GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at GameStop.

Oblivion GotY

The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion® Game of the Year Edition presents one of the best RPGs of all time like never before. Step inside the most richly detailed and vibrant game-world ever created. With a powerful combination of freeform gameplay and unprecedented graphics, you can unravel the main quest at your own pace or explore the vast world and find your own challenges.
Average Customer Rating:
9.5
9.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
10 stars
11
9 stars
1
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 1486%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Oblivion GotY
Review 1 for Oblivion GotY
Awesome!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/9/11
Koolman99
Location: Texas
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Get this game cause it is so awesome its like living another life in another world you can even make your own class!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Oblivion GotY
Oblivion for PC is awesome.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/3/11
Bobbinson
Location: Somewhere
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Okay, so take all of the main game and expansions, and you got a 10/10... But when you add some mods, the game NEVER ENDS... You can fight zombies one day (26 days and a bit), BUILD YOU OWN evil lair, city, house, race, weapon, and/or armor all with the Elder Scrolls Construction Set, and eventually rule the entire province of Cyrodille! With an immense and powerful modding community, you can download dragon-flying mounts, pak-dinos to carry your items, thousands of new monsters, rebuild the Lost city of Kvatch, and best of all... new quests! And that is why you should download The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion, and soon V: Skyrim!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
10 of 12 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
WantingToMod
Cyrodill
 
