GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Birds of Steel

Get ready to strap in, go back in time and take stick in the most pivotal battles in the history of air combat. Birds of Steel puts you right in the crosshairs of WWII's most intense skirmishes. This original IP blends next gen supremacy and the fine details of aerial combat into a historical recreation fit for flight sim fans and history buffs alike. Use your skills to pilot the top planes from all combatants in WWII to recreate history or to change the outcomes of the most prolific battles in history. Online and offline elements add an entire new element to the game which will ensure Birds of Steel remains a fresh combat experience long after you've played for the first time.
Average Customer Rating:
9.4
9.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
10 stars
4
9 stars
6
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Birds of Steel
Review 1 for Birds of Steel
COOL,COOL
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/3/12
nickolodoen
Location: new york ny
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
ALL MY LIFE I WAS LOOKING FOR A A FLYIN G GAME AND THUS WHERE MY JOURNEY ENDS,THIS GAME IS ACTUALLY A LEARNING EXPERIENCE FOR PAST TIMES. COOL A NICE LEARNING EXPERIENCE AND DISTRUCTION
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 2 for Birds of Steel
I feel like Erich Bubi Hartmann
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/15/12
BlackDevil1945
Location: Ohio, U.S.A
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is BY FAR the best game I own and I have some good ones. This puts all other aerial combat games to shame. The graphics are superb, sound is great and attention to detail is amazing.
This game puts you right in the pilots seat and is as close to the real thing as 99% of us will ever get. There are over 100 different planes to choose from. From the various versions of Me109's, Spitfires, Zero's, YAK's and Mustangs to the B17 & B24 Flying Fortress. Plus tons more. For $40 this game is a steal and I don't see how anyone could be disappointed if you really appreciate the nostalgia of the old birds.
Get this game, NOW!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Birds of Steel
Incredible fun
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/3/12
Shikashu
Location: CO
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
All around an amazing flight game
-TONS of planes, most feel different from another, bi-planes, hydroplanes, heavy bombers, dive bombers, etc
-great multiplayer, decently active with fun game modes and a good level system
-offline campaign is a tad short but has amazing historical accuracy told in great clips before major battles, and in depth details of the battles quotes from actual combatants
-great decal system, famous squadron insignias, American pinup girls, one-liners like 'slow but sure' to customize your plane
-great trophies/achievements if you care about them, decently easy and very enjoyable
-co-op online, and a mission editor offline if you feel like doing a very specific mission
-soundtrack is good, nothing too great
-simulation is top-notch, engine problems will occur, flaps control, spins, realistic landings, etc.
-exceeds expectations graphics-wise, beautiful planes and environments with a great attention to detail in and outside the aircrafts
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Birds of Steel
AMAZING!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/28/12
dustgrinder
Location: LA County, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is the Gran Turismo of flying games. Not only does it have two campaigns, but it also has trophies, twenty or more single missions, dynamic missions, make your own missions, online (at least three game modes), and over 100 planes ranging from the catalina sea plane to the B-17 bomber to the P-38!!!!!!!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Birds of Steel
If you like WW2 air combat this is your game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/31/12
matix
Location: pa
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is a fantastic simulation. Great controls, graphics, tons of options. If you are a fan of the genre this is the console game you have been waiting for! Highly recommended!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Birds of Steel
The best WWII Flight Simulator to date
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/28/12
StumpedOnALog
Location: Greenville, TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game has taken the PS3 to the next level and shows what this system is capable of with the right innovators with great attention to detail. Graphics are beautiful, making you feel like your right there experiencing it hands on. Storyline is astonishing with amazing history and historical missions. Gameplay is spot on letting the user be a youngster or a retired war veteran picking up a controller and going to town. Wireless Controller is easily handible but for a real experience plugging in a Flight Stick puts you right in the cockpit with an option menu allowing for over 10 compatible joysticks. I am currently using a Thrustmaster T-Flight Hotas X Flight Stick sold online for $50 that is perfect and smooth but I'm sure most compatible flight sticks will be just as good. The Online gameplay is ridiculous where you can join quick 4 player missions, head to head, 16 player battles and many others including dynamic missions where you can work on completing missions with partner online. The fact that you have 100 authentic planes makes this game just even more jaw dropping with obviously some planes being more ideal than others. During dogfights there are times when you may clip your wing with another plane and next thing you are spinning down and crashing into a building that explodes upon impact... So Real! The Replay is breathtaking being able to change to what seems a limitless amount of views and feeling like your watching a movie. This game does not disappoint for one second. The amount of work that was put into a game that has a lesser fan base is just insane. I give the developers mad props and know even thought it may have been released under the radar it will soon pick up popularity through word of mouth. So if hanging on the fence on purchasing this one do yourself a favor and purchase it, you won't look back even if like myself and not your normal genre you will find this disc always being left inside your PS3 when powered on.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Il 2 Sturmovik 1946
9 out of 10(1)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Birds of Steel
very well rounded
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/24/12
zodicus
Location: rock falls IL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
If you like planes and the WW2 era don't pass this game up. I played IL2: forgotten battles for a long time on PC and this game feels like it shares a lot of its DNA with that game. As it should 1C maddox helped make it. It has every plane worth talking about from WW2. The graphics are fantastic, theres a ton of detail every wear from the cockpits and planes all the way down to the ground. It starts off a little slow but the first time you fly in to flak to attack a freighter is heart pounding. Dont think its just for the hard core either with the difficulty settings you can make the plane easy to fly if you want to, or when in simulation mode experiance the best flight model to ever grace a console. For the hard core there are tons and tons of controlls you can map to whatever buttons you want, its all there. Fule mix prop pitch flaps dive brakes you name it. I havent played it on simplifyed much almost all my time has been on realistic but if you think simplifyed will make every mission easy think again.The missions are not overly hard you just have to play smart. I cant say enuf about this game as i love the WW2 era planes. But even if you just want a fun action game give it a look it has a lot to offer.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Birds of Steel
Great flight game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/21/12
straybullet2506
Location: Saint Louis
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game takes a little while to get into but once you do its a lot of fun. It has many different settings for wide variety of difficulty levels. I've tried all three and the simplified setting is similar to some of the older ace combat games. This game has good graphics, a wide variety of planes and missions. I wish you could pick different planes for the various single player missions but you only have one option. Earning money for the various planes is also a challenge. Great game for $40.00 glad I picked it up. If your a flight sim fan or ww2 fan you will have your hands full for a long time. Not an arcade flight game and i'm glad it's not.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Birds of Steel
Great game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/20/12
jrahe19
Location: hanover, pa
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I bought this game for my son and it is great. I love it just has much as he does. There are over a 100 different historically accurate planes from 5 different nations. The online play is a lot of fun. Graphics are good, controls are very easy on simplified mode. All in all this is a really fun game that doesn't cost $60. I'd reccomend it to anyone who likes flight sims, wwII, or any good online game.
 
