GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Blackwater

Have you got what it takes to be a Blackwater operative?The first Gesture driven Action FPS for Kinect for Xbox 360Blackwater takes virtual combat to the next level using Kinect for Xbox 360 to create an unprecedented new level of battle immersion. Just like a real-life Blackwater operative, players must use military tactics and full body gestures to complete high-stakes assignments in some of the most dangerous places on the planet.
Average Customer Rating:
4.818
4.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
10 stars
3
9 stars
0
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
3
3 out of 1127%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Blackwater
Review 1 for Blackwater
Whats the big deal?
Posted on:10/23/11
demonberry
Location: Ocoee,FL
I don't know why people feel negative about this game. Is it because it's a shooter on the family friendly Kinect? The Kinect isn't just for families you know, and you'll have to deal with ALOT more games like this coming out.
12 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Blackwater
Politics?! Were talking fantasy=Gaming
Posted on:10/5/11
Charlieholmes006
Location: Rings of Saturn
Tazra, I and I'm sure others don't play games with politics in mind! C'mon man, were playing games to escape reality otherwise we couldn't play 3/4's of the games that come out now if we were to apply our real world ethical and moral standards before buying!!! Let's see, in this game I'm a fugitive killer, no can't buy that one cuz that's just wrong and in this one I get to go around abducting people then shoot them out of a cannon to kill other people so, no, I can't play that one either and shame on Microsoft etc. for publishing this stuff! These are games, not reality, and this game may just turnout to be alright!
10 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Blackwater
what
Posted on:8/18/11
slacker789
Location: philadelphia, pa
what is this game. i want on youtube and it was a shooter but how will they do this on kinect. also the game release date is coming up and they didnt write a preview or a preview video. i might want this game if they say what it is. blackwater could be many things but i cant see it being a shooter
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Blueruma
 
Please wait while more information about Blueruma is loaded.
Additional information about Blueruma could not be loaded.
It's a shooter
Posted 9/23/11
E3 had some great coverage of the game. Realy the first of its kind for kinect. Pretty well an "on rails" game, but I give them credit for trying something new.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Blackwater
Good concept but not quite
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:12/1/11
Eman99
Location: Louisiana
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
After seening the trailer for blackwater I had decently high hopes for it but it unfortuantely fell a little short of my expectations. The gameplay reminds me of the old time crisis or house of the dead arcade games. While the concept for the game is a great idea it lacks in the way it tracks your movements. Moving around, jumping, crouching, etc tracks great, aiming your weapon; one of the biggest parts of the game, is not so great. You put your arm out like holding a rifle to bring up your sights but it seems like your aiming very low almost like trying to shoot from the hip. You try to get a bead on your target but your target sights tend to jump back and forth making it hard to hit the enemy. The other drawback on this is that it automatically fires for you. While this is the best way to do it for kinects; once you do get the enemy in your sights there's a slight delay before you fire. So while your waiting to fire the other enemies are shooting the heck out of you. With this way of targeting and shooting you can only fire on one emeny at a time instead of being able to spray some bullets across multiple enemies standing right next to each other. In sniper mode aiming is a little better but the automatic firing isn't good. Instead of waiting until you have a nice headshot to fire you start firing bullets even when the enemy isn't in your crosshairs. You do have the option to switch to using the controller which makes aiming alot easier and you can fire when ready, but this takes away from the overall gameplay. Imagine playing house of the dead with a regular controller, not overly fun, If I'm going to play a FPS with a controller I want to play Halo or something like that that gives you free roam. So while the idea for the game is great it falls short in the way it tracks you for aiming you weapons. I think this game would have been alot better if it were made for the PS3 Move where you can have a gun in your hand making aiming feel a little more natural and have a button you push so you fire when your ready to. I'll hold on to this game and probably play it every now and again. For the rest of you thinking about getting it I'd wait until gamestop has it used for maybe $15 because that's about all I feel it's worth.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Blackwater
Nice try, but don't buy!!
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:12/1/11
Jereme
Location: Dover, PA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I only played training, so take it or leave. It was enough for me to know the game is not worth the time of day. You do NOT even pull a trigger. You wave your hand over the target, it waits a second, then fires automatically. That is kinda stupid... Like I said, it was a good thought, maybe worth a shot when Kinect 2 comes out, but this is just a waste of time.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
4 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Blackwater
going to be a very good game
Posted on:10/29/11
uinocornslayer
Location: northern virgina
this game is going to be good and will get it this is a game worth getting
6 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Blackwater
Terrible Idea
Posted on:9/17/11
Tazra
Location: United States
It's a terrible idea to base a game around a name synonymous with war crimes. I'm sorry it was ever created, I'm sorry Microsoft is willing to be associated with it, and I'm sorry GameStop is willing to sell it.
15 of 54 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Blackwater
Best game for almost any system ever!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/11
BlackwaterAgentGregory
Location: Milton,Fl
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Okay, this game is beast. You are a Blackwater Agent who is assigned to this city called Harri. There are 4 people in your squad, Smash and Baird are the only ones I can remember at this time. You can play using the Kinect Sensor or the XBox 360 controller, so you don't need the Kinect to play it. It is possibly one of the best games ever. In Kinect mode, you just aim at the people with your hand, and crouch, and sidestep, that is the best mode to play in. The controller mode isn't as fun, it is boring, actually. Hope this has been helpful!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 22 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
StrategeryMan
 
