GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Ultimate Marvel vs Capcom 3

The ULTIMATE heroes from the Marvel and Capcom universes collide again in Ultimate Marvel vs. Capcom 3. Every epic character from the original blockbuster returns to the fray alongside 12 new fighters, 8 over-the-top new stages, enhanced gameplay, and more surprises to be announced.
Average Customer Rating:
7.704
7.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (64 reviews)
10 stars
4
9 stars
10
8 stars
5
7 stars
2
6 stars
2
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
19 out of 2770%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ultimate Marvel vs Capcom 3
Review 1 for Ultimate Marvel vs Capcom 3
Buy it again and again??? I am!!!
Posted on:9/4/11
Arcade
Location: Tucson,AZ
Bought the Special Edition,and got it signed by the artists so I wont be trading in my copy. I love These games and I'll paying to play,so what?
I see people do the same EVERY year for Madden? Talking to the guys that made this game,and putting input that we wanted works for me! So what if a couple of main guys are missing...DLC and Sending Capcom more $$$ for what I wanna play!!!!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ultimate Marvel vs Capcom 3
Awesome comic book game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/4/13
Supermcawsomevill
Location: Yuma, AZ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is an awesome fighting game. If you sen the Avengers movie you will recognize most of these charters.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 3 for Ultimate Marvel vs Capcom 3
Solid
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/15/11
MLGRo
Location: Hattiesburg, MS
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Its pretty decent. Of course its very reminiscent to mvc3 but with this version, it seems to be "slightly" faster when it comes to knocking people back down to the ground. The extra characters are a plus, and the new extra spark(moves) you get from the "s" button to knock them up in the air with. For example, ryu gets like an extra flame hadoken and stuff. Everyone has their own special move they get with that button which i think is a good plus. Some of the characters I can tell are going to be a problem with, like Nemesis(OP). But over all the game is pretty solid Im glad i ordered it. Now if they could make some "good" dlc to back this up and not just "2" characters and 5-10 different modes which are all the same. I mean solid dlc like 10 characters, bonus stages, and 3 different modes if u wish to expand a good game. This is suppose to be a legacy, so lets keep it that way.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ultimate Marvel vs Capcom 3
It's a steal a $40
Posted on:11/2/11
Ripclaw
Location: Lynchburg, VA
I keep hearing a lot of complaints about this game's release. The most popular one being that all the additional characters could be DLC and it would only cost like $20. That would be true if you only pay for what you want when it comes to DLC. Sony and Microsoft both force your online transactions to be a minimum of $5 (400 points). The purchase of a DLC character takes up roughly 2/3 of this money ($2 or 160 points) leaving you with useless amount. Therefor you would have to give Microsoft and Sony another $5 to purchase your next character. 12 new characters at $5 a piece comes out to $60, JUST FOR THE CHARACTERS ALONE! Not to mention the new stages and costume colors. In all reality Capcom is doing their fans a HUGE favor by releasing a new game for a very reasonable price instead of letting Sony and Microsoft dig their greedy palms into our pockets.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
15 of 22 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
BlooZero7
atlanta
 
Please wait while more information about BlooZero7 is loaded.
Additional information about BlooZero7 could not be loaded.
The truth
Posted 11/28/11
i am a hardcore gamer and my passion in the gaming world are fighting game but realisticly this game is a utter embaracement to all fighting games have ever made....let me explain. In my honest opinon i played this game on a competitive level but i will give my honest insight. The game looks good plays good and is very flashy and well overall neat to look at.....but when it came to actual vs play it became very discouraging and depressing. why you ask ? simply put this game is built on the foundation of casual which is not a bad thing. but this game in my opinon is teaching and morphing our modern day fighting game compposure and turning it sour. fighting game use to take timing,patience,and will to overcome and be better. this game is the at the other end of the pole.....i understand that i am not the best and i will win 100% of the time.....all it takes to master this game or even play it decently is to memorize a pattern as far as a buttun set combo and place it in and make it as long as you can. Doesnt sound different from other fighting games you say i beg to differ. if place correctly in this game a chracter can be instantly killed and having no chance of recover.....1 mistake and its over. no skill no real timing just a almost sence buttum mash. extremely unbalanced rooster weighting from fast to slow characters and a dull arcade mode that ends with no real conculsion just senceless picture that make no sence since the world dont even cross that well (in my opinon). seriously if your interested in this game think before you end up a victim to yet another of capcoms marketing schemes.if you play it for story you will be dissapointed......if you play it for the fun with friends this may be the only way to have fun. but if you play as a competitive sence look else where this game and the previous are beyond disappointing....shame on you capcom shame......
