GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Tales of the Abyss 3DS

One of the most acclaimed titles in the Tales of series, Tales of the Abyss® stands apart from other RPGs with its depth of story and magnificent world. Now it makes its debut on the Nintendo 3DS with full 3D support and the use of dual screens to bring players even closer to the action. Tales of the Abyss centers around Luke fon Fabre, sole heir to an aristocratic family, as he is suddenly thrust into the outside world on an epic adventure. Naïve and spoiled by years of isolation, Luke struggles to learn about friendship, sacrifice, duty, and choice. In the end, Luke's actions may ultimately save the world or bring about its very destruction.
Average Customer Rating:
9.07
9.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (61 reviews)
10 stars
27
9 stars
11
8 stars
0
7 stars
2
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
39 out of 4391%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tales of the Abyss 3DS
Review 1 for Tales of the Abyss 3DS
Buy Game Now, Get 3DS Later
Posted on:8/26/11
Lotus
Location: Canton Lake, TX
Yup, going to get the 3DS later, I have the origanal PS2 game, Loved it! Now I can't wait till I have Jade in my hands, being able to play as him again. GO JADE GO! *blush* <---ish female.
I wish that the intro song had the original lyrics "Karma" and not in the instramental, I can practically remember lyrics from watching it a lot on a video player. So I have the lyrics going through my head as I watch the intro.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Roacks My Soxs off Every time!
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
lovelylorelei
philippines, iloilo city
 
Please wait while more information about lovelylorelei is loaded.
Additional information about lovelylorelei could not be loaded.
ugh i hated magna carta!
Posted 9/10/11
i can't believe you had the patience for that game...
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Tales of the Abyss 3DS
best tales game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/10/14
smag1122
Location: new york
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this is my 1st tales game and it just makes my want to play them all but they are not all in the usa
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Tales of the Abyss 3DS
Tales of the Abyss 3D - A Masterpiece Reborn
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/20/12
MizuJosh
Location: San Diego, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
First and foremost, let it be known that this game is a direct port of a PS2 game. However, this port actually may be better than the original simply because of the controls and touch screen. I never used the cooking function in the original, for example, and now I cook after almost every battle because of how user-friendly the touch screen makes choosing recipes. The same can be said for battles. Rather than R3 button on the PS2 version, shortcut commands for artes (special attacks) are assigned to the touch screen, which makes spell casting loads easier. As for an actual review of the game, the graphics are great (although simply a port), the sound is crisp and clear, the musical score is BEAUTIFUL, the characters are dynamic and enjoyable (Especially Colonel Jade Curtiss and Anise Tatlin), and the gameplay is classic Tales. A+ game. Love it to Daath... I mean death!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Tales of the Abyss 3DS
Amazing
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/8/12
LinkSlayer
Location: Wilburton Oklahoma
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is the best rpg ive played in a good while. I love it so much, I havent got into an rpg lthis hard since Final Fantasy 10. This is just the game I needed. I didnt get to play this on PS2 so it was a must have because I got burnt out on Super Mario 3d Land and Mario Kart. Those are amazing games I love them but it was time for something new. I was ready for a good rpg but I was skeptical of this game for some reason. Man have I been missing out. THis is a must have 3ds title. 40plus hours of gameplay. Im glad I got this. The only negitives that I have found and there so small. Is there are some sequences that arnt voiced, and the 3d isnt amazing but its still good. Nothing that takes away from gameplay or the wonderfull story at all. Those are just things that would of made me give it a perfect score. Please please please pick this up if your thinking about getting it. you will not regret it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Tales of the Abyss 3DS
My 1st Tales of game and I LOVED IT!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/5/12
AmErICaNBoY92
Location: Richmond, VA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I hadn't heard of the tales series before this sadly. I feel like I have been missing out on a lot of fun. This game was perfect for the 3DS. It was a great first time RPG game for me. I loved all of the characters and animations. I want more of the Tales series so I pre-ordered Tales of Graces and am looking into Tales of Vesperia. I can't wait :D... Overall I was OVERLY satisfied with Tales of the Abyss 3DS
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Tales of the Abyss 3DS
Great game
Posted on:1/13/12
Sair
Location: Nevada
I played the first, and was in love with it pretty soon off. It was my first Tales of game, that led me into the whole series. I would love to buy it, considering it was my favorite of the Tales games, sadly though I won't be getting a 3DS anytime soon. To those who don't know the series though, it is a truly amazing game, its very deep and emotional, and goes into character stories pretty well, all the characters have connections with each other, does not feel like half your party doesn't talk with the other half. I think the Skits, help with that some, which I hear will be voiced, which is nice. There is a very large amount of side quests that I feel make up a whole other chunk of the game, and you learn a lot more from them. Personally I find the story to be rather unique. It's also a good game to get you started on the series, though I feel Tales of Symphonia , is the very best to start the Tales series, considering it fills you in with a lot of the things traditional to the Tales series. In any case Tales of the Abyss is certainly worth a buy.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
bmess
 
