GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

HD-PVR: Model 1212

Compatible with PlayStation 3, Xbox 360, and PC. What can HD PVR do? It can record high definition or regular TV from your game console, satellite or cable TV receiver onto a PC disk drive in a compressed H.264 format. Once TV programs or gameplay are recorded, you can play them back onto your PC screen or burn them on a DVD disk or Blu-ray DVD player for playback.
Average Customer Rating:
9.778
9.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
10 stars
7
9 stars
2
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HD-PVR: Model 1212
Review 1 for HD-PVR: Model 1212
sick video
Posted on:8/15/11
willyo
Location: LeClaire, IA
i have one of these and love it. buy nothing else but this dazzel isnt very good. i made more then video with this. i recommend i 2t or 1t hard drive cause a cod match is almost a 1g of memory.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
12 of 16 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
gamemastr12
 
Please wait while more information about gamemastr12 is loaded.
Additional information about gamemastr12 could not be loaded.
Posted 9/4/11
love the song what is it?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for HD-PVR: Model 1212
Awesome for recording xbox 360/ps3!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/7/12
Nate1231234
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
If you are looking to post gameplay to youtube, then the HDPVR is your best bet, it had the best quality and has not failed on me yet. Check out my video and you can see the quality for yourself.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HD-PVR: Model 1212
Great for anyone
Posted on:8/7/11
Donald
Location: New Jersey
i bought mine for my birthday and its great. if your trying to get big on youtube or just wanna record your xbox or ps3 this is for you. with hd quality it out preforms any other device on the market.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
my quality from my hdpvr
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HD-PVR: Model 1212
Must Have Experience And Patient's Protect I't
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/13/12
hdpvart
Location: paradice
Age: Over 65
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is 1 of TheBest and i've had it for awhile and i like it no problems @ all other than install .
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Quality Test Of My HDPVR (1212)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HD-PVR: Model 1212
Buy This
Posted on:8/3/11
chandler515
Location: Waterloo, Iowa
i am going to buy this i have a dazzle but i wanted to wait till They Came Local If Your Wondering If To Buy This Or Not Buy If Your Actually going to use it because 200 Dollars isnt cheap and you need editing software thats also not cheap
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
this is my dazzle with Sony Vegas 10 this is almost pvr Quality
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
DoubtxIllusions
New Jersey
 
Please wait while more information about DoubtxIllusions is loaded.
Additional information about DoubtxIllusions could not be loaded.
Where do they sell it
Posted 12/28/11
Where do they sell it in stores i don't see it at Gamestop and i really really really want it so if you know where they sell it or in what Gamestop's in New Jersey they sell it in tell me please
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for HD-PVR: Model 1212
The Best Option Out There
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/1/11
Blair42
Location: PA
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
At $199.99 it's worth every penny. I paid more but have been using this brand for years. I would advise anyone wanting to buy one to go on You Tube and watch the tutorials there are a ton of them but will save you a lot of headaches. I am hoping the next model is HDMI the composit cables work well. However if you want to record your voice say on XBL or on PSN splitting the audio source is a pain and sounds poor. Fairly easy to set-up depending on the model you get some require a driver update and the updated ones are not on the disc. If you set it to 720 it's going to save HD space also Pinnicle works great as well as Sony's Studio. The software included is okay but lacks things you'll need later. Quality piece of hardware never had any issues. The TV Blaster I never touched and chances are you won't either. Bottom line there is nothing else out there right now that works as well as the Hauppage. Unless you want to spend a few thousand dollars. Perfect for You Tube, Websites and backing up personal media weddings, graduations etc. The only other thing you'll want to buy is a longer USB with Femal FireWire 25 ft is what I have. They include 1 in the box but it's short. The only reason for not giving it all 10's is the lack of HDMI.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
6 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
beewaa10
 
