GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

SkipDr for XBOX Disc Repair and Cleaning System

SkipDr for XBOX Disc Repair + Cleaning System is recognized throughout the industry as the smartest solution to repairing and cleaning XBOX discs. The patented FlexiWheel, with its unique microfrictional surface, uniformly repairs damaged XBOX discs without losing data.
Average Customer Rating:
7.538
7.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
10 stars
4
9 stars
3
8 stars
2
7 stars
1
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
10 out of 1377%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for SkipDr for XBOX Disc Repair and Cleaning System
Review 1 for SkipDr for XBOX Disc Repair and Cleaning System
Skeptical?
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/8/11
jslow
Location: Rock Springs,WY
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I was skeptical about this product working tried it on one of my sons games and he popped it in and it worked. Surprised we tried another more damaged game and not the same results, however this disk had alot more scratches. We will give it a try on more games but so far Iam pleasantly surprised. I would recommend this product.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
17 of 17 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for SkipDr for XBOX Disc Repair and Cleaning System
works on deeeeeeeep scratches
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/4/12
Frenzee
Location: Pearl City, Hawaii
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i recently bought one to fix a circular gouge in one of my games. followed the instructions exactly but did not work. in all fairness, it probably would work for light scratches. looked at the design and realized it was ~800 grit sandpaper on a flexible wheel and the "solution" was highly purified water with a bit of alcohol to keep the sandpaper lubed. having a lot of experience with "wet sanding" i decided to go well beyond the instructed 2 revolutions max and did more like 15-20 minutes. keep in mind that i used over half the small bottle of "solution" to keep the sandpaper wheel well lubed. i was planning to buy a replacement game if it failed. i do not recommend using the SkipDx that way but it worked for me. i just kept going until the gouge turned into a light scratch. i decided to stop at that point before i caused irreparable damage to the game. To finish it off, i used mother's carnuba cleaner wax. if my disc gets damaged again i'll probably have to buy another one since i "wet sanded" off so much material.
i really like the design. the flexible wheel keeps even pressure on the surface of the disc. i also like the motor that spins the wheel and disc at an even pace. without those features i would not have been able to minimize the gouge so significantly. i would highly recommend it to a friend.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NukeCleR
 
Please wait while more information about NukeCleR is loaded.
Additional information about NukeCleR could not be loaded.
Does it fix??
Posted 8/14/12
Does it fix laser burns?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for SkipDr for XBOX Disc Repair and Cleaning System
WORKS LIKE A CHARM
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/13/11
MonsterMutt
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I boght it to repair my perfect circled games, fixed them all!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
25 of 29 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for SkipDr for XBOX Disc Repair and Cleaning System
Never mind
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/27/12
Nabil
Location: Ohio
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I tried it again and it fixed my MW3 xbox disc. After the last time, I hesitated but i tried it again and MW3 completely works. I guess it just takes a couple of times to fix a perfect circle.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for SkipDr for XBOX Disc Repair and Cleaning System
it will work for you
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/24/11
dgkny
Location: california,ca
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
it cleaned my scratches perfect, so it could clean
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Winterfeuer91
New Castle, PA
 
Please wait while more information about Winterfeuer91 is loaded.
Additional information about Winterfeuer91 could not be loaded.
Posted 1/30/12
does it repair heat rings?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for SkipDr for XBOX Disc Repair and Cleaning System
It actually works.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/19/11
Nidav3
Location: Baltimore, MD
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
So far it repaired all of the circle scrathes that some of my games have. There are a few problems with it though 1st when you do fix it it leaves some sort of mark and you cant sell that game to GameStop. The 2nd thing is that when you run out of the cleaning liquid it's hard to find a replacement. Overall I'd say it's worth it if you have a lot of games that have bad scratches.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
9 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for SkipDr for XBOX Disc Repair and Cleaning System
Perfect
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/18/11
Rzarte
Location: detroit,Mi
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
works perfect I bought it and I even charge my friends 2$ to clean there disc and in 3 days I made 36$
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
9 of 14 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
flyninjaguy
 
Please wait while more information about flyninjaguy is loaded.
Additional information about flyninjaguy could not be loaded.
Posted 2/20/12
does it work only on xbox games??
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for SkipDr for XBOX Disc Repair and Cleaning System
Scary but Working Product!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/26/12
UncleDonnie
Location: Chelsea, MA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this from Gamestop today over Call of Duty ELITE because I don't play much MW3 and I miss my old WAW. So, I bought it and came home and decided to try it out on my WAW disk as that is the ONLY reason I bought it, I mean Its good to have but WAW is the only reason I bought it then and there. I came home read the instructions and tried it, I used the Disk Repair Solution by Spraying on the Liquid it gives you, Then I put it in the machine and let it do 2 spins like it says then I buffed it out and tried the disk. It didnt work! I got so mad and nervous, I could be playing extra COD MW3 maps and should have just bought a new WAW! Im an idiot, so I calmed down and tried it again. I did it to the letter on the instructions, and buffed it out a little extra hard. THEN I used the cleaning part of the kit, sprayed on the cleaning solution and then using the microfiber cloth I cleaned it. Well needless to say im installing COD WAW to my harddrive and it is at 68%. From going completely unreadable to even worse then to now being able to install it to my hard drive. Im a very happy camper.
Now its 71% Woot, This is amazing just make sure you follow the instructions TO THE LETTER and make sure you use the CLEANING PART of the Kit AFTER You use the repair part. This is a great product just make sure you know what your doing and understand this is for XBOX GAMES only, not regular Disks or PS3 disks, they have machines specifically for those types of disks! Either way, 5 stars!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
5 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
arbeatz
 