Please wait while more information about bmess is loaded.
Additional information about bmess could not be loaded.
Posted 1/20/12
Sorry, but Tales of the Abyss for 3DS is nearly a direct port of the PS2 game and that means the game will not have voiced skits and it was mentioned many times before as well. The only thing different are the faster loading times, the 3d graphics which I heard are subpar, and the shortcuts being on the touchscreen. On the other hand, Tales of Graces f for the PS3 has voiced skits. I have both games on pre-order and it will be nice to experience this game once again.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Tales of the Abyss 3DS
Unexpected gem
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/9/13
NLSIV
Location: St. Louis, MO
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I picked this game up in a sort of haul after I got my 3DS XL, expecting it to be a run of the mill RPG with monsters and objectives and magic. What I got was a fully fleshed out story with bright characters and exciting places to explore. I had read a couple of reviews on it that said great things but I usually take those with a grain of salt. After getting into the flow of the combat style, it all went uphill from there. I've found myself feeling happy, sad, frustrated, overwhelmed, and even laughing a couple of times at the banter between the characters. There's lengthy dialogue that can feel endless at times but if you let yourself you can become immersed in the story and the growing relationships between your characters. Plot twists, exciting battle moves, and boss battles that require a little more than going head first with a barrage of attacks makes Tales of the Abyss a game I'll end up cherishing for a long time.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Tales of the Abyss 3DS
Amazing RPG
Posted on:1/21/12
reviewer48
Location: Cape Cod, MA
A truly spectacular, full-fledged RPG for the 3DS. A great buy for any 3DS owners who are looking a intuitive, exhilarating, and face-paced game. As a port of a PS2 game, Tales of the Abyss 3DS has tons of content that will keep you glued to your handheld for hours. For any comeback players, who have experienced the game already on the PS2, it offers a fantastic feeling of nostalgia and the removal of those pesky loading times that plagued the console version. A serious contender for the 3DS library.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Tales of the Abyss 3DS
A new perspective.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/19/12
xXAngeIXx
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Of coarse some of you may be wondering, "Why should I buy this when I can just buy the PS2 version for cheaper?" Well, here's your answer; first off, FASTER loading times! On the ps2 version, the loading times took forever! Second, it gives you a closer, in dept look at things. This is my first time playing this game on the 3DS and I swear, even after playing this game 3 or 4 times on the ps2, I noticed things I've never even noticed before on the 3DS. And lastly, it's a tales game. It has a wonderful storyline (further on) and the gameplay is just great!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Tales of the Abyss 3DS
If you're a Tales fan and own a 3DS, read this!
Posted on:1/6/12
Taicho13
Location: Texas
"This was a simple, small idea I had that I came up with and mentioned it to some friends. It involves using the Street Pass function of a Nintendo 3DS to freely advertise Tales of the Abyss and Tales of Graces F. When you take your 3DS with you and you street pass someone, you trade greetings, among other things like Swapnotes. I figured out that editing your greeting to the following (minus quotes) fits perfectly "Get TotA3DS 2/14" the same thing with Graces: "Get ToGfPS3 3/13"
The problem is; this is very limited in multiple ways, the number of 3DS users, the number of 3DS users that take their 3DS with them on their daily routine, the area where people live, and whether people will know what a "TotA" or a "ToGf" is. But the good news is, you've given a date, the fact that TotA is a 3DS game and ToGf is a PS3 game, and the word "get" which may strike up curiosity in some people to look up what "TotA" or "ToGf" is. Which also, in turn, may interest them in getting the games.
So Marketing Strategy 1 is as follows:
People that own a 3DS
Nintendo 3DS owners please go to the Mii Plaza and click on your Mii and choose the option to edit your greeting.
Type in (without quotes) "Get TotA3DS 2/14"
Make that your greeting and take your 3DS out with you and Street Pass as many people as you can!
Now every time you street pass someone they will receive your greeting as "Get TotA3DS 2/14." When you’ve done this, please share this on other pages, on your own wall, get it out to as many people that have a 3DS as possible!
People that do NOT own a 3DS
You’re still very important too! If you’re planning on getting a 3DS sometime soon you can join in at any time, plus after Abyss is out, we can switch to Graces. This tactic will also work with any future Tales titles that may or may not be released in the US. Another thing you can do to help us is to post this on your wall or other places, tell your friends about Tales and ask your friends that have a 3DS to do this as well. I know it’s a long shot, but as we’ve all said and we all know, Abyss and Graces BOTH HAVE to do well if we’re going to get any other games in the future."
 