Please wait while more information about StrategeryMan is loaded.
Additional information about StrategeryMan could not be loaded.
Really?
Posted 1/28/12
Blackwater is a very important organization when it comes to training for the police and the US Armed Forces, but as a game? I think not. Also, that fact you recommend BRINK makes your rating somewhat invalid. I have played a little of this game and found it about as enjoyable as a guided tour of the museum of the history of literature. In the first few levels, at least, the hand'holding that is scripted in is almost unbearable. This could be overlooked if the combat was interesting or challenging, but it isn't. Maybe if they scaled up the realism of the combat or had a little better AI in the enemies, then it would be a somewhat enjoyable game.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Blackwater
@tazra
Posted on:9/24/11
LILHURK
Location: Kinect rules
dude back off of microsoft if we didn't have teams like blackwater we wouldn't have the fredoms we do.
7 of 24 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
LILHURK
Kinect rules
 
Please wait while more information about LILHURK is loaded.
Additional information about LILHURK could not be loaded.
Top 50 Contributor
Dear 13fox
Posted 12/4/11
I am sorry I did not mean to imply that blackwaterfights for our freedom, but that they are just guns for hire, however they still do fight FOR the USA against our enimies so As i said they do help maintain our freedom. Again I am sorry if I offended you I DO NOT mean ANY disrespect to the men and women who so valiantly give there lives for us. GOD BLESS.
Customer Avatar
13Fox
 
Please wait while more information about 13Fox is loaded.
Additional information about 13Fox could not be loaded.
FREEDOMS From Blackwater?
Posted 9/26/11
My friend, Blackwater is not the ones who fight for your freedoms they fight for money. The ONLY people who fight for your freedom is the U.S. military. And I can tell you from personal experience that they are the only ones who will lay down their lives for you to remain free and continue to make disgraceful comments like that.....
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 10 for Blackwater
Warcrimes: The Game!
Posted on:10/22/11
beenzncornbread
Location: yonkers, ny
I am in complete shock that this game is being published. So I am guessing the premise of this title will involve you shooting down innocent unarmed civilians and breaking contracts. Must be a pretty deep game for the Kinect when the only thing being fired back at you are rocks and watermelons. WOOHOO! I just can't wait for the DLC, I'm sure it will be called Xe Services: Getting Away with More War Crimes. I won't be touching this title with a ten foot pole and shame on Microsoft for allowing it to happen.
11 of 89 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Acexx
 