Please wait while more information about WantingToMod is loaded.
Additional information about WantingToMod could not be loaded.
Can i mod with this Download?
Posted 10/2/11
Can i mod with the download? that's the main reason i'm considering it...PLEASE GET BACK TO ME VERY SOON
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for Oblivion GotY
Stunning Graphics, Excellent Storyline
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/1/12
anonymousabyss
Location: Seattle, WA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is exceptional and plays well for casual as well as, hard core gamers. The game have stunning graphics with a rich story line. Hardcore gamers that like to use their mind to break away from the mundane, will find this an awesome respite from the traditional shooter. Casual gamers will enjoy the combination of action and adventure in this non-linear role-playing game. Many thanks to Bethesda for keeping role-playing alive and taking it to the next level in gaming.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Oblivion GotY
Amazingly Breathtaking
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/24/11
firemonke103
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Considering this game came out in 2006, the graphics are breathtaking and beautiful. There is alot of detail that must have been ground breaking back then, and can be compared with games of today. The main storyline is woven together perfectly, making you believe like your actually in the game. The class system has alot of detail and diversity, and im glad that your not restricted as you are in other RPGs. This game is the most addicting game ive ever played and the first one i havent gotten bored with within two weeks. My only regret is the closing of all the oblivion gates at the end of the main quest. Without the oblivion gates to find and close, i felt as if half of the fun was taken out. However there is still a multitude of quests to complete. I especially liked the Knights of the Nine expansion. Overall this game is perfect for any RPG fan and a must have.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 5 for Oblivion GotY
Loved It
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/24/12
Frozo
Location: Puyallup, WA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The game was a nice change from some of the other games I've played and I could recomend this to almost anyone into RPGs. The quality wasn't bad but not perfect. Sound was a little out of wack for me for some reason. I could play this for hours and not get bored. I really liked the game play for this as well. If you love RPGs and Hardcore this is for you.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Oblivion GotY
I used to hate
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/3/11
CalJ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I tried Morrowind and I didn't like it. I actually hated it. I promised myself that I would never play another Elder Scrolls game. Then my girlfriend was saying that Oblivion was her favorite game. I was over at her house one day and i watched her play it and i decided to give it a chance. Once i started playing i couldn't stop! I beat it and I continued to screw around and then my laptop crashed and she took it back :(.... But this game is soooo epic! I love it! I would highly recommend it for players who want to play the game but also roam around and mess around.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Oblivion GotY
My favorite RPG of all time.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/17/12
Drakov
Location: Houma Louisiana
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I began playing this game back in 2008 and the first thing to strike me was the beautiful open world environment. While some might say the graphics are lacking by today's standards, it was amazing for it's time and still amazes me due to the game's high amount of content. The foliage looks great and there are deer that roam through the forests. The cities are beautiful aswell from the stone brick buildings of the Imperial City, to the Wooden shacks of Bravil, they all look great. The character creation is a bit frustrating because all of the faces tend to come out looking quite ugly, but it's not that big of a deal. Just pop a helmet on that sucker and problem solved! But other than the faces the character creation is great, whether you choose to be a tall, muscular Nord warrior, or a cute little Wood Elf scout, and all kinds of other combinations. Quests are a big part of this game and the department in which it really delivers unlike any other game I've played. There are so many quests to be found in Oblivion that each time I started a new file, I always found a variety of quests I hadn't seen in previous playthroughs. As far as the music goes, all I can say is wow...This game has one of the best original soundtracks I've ever heard. Although, I feel that the music that plays when you encounter enemies is a bit unexciting, but it's not bad. Voice acting is good, but there is a limited number of voice actors, and with so many NPCs roaming the world each with their own unique dialogue, the voices can get a bit repetitive, but you will grow to love them. All forms of combat are present in Oblivion, from melee weapons such as battle axes and long swords, bows for ranged weapons, and a ton of spells for magic users. Combat is fun and simple, it's not very advanced but it works. As for any downsides to this game I can only think of one. The character animations are a bit off, the movement looks odd at times and the jumping looks ridiculous in third person view, which I prefer to first person, but it's not really that big of an issue considering that the rest of the game is so perfect. I played this game on the Xbox 360 from 2008 until November of 2011, when I traded it in for a little extra cash for Skyrim, while I do like Skyrim to a certain extent, Oblivion is just so much better in my opinion, Skyrim just doesn't have that same epic feeling to it that Oblivion has. I am now planning to re-purchase Oblivion for the PC and relive the epic adventure in Cyrodil all over again. If you're a fan of RPGs, or just free roam games in general, give this game a try.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Fable - The Lost Chapters
9.7 out of 10(14)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Oblivion GotY
very good
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/9/12
elderscrollsboss
Location: sydney austrailia
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I love this game it is amazing good scenery nice armor and wepons and lots of places to explore the game is pretty big plus you can explore the oblivion world.in my opinion if you like morrowind or skyrim ur gonna like this one in order it goes morrowind oblivion and then skyrim.WARNING!!!!!!!!!! if you love call of duty or are a person who loves constant explosions and intense gunplay dont get this game. this is a more calm roleplaing and stratigy game.i would give this game a 10 out of 10.to get a good idea ive played this game since 2010 and its 2012 and its still fun so get it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Oblivion GotY
Better than Skyrim
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/25/13
zufelt69
Location: boulder,mt
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is awesome it is a free roaming game with unlimited possibilities. I suggest that all gamers play this.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Oblivion GotY
Doesn't hold up to modern games.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:7/26/12
ad11397
I really tried to like this game, i really did. This may have been a classic game at one point when the next-gen games started coming out but now it doesn't hold up for many reasons. The graphics are terrible and the melee combat system is just atrocious. Overall, I didn't enjoy this game but I can understand people who did because they played this game when it originally came out. Right now, though, I would recommend Fallout: New Vegas or Skyrim.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 24 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Oblivion GotY
I had much fun playing on my xbox with no mods
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/19/13
JGamer2228
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I can't wait to play it on my PC where I can play with mods installed. I loved it on my Xbox 360 so with mods I'll definitely love it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Oblivion GotY
An entertaining game with some inhibiting bugs.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/9/11
Scentedwiind
Location: Rahway, New JErsey
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I have enjoyed the elder scrolls since Morrowind and was extremely excited to play Oblivion but once I played it for a while it lost its luster. The game is by no means bad and is more fun when you pick it up a few months later but is nothing compared to previous elder scrolls titles.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 13 for Oblivion GotY
Oblivion is a fun game for any computer
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/19/12
Sauceman09
Location: NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
You can play this game on almost any computer, i have 1 gb of ram and it still runs quite smoothly. The mods for this game are also great, you can get a mod for anything! I really suggest this to anyone whos played skyrim or morrowind.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Oblivion GotY
One of the best games of all time. Nuff said.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/11/13
NitroGamer56
Location: Albuquerque, NM
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I was never a fan of the elder scrolls. I saw this game decided to buy it. Amazing. Get it now please!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10