My Product Recommendations
 
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Taicho13
Texas
 
Please wait while more information about Taicho13 is loaded.
Additional information about Taicho13 could not be loaded.
Thank you so much!
Posted 1/21/12
I was just notified that this went live and came to check it out. I'm very glad that you are going to get Abyss 3DS. I don't remember if I wrote it or not, but if we want more Tales (which honestly, who doesn't?) Abyss 3DS and Graces F have got to sell well! Back before I even owned a 3DS, I had Abyss 3DS preordered and I planned on buying it and leaving it in the plastic until I purchased a 3DS.
Customer Avatar
aesome
texas
 
Please wait while more information about aesome is loaded.
Additional information about aesome could not be loaded.
great idea
Posted 1/9/12
as a fellow texan your ideas are great i've been a fan of the tales since symphonia if someone who contributes this much to the tales series i will get because of your recommendation
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 11 for Tales of the Abyss 3DS
Alright... good
Posted on:2/6/12
Hatsodoom
Location: Edison, NJ
Good idea, but given this think about something for a moment. I'm not saying this isn't a good idea, it is. However this was a PS2 game right? Right. So PS2 games can be ported to the 3DS right? Right. So here's my point... *ahem* PORT TALES OF SYMPHONIA (JP PS2 Version) TO THE 3DS! Us guys in the US would eat that game up.
14 of 26 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Raph
 
Please wait while more information about Raph is loaded.
Additional information about Raph could not be loaded.
Posted 2/18/12
I would be all over this too, but I'd rather they give us a Xillia localization first...
Customer Avatar
Awesmazing
 