Please wait while more information about Acexx is loaded.
Additional information about Acexx could not be loaded.
Posted 11/26/11
I like how Blackwater or Xe Services which ever you want to call it makes a mistake and jumps the gun killing 17 Iraq civilians sad i am not trying to be heartless but the US military bombings killed hundreds and nobody complains when they are in a game
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Blackwater
Hmmmm....................
Posted on:9/25/11
dangerclose
this game looks amazing but i cant tell.....it could be good if it reacts in the right way but if you move right and it doesnt move that will suck but nevertheless im still looking forward to it
2 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Blackwater
Terrible
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:1/20/12
awsomnesss
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This game is terrible, the way you play in kinect and the controls are stupid and hard. The game has super bad graphics. DON'T BUY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Blackwater
Other reviews
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:3/14/12
DedOn
They are right the game is bad, but I love how all these POGs write about there "military expertise".
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Blackwater
Blackwater...really?
Posted on:10/1/11
ROMAD2005
Location: Columbia, SC
Too little, way too late. Blackwater hasn't officially existed by that name for some time now and you might be better informed to know they work under Xe Services LLC as of last check. Whoever came up with this shamble of an idea didn't do their homework. Besides, is there a mock instructor standing behind you firing over your head as you train like the real deal? Lol...
2 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Blackwater
Dont care what it is
Posted on:9/10/11
LILHURK
Location: San diego CA
i really dont care what it is if its kinect i'm pre-ordering
2 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Blackwater
blackwater
Posted on:8/26/11
usmc07grunt
Location: helmond. afgan
blackwater was a private security force we used in iraq they was more unless mercs with a us contract. with very open ROE. (rules of engagement) system and got paid very well. more unless they was cowboys with real cool guns and equipment
2 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
jarheadscout
OKLA,USA
 
Please wait while more information about jarheadscout is loaded.
Additional information about jarheadscout could not be loaded.
jarheadscout
Posted 9/6/11
I agree with my fellow DEVILDOG Blackwater merc are pretty worthless, I would rather have a group of well trained Eagle Scouts before them
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Blackwater
not a very good game
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:1/9/12
guygjkohbg654658464gufjig
Location: Kearney,NE
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is not very good cause you don't get to shoot it is an auto shoot so if there is gonna be another one make it so that we can actually shoot i mean common yo.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Blackwater
What's Next?
Posted on:10/11/11
ManDown
Location: US
What's next? KKK Rally 2011? Come on man. I'm surprised that MS would put something like this out. I'm realy tired of the war games that always have kids shooting brown people.
5 of 51 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
SPYDERLD
 
Please wait while more information about SPYDERLD is loaded.
Additional information about SPYDERLD could not be loaded.
Posted 11/29/11
Why are kids playing this game in the first place? It shouldn't be rated "T" in the first place, but that's besides the point. Too many parents don't watch what they buy their kids, then they blame the game. and yes, IT IS A GAME
Customer Avatar
teffelhunden
malone new york
 
Please wait while more information about teffelhunden is loaded.
Additional information about teffelhunden could not be loaded.
whats wrong with most of u guys
Posted 10/23/11
so what if blackwater messed up in iraq. this is just a game come on u in this game u get to experience what combat is really like u got to duck for cover and pick ur shots. u guys shouldnt look at the name but what the kind of experience u get. a lot of u are too political dont look at that but lokk at the fun ull have actuly playing a soldier come on
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 19 for Blackwater
Great Game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/22/11
Killatore
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This game is Great and the Kinect needed a great shooter like this. The sensor picks up every move and the movements you have to make are realistic. I just got back from my tour in Iraq and Blackwater saved alot of lives.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 19 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Blackwater
AWESOME!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/24/11
BlackwaterOp
Location: Chico,CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game it just AWESOME! Got it tonight and it is PHENOMENAL!!! The movements are realistic and the graphics are great I JUST LOVE THIS GAME!!! A must buy for ALL GAMERS!!! 1,000,000,000,000 out of 10!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 6 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>