GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Neverdead

Over 500 years have passed since a mortal named Bryce Boltzmann endured a life-altering tragedy at the hands of Astaroth, the Demon King. His wife murdered, left defeated and rendered immortal, he now moves through life without aspirations other than where he will find his next drink. Lending a hand to the clandestine group, theNational Anti-Demon Agency(NADA), he pursues redemption through the extermination of demonic forces within the modern day world along with his agency partner, Arcadia.NeverDead is a third person action/shooter offering a radically new game experience within the genre based on decapitation and regeneration. Lose any limb and still have the ability to endure the fight as death has already passed you by...
Average Customer Rating:
7
7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
10 stars
1
9 stars
3
8 stars
2
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
5 out of 862%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Neverdead
Review 1 for Neverdead
Underrated gem in the world of the mainstream...
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/4/12
hatchels22
Location: Junction City, KS
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Ok, this game is a classic "Splatterhouse" type game. Not in the terms of gameplay, but reputation. I had been hyped to play this game since i first saw it announced. I mean who wouldn't want to play a game where the main hero NEVER DIES! But the thing is the game is executed in a way that too many gamers are expecting the next game to be prefectly programmed and produced with near Final Fantasy esque playability, that it is shunned for not being a perfect game. The main hero in this game is Bryce, a demon hunter who lost his life, but gained immortality to forever battle demons and save the world from evil. His gimmick is that he can become a pile of limbs and body parts, and then instantly come back together and walk around as if nothing ever happened. This plays into the puzzles that are tossed into the levels, which many of them are very clever, such as platforming with your severed head, just to get into a vent shaft to open a door. The combat is where a lot of people have griped about the game. There is no auto aim from the start, which everyone hates, but you really don't need it. As long as your reticle is over the target they will be hit, and if your arm has been torn off, you can still shoot with it, adding some tactics to the game as well. You also have a sword, which is like a giant butterfly knife, which is swung with the right stick, and is a ton of fun to use. Now we come to the grapihcs,,, For the most part, they are very good, but the walking animations with Bryce are stiff, which may be an asthetic choice made by the developers, to accompany the fact that his body has been ripped apart and put back together so many times, that it actually had some long lasting effects. Other than that, the landscapes and maps are very well done, and the environment is highly destructable, which can be used to your advantage in combat. The sound is nothing too special. Lots of fleshy, squishy sounds over some generic metal music (save for Megadeth's Never Dead), and some body related puns being tossed around by Bryce (the voice acting is pretty good in the game too), and it all adds up for a good time. Now finally, the controls. People have HATED the controls in this game, but I think they are just fine. The jumping is a little tricky at times, but you can easily switch weapons, buy upgrades, and fire/swing with ease. So I have no gripes here. All in all, this is a good game, being outshined by Soul Calibur V, Final Fantasy XIII-2, and other games over the horizon, but this is one you should at least TRY. I hesitated buying this one at first, but I am glad I did. I give it 8/10
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Neverdead
AWESOME!
Posted on:7/25/11
gamer202
Location: houston,texas
Never Dead looks fantastic and to make it even better megadeth played a song on one of their never dead trailer!
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Neverdead
Better Than Expected
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/8/12
Chinyaka369
Location: Indiana, PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Originally when I heard about this game I though it was just going to be just a goofy game and not very good. The story was pretty interesting, the gameplay could have been improved, but the combat was enjoyable, and the music was phenomenal! All in all, if you are looking for a game with a good mix of humor and action, this is your game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Neverdead
HILARIOUS!!!
Posted on:10/16/11
dmbfan1
This game looks like its gonna make you laugh out loud because its so awesome i mean you can rip your own arm of and beat demons with it COME ON!thats freakin awesome and hilarious!I cant wait for it its a must buy.
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Dedncide
covington, ga
 
Please wait while more information about Dedncide is loaded.
Additional information about Dedncide could not be loaded.
Awesomeness!!!
Posted 1/26/12
I've been following Neverdead since its announcement way back, and I am excited! This game looks to be a macabre blast for action game lovers with a sense of humor, shadows of the damned was groundbreaking in that sense and i think this will also be a great edition to a nearly dry pool of games for gamers wanting action but not exactly gears of war... all my buds are getting final fantasy xii-2 on the 31st but for me its all about Neverdead.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Neverdead
This game deserves better then these low ballers!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/26/12
frenzy1
Location: Ohio, Oh
I feel bad for this game. It is a really good game. Sure it seems repetitive, but what do you expect out of a game that is meant to be beaten and enjoy doing so. The story line is great, the graphics fantastic. Also this game has a great feel to it when you play it. Is this game a perfect 10 no its not. But I think it deserves at least a 8 and a 9 at the highest. These guy really did try to make a unique game and they did. They deserve respect!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Neverdead
A solid action game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/11/12
Redgraves
Picked up Neverdead after seeing some video for it on youtube and I don't regret it at all. Solid story and characters a bit cliche but thats not always a bad thing. The gun play/sword fighting flow really well and I was surprised how well getting your limbs back worked. All around a good game that plays in a similar style to games like DMC and God of War.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Neverdead
AMAZING
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/18/12
Failed
Location: Land O Lakes, FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is amazing and stands out from the crowd. It's no CoD, and that's what brought me in. I love the whole decapitation thing that they added, they should use it more often. Overall, 10 outta 10, don't listen to all the low ballers!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Neverdead
killed by people who play shooters only
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/9/12
sunnycali
Location: ElkGrove,CA
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This game is not good. Not the best. But not bad.It is quite fun. I feel like people just could not adapt to the controls. 8 in a half out of 10
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Neverdead
Bummed Out:(
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:2/1/12
Anonymous
I was so looking forward to this game as it kinda looked like Shadows of the Damned which was amazing and the fact that the Neverdeads soundtrack was awesome was a big selling point as well but alas I now regret purchasing this game. The controls are absolutely horrible! I play all types of games so im used to different control schemes but this was ridiculous. My biggest gripe is against the dismemberment, the idea is awesome but is poorly executed in this game. Just one hit from a demon and you lose a limb and cant attack and have to chase after your limb, very repetitive. There is no lock on for your guns but there is for your sword! What madness is this! Very disappointed:(
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
1 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Neverdead
Konami... Why?!?!?!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:2/5/12
Dedncide
Location: covington, ga
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I was so hyped for this game when it was announced, thats all positive i can say about the game. I love obscure games like shadows of the damned and suda51 titles so i thought this would be a fun ride.... WRONG. Broken gameplay just doesnt say it. There isnt a word in human communication that can stress enough how bad you will want to punch your own face if you pay more than 0.01 for this game. Even if this game is game is given to you freely you should immediatly trash it and sanitize the areas of your skin that were exposed to it. BEWARE. Do not believe people who bought it and could not return it saying its playable, they are dead wrong in their lying faces. BEWARE AGAIN.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Neverdead
Just Amazing ::)
Posted on:7/17/11
UndeadDragonX
I Feel Like I Am Going To Love This Game Already I Recommend Everyone Go Get This Title
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
auzz99
saxton,pa
 
Please wait while more information about auzz99 is loaded.
Additional information about auzz99 could not be loaded.
loved it
Posted 6/3/12
i loved how this game the movment and everthing but i dont like how it dosent explain anthing
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Neverdead
First
Posted on:7/15/11
kingofthegamers
This game looks great I hope it is as great as I think it is.
0 of 6 found this review helpful.