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Ultimate Marvel vs Capcom 3
This should of al been in MvC3
Posted on:8/11/11
Pryme
Location: California
Sorry but this just seems like a ploy to make more money off the series. This game was 10 YEARS in the making and your telling me they didn't think of adding these characters before. The original MvC3 roster was really lacking and this does beef it up more with characters like stryder, but I just think it should have all been included in MvC3.
12 of 15 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
anonymis
 
Please wait while more information about anonymis is loaded.
Additional information about anonymis could not be loaded.
the new characters
Posted 8/26/11
all the new charachters were to be launched as dlc but with the disasters in japan and it all got canceled so now with the new game they can remake and restyle the old game and the reduced price is better than paying $59.99 for a remake of and old game i on the other hand like the idea of new characters being useible instead of paying for points to download the new characters.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Ultimate Marvel vs Capcom 3
Crapcom's decent game hiding as a cash grab
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:6/18/14
BreadDog1
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
MvC3 was a decent game. It had good fighting mechanics and was pretty fun. However the problem with it was that it had very little replayability, especially if you didn't play online and had no friends to play with that game. So when the ultimate version was announced, I thought it'd improve on the game. But nope! The only new things Crapcom added was eight new stages, which added nothing by the way, twelve new characters that could've been added as DLC, and a spectator mode. That's it. The game is exactly the same as the lackluster Mvc3 only with new balancing that could've been added as free patches! The game is just as bad as the original, maybe even worse. It's just a cash grab by Crapcom. There are better fighting games than this.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 7 for Ultimate Marvel vs Capcom 3
LOOKS AWESOME!
Posted on:8/19/11
thedudeguy456
Location: Brownsville,TX
I have already pre-ordered this game and I have a feeling thats its gonna be awesome!
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ultimate Marvel vs Capcom 3
40$ of Disappointment
Posted on:8/10/11
Rahv
Location: North Carolina
Wow, this really is for die hard MVC3 fans... I will not fork over 40$ for characters/stages/spectator mode for a stupid add-on. And the character selection is quite disappointing as well. No megaman, but phoenix wright? Really? If this sells, it would be for people who would only play as phoenix wright for like 30 mins getting their butts kicked online. This ruins the point of the first game, and defeats the purpose of getting it for 60$. This adds up and you still gotta count the dlc characters... Word of advice, don't get this add-on, wait till capcom gets the message and releases the characters separately. Lastly, Rebalanced characters should have been done with a patch, not having to buy a stupid expansion... This gets 1/5 for me... D: Spend your hard earned money on a cheaper game like soul calibur or theres plenty other games available for less than this.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
6 of 19 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ultimate Marvel vs Capcom 3
No MegaMan? No Sale!
Posted on:11/3/11
ToastyMan
Location: MD
So they sell you an incomplete game, then sell you DLC characters, THEN they sell an upgraded version of the same game....
It's like they're printing their own money and we're not getting any value for our bucks. So they added a few new characters, some of which were voted on at Capcom-Unity and all the top voted characters made it in... EXCEPT THE GUY WHO WAS VOTED #1 MOST WANTED: MegaMan X.
First it was "MegaMan doesn't lend himself well to the fighting game genre".. Now it's "You've got Zero and Tron, that's enough representation of the MegaMan series"....
