GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Oregon Trail 3DS

Welcome to the Oregon Trail! The Classic game you remember done in a whole new way! It's the middle of the 19th century and you have to travel from Independence, Missouri to Oregon City. Your journey won't be an easy one but there are still ways to have fun on the trail. Now is your chance to rewrite history and make your own adventure!
Average Customer Rating:
5.75
5.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
10 stars
1
9 stars
0
8 stars
0
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 425%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Oregon Trail 3DS
Review 1 for Oregon Trail 3DS
Like the PC version? Then you won't enjoy this.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:3/5/12
JaLeSherman
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I picked up this game with fairly high expectations that this was going to be like the PC game that I played in grade school. I was in for a shock. At the beginning you only get one story line option opened to you. Once selected you can customize your wagon tarp and base which was pretty cool. But after you take off from Independence, the game falls down hill quickly. It sets you on a time limit to reach your destination by winter and when you go to check on your stuff, hitting the controls and figuring them feels a little awkward. Major issues came from controlling the oxen on the game to "navigate" the course of the trail. I couldn't believe how terrible it was! Your wagon and oxen basically have "hit points" sort to speak of hitting trees and rocks. If you hit them, you keep going, with little "talismans" on the road to help patch you up, it doesn't have too much of the realistic flows of the original. You also do not get to pick up berries or search for cures to the ailments your team may develop. You just hit "give medicine" and you're covered. As an adult hoping to give this to a child, the lack of learning that came with picking your own berries and researching associated with the deadly diseases true pioneers faced takes away the chance to make it an enjoyable history lesson (like its predecessor). The positives of this game are the fact that it is child-friendly, and the fishing/hunting aspects of the game are enjoyable. (Though beware: You do not decide when you are done. That is also timed.) The rest of the game was terrible enough that, after getting to Oregon City my first time through, I returned the game. I seldom give out negative reviews because it takes all kinds of people to figure out the game, but this one I wouldn't even really recommend to my own.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Oregon Trail 3DS
SWEET!!!!
Posted on:12/5/11
MrsReckhouse
Location: Waukesha, WI
I'm totally buying this for my husband. We still have the original games plus we have the app on our phone to play...Who cares if this is a remake...I always thought of this game as a fun way to kill off anyone by letting them get sick. I still remember playing this on an actual big FLOPPY DISK!
9 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Oregon Trail 3DS
I love this version
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/3/12
animalsandmagic
Location: Mentor, OH
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
In this version I really like being able to drive the wagon and the 3D visuals. The hunting is fun altough I enjoyed hunting more in an old PC version I used to have but still liked it better than in some versions. The fishing was probably the easiest way for me to get food as well as being fun. It is also fun to be able to cross the rivers without having to decide how to do it. The game is pretty simple but certain parts are a bit challenging.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Oregon Trail 3DS
I'm buying this game.
Posted on:8/9/11
RayTheUlitimateGamer
Location: Alameda
It's a really fun computer game series that is now being made on pretty much every system. There are lots of fun things, but my favorite, in fact most peoples favorite part is the hunting. Buffalo, rabbits, squirrels, and cows, are a some of the animals you hunt. I'm not sure how well that will work on 3DS. The challenging part is keeping all the people traveling with you alive. Stuff will happen like they will break bones or get bitten by a snake. But it's just a really fun game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
4 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Oregon Trail 3DS
tell me more about this.
Posted on:8/5/11
gamefan4564
Location: shelbyville mi
this is a highly rated series. I want to play this. i just want to have some information on this. I will watch this game
 
My Product Recommendations
 
4 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
RayTheUlitimateGamer
Alameda
 
Please wait while more information about RayTheUlitimateGamer is loaded.
Additional information about RayTheUlitimateGamer could not be loaded.
Top 25 Contributor
You asked for information, I have some.
Posted 8/9/11
It's a really fun computer game series that is now being made on pretty much every system. There are lots of fun things, but my favorite, in fact most peoples favorite part is the hunting. Buffalo, rabbits, squirrels, and cows, are a some of the animals you hunt. I'm not sure how well that will work on 3DS. The challenging part is keeping all the people traveling with you alive. Stuff will happen like they will break bones or get bitten by a snake. But it's just a really fun game.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Oregon Trail 3DS
Hard to Enjoy Anything About It.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:4/11/13
Diarrhea
I borrowed this game because it looked like it would be pretty cool. There aren't too many Oregon trail games out there. When I started playing, I thought that the graphics were pretty mediocre, and the old-fashion country music was kind of annoying. It takes a while to figure out what to do if you're knew to the game, and I basically just spent a long time whipping oxen and going on the trail. Didn't really do much else. I went hunting, but you basically just move a target onto a blurry rabbit and make it explode with a gun. It also doesn't use the 3D in a great way. It might as well just be 2D. This game bored me quickly, and it's hard to say anything good about it, besides the fact that it is unique and different from other games.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 7 for Oregon Trail 3DS
Wait, what!!!???
Posted on:9/13/11
jbl8199
Location: Johnstown, PA
Ummm, ever heard of the word ORIGINAL? Have they truly run out of Ideas that they're going to remake this now? I remember playing this on the computer in school like 20 years ago. It was a great game, but come on, it's bad enough they're doing so many remakes of movies, I don't want to see it spill over into the video game world. The problem with the 3DS isn't the hardware, WE HAVE NO ORIGINAL GAMES!!! They're either remakes/spinoffs/sequels/etc. I've had it with remakes. If it keeps up I may just sell my 3DS.
9 of 76 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Delta360
Henderson, NV
 
Please wait while more information about Delta360 is loaded.
Additional information about Delta360 could not be loaded.
RE: Wait, what!!!???
Posted 10/15/11
I think that this will be a great game. The original was so very addicting and i bet that with revamped graphics and a newer story could make this game better than it was 20 years ago.
Remakes are great, i suppose that you think the revamped versions of metal gear, resident evil, cave story, shinobi are all a bad idea too. Just sell your 3DS and be done with it.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Oregon Trail 3DS
EHHH....
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:7/11/12
Mandy1303
Location: ATL, GA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i LOVED the computer version, this one is fun, but no where near as good. i wish they would have done more with it, such as sicknesses, injuries, etc. cause that just doesnt happen that often. This game is ok i dotn think i play it a lot so ill probably end up returning it, possibly.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.