GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Rune Factory: Tides of Destiny

Aden and Sonja, two lifelong friends, were living a tranquil life on Fenith Island. Then, one day, they were struck by a mysterious curse! They awoke to find both of their souls were trapped in the same body! On top of this unusual calamity, the Fenith Island they knew was gone, replaced by an island populated with unfamiliar faces. Solving this mystery will require adventure, strategy, and plenty of new friends! Can you stay afloat in the Tides of Destiny?
Average Customer Rating:
8.529
8.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
10 stars
10
9 stars
3
8 stars
0
7 stars
1
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
13 out of 1776%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rune Factory: Tides of Destiny
Review 1 for Rune Factory: Tides of Destiny
Preview from a true fan
Posted on:8/21/11
Eternia
This game is going to be biggest improvement yet to the Runefactory series. This is also the first installment to include a choice of playing as a boy or girl like harvest moon although the choice is story related so you cannot choose right off the bat. The bulletin board system is also coming back to make improving hearts with your sweetheart alot easier and more eventful. There is a wide variety of bachelorettes at a full total of 9 and a smaller selection of 4 bachelors . The monsters are getting an even bigger role this time around being that they are the only ones who can grow crops for you on other islands. You get a magic wand that can plant seeds and your monsters cultivate the soil as well as water them for you. The combat is super fast just like Rune Factory 3 along with the newly introduced dual blades that are making their first debut on console. The last feature that i can think of is the ability to control a giant golem-like being called Ymir that helps you travel to different islands and discover sunken pieces of land. There's even monsters that can attack you while on Ymir such as giant krakens. These are just a few features that i found out about while researching the game for the past few months since it came out in japan in February. This game is going to be amazing ,so dont forget to preorder and guarantee your copy like i did!
21 of 22 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Rune Factory: Tides of Destiny
BOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:10/8/12
Buswaxer4LIFE
Location: New York
This game was far below my expectations. I've played all of the DS installments in this series and loved them all, so I figured I'd give this one a shot. Sadly I made the mistake of buying this trash new so I couldn't get my money back. The gameplay is shallow. The combat consists of nothing but hammering square repeatedly and teleporting home when you're almost dead. The story line (what I could stand to play through it anyways) was random and unintelligible. The characters are all the same as the ones from the past games only with different names and hair colors. The graphics were lacking considerably compared to most other PS3 games. The voice acting was even more horrible than your average JRPG and I felt embarrased just listening to it. The only thing that I found slightly attractive was the hand drawn animated cutscenes which left the lame golem creature in 3D animation. Overall, I was deeply disappointed by this stain on the Rune Factory Series's track record. Do not buy new :(
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Rune Factory: Tides of Destiny
Good game, bad start.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/3/11
iNINJA
Location: Acworth, GA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
If you have played previous rune factories, the begining only lasts like five minutes, aka the boring part where you cant do anything but sit there and maybe say "hi" to people. The intro to this game lasted FOREVER! I sat there for maybe an hour until i could do anything, so i was about to trade it back in. but then, BLAM! it was fun! now, i have access to weapons, i can train monsters, and go out to sea on my golem. I havent gotten too far yet, but i am enjoying myself now with fighting, farming, raising monsters, fishing, and so on. there are a lot of skills to master, and it will take some patience in the beggining, but dont let that shy you away from this gigantic rpg. Oh, for the gamer girls who complained about gender in the previous games, you can choose to be either a boy or a girl at a certain point. So, buy it. Play it. This is a good game with a bad, bad start.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Rune Factory: Tides of Destiny
I like the Anime style graphics!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/28/11
HollowBattousai
Location: Lancaster, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game brings back what good JRPG's should be like, I completed the wii version of this game and I just found out that the ps3 has this game as well so I picked it up yesterday. the story had me hooked and the battle system reminded me so much of kingdom hearts. I recommend this game to JRPG fans and Kingdom Hearts fans alike. I gave the graphics a 10 since I like this cell shaded graphics.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Rune Factory: Tides of Destiny
Ok game for previous Rune factory lovers.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/4/12
MyNameIsJesus
