastered collection (seeing as the PS1 and Gamecube rendition could use a graphical update.) MGS1 was released on the "Essentials" collection alongside MGS2 and 3, but they weren't remastered (Being a PS2 exclusive)... and no one wants to buy MGS2 and 3 a second time to play Peace Walker.
I'm sure Xbox 360 owners are also frustrated that there's no MGS4, but instead Peace Walker in this box set, because we still don't have the ability to play the series' conclusion. (Anyone who argues against 360 releases is a diluted, selfish fanboy.)
Releasing peace walker on a console isn't necessarily a bad thing however. This is definitely a step in the right direction for the series fans who don't own a PSP. Although, I can't help but wonder if I'll ever get the chance to play the other PSP installments (Portable Ops, Acid, etc.) They could have released just the PSP installments in a set of their own.
What I've been getting at this whole time is simply the need for a logical box set, that is multi-platform. The mix of games in this collection leaves us scratching our heads when we think about how we're going to acquire the series on one console, without buying the same game multiple times.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
10 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection
More bang for your buck
Posted on:9/19/11
HyperRhythm
With all the other games coming out this fall, this is the one I'm most excited about, especially because I haven't played Peace Walker. But to be honest, I wasn't interested in playing Peace Walker on the psp because of the camera control being X, triangle, square, and O. Nevertheless, I'm really excited being able to finally complete all of the games.
Kojima productions announced that MGS2 and MGS3 are the additional content versions. Yes people, you will also be able to play Metal Gear and Metal Gear 2: Solid Snake on MGS3: Subsistence. So really you're getting 5 games for $50. Not being able to play MGS1 in HD is a shame, but I believe Peace Walker makes up for it.
Being able to play a PSP game that you could now play on a console is great, but it would've been nice if they just released it console in the first place on the MGS4 engine.
I've also heard from other sources that there will be some game play changes, such as camera control on MGS2, but we'll see.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection
A MGS collection fit for MGS fans
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/11/11
Anonymous
Location: Avon, OH
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i personally loved the MGS games growing up on the PS1 and 2 and now i can finally play them on the 360 AMAZING. Personally my favorite out the collection would have to be MGS 3 Snake Eater, because I loved the layout of each level and trying to figure out how bet to approach each enemy encounter, not to mention how awsome the boss battles were..albeit they were pretty easy once you found a particular boss's weakness it is still my favorite out of the collection. On a side note, while I can certainly agree w/ everyone that not having MGS 1 in the pack is a bit annoying, all you have to do is download the DLC for 10 bucks and problem solved. Your already getting a great collection, so what's an extra ten bucks to complete it? BOTTOM LINE : if you were ever a fan of the MGS series GET THIS COLLECTION!!! and tell em' the JoeFada sent ya CAPEICH now get outta here you got games to play.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
jhicks
 
Please wait while more information about jhicks is loaded.
Additional information about jhicks could not be loaded.
Posted 1/4/12
ive checked all over xbox live there is no dlc for this game yet u must be thinkin of ps3 or something
Customer Avatar
deelow
 
Please wait while more information about deelow is loaded.
Additional information about deelow could not be loaded.
Posted 12/29/11
how can you download the first mgs? is it twin snakes version?
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 6 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection
WOW! Just WOW!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/22/11
Shine9561
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I have to say that Konami did an excellent job at remaking these games. I have been a fan of Metal Gear Solid since it first came out. This is a great buy, and I loved the graphical fixes and the infamous 60 frames per second. It makes a difference I can definitely could tell from the PS2 versions. This is AMAZING! Buy This If you are a fan!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection
Cardboard Box Ahoy!
Posted on:11/4/11
BigD66
Location: Saint Louis, Missouri
I'm really excited that they are bringing this over to the xbox. I grew up on Metal Gear Solid. This is sort of an odd collection, but it's a great way to break into the series if you have never played before. Plus it's a great HD throwback to those who played the games. The original Metal Gear Solid is a great game and while I wish it was in the seires, I'm sure it'll be ported sometime or another. Anyway, I reccomend this game to anyone who loves good games!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection
Cant Wait
Posted on:7/1/11
bigpsix
Location: Natchitoches,Louisiana
I can finally throw away that old PS2 that i only use for Metal gear solid 2&3
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
wulf2253
tampa
 
Please wait while more information about wulf2253 is loaded.
Additional information about wulf2253 could not be loaded.
multiplayer
Posted 7/23/11
i hope that atleast metal gear solid peace walker will have a mulitplayer without having to split screen or adhoc cause if it does im gonna be mad
Customer Avatar
wulf2253
tampa
 
