GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Monster High: Ghoul Spirit - DSi

After creating and customizing their own scary-cute avatars, players will be able to hang out with Frankie Stein, Draculaura, Clawdeen Wolf, Lagoona Blue, Cleo de Nile and the entire Monster High student body as they come to the Wii and Nintendo DS/DSi game systems. Monsters new to the campus will embrace all their freaky flaws in seven brand-new episodes that have been created especially for the first-ever Monster High video-game experience.
Average Customer Rating:
6.167
6.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
10 stars
3
9 stars
0
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
3 out of 650%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Monster High: Ghoul Spirit - DSi
Review 1 for Monster High: Ghoul Spirit - DSi
Bad game a waste of time.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/4/12
RAMB
Location: Cleveland, OH
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
this game is horrible nothing fun in it i watch my step-sister play it sometimes its just a bad game i can tell you that.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Monster High: Ghoul Spirit - DSi
waste of money
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:1/24/12
dragonmad123
Location: cleveland,ohio
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
i personally don't like this game at all. all the characters tell you to do is to talk to so and so or grab something like shoes or lip gloss. and if you or your kid wants this game it is a waste of money.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
8 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
RAMB
Cleveland, OH
 
Please wait while more information about RAMB is loaded.
Additional information about RAMB could not be loaded.
Worst game Ive ever seen.
Posted 10/4/12
Waste of time 20 bucks out of your life its way to easy (like i would ever play this game) and i have to watch my step-sister play it on wii
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for Monster High: Ghoul Spirit - DSi
OMG!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/19/11
pinkiegirl
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I LOVE THIS GAME!!!!!!!!!!! I AM AN ULTIMATE FAN!!!!!!!! I RECOMMEND THIS TO OTHER KIDS MY AGE!!!!!!!!!!! LOVE!!!!!!!!! :)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
12 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Monster High: Ghoul Spirit - DSi
My girls will not stop playing this!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/21/11
MommaMia35
Location: Phoenix, AZ
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
They love it so much I will probably buy another DS and copy of Monster High for Christmas just so the two girls can each have their own!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
17 of 19 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Monster High: Ghoul Spirit - DSi
Sweet!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:11/8/11
Anonymous
Location: benbrook texas
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I am SO excited! I don't have it thats why my ratings are random. I really excited to get the game! I am a HUGE fan of theirs and have been waiting FOREVER for a game to come out, and finally it's out!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
11 of 22 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Monster High: Ghoul Spirit - DSi
Mediocre at best-- only for very young gamers.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:11/2/11
LeolaTaylor
Location: Tiverton, RI
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
TL;DR (Game Informer-style stats)
Total Score: 4/10
Concept: meet and connect with all the Monster High characters.
Graphics: blocky, pixelated; as if they were trying too hard for their CGI capabilities
Sound: repetitive midi-style music and unoriginal, redundant phrases every time the characters speak to you
Playability: easy controls, though with awkward angles, and overly simplistic missions make this easy for anybody over the age of ten, and boring for most over the age of fifteen
Entertainment: a one-track game with a series of absurdly easy missions
Replay Value: moderate to low
Now, being a fan of the Monster High dolls, I had high hopes for this new DS game. Unfortunately, when it came out, I was ten bucks short so I waited five days and got the game on Sunday. I turned on the game and was almost immediately disappointed. There were six possible monster types for your character-- an impressive number, to be sure-- (Gorgon, Werewolf, Mummy, Vampire, Zombie, and "Mash-up Monster", a Frankenstein-like creation) but from there, only three faces, and only three hairstyles, and none were very nice looking. There were then two outfits to choose from, which, unlike the faces and hair, are universal across the species. They, too, were pretty terrible. The graphics weren't great, but then, I figured, this was only character design; it must look better if the gameplay was smaller.
Upon starting the game, I continued to be disappointed. The whole point of the game is to fill twenty-two "relationship gauges", which signify your popularity, to become Scream Queen of the Terror Under the Sea Dance. "Popularity is everything", as the booklet says-- not exactly a great message for the young target audience. Besides that, the graphics were AWFUL. Everything was blocky and pixelated. I held out on my final opinion, though, until I'd finished the game-- which took me four hours, a shorter time than any respectable video game should ever last. The episodes were all one-track, and if you followed the directions as necessary, it's impossible to lose. You can't even deny Toralei, the nasty catgirl, because you have to do what she says to move on with the game. You have to pull the mean pranks she suggests-- which you know are awful if you know, for example, that Cleo de Nile is afraid of the dark, or that Draculaura hates meat and blood so much she faints when she sees it-- and then you have to help your friends out of their respective predicaments.