Please wait while more information about beewaa10 is loaded.
Additional information about beewaa10 could not be loaded.
What about SD TV?
Posted 6/15/13
Can this device work on a Standard Definition TV? to record gameplay?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for HD-PVR: Model 1212
Amazing For Windows, Not Mac
Posted on:8/1/11
tehMudkip
Location: NY
I have Both A Windows Desktop and a Mac Desktop. This Was a Great Thing to buy for especially because i love to Record all of my Cod,Halo,and Even Minecraft Footage. It also works Amazing With Sony Vegas 10.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HD-PVR: Model 1212
HD PVR
Posted on:7/24/11
NeozClaymore
Location: fort wayne indiana
It is okay but the problem is the only software that I have found that works is sony Vegas and for the mac users that's what you get when you buy a mac that isn't good for anything but editing and then you complain.
if you are using a ps3 you need to buy an additional wire which will allow you to use it and it will cost you 30 bucks. If your an Xbox user just use red white and then red blue and green wires and your all set in the back of the system so its an OK device but for 200 isn't worth it.
8 of 14 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
heyyooverhereDuuuuude
My house
 
Please wait while more information about heyyooverhereDuuuuude is loaded.
Additional information about heyyooverhereDuuuuude could not be loaded.
Reponse
Posted 7/31/11
That is not true. There is a program for MAC named Elegato EyeTV. Don't blame that on your MAC. If you really want to record in HD then this would be the correct device to use
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for HD-PVR: Model 1212
Sick video and recording!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/30/11
N3w8Tewber
Location: Chicago, IL
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this for commentating on youtube and I got better than what I expected! It can also record television which I love. I already made a couple of videos also.... But I suggest finding a different recording software for it, it is really complicated to use. I also have it on all the time and I never unhook it (Because it is a pain in the butt to hook up). It dosen't lag like the Roxio Game Capture. I would save the extra 100 dollars to get this compared to the dazzle and the Roxio... It is sooo worth it for getting it!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HD-PVR: Model 1212
NICE
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/16/12
GatesVideoGames
Location: New York,NY
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Months ago, I decided to start a YouTube channel full of montages, gameplays, live commentaries and more. So I chose this capture card to record my gameplay. Everything was just how I expected, recorded great, uploaded great. The only flaw is that my PC, PS3, and HD-PVR all has to be connected together. So, I found another product that is as good as the HD-PVR. You don't need a PC to record and its only 150 dollars. So I gave my HD-PVR to my brother and I got a different one. But I totally recommend this one. Add me on PSN, its GatesVideoGames.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HD-PVR: Model 1212
Can't wait
Posted on:7/5/11
EternalHatred
Location: whitter
i need a new pvr bad and this one looks perfect...
5 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
FirstTimeKilla
Fort Wayne, IN
 
Please wait while more information about FirstTimeKilla is loaded.
Additional information about FirstTimeKilla could not be loaded.
Great Product
Posted 7/15/11
I have this PVR and it is in every way great. Everybody should own one IMO
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for HD-PVR: Model 1212
GREAT
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/21/11
xMONSTER
Location: NY
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
if you wanna record,buy this. it beats the dazzle and roxio
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HD-PVR: Model 1212
Best for PS3 and PC Users...
Posted on:8/21/11
xiikalanz3
Location: Bayamon,PR
Super awesome High Definition,on both PC and PS3 but,is also good for Mac Users,not many people know how to use it on Mac but if you look it up you will fine a program im sure.
Highly recommended if you're thinking of starting a Youtube Channel commentating and montages.
For all Intermediate and Advance commentators or recorders once you have yourself a good.Start off on Youtube!
5 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HD-PVR: Model 1212
Im a Mac
Posted on:7/8/11
RacerX5034
Location: the next page
I have Final Cut Pro.
This is not helping me.
Why don't people make stuff for the Mac using Editors out there.
All this is going to do is fuel the over saturated market of noobs who use windows movie maker.
19 of 89 found this review helpful.
Comments (9)
Comments (9)
Customer Avatar
Syphonetix
Burleson, TX
 
Please wait while more information about Syphonetix is loaded.
Additional information about Syphonetix could not be loaded.
LMAO
Posted 8/27/11
Dude upgrade to a PC and you wouldn't have this problem. Mac's suck. They're not for gaming or anything near that.
Customer Avatar
Jmal05ps3
NJ
 
Please wait while more information about Jmal05ps3 is loaded.
Additional information about Jmal05ps3 could not be loaded.
For Mac Users
Posted 8/18/11
I'm not sure if imovie works for this but a good replacement is eyetv. it cost around 80 but its worth it. And if this is for being a commentator you could just become a part of machinimia and you could make money off of that.
Customer Avatar
EcHoHeckTiiicz
 
