GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Sonic Generations

The ultimate celebration of 20 Years of Sonic gaming, Sonic Generations delivers the definitive gaming experience for Sonic fans new and old. Sonic's universe is thrown into chaos when a mysterious new power comes into force, creating time holes' which take Sonic and his friends back in time. Whilst there, Sonic runs into some very familiar characters from his past including a younger version of himself! Now they must team up to defeat their enemies, save their friends, and find out who is behind this diabolical deed.
Average Customer Rating:
7.625
7.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (97 reviews)
10 stars
16
9 stars
18
8 stars
10
7 stars
6
6 stars
2
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
5
48 out of 6475%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sonic Generations
Review 1 for Sonic Generations
Sonic returnes to his classical roots
Posted on:11/8/11
sthsmbloz1
Location: ca
This game is awesome 3ds owners get extra content with the 3ds version of the game. such as pinball casino,extra levels and much more. can't wait for this game to come out!!!!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sonic Generations
The best demo I've ever played/seen
Posted on:11/12/11
TheaterNerd
Location: Georgia
I was lucky to play this demo at conventions and honestly it's the best demo Ive ever played in my life, and no Im not bluffing or lying either. If you watch the videos of people playing the game on youtube it probably looks blurry, but in person it's great! The music is great, and even though the modern Sonic isn't in full 3d all the time, it is in 3d most of the time, and it gives you plenty of different angles and camera positions which differentiates the two Sonics! The first boss is Big Arm Boss which is one of Sonic most well recieved boss fights from the Genesis days. WHAT A GREAT WAY TO START A GAME! Two Sonics are at your control, and if you beat the special stages you can have two Super Sonics at your control! I love the detail, color, sound, sharpness that I saw in the demo, because it was amazing. This game has nostalgia overload which is awesome! It takes the best level from the past and makes them even better, same with modern stages! Happy Birthday Sonic!
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sonic Generations
3ds + sonic = awesomeness
Posted on:9/17/11
blitz
Location: ca
sonic generations on 3ds is going to be great because obiously it has classic and moders in 3d inviroments but also modern sonic knows spin dash,boost,homing attack,and bounce.bosses return from the past to try and stop sonic past friends help sonic.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
12 of 14 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
supersonic54321
 
Please wait while more information about supersonic54321 is loaded.
Additional information about supersonic54321 could not be loaded.
dude its not gonna be awsome
Posted 11/12/11
the modern sonic levels on the 3DS look just like classic except u got homing attack that all
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Sonic Generations
False release date!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted on:10/20/11
damenmankook
Location: Dallas,TX
The 3ds version of sonic generations will actually be coming out on November 22, 2011
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
9 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sonic Generations
Really good game, a little short, but great
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/24/12
DaveDynamite1
Location: West Columbia, South Carolina
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I love the Sonic the Hedgehog series. I got the console version of this game and I loved it. I then wanted to see if this version was just as good. I played the story and found that this game was short, but the gameplay was awesome. It was different from the console version but a great Sonic game that you can play on the go. I like that Sega added internet multiplayer against another person online. The missions in the game cost play coins and are hard, but keeps the lasting appeal up. I loved this game and the graphics all the way. This game really made Sonic look good.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sonic Generations
Probably the best games for 3DS
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/23/11
DaveDynamite1
Location: West Columbia, South Carolina
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Sonic Generations 3DS is a blast from the past and the present. It feels very nostalgic and the gameplay is just beyond awesome. The 3D on this game is great and actually makes the game look ten times better in 3D then 2D. The graphics are really good for the 3DS as well. The music is awesome and the boss battles are cool. This game has a bit of difficulty here and there but it shouldn't stop you from beating the game. I also love the levels like Emerald Coast or Tropical resort because they're levels that are not on the console version. (You actually should get both versions so you can play different levels). I loved every minute of this game. If your a Nintendo 3DS owner or want to be one, then should be the first game you get for it.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sonic Generations
Well...
Posted on:11/7/11
Dizzleswag19
Location: Indianapolis, IN
The console version of this game is awesome! The graphics look great. But I cant really say the same for this version. I've seen gameplay of it and it only has side-scrolling, plus the graphics are good for a DS, but compared to the console version, the graphics are like they were on the original Sega Genesis! I might still get this though, considering the fact I dont have an xbox or ps3.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
This is modern sonic, but still side-scrolling.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
4 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sonic Generations
Sonic 3D
Posted on:7/23/11
SEGA99
Location: ANDERSON, SC
Sonic Generations on 3DS will be different but still be a great game to play. This game would get a 4/5 stars
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sonic Generations
great,perfect,great for fans of sonic.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/14/12
TheShadowfan66
Location: FL,jacksonville
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Well a great game for sonic fans from the 1991-2011. In a way its not perfect,but the 3D is great (:
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 10 for Sonic Generations
a little short but awesome
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/8/12
coolguy11112
Location: Fayettville,AR
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
im not saying its bad because its not but i wish it was just a little bit longer and it was kinda hard for me but it was pretty good
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TheShadowfan66
FL,jacksonville
 
Please wait while more information about TheShadowfan66 is loaded.