The episodes themselves are simplistic to the point of boring. You have to help each of the six main characters with something, take five classes, and unlock your own "Freaky Flaw" episode, based on the monster you chose at the beginning of the game. This is the only thing different about the replays. Clawdeen needed a new outfit, stat! Somebody else was wearing the same outfit! So you're sent running around the school retrieving different articles of clothing from different people to save Clawdeen's day. Ghoulia Yelps had a problem with a teacher who didn't speak zombie, so she had to make sure he learned it. You have to leave a book and an mp3 on the subject with the teacher, among other things. Frankie shorted out several things in the pool area, so you have to fix it, along with Holt Hyde's mp3 player. Draculaura needs to make a new dress to meet Clawd. Cleo needed several errands run about so all her homework gets turned in on time. Lagoona had a conflict between sports and homework, so you have to run around carting notes between her, Coach Igor, and the Headless Headmistress Bloodgood.
The "Freaky Flaw" episodes are thus: the gorgon has to play what amounts to a bad Simon game on a recorder to charm the snakes on her head. The werewolf has to make herself a pair of gloves before the Terror Under the Sea Dance to hide her claws. The mummy has to make a potion (created by Ghoulia) for her wraps to magically re-wrap themselves, just in case-- everyone knows a mummy has to have at least one bandage on at all times or they dissolve into dust. The vampire has to dodge "sun spots" while making it all the way across the football field. The zombie has to go around a certain path in the school before time runs out, as zombies are super-slow. Last but not least, the "Mash-up Monster" has to run across the football field, much like the vampire, except instead of dodging "sun spots", you're trying to go through three "lightning spots" on the way across.
The classes are obnoxiously simple; in Mr Hack's Mad Science class, you have to make a series of 3-ingredient potions. In Mr Where's Drama class, you have to reassemble posters of various parodied plays-- nine pieces each-- before time runs out. In Ms Kindergrubber's Home Ick class, you have to "make" several plates of food by making various cutting and stirring motions. In Mr Mummy's Clawculus class, you have to keep count of a Zombie Flash mob going in and out of three classrooms for about thirty seconds. In Coach Igor's Physical Deaducation class, you have to throw a dodgeball with several zombie students and knock a certain number over in three or fewer throws. (I got them in one.)
There are a few other things that happen; for example, the Headless Headmistress asks you to check out the locked Music Room, where you meet Operetta, practicing. However, there are three other characters that are on the "relationship status" list-- Abbey Bominable, Spectra Vondergeist, and Jackson Jekyll-- who you never even interact with. Abbey is in Study Howl, Spectra is in the Creature's Lounge, and Jackson, presumably, is changed into Holt for most, if not all of the game, as you interact with one and not the other. Those three characters, along with Operetta, were the ones I was most curious about-- but of those, the player only gets to talk to Operetta.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
29 of 37 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Monster High: Ghoul Spirit - DSi
yay
Posted on:10/5/11
unicorn101
Location: gaston sc
im so excited about monster high ghoul spirit i pre orderd the game;D
11 of 26 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Monster High: Ghoul Spirit - DSi
Monster High
Posted on:8/22/11
Dajah
Location: Anniston,Al
OMG! Yes they finally have a game for Monster High!!:) I LOVE that site! I'm totally going to get it and I'm there Biggest Fan!!:):):):)
18 of 29 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ztella
uk
 
Please wait while more information about ztella is loaded.
Additional information about ztella could not be loaded.
woolftacular
Posted 9/23/11
i luv that game its going 2 be epiccccccccccccc
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Monster High: Ghoul Spirit - DSi
Sweet
Posted on:8/14/11
Aingeal
Location: Everett, WA
Cute monsters make the little girl in me that wanted to be a Vampire when she grew up squeal with happiness! The concept sounds like a hit, but no telling wheither they can pull it off or not. I'm hopeful!
16 of 22 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Monster High: Ghoul Spirit - DSi
Oh great, what is THQ doing this time?
Posted on:8/10/11
RayTheUlitimateGamer
Location: Alameda
What is THQ's new great idea? A game about simulating the life of a monster? That should involve violence! This is rated E and look childish.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
4 of 38 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
naomi900
woodbride va.
 
Please wait while more information about naomi900 is loaded.
Additional information about naomi900 could not be loaded.
I AM MONSTER HIGHS BIGGEST FAN IN THE WORLD!!!!!!!
Posted 10/10/11
i love monster high it is fangtastic the game will be monsterific i might get the game i cant wait YAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:o
Comments (1)
Comment (1)