Please wait while more information about EcHoHeckTiiicz is loaded.
Additional information about EcHoHeckTiiicz could not be loaded.
I have mac too
Posted 8/2/11
get eyeTV because you dont have to be recording the whole time u just need the PVR plugged into ur computer the whole time. it deffanitly saves memory on ur computer. and macs are the best. and my school has them too liar who ever posted that lol
Customer Avatar
sonarghost
 
Please wait while more information about sonarghost is loaded.
Additional information about sonarghost could not be loaded.
Use HDPVR capture for the mac
Posted 7/26/11
I have used this software for the past year to record lots of xbox and ps3 matches using the HDPVR and my mac. The software works great.
Customer Avatar
Ruzzzmasta
burien
 
Please wait while more information about Ruzzzmasta is loaded.
Additional information about Ruzzzmasta could not be loaded.
WOW really its obvious why
Posted 7/20/11
OKay really first off not everyone and their grandmas have a MAC. One because were not all rich and two we dont all want to edit stuff because thats all MACs are good for, editing. Its the gaming world we all want PC's because they are affordable and thats why people make things for PC's because everyone and their grandmas do have a PC, because they are cheap. Who makes the majority of MAC products and accessories? Apple does because they are the only ones who can afford to make things for their own equipment.
Customer Avatar
JonDawg50
Cocoa, FL
 
Please wait while more information about JonDawg50 is loaded.
Additional information about JonDawg50 could not be loaded.
I'm a PC
Posted 7/20/11
"Why don't people make stuff for the Mac using Editors out there." Why make software/hardware for an OS with 7% market share, that is why there are no viruses on Macs, one could make a virus for Apple's OS, But it would be a waste of time. Windows on the other hand has over 85% market share. The smart person would make programs for Windows. Apple does have some loyal fans, but that's all they got. Windows PCs are in schools, businesses, and everything in between. Look at it this way, no iPod no Apple, the iPod saved Apple, NOT PC sales, Zune HD fails, Microsoft says "oh well we sell enough of Windows PCs"
Customer Avatar
Switch00599
 
Please wait while more information about Switch00599 is loaded.
Additional information about Switch00599 could not be loaded.
Posted 7/17/11
If your a mac dont buy it ..but it does not mean you cannot capture your games there are programs within the mac that you can use to capture gameplay too .. all you need is a hd/mac cable to connect it to the tv and screen record etc..
Customer Avatar
omgamerrr123
henderson, nv
 
Please wait while more information about omgamerrr123 is loaded.
Additional information about omgamerrr123 could not be loaded.
Theres a work around
Posted 7/16/11
download eyetv for mac and lets you use the hd pvr on mac. p.s. u should of googled how to use hd pvr with mac
Customer Avatar
gamingboyADVANCE
 
Please wait while more information about gamingboyADVANCE is loaded.
Additional information about gamingboyADVANCE could not be loaded.
well...
Posted 7/11/11
the reason they dont make stuff for Mac's alot is possibly due to hardware, OS, or the fact that apple is exclusive
Comments (9)
Comments (9)
Review 15 for HD-PVR: Model 1212
hd pvr and roxio gamecap stars
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/14/11
brothaman
Location: wa
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
ok if you look at roxio gamecap on gamestop and hd pvr it says roxio have a 10 stars and hd pvr has like 8 stars
 
My Product Recommendations
Roxio Game Capture
7.6 out of 10(9)
 
 
 
Roxio Game Capture for PC
1 out of 10(1)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 10 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
JTCobra
Dallas, TX
 
Please wait while more information about JTCobra is loaded.
Additional information about JTCobra could not be loaded.
ONE Question
Posted 10/31/11
Does this work for Wii?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for HD-PVR: Model 1212
is way better than my dazzle
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:9/14/11
sombra269
Location: las vegas
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i love this product since the first time i used it is the best one i ever used
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HD-PVR: Model 1212
I use every day and it is awesome.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/29/11
moneymill
Location: Maryland,greensboro
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
One day i went to gamestop and bought it i used it once and i never stoped using it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 4 found this review helpful.