Please wait while more information about Awesmazing is loaded.
Additional information about Awesmazing could not be loaded.
Tales of Symphonia
Posted 2/13/12
...was on GC (US), like, 8 years ago... So I (in the US) have already eaten.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 12 for Tales of the Abyss 3DS
One of the best rpgs I have played.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/4/12
Jspencer21
Location: Montrose, MI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
First off know this is a Japanese style rpg. But I love anime so it made this game that more amazing. Its a real time rpg not turn based which is great for how much can be going on in a fight. There is also a normal or hard mode to play on and can be switched during the game at anytime.
the main characters were all unique and the story line is told in full audio voice casting. So here are my true felling on what stood out the most...
*Story-If your into anime or a adventure style games where you use fonic artes to cast spells or attack with your weapons. The game is long (im playing on Hard takes a lot longer) already clocking in 44 hours and the main conflict is going on in the game so still many hours to the story plus the extra for side quests and bosses.
*Gameplay- fast paced action rpg. you can play as any character as your main on the field or in battle. good unique magic i never sen in a game before. and the characters all grew stronger throughout the game so it never gets dull. Also your able you combine different artes into new ones with the help of other members casting spells and leaving FOF.
Loading!!- One of the best things that made this game stick out so much is no loading times! you can run into a monster on the map and the fight instantly starts. loading and saving. makes it enjoyable to keep at a good pace for the games.
*Challenging- If played on normal im sure the game would be much faster progressed through. but I been playing on Hard and EVERY boss I fought i had to try at least twice. that's how hard a challenge it can be.
*Customization- A LOT of rpgs lack this! This one doe not. You can use to four spells on the D pad using B+(direction) your computer teammates are open to use all their spells at will. you can play as whichever character you chose to be. you can set your teammates at id they heal,support,attack,magic attack,how much magic to use, and what to keep a eye on for hp or magic. later in teh game you unlock more customization with spells to change their effects and make them grow stronger.
*Graphics- Its a anime stile so its not all perfect graphics i would say to be honest 7/10 for the normal cut screens and battle game play is so fun that i enjoy the way it looks. 3D yes but overall it looks nice.
This is a very in depth rpg game that will give you a fun and challenging experience while laughing at some parts of the game. the story line and villains are what you want and are exciting fights. this game is worth the buy if you want a fast paced game with long hours. I imagine i might clock in around 70 hours with everything.
hope this helps.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Tales of the Abyss 3DS
Finally!!!!!!!!
Posted on:8/21/11
DragonDuelist
Location: MD
I've played this game on the PS2 and I loved it. When I bought a Nintendo Power magazine that had some details about this game coming out for the 3DS, I was very exited and I wanted to buy a 3DS. Now that I know the release date for this game, I'm definitely going to buy a 3DS before next year comes.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Tales of the Abyss 3DS
A Must HAVE game for 3DS
Posted on:8/26/11
Blitzmafia
Location: Des Moines
I Just bought the original version for the PS2 which i happened to find at my local gamestop (plus i found my ps2 and memory card with tales still on it). This game has it all to a superb storyline to a fun battles that tales are know for also it has 4 of by my standard the best characters(Luke,Tear,Guy,Van). Also put this game in 3D and able to be carried around and you got fans and hours of gameplay. Also eager for its counterpart tales of graces coming to the PS3.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Tales of the Abyss 3DS
Tales game. Nuff said.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/15/12
MegaShooter
Location: Elkhart, IN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Japanese RPG from the Tales series so you get what you'd expect. Real time combat, Deep storyline, Fun characters, fun graphics that match the game well. Tales games are often overlooked by many but they are some of the best RPG's ever made. There is plenty of ways to customize how your team fights in combat and many ways to find new combos that mix well. There's so much that goes into this game that makes you never want to put it down. It's difficult to summarize these games because of how great they are and how complex they can get. My advice would be buy it. These tales games become very difficult to get a hold of after a year or two and are some of the best games you will ever play.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Tales of the Abyss 3DS
Might be worth a look.
Posted on:10/23/11
jbl8199
Location: Johnstown, PA
Considering the lack of real JRPG'S for the 3DS this one isn't looking too bad. I never played any of these games so this should be quite a new experience for me. I just hope it lives up to all the hype it's getting. I haven't played a decent JRPG in quite a while.
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Tales of the Abyss 3DS
great game overall.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/4/12
lordoftheabyss44
