GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Silent Hill HD Collection

Silent Hill Re-Mastered Collection combines two classic spine-chilling Silent Hill titles from the past and brings them to the PlayStation 3 and the Xbox 360. Introducing Silent Hill 2 and Silent Hill 3 with enhancements including true high-definition graphics, this offering gives new fans and old fans the opportunity to experience the early era of Silent Hill as a true genre-defining experience with the added value of two games.
Average Customer Rating:
6.643
6.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
10 stars
7
9 stars
7
8 stars
0
7 stars
2
6 stars
3
5 stars
1
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
5
15 out of 2854%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Silent Hill HD Collection
Review 1 for Silent Hill HD Collection
Not worth the money or your time
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:1/20/13
carolinafan18
Location: Clayton, NC
Okay, the Silent Hill series is one of gamings greatest. Silent Hill 2 and 3 are the greatest in the series, BUT the HD collection makes out to be an ugly and bad experience. The sound is alright, it sounds like it should. Character models look alright but the town is ugly. The fog has been drawn back quite a bit and in some cutscenes you can see where the world drops off. The fog also looks ugly. It looks like milk and has a bad texture. At some points it is TO dark. Sometimes you can't see a thing. It's also very laggy and can't keep up during certain points. If you interested in the series play the original Silent Hill 2 and 3.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Silent Hill HD Collection
Butchered classics
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:3/21/12
criscoco124
Location: miami
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This collection is a technical mess, it feels sluggish and has hiccups just like downpour has. The frame rates are nice at times but are completely ruined by the graphical hiccups, this is especially present in Silent Hill 2. Other than the occasional technical issues, the game looks great, although graphical changes were also made for Silent Hill 3 such as the removal of fog and rust in certain parts. Sound on the other hand, is a letdown, they altered some of the music and sound effects which completely killed the nostalgic feel for me. All in all if you're a fan of the originals, I wouldn't recommend this. even if you're just looking for horror games to play, be warned of the technical issues.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Silent Hill HD Collection
Awesome Horror Game Collection!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/3/14
DarkLink7
Location: Neosho, MO
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This collection is a great way for people to replay these horror games in HD upscale or for those who haven't played the originals, to finally play them for less. First thing to remember about this is that it is just an HD upscale to the newer platforms, so essentially they are the same game at their core, though a few new features are added (such as new voices). If you like the old style horror gameplay where you have minimal aiming of firearms and slightly clunky controls you'll like the gameplay which I personally like, it makes it more about survival than combat. If you don't then I wouldn't recommend this collection to you, though they are still good games. The only thing that could have made this better would be to include Silent Hill 4, but due to space constraints and pricing that wasn't possible. All in all, a very nice PS2 Collection in HD.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 4 for Silent Hill HD Collection
To long to remember
Posted on:3/6/12
Uchi1
Location: Levittown, NY
I don't mind that they might have changed the voices of some of the characters or some of the songs. It's been so long, I don't remember the track or the voices. As long as I can play it on PS3 that is enough to keep me happy.
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Silent Hill HD Collection
FINALLY!
Posted on:6/29/11
BlackClaudia
Location: FL
I'm a big fan of the Silent Hill series. It's great to see these two classics from the series come to PS3. And personally, 3 is my favorite that I've played, with 2 right behind it. Since my PS2 is pretty much trashed now, I look forward to getting this. My only small problem is: I wish they would include the 4th game as well. Although it doesn't look nearly as great, it is one of the games of the series I have yet to play. Still, this will be an excellent product for all Silent Hill fans. :)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
xRoguex
 
Please wait while more information about xRoguex is loaded.
Additional information about xRoguex could not be loaded.
Waht about one?
Posted 2/27/12
Seriously they call it a collection but forget to put in one, you think the fans would ahve loved that one.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Silent Hill HD Collection
BLEW ME AWAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/1/12
silenthillfan4ever
Location: Grafton,Ohio
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
People are saying that there are huge frame rate drops but i disagree.I had no trouble what so ever with this game the only problem is the controls and that's because I never played silent hill 2 or 3 on ps2. Overall, this game is amazing I recommend it to any TRUE silent hill fans add me on psn militarywarboy02 (add if you agree with me).
