GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Systems or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

PlayStation 3 160GB System

The PS3 system continues to offer the best in gaming and entertainment options and it now plays stereoscopic 3Dgames and movies right out of the box. Enjoy unmatched graphics with games such as Uncharted 3, Resistance 3,LittleBigPlanet 2, and SOCOM 4 come to life in true high-definition. The entertainment options continue in the featurerich PlayStation Network, where you have free access to demos, downloadable games, and online gaming. In addition, watch movies on the built-in Blu-ray player, stream thousands of movies and TV shows directly on your system, or explore music and sports content instantly through your PS3 system.
Average Customer Rating:
8.744
8.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (285 reviews)
10 stars
180
9 stars
47
8 stars
12
7 stars
12
6 stars
4
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
6
1 star
16
252 out of 28588%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PlayStation 3 160GB System
Review 1 for PlayStation 3 160GB System
piece of junk.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Functionality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:7/9/13
they
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
horrible. free internet connection is horrible, usually 1 or 2 bars. no privacy options. overheats easily. crashes constantly. barely any system settings. waste of money. heard ps4 would be a great improvement.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Functionality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PlayStation 3 160GB System
Honest Review
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:10/26/12
Dudley
Location: Wyandotte, MI
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
In my opinion it is a pretty good system some great exclusives online play is also nice not having to pay for it plustation plus is just that a plus great discounts and free games but my only big thing about it is the download time update time and the install time like i understand you have to download the game or demo or add on for things from the psn but it should not take 2 to 3 hours then update which takes another 1 hour maybe 2 then install which takes another 1 to 2 hours on top of that so after it all gets done you dont even feel like playing the game. Dont let that scare you and not want to buy one it could be my internet connection which i doubt because my xbox does not take that long for everything but this is my honest review and my opinion give it a shot it is a good system.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 3 for PlayStation 3 160GB System
ps3
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/8/12
jackcafe
Location: everett
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
it's a really good system i'm a xbox person but i still love the ps3 as well i love the xbox more but i don't come here and hate on it i like the ps3 i find it funny how ps3 fan boys go to xbox page and hate on it and xbox come here and hate on it so i guess the both systems are good so just choose which one is better for u :D
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PlayStation 3 160GB System
PS3+Justin Bieber = good time
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/4/12
PACKAPUNCHGUY1
Location: Virginia
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I have had my ps3 for years, what the heck ill give it a review. ITS GREAT. It just freezes non stop is my only complaint. ADD ME ON PSN: VEVOJustinBieber I do know Justin Bieber personally hints the gamertag.. so if you want a "shook the hand" of and in this case Justin Bieber add me. Ahh it felt like the other day when I saw Justin get hit by a water bottle by a fan... By the way if you dont believe me message me about him ill know the answer to your question about him. Thats VEVOJustinBieber.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PlayStation 3 160GB System
The Best Playstation Ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/28/12
ThisPS3Rules
Location: New York, NY
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I have owned ever playstation been released, And this is by far the best. It has got great graphics and the easiest way to go online, with wireless connections. PROS: Great Graphics, Ease of use, easy connectivity, easy setup, Free online gaming, Playstation. Move, Wireless controllers, and Durable and Reliable-No problems yet. CONS: Free Online Gaming (People try to mess with you), Expensive controllers, Bluetooth connectivity difficulty, Freezes, and lack of backwards compatibility. Over all an amazing console despite the few cons. Thanks for reading!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PlayStation 3 160GB System
awesome sick an sweet
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/19/12
thisIsBad
Location: ny
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i got the 32o gb mw3 edition and i couldnt be more happy with this item and it even has bluray and one problem if u unplug your ps3 it will act like its new and u must sign in and then get everything back
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PlayStation 3 160GB System
THIS IS AWSOM !!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/18/12
dagomaga
Location: colorado co
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is the best game system in the face of the earth all its games are grate. Plus it plays moves and blu ray
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for PlayStation 3 160GB System
Good, but Xbox 360 is Better
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/18/12
Simmmiiin
Location: WI, USA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
If you're looking for a good system, go ahead and get the PS3. If you are looking for a great system and wanting to spend a little less money, go for the Xbox: 360.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 21 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PlayStation 3 160GB System
The Best Gaming System
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/14/12
yaboislim
Location: ATL,GA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I love this system im so happy I got it. I sold my 360 to get and I dont regret it at all. Add my psn MJ_DA_DON_23
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for PlayStation 3 160GB System
Must Own
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/13/12
Hikiikomorii
Location: Denton, TX
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
If you still haven't owned a ps3 yet and you are thinking of purchasing one, you are missing out on a bunch of epic games you can not play on other consoles, metal gear solid 4, uncharted series, killzone just to name a few of them. Another thing, it has a bluray player.
Trust me, just buy it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 11 for PlayStation 3 160GB System
B.A. Console!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/13/12
GamexFreek
Location: Florida
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
If it's either the Ps3 or the Xbox 360, They are both amazing console's if you cant afford a super high performance computer. I have both and in my opinion if you have a huge Hd flatsreen wanting to experience one of the best gaming epics with stellar and clear Hd graphics, that's only exclusive to the PlayStation 3 such as God of War, Uncharted, Little Big Planet, Killzone, Ratchet & Clank, Grand Turismo, Infamous, Heavy Rain, Starhawk, Sly Cooper, Resistance, Twisted Metal, Metal Gear Solid, And so on... Then this is the excellent choice for you!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 12 for PlayStation 3 160GB System
Haters.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/5/12
Cabeson
Location: NJ
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Whether you are a die hard Xbox player or PS3 player all consoles have their ups and downs i have played both systems long term and there is no giant difference between each they both are enjoyable in their own way i prefer Xbox but have been playing PlayStation since i was 8 so bickering about it wont solve any thing the choice between systems is purely on the tastes of the buyer and shouldn't be swayed by comments that are Just meant to make the other look bad. In the end both systems are good i prefer Xbox360 because i enjoy its communitive online system , but PS3's free internet would be good for those who don't want to worry about getting their account renewed.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PlayStation 3 160GB System
bad system
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:9/2/12
madmax5120
Location: uxbridge Massachusetts
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
the xbox is way better because the graphics stink and it is easy to get hacked online and the playstation move is horrible
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
1 of 44 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PlayStation 3 160GB System
sucks
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:8/24/12
ghkfyhvk
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
this console sucks the xbox360 is way better in every way!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 68 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
0094
ventura
 
