GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

EARFORCE X12

The Turtle Beach X12 is the definitive headset for gamers seeking amazing game sound, crystal-clear communication and enhanced comfort - all at an unmatched value. The X12 features massive 50mm speakers, delivering superior audio quality with crisp highs and deep, rumbling lows. The in-line amplifier puts you in control, with quick access to independent game and chat volume controls and variable bass. It also features an improved, acoustically-tuned, earcup design for greater comfort and better sound quality. Playing your favorite game with the X12 gives you a significant advantage because you can hear sound cues that are missed with speakers, such as the soft footsteps of an enemy sneaking up on you, or the click of a loading weapon in the distance. That means you'll react faster and take them out before they take you out, giving you a competitive edge that can make the difference between winning and losing. If you're serious about gaming, then get serious about the sound. Step up to the X12 and experience game audio like never before.
Average Customer Rating:
8.242
8.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (357 reviews)
10 stars
158
9 stars
85
8 stars
24
7 stars
20
6 stars
9
5 stars
11
4 stars
16
3 stars
3
2 stars
9
1 star
16
285 out of 35181%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EARFORCE X12
Review 1 for EARFORCE X12
Great for the price, but...
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/31/14
Acriimony
Location: UK
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
In my opinion, once you use other headphone's earcups (XP500, for example) these start getting really uncomfortable. Sure, the value might be great but I'm an avid gamer and I've gone through about 3 of these in the past two years. They break pretty easily, whether it be the cords stripping to reveal the copper underneath or simply breaking due to a technical issue. Get this mic if you want the value, not the performance. Although I will admit, it does have great bass for the price--with the bass boost, you can hear a lot of things routing the speakers through the TV wouldn't allow you to hear. But, then again, it's unmatched with other Turtle Beaches. If you have a high budget, may I recommend the XP500, XP510, or the PX3/PX51. Not a big fan of wired, I will admit. Overall, a great entry level headset but if you want more bang for your buck, get a Sierra.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 2 for EARFORCE X12
Overall an amazing headset with just two flaw's
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/26/14
Cyborge
Location: OH
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
In my opinion the turtle beach company has been an outstanding brand that's just really expensive until the came out with the X 12 headset. The design is nice and sleek, the sound is nice and clear, and very comfortable for the time I spend on my video games. But the one thing that stopped me from giving this 10 stars was this. When you use a play and charge kit it along with this headset it makes a low buzzing sound that gets annoying in party chats for your friends and yourself. Along with that the chat cable that comes along with the headset is okay but breaks after about 3 or so months depending how careful you are with it. Besides these two problems in an otherwise perfect headset I really enjoy it
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for EARFORCE X12
They WERE good, until...
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/7/14
NakedZoidberg
Location: Arizona
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
These were decent, and I got them with power-up reward points, so they were also free. Which I LOVED, of course. But low and behold, less than a year after getting them I have had to apply electrical tape all over the volume box to hold the cables in a certain area and direction. Without the tape holding the cord, my voice wouldn't go through to others online and/or I wouldn't be able to hear others. It was never consistent with which would happen. Then after ghetto rigging the thing, it started cutting in and out when I would move, or even twitch. I gave up on the P.O.S. and just bought the Titanfall edition of Triton's Kunai. So far, I love them. JUst opening them it was obvious the difference between materials used. The connecting cord on the Tritons is 3 times thicker than Turtle Beach. I am not going back to Turtle Beaches again.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 4 for EARFORCE X12
Sounds great, breaks often
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:3/5/14
TheAvatar
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I've been using the x12 for around 2 years, and I have had 4 of them. They break every 5-7 months. It sounds great, but simply from wearing it often the earpieces will snap, and unplugging it and plugging it back in over six months always causes one of the wires to wear out. Each time I have had them, a new part breaks. From the audio cord to the power cord to the entire headset's plastic snapping and denting. It works really well, and you can get a refund if you send it in before 12 months are up, but it will not last you long. I'd reccomend spending the money on a more durable headset. It will be worth it . and itll probably also come with better sound quality (surround sound), so you might as well.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 5 for EARFORCE X12
exelent
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/3/14
Biochciken
Location: Ny
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is a amazing cheap headset It took it 3 years to break and i'm not responsible amazing product.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for EARFORCE X12
Best gaming headset ever!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/21/14
1xbox360fan2go
Location: MO
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Frist off let me just say this. If you are one of those gamers who thinks that $250 is to much for a gaming headset. You know what headset i am talking about then right?. I seen these on the website. And when i seen the price of them i was like wow!! you can't beat $60 for a headset that works just as well as the other headset that you guys know what i am talking about. It starts with an A Lol. Yea i would pick these over them any day. $60 guys you can't beat that for a gaming headset. Get this headset you will like them trust me on this..