Please wait while more information about arbeatz is loaded.
Additional information about arbeatz could not be loaded.
Posted 3/23/12
can this take out laser marks on my mw2 disc something really bad happened to it and i need to know becuase i wanna play my mw2 disc and if it takes out the laser burn then i will buy it
Customer Avatar
eAbyss
Bremerton, WA
 
Please wait while more information about eAbyss is loaded.
Additional information about eAbyss could not be loaded.
Not for "XBOX GAMES only."
Posted 3/8/12
This can repair all CD/DVD type disks, just not Blu-Ray or PS3 (which uses Blu-Ray Game disks). -This has been taken directly from the Digital Innovations website's description of the SkipDr for XBOX Disc Repair and Cleaning System and is also the same with SkipDr (DvdDr) for DVD and CD and SkipDr for Wii. "Safety tested and approved to fix scratched discs for: CompactDisc (CD), DVD, PlayStation (PS1), PlayStation2 (PS2), XBOX, XBOX360, Wii. Please note: Not for use with Blu-Ray or PlayStation3."
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 9 for SkipDr for XBOX Disc Repair and Cleaning System
Just what the Dr ordered!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/20/12
Anonymous
Location: Pueblo, Co
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
So I will admit that I was skeptical about this. Sure I had a damaged DVD and borrowed a friends Manual SkipDr to fix it and it worked.....but these are game right? Nope. Does not make a bit of difference. From a lightly scratched game I got at a yard sale (an original Xbox game) to a new game that had received some etched grove via a friend turning my Xbox 360 when the game was in it.
I was not all that hopeful. But I did not want to pay the price that I saw on some other products. Took it out, put the batteries in. Followed the instructions and both game discs work flawlessly. I sprayed the disc lightly (one pump per half) put it in and ran it around twice. The only thing was that after cleaning 2 discs some of the plastic on the FlexiWheel was shaved off where the wheel rubbed against the casing.
Even though the grove is there and I can see it the Xbox can read it. I noted that indeed there is the 'spiral' mark on the discs, but even with the DVD repair that was there. Justpart of the removal of the damaged buffer zone. Well be getting the DVD one as well just to do those if there is a need. WOW I am a convert. I would recommend if you have a Xbox and play games buy this and keep it around!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 10 for SkipDr for XBOX Disc Repair and Cleaning System
sucks
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/2/13
totalgamer38754
Location: Mansfield MA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
so my saints row 4 disk had a ton of scratches and my Xbox couldn't read it so when i put it in to the disk repair system the same results showed up my review is don't waste 15$ on some thing that doesn't work. PS it still doesn't work.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for SkipDr for XBOX Disc Repair and Cleaning System
FIRST!!
Posted on:7/2/11
Lizardking1971
Location: The moon,Space
Hopefully i can repair some heavily scratched games with this.
24 of 127 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
IAmTheChosenOne
Indiana
 
Please wait while more information about IAmTheChosenOne is loaded.
Additional information about IAmTheChosenOne could not be loaded.
Yes
Posted 11/7/11
Yes it will. It is totally worth the money. i recommend you to buy this
Customer Avatar
ginseng15
 
Please wait while more information about ginseng15 is loaded.
Additional information about ginseng15 could not be loaded.
Posted 7/10/11
my xbox fell with my favorite game inside now it has a huge scratch ring can this get rid of it?
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 12 for SkipDr for XBOX Disc Repair and Cleaning System
Takes a while but it works.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/10/12
LegendofJimmy
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I originally bought this for my CoD: WaW game that had the perfect circles on the disc. I tried it the first time, it read the disc but would not load the game menu. So I popped the game back into the SkipDr and gave it a go again, but it still would not load.. After the 4th try in the SkipDr I said, "I'll give the SkipDr a 5th try and if it doesn't work, I'll just give up and buy a new disc."..... I guess 5 is my luck number, because it worked! If you give the device some patience, it WILL work.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for SkipDr for XBOX Disc Repair and Cleaning System
Sounds good, but not all that good.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:2/25/12
Nabil
Location: Ohio
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I got this to repair my MW3 Xbox 360 disc. I read the reviews and it said it would repair perfect circle scratches. It didn't and it made it worse. I guess it's for minor scratches only and not minor perfect circle scratches that aren't deep. It came with a dirt cleaner which works on discs but really, I should of just when to a store to repair it or buy a new one.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 14 for SkipDr for XBOX Disc Repair and Cleaning System
Doesnt work AT ALL
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/29/11
LawDog35
Location: Gig Harbor, WA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This thing is horrible. I actually think it scratched my game even more. Horrible waste of money.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
4 of 80 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Unknowingtrust
Ohio
 
Please wait while more information about Unknowingtrust is loaded.
Additional information about Unknowingtrust could not be loaded.
Posted 12/26/11
I've been using this skip dr product for almost 10 ten years now and the only time it has ever malfunctioned and scratched the disc worse was when the resurfacing wheel was old and needed replaced and when I replaced the wheel and didnt realize it wasn't sitting correctly.
Customer Avatar
GoneBeast
 
Please wait while more information about GoneBeast is loaded.
Additional information about GoneBeast could not be loaded.
Posted 12/15/11
It definitely scratched my more
Comments (2)
Comments (2)