My Product Recommendations
World of Tanks with Bonus DLC
7.6 out of 10(24)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 10 for Birds of Steel
Best Flight Game so far on PS3
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/16/12
riverfr0zen
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
As a fan of IL 2 Sturmovik, I was really looking forward to this, and it certainly does not disappoint. If you're into flight sims, and want one for the PS3, this is it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Birds of Steel
High Expectations!!!!!!
Posted on:2/24/12
PortaltoPortal
Location: Los Angeles,CA
The trailer looks EPIC!!! It looks similar to IL 2 Sturmovik though. Anyways, I have high hopes for this game! Best graphics that I have ever seen!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
riverfr0zen
 
Please wait while more information about riverfr0zen is loaded.
Additional information about riverfr0zen could not be loaded.
Made by the same guys
Posted 3/16/12
The game is made by the same guys (Gaijin Software) who made IL 2, that's why it looks similar.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Birds of Steel
This game looks sweet!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted on:7/25/11
tdjrmichgamer34
Location: Michigan
From what i saw in the trailer it kinda reminds me of IL2 Sturmoviks birds of prey based on graphics and basic gameplay. It has the pacific setting of heroes of the pacific but the ships and planes look more realistic. This game will be cool to play!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Birds of Steel
yaaay!!!!!!
Posted on:7/23/11
TANGOup
Location: atlantis
its been a while since theres been a decent ww2 plane game
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 4 found this review helpful.