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for EARFORCE X12
Okay While It Lasted
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/20/14
ThatGuyWhoWroteThatReview
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I got my Turtle Beach X12's on Black Friday a couple years ago. They were recommended to me by a friend, and I decided that they were a pretty good price for a gaming headset. After I purchased them, they fit great, worked fine, sounded awesome, everything was really good. This lasted about 3-4 months. All of a sudden (didn't drop it once from a height that would do any damage), my mic just literally stopped working. no gradual decline in performance, it just stopped. I couldn't get it to work for anything. After a while I just gave up on it, having to just put on my XBOX Live mic on underneath my X12's. I sent the X12's in during the warranty period, and after I got them back, they worked fine for a while. Again, after probably 3 months the mic started malfunctioning. This time it would cut in and out, to the point where my friends couldn't understand what I was saying. Unfortunately, this was after the warranty period had expired, so I could not send it back again. I decided I would again just deal with it, until a new problem arose. The right side of my X12's just stopped working. I could not hear anything that would be coming out of the right side of the headset. These were just my personal problems with this product, and I know that this is probably different than a lot of other people, because I know of some people who haven't had any problems with theirs. However, I still would not recommend them to someone, because I've also heard lots of stories of bad experiences with this item.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EARFORCE X12
Perfect for any gamer!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/19/14
XxSLIMWOLFxX
Location: Arlington, TX
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This headset is perfect for any gamer! I got them with christmas money, and they have REALLY good bass, and audio. The mic is good, too. The fact that I can use them for PC gaming/skype and my Xbox 360 is awesome. I reccomend them.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for EARFORCE X12
This is an amazing game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/26/13
Dude13579
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This game has amazing graphics with many different gamemodes. I got this as a Christmas gift from my aunt. My brother and I play it all the time and we love it. I reccommend this game to ABSOLUTELY EVERYONE!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EARFORCE X12
best headset ever
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/23/13
minecraftpro
Location: millbarry OH
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
this it the best headset ever used on Xbox or pc it might cost some money but it is worth it so go get one asap these are awesome
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 11 for EARFORCE X12
this headset is awsome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/10/13
stieve1232
Location: newyork ny
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i was able to hear the sounds of gunshots in black ops 2 and it sounded perfectly it was the perfect headsset
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EARFORCE X12
Last about a year
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:11/7/13
Tosei
Location: Bloomfield, NJ
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is a great turtle beach for beginners in headset. They have great quality, great voice pickup and crystal clear chat. BUT the material quality is very poor. It's very cheaply made plastic. I began to notice little cracks right above the speakers where the headset extends. I took very good care of them. But after about a year it begins to to show little cracks from putting it on and off soo much. I wouldn't recommend this headset if your looking off something that lasts for years.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EARFORCE X12
Great Sound Quality, but can be fragile
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/6/13
NiNjA24
Location: Clifton, New Jersey
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Well, this is the fourth time I am buying a new one just because they break so easily for me. The first one broke after about a month of use because my foot got tangled on the cord and I pulled it. My second was the same issue, my third headset just broke today for no reason at all. A month ago I did drop it, but it was fine back then, I just put it on today and I feel something is funny, it didn't fit right. I inspected the headset to find it was broken just above the right speaker where is swivels. I attempted to glue it but had no success. I ended up trying it on and breaking it even more, picture of it can be found below. However, I love this headset with a passion, it has great sound quality and a great microphone, I use it to go back and fourth between PC and XBOX. I can't wait to go out and buy my new one in an hour.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for EARFORCE X12
A very good mid range gaming headset.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/21/13
Kevs121124
Location: Lusby, MD