Location: Orange County, CA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This game is an ok game but they have a lot of minor flaws that they could have fixed to make this game a lot better. For example, the awkward camera angles are very annoying you can't use the right analog stick to move it around, it automatically moves around and you can only press R1 to set the camera in front of you, this gets annoying because in combat I like to go against the wall and fight and due to the camera angle some of the detail like a wall or something like that will block my camera angle. The other thing that annoys me is the voice acting on this game they have some of the text voice acted and some not, why not just have everything voiced out except the characters name? Now for the pros of this game, it will take a while to beat this game I am only on the 3rd boss and have almost 90 hours on the game already on here, so if you are into lasting appeal games this is one of them.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 6 for Rune Factory: Tides of Destiny
Great Game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/14/11
xgensniper
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is great! The game in general works out great. Graphics and sound are made really well. I would recommend that you go out and by this game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Rune Factory: Tides of Destiny
GREAT!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/16/12
Aden
Location: Mayland.MD
You just gotta love this game. Recommended for anyone to play! Especially gamers that played Harvest Moon.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Rune Factory: Tides of Destiny
OMG
Posted on:8/6/11
Halomaster2
I loved all the other rune factorys now coming for ps3 i cant wait!!!
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Rune Factory: Tides of Destiny
Its so fun if you like Harvest moon
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/20/11
negimaknight
Location: Vancouver WA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
If you like the Harvest moon or Rune Factory series than this is your game. I would have to say if you want to use ps move than use it at your own risk. I just a dual shock 3 controller it so easy with it . But I picked it up for the detailed it show me and it look so fun. But I would put down just yet
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Rune Factory: Tides of Destiny
Best Rune Factory Yet!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/16/11
Halomaster2
Location: Aiken, South Carolina
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Its Pretty different than the other rune factorys. You eventually get seperated around the middle of the game then you can pick your character.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Rune Factory: Tides of Destiny
AVERAGE
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:10/19/11
Sasukeuchiha25
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
In the end, Rune Factory: Tides of Destiny has some great gameplay innovations and refinements, and can be quite fun and addictive to play. Unfortunately, the step backwards in terms of localization and character development combined with some issues with production value keep the game from being great. Fans of the genre/series will certainly enjoy it once the rocky beginning is over with, and even gamers who don't generally appreciate farming sims could find themselves getting hooked. Hopefully, the next Rune Factory game will incorporate the gameplay improvements from Tides of Destiny into a game with a stronger cast, better localization, and nicer graphics.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
James4657
 
Please wait while more information about James4657 is loaded.
Additional information about James4657 could not be loaded.
Posted 10/24/11
Sorry but I have some issues and I believe you even contradicted yourself with your review.
"In the end, Rune Factory: Tides of Destiny has some great gameplay innovations and refinements, and can be quite fun and addictive to play."
Right here you automatically say the game fun and additive to play and it's innovative. Which it's the elements of a great above average game.
"Unfortunately, the step backwards in terms of localization and character development combined with some issues with production value keep the game from being great."
See this doesn't even make any sense. The Localization is actually really good especially for Natsume. They had some grammar mistakes but other than that there's really no issues with Localization.
Character development, I'm sorry but this wrong also the game has plenty character development. The characters warm up to you and their personality changes as you become better friends with them. If that's not enough character development for you then I don't what is. Production value umm this is a Wii game ported to the ps3 and Natsume is niche company, what sort of production value were you expecting?
"Fans of the genre/series will certainly enjoy it once the rocky beginning is over with, and even gamers who don't generally appreciate farming sims could find themselves getting hooked."
So if it's a really fun game that almost anyone can enjoy that makes it above average instead not just average.
"Hopefully, the next Rune Factory game will incorporate the gameplay improvements from Tides of Destiny into a game with a stronger cast, better localization, and nicer graphics."