Additional information about TheShadowfan66 could not be loaded.
Sonic Generations
Posted 10/14/12
Great game for a sonic fans of any ages 1991-2011.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Sonic Generations
Can't Wait For The Whole Game!
Posted on:8/4/11
AnimalZero
Location: Wethersfield, CT
Bravo SEGA, Bravo... As if Modern Sonic wasn't enough, you added classic Sonic too, good...
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 12 for Sonic Generations
Overall, a good game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/10/11
MLBChris
Location: Fayetteville, NC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
To be completely honest, this was my first Sonic game. I bought it because it looked pretty good, and i wanted another game for my 3DS. After playing it, i found it to be much more fun than i had expected. I expected the plot of the game to not really have one, just a bunch of old Sonic levels redone. Though the plot was hard to follow at the beginning, though it made good and entertaining sense later in the game. The actual gameplay was fun, though some of the time, i just found myself holding down the right direction. After the dull moments passed, the game was full of enemies, pit-fall traps, and challenges that required quick refelxes, which is what made the game really fun. All the boss battles were fun and quick paced, especially the final two. By around the end of the game, both modern and classic sonic seemed to be nearly identical; after classic acquired boost and homing attack, the two seemed too similar. Overall, though, the game in its entirety was a fun and exhilerating game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sonic Generations
Best Sonic and 3ds game besides Super Mario 3ds
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/30/11
psvitagamer
Location: San Ysidro,California
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is awesome.It has a ton of features I can't even describe in 5 paragraphs!First I would like to tell u that don't be fooled by the bad reviews.In fact, this Sonic game is so great it's better than ANY Sonic game on ANY system.First feature is that since this is Sonic's birthday, you get to share how much you've been his fan, your favorite sonic game of all time, and your favorite character from the Sonic series.The levels are really fun, either with classic Sonic or modern Sonic.If you want an extreme 3d level display this is what you want.It shows the best 3d for the 3ds.Besides the display, the gameplay is great.You get to do homing attacks, boosts, the good al spin dash or spin roll, and jumping on enimies the old way.The 3ds exclusive features feature multiplayer mode, whether online of multi-game cards, or use the streetpass feature to unlock new missions.Overall, it's Sonic's best birthday celebration in 3d!!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sonic Generations
Graphical and Fast
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/22/11
Mayo
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
It's a very fast game that takes a lot of time to master in order for you to experience the best parts of every level. You're going to want to practice a lot so you can compete against another online and see who is the fastest, obviously the person that can access the extra rails and secrets of a level. You can probably beat the game right away but a greater part of the game is up there higher or in secret areas you might want to explore for unbelievable eye candy. The first level is gorgeous and truly shows off the best of the 3DS, perhaps better than Nintendo can themselves. If you owned a Sega Gamegear like myself, you're going to appreciate a little more the advancement of the 3DS. If you owned a Sega Dreamcast too, you're going to love the seaside level that poses quite a challenge! I give it a 9/10 for gameplay because I wished the main game was a little longer, but the graphics are so intense that it explains where all the time went into TRUST ME! The mushroom level reminded me of Everquest 2 computer graphics.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sonic Generations
Great game, a little short.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/14/12
Kipper98
Location: Blandon, PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I got Sonic Generations for the 3DS for Xmas. I played the first level, and I honestly didn't like it. I was bored of playing Mario Kart for hours so I decided to play this a little more and I fell in love. The levels were fun and difficult, with many enemies to defeat. The bosses were all very creative and challenging at first, but once you learn their secrets, it gets a little easier. The sound was amazing, along with the graphics. I had one problem. The game was shorter than expected. It consisted of around 10 or so levels. They were all very fun, but I wish there was more. If you play for 2-3 days for a couple hours, you could beat it. I 100% recommend this game!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
15 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sonic Generations
A game that does not deserve the price being asked
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/3/11
RavingGamer23
Location: New Jersey
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I don't give games a 1 very often, but I felt like I had to for this game. Why? Because the price that is being asked is ridiculous. WHEN YOU CONSIDER that this game is poorly made. I really had very little fun mainly because of the bland, uninspired level design. The floaty jumps also make this Sonic game very frustrating in many parts as mentioned in the other person's review. This game has recieved mixed review scores from critics, most of them never praise anything in the game. There is hardly anything in the levels that you will have very little reason to even want to go back and play the after main game. Which barely lasts about 7 short hours. The extra "missions" merely serve as cheap padding for an already anorexic game.