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Silent Hill HD Collection
why?!
Posted on:3/17/12
codyf2212
Location: berkeley
For everyone complaining on the new voice acting. stop! just feel lucky you get another opportunity to play these wonderful games. I for one am buying this because i no longer have the old copies. Ive played them a million times and im glad that something as simple as new voice overs will let me experience a game ive played over and over again in a different light . If you disagree go out and buy the older release of it.
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NickyWhat
USA
 
Please wait while more information about NickyWhat is loaded.
Additional information about NickyWhat could not be loaded.
Posted 2/15/13
Except for the fact that we should be able to play our Ps2 games on Ps3 systems....No excuse other then people saw the opportunity to make extra $. The first wave of Ps3s could play Ps2 discs. When Sony made the bigger versions, people were unable to play ANY ps2 games. We could easily do so before AND with Ps1 games.
Sony turned a profit by re selling Ps1, Ps2 and Ps2 HD games. I don't mind making available for those that missed out, but I ( and many other sony fans) have Ps2 games unable to play them on ps3 and having to switch/unplug to play them. Don't act like it's a godsend that we can't complain, we have every right as consumers to complain.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Silent Hill HD Collection
A Classic...Ruined
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:3/28/12
SerialChiller
I've been a fan of Silent Hill since the first game on PS1 and like most other fans, I was a little nervous when I found out the rights were being sold to Konami America but I tried keeping an open mind. Downpour has been the best attempt so far though there were some technical issues that prevented it from being a 10. When I heard about the HD of 2&3 coming out, I was excited cuz those are the best in my opinion...however, after playing it...I'm VERY disappointed. The new voice acting lacks depth, enthusiasm, emotion and simply just doesn't go with the atmosphere at all. The audio is glitchy when monsters approach and some of the music has been altered which is a slap in the face for original fans. The worst is the glitchiness with the frame rate..it skips, jumps, slows down randomly so much that it's almost unbearable. I love Silent Hill 2 & 3, I'd put both as the top survival horror games of all time but I feel that more work should've been done in these HD remakes before they were released. Until a patch comes out that fixes the bugs, I'll stick with the PS2 versions
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Silent Hill HD Collection
They Better Not Change The Music.
Posted on:6/26/11
emoguy
Location: San Antonio
They Better Not Change The Original Music! The Music Is What Makes Silent Hill "Silent Hill"!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
kiko90
houston, tx
 
Please wait while more information about kiko90 is loaded.
Additional information about kiko90 could not be loaded.
re-make?
Posted 6/30/11
ok silent hill 3 was a pretty good game and also was creepy to me especially when i was in bloody, rusted, dark places. but that was when i was like 13. now that its re done i wonder if itll bring that feeling back? its definetily going to be in my wish list AND in my ps3
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Silent Hill HD Collection
Silent Hill revamped
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/24/12
MattL
Location: New Jersey
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Personally, I like Silent Hill 1-4 the same, each coming off as a great horror game. Silent Hill HD Collection is perfect for new and old fans of the series. It has remastered graphics, new voice acting (which is perfectly fine and does not ruin the two games as a "classic"), and gives that sense of nostalgia when playing through these 2 remakes. It does feel like a new game in a certain sense, but deep down, it's that same game that captured many of our current Silent Hill fans' hearts today. I highly recommend the purchase of this game, and for newcomers who want more, download Silent Hill 4 off PSN for the last of Team Silent's masterpiece series (SH1-4). You will not regret this HD remaster and is a nice set to add to your collection of gaming.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Slycoon6003
Morehead Ky
 
Please wait while more information about Slycoon6003 is loaded.
Additional information about Slycoon6003 could not be loaded.
Wait What?