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I've had this headset for at least two years now. It was my first gaming headset, excluding the Xbox 360 default mic. I used it for a long time on my 360, and switched it to my PC when I got a new desktop. First off, it seems that a lot of other reviewers claim it is very fragile, but mine still works fine after at least two years (probably more). It probably doesn't sound as good as it originally did, but it still works just fine. It isn't indestructible, but as long as you don't step on it, drop it on a hard floor, let animals chew on it, or give it to someone who might not treat it carefully, you will be fine. It is very good for its price, but it is still a mid-range headset, so do not compare it to a high range one. It has stereo sound, not surround sound, but good luck finding a quality headset with surround sound for less than double the price. The wire shouldn't be much of an issue, as it is one that splits near the end, and you could tie off the excess if you want. I think they were a little uncomfortable originally, but now I can wear them over my glasses all day. I have had a few minor issues, though. First, the mic is way more sensitive than you would expect. If you use it for Xbox, I would recommend pointing the boom arm for the mic away from your mouth. If you have it in front of your mouth, you are likely to get complaints. In addition, don't use it in an area with a lot of background noise. The mic can pick up pretty much anything you can hear. This includes if you pass gas. The second issue is that the volume knobs are very easy to accidentally turn. When you move, it might brush against your clothes and turn the volume way up, or way down. This didn't happen very often, and has hardly been an issue since I switched to PC, since the voice knob only affects Xbox voice chat. The third main issue was very rare, and only seemed to happen on Xbox. Occasionally, when I started my 360, the microphone wouldn't transmit sound, and I usually had to fiddle with wires for 5 minutes or so to get it to work. It was annoying, but rare, and the benefits mostly outweigh the issues. I'm thinking about upgrading to a much higher end gaming headset soon, though. Overall, I highly recommend it as a starter headset, provided you take proper care of it, don't immediately give up if the mic stops, and are aware that the microphone is WAY more sensitive than it probably should be.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 15 for EARFORCE X12
AMAZING! I WILL NEVER NOT STOP...You get the point
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/9/13
TheHeadsetGamer
Location: middleburg, FL
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This headset is amazing! Although I think it is somewhat under priced, the frame is made of mesh material and plastic; it'd be better to use a more durable material such as plastic with a medium to heavy thick coating of rubber so that if dropped the shock is absorbed and the headset isn't damaged. The sound quality is absolutely amazing and I love how you can adjust chat and bass. I am a big time X-box and PC gamer so this headset is handy for both. Thank you for such a wonderful headset!!!!! KEEP MAKING THEM BETTER :D
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EARFORCE X12
Amazing with some nice if somewhat pointless adons
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/9/13
TurtleGaming27
Location: Michigan
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
These headphones are amazing, I bought a pair a few weeks ago and the sound clarity is absolutely astonishing. The noise cancelling is great too. I sometimes can't hear people yelling when I am in game. I have found that the Bass Booster doesn't really do much. Correct me if I am wrong but I will turn on and off Bass Booster and nothing will happen. The cable is great length for Xbox, but somewhat annoying if using laptops or PC. Also you can't use these in HDMI unless you buy an adapter. Overall Great Headphones though. Much better than any other headset I have had. I highly recommend these to any gamer. The mic is great, it moves easily and is super sensitive. Sometimes it picks up background noise with is annoying if in a party with friends and they hear what is going on around you. Anyway Great sound, mic, noise cancellation, comfort, style, and cord length. Amazing headset for an Amazing price.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EARFORCE X12
A great headset!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/12/13
TheStorm
Location: NC
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I got this headset 1 year ago,and it is still working great today.I would choose any Turtle Beach headphones over any other headset company for the Xbox 360,beacuse any Turtle Beach headset delivers clear in-game sound,from the remote on the cord.I think this is a great headset for offline and online gaming,for action,shooter,and RPG games.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EARFORCE X12
annoying
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/2/13
qwerty562
Location: long beah c.a
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The problem is the wires they get tangled up and it gets annoying when playing. I recomend turtle x32
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for EARFORCE X12
BEST HEADSETS FOR GAMING
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/2/13
xXslayerXx
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
If you like scary games YOU NEED THESE! they really make a difference especially in multiplayer games. i would extremely reccomends this to any gamer
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 20 for EARFORCE X12
After a while the cord messes up
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/30/13
JuggaloLove
Location: AZ
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
After a year to 24 months the cord messes up and it will stop working, Im using zip ties to keep it together and to hold the cord in a good spot that let's me talk because it messes up.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 18 next>>