The cast is strong enough the only thing they need is more and better bachelors for the girl to marry, the localization is fine unless you can go into better detail on what you're talking about, and unless the next rune factory game is exclusive to the ps3 it won't have nicer graphics so you might has well get used to it and if you played the disgaea games then really shouldn't be complaining about graphics. It seems to me based on the jrpg games you rate that you're more nisa fan and you just hate or think any other jrpgs is average because it's not made by them. I like nisa too but I'm a opened minded jrpg fan so I try to love and try something different and go in plus I do research on my games before buying them.
I mean you gave the lasting appeal a 6. Why? The lasting appeal for the game alone should be a 9 at best since you can do multiply playthrough to try and marry everyone and even play as the girl. So after looking at that it's really hard to take your review seriously.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Rune Factory: Tides of Destiny
The best rune factory to date!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/8/11
Wallsofjericho
Location: Marion illinois
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
For starters, it was awesome getting this game a few days early. this game is perfect for anyone who has ever liked harvest moon or rune factory, and visuals and sounds are just amazing! The attention to details in this game are just overwhelming. get this game while you can, because it probably wont be on the shelves long.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Rune Factory: Tides of Destiny
SIX MORE DAYS!!!
Posted on:10/5/11
AxelofEvil
Location: Glen Allen, VA
Can't wait for this game to finally be released. They tempted all the Rune Factory fans with a 9/28 release date then pushed it back to 10/11. So frustrating...but oh well, what can you do? Only six more days before I will be outside Gamestop waiting for them to open up. Reserved and everything!
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Rune Factory: Tides of Destiny
Still one of my favorite games.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/10/11
AgeAdrian
Location: Ohio
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game has a great story line to it and that it came out Oct. 7 made my day
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Rune Factory: Tides of Destiny
Sweet
Posted on:8/6/11
Link600
Location: Greensboro NC
This Game Is Going To Be Great! I Can't Wait! Sweet!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Rune Factory: Tides of Destiny
Interesting
Posted on:8/18/11
BZant
Location: Hartville, Ohio
I've never exactly played thiss series before. I tried it once on wii but shortly after i stopped touching my wii period. It was interesting but i never got to far to understand the whole game or anything like the mechanics. With an anime styled artwork, which is an immediate draw towards this game for me, i feel i should give it a chance. Ill perhaps get this later when some used copies come out. I have some high hopes for this. Lets see how this turns out.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Rune Factory: Tides of Destiny
Mad!
Posted on:9/25/11
JustinTy
Location: Catawba, SC
Ok im so freaking mad it better be here in 2 days i swear its so annoying im gonna like freak if my games not here It went from 9/27 TO 10/11 WHAT THE H*** IM GET IT IN ON THE CORRECT DAY OR IM NOT GONNA BUY IT
6 of 64 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
KodaCrest
 
Please wait while more information about KodaCrest is loaded.
Additional information about KodaCrest could not be loaded.
FYI
Posted 10/3/11
The Release was pushed to 10/11... that is day of.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for Rune Factory: Tides of Destiny
The best Rune Factory yet
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/5/12
gleebgloob
Location: Virginia
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I've played every Rune factory game out there, and this one had the best of all of them. I always hated how insanely complicated the other Rune Factory games got, and while this one does pose challenged, then aren't impossible like they are in the other games. It is seriously addicting, and the story line is long. I've been playing it for about a year now and still haven't beaten it! Over all, I love it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Rune Factory: Tides of Destiny
FAIR
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:10/11/11
BlazingSoul29
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I never played any other game in this serie but this game is ridiculous and childish. The only thing that pleased me is the lasting appeal, i recomend this for only fans ONLY.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
3 of 31 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
PancakeQueen
 
Please wait while more information about PancakeQueen is loaded.
Additional information about PancakeQueen could not be loaded.
Wow.
Posted 10/27/11
I find this review to be VERY rude and inappropriate. I wouldn't say this game is childish AT ALL. I would look at the games you play before judging this game. :/ Also, if you don't like the game that's a personal preference. You don't have to write a bad review about it. Many others enjoy it unlike you.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for Rune Factory: Tides of Destiny
Sweet game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/1/12
Saro
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
If you like harvest moon, you love Rune Factory. Rune factory is like harvest moon with fighting and monster instead of farm animals.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 next>>