Posted 3/27/12
do you mean the first silent hill from psn ? or there gona put silent hill 4 on psn id love to see it to be honest
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Silent Hill HD Collection
An abomination by every means of the word.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/8/13
ultimatesacrificer
Location: jamestown,NY
The silent HD collection is the worst HD collection ever released as a video game. From the partially fixed technical issues by the patches released, to the lack of unlockables from the originals,to the changes in voice acting,glitches,texture issues,and numerous other complaints. The point is that the HD collection is abysmal to the original versions in every way. And remember if you play this game,you didn't play silent hill. Just play the originals on PC, or else buy a ps2. But do not by any means purchase this collection. Unless of course you're a huge silent hill fan and would like to see close up comparisons to your superior games, and possibly get some trophies or achievments for your troubles, that is...... if you can withstand the torture of this trainwreck.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 12 for Silent Hill HD Collection
More like SILENT HILL GLITCH COLLECTION
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/24/12
Anonymous
Location: jackson MI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The HD collection is horrible. I was hyped for it at first until i got it. Not good at all. Horrible lags everywhere. They even replaced the good voices with horrible new acting that sounds like a drama class practicing. This is just bad. The graphics and sounds where replaced with "better" ones, but thats not the case. It looks and sounds AND RUNS worse then it did years ago when the original games were releases. My opinion? Dont buy this, and buy the original titles for PS2 or PC instead as this is horrible. AVOID!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Silent Hill HD Collection
SILENT HILL IS AMAZING:)
Posted on:7/29/11
SilentHillPyramidHead666
Location: Flordia
Im going to pre order this collection and downpour today :)CANT WAIT I MISSED PLAYING THESE SO I CAN FINELY DO IT AND HD AND PRE ORDER DOWNPOUR:D
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
EXTRAORDINARYz
 
Please wait while more information about EXTRAORDINARYz is loaded.
Additional information about EXTRAORDINARYz could not be loaded.
Silent Hill HD Collection
Posted 3/19/12
THIS COLLECTION WILL BE CLASSIC IF THEY ADDED SILENT HILL 4 THE ROOM. A TRUE COLLECTION IS THREE GAMES OR MORE NOT TWO,AND LEFT OUT ONE OF THE BEST!!!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for Silent Hill HD Collection
Play these games before the new movie drops...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/30/12
HoneyBadger86
Location: Orange County
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
If you have these two games already for Ps2 I would not recommend getting the HD update. But, if you have never played either of these games before and want two of the Creepiest/Most Disturbing video games ever together for the price of one game then I would recommend going to pick this release up right now! The new voice overs are good SOUND QUALITY wise but they miss the mark in my opinion because they dont sync up as well with the animations of the characters lip movements. The original voice acting worked better during the cut scenes with the animations in this release you get the option to use in Silent Hill 2. They really should have added this option to Silent Hill 3 also but thats my only major complaint. The mood of these games and characters are top notch and I am really happy to get to play through them both again on my ps3!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Silent Hill HD Collection
Slight Hope
Posted on:2/11/12
Tiffyy
Location: NE
WIth SH2 there is rumor that you WILL get the option to go with the orginal voice acting. Now with SH3... They cant get ahold of Heather Morris (the women who did Heather voice) and the guy who did Douglas voice died a longgg time ago. They is still a chance that they can get Heathers voice actor to do it, but the rest of the remastered had to be done for SH3... Which sucks because i heard Heathers new voice in a Preview and it soulds horrible. Even with the changes i still think im am going to get this though.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Silent Hill HD Collection
Needs some more work to actually be a collection
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:11/1/13
Snowlex
Location: New Hope, MN
Silent Hill 2 and 3 were the greatest games of the series. So what did Tomm Hulett, associate producer for Konami do with them? He put them in a collection, of course. But what exactly is missing here? Well, they're both beta game versions since Konami lost the originals, and are plagued with bugs. Silent Hill 1 and 4 are absent as well. Even if people didn't like Silent Hill 4 that much, you would still need to include it in the collection be complete. The first Silent Hill was a PlayStation game, so I can understand the difficulty in porting it. When I played through Silent Hill 3, I noticed the part where you need to mix bleach and the other chemical in the bucket to drive off the bugs wasn't even there. I could examine the fan switch, but this part was gone entirely. The graphics are possibly the only strong point of this. They do look much better than the originals. The soundtrack is the same, yet some actually sound effects in the game are missing. When James walks down the corridor in the apartments after getting the handgun, you're supposed to hear a scream. But you don't hear it in the HD version. The new voices aren't that great either. It sounds like all the voice actors gargled nails and drank acid before doing the role. The only new voice I liked was Troy Baker for James. The gameplay is similar to the originals, except you can actually move the camera this time. This means a lot of things that the original developers didn't want you seeing- they're visible now. Some of the fog was removed as well in cutscenes, and you can see where the game world ends in one of them. The game does, however, to some extent, manage to capture the feel of the original games. This is not the best form of which to experience these games, so I recommend picking up the originals (if you can find them) and playing them through before going with this one, if you still want to by that time.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 17 for Silent Hill HD Collection
Hope you like slow motion!