BITE ME, CAPCOM! This game should be jam-packed with characters that appeal to ALL your loyal fans. You don't omit your #1 mascot just because you've got it in for the franchise that earned for you and put you on the home console map.
No MegaMan? No X? Then you can kiss my $40 goodbye!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
15 of 52 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ultimate Marvel vs Capcom 3
Everyone is overpowered
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:2/9/12
Mugdog
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is a ton of fun. I can't get enough of it. Fighting the CPU's and learning new combos and such is a lot of fun to do. I usually play it casually. All the characters in this game are overpowered. I'm new to these types of games but it's sheer madness how overpowered the characters can be. Do not play online if you're new. I get frustrated and throw stuff because I always get myself stuck in combos that always killing my character. My new character will show up and BAM you get sent right into another character killing combo. And if that doesn't happen then someone gets you into decent combos and when they begin to lose or know you can beat them with one of your characters... They will always shoot as much stuff at you as possible. I can't play at all and have a good time with the Xbox live community because everyone is usually a lot better than me or has to use cheap combos, projectiles, and everything under the sun. This game is fun offline... Online this game sucks... I feel like I'm playing with a 12 year old when someone shoots as much stuff as possible.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
2 of 18 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
atticus9288
 
Please wait while more information about atticus9288 is loaded.
Additional information about atticus9288 could not be loaded.
Posted 5/26/12
If everyone was overpowered wouldn't they be balanced then? to be overpowered don't you have to be stronger than the other characters?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Ultimate Marvel vs Capcom 3
Great game but get the Ultimate edition
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/16/14
KnightTime
Location: Chicago,IL
This is one of the best fighting game out the game play is very fun the only down fall's are 3 tag team system (its fun but sometimes I would like to just play one on one), and Capcom I don't know many of the characters and most of them aren't too good I hope they just make a marvel game but thats just me, the marvel roaster isn't too strong like how it was on Marvel vs Capcom 2 missing major characters like Venom and cyclops but in the end this game is near perfect for a fighting game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
bunnyboy4ever
Mushroom Kingdom
 
Please wait while more information about bunnyboy4ever is loaded.
Additional information about bunnyboy4ever could not be loaded.
Top 250 Contributor
*facepalm*
Posted 7/5/14
This IS the ultimate edition!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Ultimate Marvel vs Capcom 3
Improvements make this better
Posted on:9/1/11
Thetruegamer
Location: Dallas, TX
This game is gonna be great and features improved gameplay and 12 more characters and more stages and spectator mode. Hope they put a story mode like Mortal Kombat, a vs mode where you can fight the computer because i usually like playing the computer than by myself, variety of modes like survival, challenge modes, score attack, and imagine single match where its just one on one and two on two like the first Marvel Vs Capcom, and more DLC characters after this game is released like add some characters from the 2nd one and new characters to make the game more better.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ultimate Marvel vs Capcom 3
Fans gotta get this for sure!
