GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

PS3 Afterglow Wireless Control

The wireless AFTERGLOW® for PS3 features green, blue and red color coded LED lighting, as well as a refined analog stick location for competitive advantage, and L2 and R2 triggers modeled on PDP's Real Triggers add-ons.
Average Customer Rating:
5.52
5.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
10 stars
2
9 stars
2
8 stars
6
7 stars
3
6 stars
1
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
5
13 out of 2552%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PS3 Afterglow Wireless Control
Review 1 for PS3 Afterglow Wireless Control
Visually Pleasing, and that's about it.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:3/23/14
DIG2013
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought an afterglow controller because it caught my attention with it's glowing capability. In short, the glowing capability is nice but not useful or wise to use. It cuts on battery power and is not really useful for anything other than looking cool, which it does. One thing I did like was the Xbox layout. I liked the analog stick where the D-Pad is. It was more comfortable. However, what really makes me frown upon this controller is its durability. It cracked maybe a week and a half after I purchased it. Not too much later after that, the crack grew until the controller became uncomfortable to use. I would not buy an Afterglow controller again. My advice is to pay the extra $30, and just buy a Dualshock 3 because it will last longer.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 2 for PS3 Afterglow Wireless Control
joy stick is incompatible
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:3/28/14
Steingamer
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
In this controller the joy stick is incompatible with my current games. The forward, back, left, right all work. If you do a 45* angle the joy stick responds like you are only pushing the stick a tiny bit. This causes games to do a slow walk in those directions. The rest of the controller is fine. This makes some games very annoying to play.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 3 for PS3 Afterglow Wireless Control
Good Controller
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/13/13
playstationrules
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This controller works perfectly fine, no problems with it so far. It is very confortable to hold, and they give you nice finger rests. It looks REALLY cool at night when all the lights on the controller are on, if you want to save battery life, you can turn off the lights. My only complaint with this controller is that it has a slightly bigger dead zone than the ps3/xbox 360 controller. In case you didn't know, the dead zone is how far you can move your analog sticks without them responding. Not a huge con, but it is definitely noticeable (but still useable) in some fps games. If you are the intense, get the best performance out of it kind of guy, then i would suggest you get the sony ps3 controller. Overall, for its price, it is a very useable, confortable, and cool looking controller. Hope this helped. :)
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PS3 Afterglow Wireless Control
AMAZING
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/2/12
penguinshadow
Location: Washington state
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
These controllers are awesome. I have two of them and played a lot of games. I have no issues what so ever. the analog sticks fit my hand better and they are easy to sync and love that they are wireless. i don't have any connection issues and they has long battery life. Just like any after glow you can turn the light off or on are intermittently. the controller is durable and not going to break unless you throw it across that room. Great controller.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PS3 Afterglow Wireless Control
JOYSTICK STICKS
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:1/8/14
metguy21
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this new and the right joystick sticks in the left position. I don't know if this is the case for all these, but this doesn't help sell my appeal for third party controllers.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 6 for PS3 Afterglow Wireless Control
DO NOT PURCHASE
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/3/13
xsquealx
Location: New Berlin
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This controller is terrible. It cuts out constantly. If it is left idle for more than 25 seconds, it stops working. If it is more than 8' from the wireless USB adapter that it requires to work, it stops working. The charge time on it is shorter than most controllers. The left joystick is offset from where it is on every other controller manufactured by anyone. You cant turn the PS3 on an off from it, and the buttons are not nearly as responsive as on other brands. The controller is cheaper than some, but it is also clearly cheaply made as well. Dont buy this product.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 7 for PS3 Afterglow Wireless Control
Not consistant
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/29/13
CSupasta3
Location: Birmingham,AL
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I first bought the controller and thought it was great time i played with it after the first time i played with it the D-pad strolled all the way don all the time so i took it bad i got another one it was great until i got into a game on NCAA online and realized the manufacturer mixed up the square and the triangle i Love the design it plays will but is just not Carefully made and breaks easily i guess
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 8 for PS3 Afterglow Wireless Control
Not recommend
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:12/4/13
ReesesPeaces
Location: Beliot,WI
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This product is not a recommendation. It only works for 3-4 weeks till it dies and will not turn on. The light only worked for 2 and a half weeks. On my recommendation I will never buy it again or any of its products.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 9 for PS3 Afterglow Wireless Control
will not stay connected
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:10/3/11
ACE33
Location: TN
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
the controller actually works pretty well and has great response time, when it's connected. i played with it for about 2 hours and had to point it at my ps3 about 6 or 7 times because it kept disconnecting. i decided to try it because i liked the reverse analog sticks, but i returned it the next day.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
4 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
someone111111111
speas
 