Please wait while more information about 0094 is loaded.
Additional information about 0094 could not be loaded.
?
Posted 9/2/12
i myself am an XBOX 360 fan, but i'm wondering why you say it sucks, because a couple years back i owned an original PS3 and it was pretty legit. later on i got rid of it not because i didn't like it but because there were hardly any games out for it at the time
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for PlayStation 3 160GB System
Best Console On The Market
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/15/12
atomicz
Location: LA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
the ps3 really does it all. free online play, great games, built in blue ray, and the best graphics. this makes the 360 look like the trash it is. so if you dont have a ps3 buy one and you wont regret it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PlayStation 3 160GB System
So Far My Best Gaming System
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/14/12
AC3Assassin
Location: Hoover, Alabama
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This Is Probably The Best Christmas Present In The World. When I First Played The System I Realized The Starter Screen Is Almost Identical To My PSP. I Love The System. I Currently Own Quite A Few Games And All Work Perfectly, Barely Any Glitches For Me, Except For One I Saw On MW2. (Just One xD) And an Say Now That Some Of The Very Best Games On It Are Definetly Black Ops, MW2, MW3 And Resistance 3, All tHe Graphics On Those Games Are Great. I Love All Of The Games, Especially The Selection With There Being So Many! This Game Could Be Used With Family. The Move Would Work Great With Family. This Gaming System Is The Bomb, Even Though The Online May Freeze From Time To Time Overall This System Is My Favorite So Far. Thanks A Ton, Sony.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PlayStation 3 160GB System
PS3 for the win...XBOX haters gon hate!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/4/12
IsayUhh
Location: Akron, OH
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
First off i would like to say my older sister is a gamer just like me. She got the XBOX 360, and i wanted my own system. I watched the console wars on youtube and decided to buy watever system won. PS3 won and immediately i bought one. My ps3 worked like a charm. I update my games every year. I have over 1000 songs, 12 demos, tv episodes, etc. My PS3 has free online gameplay. PS3 has better online and offline exclusives. i hear XBOXers brag how much better the XBOX 360 is. You have to pay monthly/yearly in order to get the online experience that everyone in the playstation network is getting for free. The graphics on the PS3 are way better. PS3 supports 1080p quality semi-indestructable blu-ray games; not only giving games better graphics, but better sound quality as well. The XBOX 360 supports 720p fragile DVD's. The sick exclusives that PS3 has including: god of war, infamous, killzone, littlebigplanet, gran turismo, dust 514, yazuka, heavy rain, resistance, and uncharted. All exclusives XBOX 360 has is gears of war and halo. the only reason why XBOX 360 is sold more is the fact that its cheaper or the fact that it breaks easily and the family decides to get another one. By far, the ONLY thing that XBOX 360 can do thats better than PS3 is play music when playing any game. Okay we PS3 veterans can agree that we got hacked previously, but now the PS3 security is waaayy better than the XBOX 360 so they cant hold that against us anymore. Not only is the PS3 a better gaming console, its a better entertainment console as well. XBOX 360 doesnt even have an internet browser, but its made by a computer company (how does that feel). Even the PSP can support skype. I dropped my PS3 on a stone floor in front of the fireplace 5 ft. from the ground, it still works brand new. My sister repositioned her XBOX while it was still on the TV, it got the RED RING OF DEATH! Needless to say, paying for the seXBOX 360 is like paying for a box of garbage. *MY FINAL RECAP* XBOX 360 4gb ($200), XBOX gold membership-12mo ($60), batteries for controller for a year ($36), possible RRoD repair ($100)>>>ON THE OTHER HAND: PS3 160gb ($250) THATS IT!!!............if you own the systems for 4 years, PS3 costs $250+price of games while XBOX 360 costs $684+price of games that you want DO THE MATH HATERS!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
18 of 28 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
JewishPie
IA
 