Location: Manitowoc, WI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Tales of the Abyss 3DS is a direct port of the original ps2 version of Tales of the Abyss. Everything is just how i remembered it when i played the original. The gameplay is a lot of fun. The battle system is probably the best thing about the gameplay. The battles take place in real time and you use regular attacks with the A button and special attacks called artes with b and the circle pad. If you have ever played a tales game before, each game is pretty much the same but with little changes to the battle system. The game also has really good music along with it. The characters are not as likeable as past tales games have had but the cast isn't that bad. My only complaint is that the main character Luke is a selfish annoying brat in the beginning of the game . The graphics seem to be worse then the original ps2 game as the characters are kind of jagged and so are the backgrounds. The 3D is horrible in this game and add's little to the overall gameplay. The game has a lot of replay value as some side quests aren't even unlocked until the second playthrough. If you don't do any of the sidequests you are looking at a 40+ hour game. This game has a lot of sidequests which makes it less linear as some other games I have played. Overall the game is very enjoyable. The skits aren't voiced like in tales of vesperia but I still enjoyed this title the third time through.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Tales of the Abyss 3DS
EPIC JUST EPIC
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/20/12
khfangirl
Location: florida
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is awesome i played my friends and i was sitting on couch playing it for at least 2 hours! He keeps saying umm.. are you done yet? One thing i suggest get it quickly they get sold out fast!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Tales of the Abyss 3DS
An Incredible Story!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/21/13
Jellyfish99
Location: Pollock Pines, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is the third Tales game I have played, and I'd have to say that Tales of the Abyss has an absolutely incredible story. Throughout the first few hours of the game, the story starts off a little slow. However, once you get a little further on in the game, the story becomes so engaging and exciting that you will not want to put the game down. Tales of the Abyss is one of those games where the story is so good that you just can't seem to quit playing. Aside from the story, the gameplay is good, but could be better. The gameplay is fun enough to where it is enjoyable, but it really could be better. Considering the fact that this is a port of an older PlayStation 2 game, the graphics are good, but not incredible. But that is just fine, because the graphics are good enough to be likable. Like many JRPGs, the area where the game really shines is in terms of the story. While other areas of the game are good, the story is the best part. The story does become very deep and rich as you progress further on in the game, and the characters are developed extremely well. Overall, I would recommend this game to JRPG fans and anyone looking for a game that has an excellent story.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for Tales of the Abyss 3DS
Too many issues
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/8/14
MMT31
Location: Columbia, MO
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I've played several Tales games to date so far: Xillia, Graces f, Symphonia, DotNW, and now Abyss. Abyss for many Tales gamers would be put in the top 3 for them with Vesperia and Symphonia, but for so much hype around this game the port for the 3DS really to be blunt, stinks. The story and character development is awesome as expected, but the port is a joke. I've been able to play several JRPG on the PS2 and most of them were good or better. Except Pokémon Abyss would be my first RPG on the 3DS and I can see why RPGs should be kept off handhelds. The movements and battles work out really well thanks to the joystick the 3DS uses, but the processer of the 3DS or Abyss' game card just are horrible when put together. I encountered so much lag. Nearly all skits, the pride and joy of Tales games, lagged terribly. Just for a character's jaw to complete an open and closed motion took seconds too complete and the subtitles would be almost be to fast and I've got the text speed in mid-range (4 or 5). Going across any world map bridges, lag. When on the clock to save the Alboire, lagged and stayed at 10:43 seconds left for about three seconds. When in a town or dungeon though the lag issue didn't occur thank gosh. Also this game had too many direction issues. Need to get somewhere and you don't know where it is, please use the back page feature of the map to find it, but we really won't tell you about this or only spend a few lines telling you amongst many other things at once so please sail around the map and hope you find your destination, :/ really Abyss. This happened so many times, how about a marker to show the player where they're going because seeing as most people won't know your fictional world all that well, nope. Then there are the storms to keep you out of certain areas, nothing showing you can't fly there on the map, nope you just got to fly right into it and have notice box spam your screen every time.
Sadly out of all the Tales this was the only one I had navigation or direction issues which is sad because it's puts the game a lower on my Tales list of which is the best and a few simple fixes would have cured this issue because if you don't pay attention 100% to the game the entire play-through you miss some detail that bites you I the butt sooner or later and on a handheld it's pretty easy to miss something on a five inch screen. So honestly if you can get the PS2 version over this cruddy 3DS junk so at least the lag issues are gone. Heck if I only had to deal with being lost as my problem with Abyss this would have scored a 9/10.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 3 4 next>>