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:4/16/12
Ilikeyams
Location: Narnia, NJ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
As with every Silent Hill title, this one has clunky controls, frustrating combat and major graphics issues. However, the puzzles, atmosphere and beautiful HD refresh almost make up for it. A redesign with an over-the-shoulder control scheme would have been nice, as the cinematic scheme is now dated. But, this port was certainly better than nothing!
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Silent Hill HD Collection
pleasently surprised
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/26/12
alskdfslkd
Location: chicago
I started playing games when PS 3 came out, so I was first introduced to SH homecoming. Let me just say this... I broke my controller - not joking, during the first boss fight after retrtying the fight for maybe 15 times I lost it. Well, I had a bad taste for SH after playing homecoming, but when Downpour came out I went and rented it, I beat the game and liked it. I thought I give it a try going back to SH 2 & 3 especialy that it came out on one disc as a HD collection. These two games are really good. The graphisc are very impressive. Well done, well done... I love the environment, scary, disturbing , creepy the stories in both games are interesting, keep you guessing. I just have one little complaint, I don't know if the developers didn't know how or they just wanted to make those games back then, what I mean is the camera angles and how it switches from looking back and goes back to looking at the character from the front, it happens so fast sometimes that I got disoriented and went back to where I came from, it was frustrating a little sometimes. Maybe I'm just not used to playing games like that because like I said earlier I just started playing games after PS 3 came out. If you like horror games I recommend it, two horror classics in HD on one disc for $ 40 - not bad. I got 22 hours of gameplay for both.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Silent Hill HD Collection
Amazing Survival Horror Games in HD
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/31/12
Knight1114
Location: San Antonio, TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
First off, I would like to say this is the first Silent Hill game I played. I have the original Silent Hill on the PS1 but I haven't played it..... yet. Most of the issues that the HD Collection had have been patched and now it's a must buy for those Silent Hill or horror fans. I played SH2 from the collection first and beat it. Silent Hill 2 has amazing atmosphere which got to me, terrifying monsters such as Pyramid Head, and a great story, which I haven't seen in a game since Metal Gear Solid 3. For those "newer" gamers, you may not like this. The controls are clunky and the camera is. rather awkward. It's not an action game like most games nowadays. i haven't played much of Silent Hill 3, but I can only assume it will be just as amazing as 2, if not better. However I intend to beat Silent Hill 1 first, since 3 is a sequel to the first one. I honestly cannot describe how much I love this collection. Silent Hill 2 is by far the best horror game I have played and I look foward to playing 1, 3, and Downpour. If you're a horror fan, pick this up. If you're new to the series, this is a great way to get started. You don't need to know the story from SH1 to understand the story in SH2, but it helps when you're playing SH3.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for Silent Hill HD Collection
The ORIGINAL Voice acting will be included
Posted on:2/23/12
InfestedOreo
Location: Austin, TX
So that means don't worry about, the original voices and stuff has been guaranteed to be in there. No WORRIES!! =)
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>