Please wait while more information about someone111111111 is loaded.
Additional information about someone111111111 could not be loaded.
no!
Posted 10/7/11
just buy the real its better
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for PS3 Afterglow Wireless Control
Great price good for FPS
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/2/12
MrTriggerhappyy
Location: NJ
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I have the wired one for more then a year now and really like it I just got the wireless today and same thing . I know the buttons arent as good as first party controllers But the L1/2 R1/2 are fine . I got rid of my xbox cause of system probs over and over But I miss the controller . I hate the PS3 controller slippery dumb triggers that slant in so your fingers slip off and the sticks no indent to place your thumbs. The afterglow is perfect for people that like the xbox controller . The real key for me is that the sticks are GREAT!!! very responsive . Ive tried alot off third party contollers but its always the same you have to move the rigth stick way to far before it moves your aim . Not with the afterglow . So if u want a cheap very good xbox style FPS controller buy this now
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 11 for PS3 Afterglow Wireless Control
Good buy
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/29/12
itsGamegurubro
Location: New York, NY
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Like an x box controller but it takes time to get used to. Its great for some one who plays in the dark and in joys Fps.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PS3 Afterglow Wireless Control
works
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:12/10/11
ice2222
Location: alb nm
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
i like it i use mine all the time for mw3 i have no problems with it at all
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PS3 Afterglow Wireless Control
Afterglow Issues
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/11/11
Vladamir
Location: Flagstaff
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
When I purchased this it was to save myself ten dollars by not buying Sony's brand. Thinking the light factor would be cool as well. The layout of the Analog sticks is what I liked the most, it made it more comfortable for me to hold. The first week or so it was alright, at times I could notice a slight lag between the input and the response in game. Wasn't until now, three weeks later, I managed to get my Copy of Skyrim at midnight, come home, plug in my game, low and behold, my right analog stick refuses to allow me to look anywhere but the ground. Myself and My friend have now had similar issues with this purchase, his went out long before I purchased mine. Long story shorter, spend the additional funds and just buy a Sony brand Controller, your better off.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
PS3 Real Triggers (PDP)
9.4 out of 10(28)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Gammerfan
 
Please wait while more information about Gammerfan is loaded.
Additional information about Gammerfan could not be loaded.
its really not to bad
Posted 12/30/11
i've had this controller for a few days and i play all kinds of games from rpg to 1 person shooters and i've noticed no lag my only complaint is that the battery seems to die quickly (it'l let you know trust me i was playing mw3 and i started doing circles) but besides that ive had really good luck
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for PS3 Afterglow Wireless Control
Product won't work at all
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/25/13
Sutailia
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
After numerous attempts to get the controller to connect, I've given up. There is no reset button which is ridiculous and the controller, despite reseting the system numerous times, will not connect. I'll be returning this immediately.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PS3 Afterglow Wireless Control
Better Than the Sony PS3 Controller
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/18/12
CorndogWizard
Location: Fountain, Colorado
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This controller is wireless and is better than the default PS3 controller the system comes with, and it's not as expensive. Some might steer clear of it, because of the design, being similar to the XBox controller design, but I like it a lot. Switching the directional pad and left analog stick makes playing Call of Duty a much better experience in my opinion, because your thumbs won't be so cramped and the controller is smaller, so your hand won't hurt as bad. I was able to play for over 3 hours without even having to take a break and give my hand a rest. Overall the design is good, and I love how you can turn the lighting on and off. Afterglow products will never steer you wrong.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for PS3 Afterglow Wireless Control
so far so good
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/28/11
daveRIT40
Location: Philadelphia
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I like it so far. responsive. played skyrim on it last night. my only complaint is that its a little small in my hands. but a decent overall purchase. I will update my comments here if it turns out to be a flop in a few weeks.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
gamerfool1066
tamriel
 
Please wait while more information about gamerfool1066 is loaded.
Additional information about gamerfool1066 could not be loaded.
Posted 1/24/12
yeah skyrim booyyyyy
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for PS3 Afterglow Wireless Control
Solid design, but a bad gimmick
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/18/12
TechnoGamer
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
First off, this controller works great. It's comfortable and I really liked that the L stick and D pad have switched positions. The only issue I had is with the controllers main selling point: the light effect. While the controller lighting up is cool you get tired of it pretty quick and end up turning it off. This wouldn't be so bad but the usb receiver also has a light in it and it's very bright. The entire time I'm playing, out of the corner of my eye I see this super bright light coming off the usb receiver. It was just way too distracting and I had to trade it in. If I had a usb port on the back of my ps3 I might have held on to this controller, but I don't, so I'm just gonna trade it in.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 18 for PS3 Afterglow Wireless Control
Xbox style controller
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/13/12
xENDx
Location: Palm Springs
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The controller fits comfortably in my hands, I like the controller a lot more than the regular old play station design. This controller is like an xbox 360 controller, I personally like this because I went from being an xbox 360 player to a ps3 and now I don't have to get used to a new style of controller. I say buy it, its wireless, It does have a USB slot so I would recommend this as a second controller. The design is a bit small so if you have huge hands you probably won't like this controller. I enjoyed the fact that this is a cool looking controller and cost less than a regular used ps3 dual-shock 3 controller. This controller does vibrate in case anyone cares haha. Good product.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 19 for PS3 Afterglow Wireless Control
Wish it worked
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/12/13
Ruben
Location: Perry, GA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The lights are cool (especially with the rumble mode) but the product is simply broken. I bought a blue one from Gamestop and the right analog stick wouldn't let me look anywhere except up. I exchange it the next day for the same color. The analog stick worked fine but the connectivity was terrible. I couldn't stand 3 feet away without disconnecting or having delays. The design was perfect though! Beautiful, non-blinding LEDs, and the compact feel was better. I hope they make a AP3 and get it right because I still want one. :(
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for PS3 Afterglow Wireless Control
Technical difficulties with connection.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/3/12
limeless
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
During the time that the controller worked, due to my small hands I enjoy the size and all though I wish they didn't copy the xbox I enjoy playing shooter games with it. The battery lasts a great amount of time, I can't remember the last time I've needed to charge it. The light is very useful because I can easily find it when I place it somewhere. I purchased this controller a month ago and now it will not connect to the PS3 may be due to a shortage or something I don't know. But overall I do like the controller and I plan on buying another one.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>