Please wait while more information about JewishPie is loaded.
Additional information about JewishPie could not be loaded.
PS3 better?
Posted 9/13/12
sense when does PS3 have a better better security is better when they had to shut the internet off PS3 for a month when they got a big hack and yes Xbox gets hacks but they had there system internet down for a month, also its not the hard to fix the red ring of death its just inside the cooling system, when the Xbox and PS3 came out with new consoles the PS3 basically had to copy the Wii to keep up with Xbox's kinect, But I originally was a PS person but when fable came out I made me want play xbox more, but anyway consoles have there ups and downs.. I would keep it a tie for now
Customer Avatar
Jameron4eva
 
Please wait while more information about Jameron4eva is loaded.
Additional information about Jameron4eva could not be loaded.
Ummm?
Posted 8/22/12
@IsayUhh, first off, yes batteries cost 36 bucks a year.........if you don't but the play n charge battery pack, which is about 10 bucks. Also, yes the ps3 has blu-ray, while microsoft optioned hd, bad move i'll admit, BUT, the graphics , while amazing on ps3, (and 360), is reliant, absolutely reliant on the blu-ray, while it's graphics card is useless, whereas on the 360 it relies on the graphics card, and it shows up in details. Playing FFXIII on the ps3, i have not been able to make out details, while yes the fps is a LITTLE faster, the DETAIL on the 360 is soo much better. Not saying i won't buy a ps3, i will, i have the original xbox, and a ps2 slim, i am hoping to get a ps3, because in the end i see it like this, IT'S A GAME! Why battle over it? besides fps wise, and sometimes detail wise, pc beats BOTH. Don't mean to sound rude, just thought i'd give my opinion. P.S.: Who drops a gaming system???
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 18 for PlayStation 3 160GB System
someting to last
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/3/12
oookooookokokok
Location: ny
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
smoth fast gameing.good for any gamer.the controller is comfy and no delay. recomnd hdmi cable makes it even beter
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
iTzSumGodlyMan
 
Please wait while more information about iTzSumGodlyMan is loaded.
Additional information about iTzSumGodlyMan could not be loaded.
Please respond
Posted 9/17/12
Are these new PS3's on 3.55 OFW? I want a 3.55 or lower.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for PlayStation 3 160GB System
great deal
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/2/12
BeNasty77
Location: nj
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i used xbox 360 for about a year and a half before i bought the ps3 and now i definitely think the ps3 is a better buy and console. lots of memory at a good price. sometimes it feels like the console gets hot but I've had it for about a year now and it has no problems
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PlayStation 3 160GB System
GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/31/12
tanner0416
Location: Valrico, FL
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
My dad and i just went to buy this and i love it and it's such a great deal i love it!!!!!!!! This is way better than the xbox 360 i only had my xbox 360 for 2 months and it broke. The xbox 360 is a piece a junk buy this instead.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>