I sincerely think this game deserves about a 6. But the score needs to be averaged out on here.There are a wealth of problems that keep this game from deserving a great score. I enjoyed Sonic's DS outings much more than this.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sonic Generations
Sega, You know better
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:2/21/14
Mariobros
Location: Fairhaven
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I really love Sonic games for any gaming system but let's talk about this game. This game is not really good but I've seen worse. The levels are hard and complicated. You can only play as Sonic. The multiplayer is not really fun for starters. I really don't like this game so I recommend this to kid gamers who don't have any idea what they're doing.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 18 for Sonic Generations
Sonic's The Name, Here's His Game
Posted on:8/20/11
Merrick
Location: Kentwood, MI
Well, Sonic has been very busy lately. He enjoyed the return of classic sonic gameplay in Sonic 4, sped through yet another Grand Prix of Eggman's in Sonic Free Riders, and booked a trip to Eggman's Outer Space Theme to trash Eggman's plans! Doesn't look like Sega's going to give the blue blur a break anytime soon, either. He has a new game around the corner, Sonic Generations, to celebrate his 20th birthday!
Somehow, Modern Sonic gets sucked back into the past, and meets the old school, classic Sonic there! They must team up to take down an unknown enemy who brought Modern Sonic there. To do this, players must play through remixed versions of old, and some new, stages.
Each stage may carry the same graphic theme and music, but the Sonic you play them in changes the experience drastically. Classic Sonic plays like the old school Sonic games, mainly 1 and 2. In place of speed that the latest Sonic games have been using is platforming. Modern Sonic is the exact opposite. The talkative, cocky Modern version of Sonic relies on speed to get his way through each level, complete with a boost bar, ground-pounds, homing attacks, and a number of other moves Sonic has learned over the years. These segments are similar to the gameplay in Sonic Colors for the DS.
Some other interesting things is how the music will be approached. While playing Classic Sonic on Green Hill Zone will play a enhanced version of the old theme from the original, Modern Sonic's music on the same stage will be essentially a remixed version. But it's also cool how it's the opposite when you play in more modern Sonic stages. Classic Sonic's stage theme will be a simpler, tune of the modern song, while Modern will retain the same song used from the game.
The stages these hedgehogs run through are a joy to look at, too. Since the world of Sonic is so colorful and well made, it should look fantastic in 3D. So far, I've seen zones Green Hill, Casino Night, Launch Base, and Mushroom Hill in action, and they all look fantastic in motion!
So far, the game's graphics, levels choice, and gameplay are looking great! I hope Sega keeps up the great work in the days leading up to it's holiday release! In the meantime, you should all get practicing on Colors! You don't wanna be stuck on the first level of Generations!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sonic Generations
This game is okay. But is very short.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:12/28/13
ThatChosendude12
Location: Queens, NY
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
When I first saw this game, it looked amazing as I was a huge fan of the Sonic handheld games. It was my first 3DS game and when I first got it. I was pretty disappointed that it wasn't the game I imagined. My first complaint is that it's very short and doesn't have attention to detail that it's console brothers have. My second complaint is that it doesn't have many of the added features such as super sonic being playable, very much so because you have to get the chaos emeralds. Another complaint I have is that modern sonic and classic sonic feel the same. This is because classic sonic get's the homing attack and after that they just feel the same with little added features, such as the boost for modern sonic and the spindash for classic sonic. Another major complaint is that the levels aren't based around their Era, the eras are from the consoles and a very few are handheld. Here's how I will handle it myself. They should add the game gear era with levels from Sonic 1 game gear 2, and triple trouble. The advanced era, with levels from all the games and finally the DS era with levels from Rush, Rush adventure and Colors. Overall, it has no replay value and has no lasting appeal. I recommend this for kid gamers and people who only want this for a collection.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 20 for Sonic Generations
Great game but extremely short, but that's no prob
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/3/12
nintendofan9
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is too short. In general it does not give a challenge, but once you beat it you still have missions to complete, which makes the game replayable.I like the numerous references to past Sonic games, and I'm actually surprised that Sega put characters like Silver the hedgehog in the game, you would probably expect him to be in a Sonic game for the PS3 or something like that, but with that said, moving on. The physics in the game are nearly perfect, not like Sonic the hedgehog 4 where you need no momentum or speed to go around loops, this game does not have that. The spin dash is very powerful and gets you around fast. Honestly, as an anniversary game, this stuff in the game is more than needed, but in a good way. I would definitely recommend this game to anyone who is a Sonic fan. References to basically every Sonic game, what more can you ask for.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>