Please wait while more information about wulf2253 is loaded.
Additional information about wulf2253 could not be loaded.
cant wait
Posted 7/21/11
i want this so bad and i hope they make another one with the first game in it and i hope they give us something cool for pre-ordering if not i'll still get it no matter what
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 9 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection
Yeeesssssss!!!!!
Posted on:11/7/11
Bonbon
I'm really pumped to get this set of games. I dont know why people are complaining about how there isnt 1 or 4, seeing as 4 doesnt need to be remastered and 1 would take too long to convert to hd. Im just glad there doing something for the fans that are waiting for the next game. Tomorrow will be a good day :D
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection
Odd bundle
Posted on:10/31/11
PsychoTyphoon
Location: SD
I love this series and have played them all from the beginning which is missing from the bundle, put all the games together one one or two bundles in order, or in the order of the story line the first metal gear needs to be re-released in HD as well even if by itself its a must..
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection
I just can't wait!!
Posted on:7/19/11
CodiJR
Location: NC
From the first time I played Metal Gear on PS1, I've been hooked on the gameplay ever since! Sneaking behind enemy lines, assassination style kills, and at the time the graphics were stunning! I can honestly say that I'm a little mad that it wasn't given the full 60$ $ price, but I won't complain. I can honestly say this is a game worth being excited for, not to mention that it's a full 3 games for not even the price of one new game!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
nick711
 
Please wait while more information about nick711 is loaded.
Additional information about nick711 could not be loaded.
Posted 9/8/11
no orginal metal gear? why on earth would they leave it out and put peace walker instead
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection
Best Re-Release Ever!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/25/11
FastforwardX32
Location: Ebensburg, PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The games are just as I remember them from the PS2 and PSP, but better because now I get them on a console I currently own and can enjoy them all on! I suggest that anyone who even had a little interest in the series should pick up these great games all in one pack! Common guys, you cant beat $13 a game for three great titles and a ton of extra content!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection
BEST GAME SERIES EVER
Posted on:7/26/11
MetalEd87
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
I've been waiting for this since i bought my first Xbox 360. It was a long summer when i first borrowed this from a friend and it changed my gaming style from then on. I can't wait to see the achievements that come this collection. Finally it's come back to break my addiction of Splinter Cell Conviction!!!!!!!!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection
Master Piece!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/7/12
Brianxc32
Location: Michigan
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Absolutely amazing cannot put the game down. Die hard metal gear fan for a long time. Great story, game play, and I really enjoy all the secrets around the game. Must have for any fan of metal gear and anybody looking for a good story along with gameplay.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection
CANT WAIT!!!!
Posted on:8/30/11
FRANKIE1
Location: FOREST HILL, TX
I LOVE THIS SERIES! IT WAS THE FIRST GAME I EVER PLAYED IN MY LIFE AND IMMEDIATELY FELL IN LOVE WITH IT AND SINCE THEN I've GOTTEN MY HANDS ON ALL OF THE GAMES THAT HAVE CAME OUT . THESE GAMES ARE DIFFIDENTLY WORTH A PRETTY PENNY JUST WISH 1 WAS INCLUDED.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection
Great Game, Great Story
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/9/11
Nefty
Location: San Juan ,PR
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Ok. This is the Collection you have been looking for. It looks great. Remember that this are games from the last generation I'm telling you this because I don't want you to expect the best graphics in the business. But Blue Point made an excellent job in porting this games and they look better than ever. The Collection is not flawless. You need to re-adapt to the buttons. There aren't different control schemes, so you'll need to adapt to the old way. MGS3 doesn't include MGS online, but it includes the original Metal Gear games from MSX. Aside from this little flaws, this collection is a must buy if you are a fan of the series.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection
Somewhat upset
Posted on:9/4/11
AJtheHalofan
i was extremely excited to see the MG series collection for the 360. This would have deserved a 10/10, but now it only deserves a 5/10. The deal breaker for this HD collection would have been including the original MGS game. Without that, this collection is almost worthless.
6 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection
i like it but.....
Posted on:9/8/11
jason100
im exited that this is comin out for xbox but i wish instead of peacewalker it would be mgs1
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Strangelove
 
Please wait while more information about Strangelove is loaded.
Additional information about Strangelove could not be loaded.
Great, but which version?
Posted 10/31/11
Will it be MGS2/3 Subsistence? Because those added features make a world of difference.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection
EPIC!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/9/11
deadly1
Location: North America
This game is so fun. Just as fun as it used to be, nuff said.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Metal Gear Solid HD Collection
Looking forward to it, however...
Posted on:9/20/11
Nevrix
Location: Ney York
This collecion looks amazing, however the selection of titles that they are including in this collection is throwing me off a little bit. Having MGS 2, 3, and peace walker, together in a collection really doesn't make much sense to me. IMO i think they should boot MGS2 and include Portable ops instead. From a storytelling and chronological standpoint it makes the most sense, and people who don't have psp's will get a chance to play 2 great additions to the MGS series. Plus the 2 psp titles would benefit from being moved to a platform where they'll have the use of a right anolog stick as well.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
4 of 9 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>