Posted on:11/13/11
SlayerZero01
Location: connecticut
I Bought MvC3, it was a blast and i'm sure everyone who played it said so too. I'm really excited that they listened to the fans about most of the problems of online and balance issues, also included 12 new characters and some stages. it may look like there just in it for the money by releasing a new game instead of making a HUGE update. lol. But.. hey what can you do. I'm a fan and as long as there sending new stuff my way that's alright with me. Buy it people!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ultimate Marvel vs Capcom 3
Better than the original with some improvements
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/20/12
Thetruegamer
Location: Dallas, TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Ultimate Marvel vs Capcom 3 plays a bit better this time around that the character roster is almost close to MvC2 but the fighters fight better and faster and the roster is more equal than the original. the stages are even better. I always like using Spider-Man, Wolverine, and hulk on a marvel team and Captain America, Iron Man, and Thor. Now for Capcom i like using Ryu, and Chun-li but i use C. Viper instead of Ken because he is absent and i always use him on Mvc2 with Ryu and Chun-li. The GAMEPLAY plays largely the same but it plays more faster and feels more accessible.The fighting system feels a bit different but i changed the fighing options a little bit to play the game better. I like the costumes in the game it has the black suit spider-man and hulk has the pink pants and light green skin and iron man has a gold outfit and blue suit and ryu weaeing red and hair blonde similar to ken. There are 6 costumes in this game. There is a mode called Heroes and Heralds which is a card game like yu-gi-oh and pokemon card games. The GRAPHICS look more detailed than Street fighter 4 and when i go to the character bios i see them rendered in 3D and it looks a lot detailed compared to the first wo in 2D.The SOUND is still great and i still sounds like a fighting game music. The LASTING APPEAL is more valued than the original to me because i like the new characters that were added like Ghost Rider, Hawkeye, Nemesis, Nova, Iron Fist and Frank West. The endings are basically the same as the orignal but shorter but some were different. I hope they add more DLC characters for this game soon. I enjoy this game so much that i can play this game all day and its one of my favorite fighting series especially the 2nd one. If you've never played the original than you are going to love this one for sure. Sure, the roster is not as big as the seconf one but its almost close to it and the fighting mechanics feel right for each character and is a great button masher and i woulndt mind making another version for more extar characters and a story mode similar to mortal kombat which would be nice but other than that, its not that bad its the best fighting game i've evr played
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ultimate Marvel vs Capcom 3
Hmm....
Posted on:7/21/11
KeybladeMaster16
Location: AK
While I love the concept of new characters, new battle setup and new powers.... I just don't know if its really worth $40 JUST for those add-ons. At most I can hope that capcom will be smart and play it like they did with Street Fighter IV Arcade Edition. If they have confirmed that, would you mind posting it in the comments?
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ultimate Marvel vs Capcom 3
Eh...
Posted on:7/28/11
Zombieslaughter
Location: Kuwait
Well. I pre-ordered the original MVC 3 and loved it. I would have liked more characters. It's both good and bad that they're releasing this. 12 characters for 40 bucks is better of a deal than they will probably release on Xbox live or PSN but some people may not want ALL the extra characters. I'm finding myself buying this game JUST for Nemisis, and Vergil. Though surely i will find joy in the other characters. So capcom, way to go for the new characters, but all this didn't really require a new game, though the reduced price means at least you thought the same thing.
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ultimate Marvel vs Capcom 3
Only for people who have not played MVC3.
Posted on:8/16/11
Cole7799
Location: New York
I rented MVC3, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I never decided to pick it up though. So, when I heard about this game, I sighed with relief that I didn't get the original. So, yeah. I'm gonna be picking this up.
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ultimate Marvel vs Capcom 3
for the haters
Posted on:8/17/11
icedeamopn
Location: chicopee MA
i say buy this game. i dont care if you liked MvC3 the first tim aruond but i do say that both marvel and capcom gave us what we wanted........ a better game they listened to us and did what we asked. And we still complain. They are going to give us 12 new character and 8 new arenas to bash our opponents in. who cares if megaman isnt there. Paying the 40 bucks for the upgrade is worth it in my book. I know that people will say to wait but go and get it while you can cuz it might not be there when you want it.
6 of 10 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Black1364
Los Angeles
 
Please wait while more information about Black1364 is loaded.
Additional information about Black1364 could not be loaded.
Wait WHAT..........................!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted 10/6/11
So this is a new game and not a DLC or what is it?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for Ultimate Marvel vs Capcom 3
awesome
Posted on:7/21/11
classicpj
Location: huntsville,AL
this is gonna be awesome. 12 new characters and its only 40 bucks cant beat that. @5 bucks a character dlc would be 60 bucks. saving money is awesome
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ultimate Marvel vs Capcom 3
MVC3
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/6/14
0TooMany0
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is a good game, I enjoy the characters very much. It is very rare to find a game where the fighters are different speeds. Slow and fast moving characters are included in this game. Most games all the characters are the same speed. But in this game characters such as Spiderman or Deadpool are great if you want to pull off fast combos.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>