GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Collector's Edition

The next chapter in the highly anticipated Elder Scrolls saga arrives from the makers of the 2006 and 2008 Games of the Year, Bethesda Game Studios. Skyrim reimagines and revolutionizes the open-world fantasy epic, bringing to life a complete virtual world open for you to explore any way you choose.
Average Customer Rating:
9.471
9.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (113 reviews)
10 stars
16
9 stars
0
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
16 out of 1794%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Collector's Edition
Review 1 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Collector's Edition
My Preview
Posted on:8/21/11
IrishBiscuita
Thought of the price being a little much till i saw what was in it
Here's my break down ^^
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
2 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Collector's Edition
Just look at it!!!
Posted on:9/30/11
Ajex
okay first thing i would like to say is im a big gamer love games its my pashion ever since i was little. This game is something ive myself been dreaming of for along time i mean the whole thing im talking about is just everything is interactive and just all the verity of thing you can do that make it feel like you are in a real world. okay now lets get to the CO it is for people who are excited and true fans it is totally worth the 150 because if you look up the statue from PVC they run from 50 dollars to 300 dollars and buy the look of the detail of this statue it looks like it is on the top end of that price range. okay now the artbook. it is over 200 pages and FULLY colored which would sell in retail stores from anywhere from 75-150 dollars depending on who its by. and now the behind the scenes is worth 15dollars so even on the low end of the price ranges it is 205 dollars if getting it separated so i believe it is well worth the money. CANT WAIT PLEASE COME FAST >.<
7 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
HAMBURGLER
 
Please wait while more information about HAMBURGLER is loaded.
Additional information about HAMBURGLER could not be loaded.
HAPPY MEAL DEAL
Posted 10/9/11
Not only do you get the game/ but the box and the plastic toy.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Collector's Edition
BUY THIS
Posted on:10/21/11
mrinfo
I personally can't wait for Skyrim to release for a few reasons. On top of having the most visually stunning graphics to date, seemingly endless gameplay, and need i say....DRAGONS...not cruddy, odd ball looking dragons like we have seen in other games either, there are a lot of other awesome titles being released around the same time. While people may say, where am i gonna get the money or time for all these new games, i say by time my two month stretch of playing nothing but skyrim is over (i would probably still have more things to explore) all the other games prices will have been slashed. maybe not by much, but still. All in all...i have over 500 hours put into Oblivion and i know there is still things i havent done in there, so i imagine a better looking, more advanced Elder Scrolls Skyrim is gonna have my attention for weeks, and playability for not just a few months, but years!! Bethesda is epic, and no other game company is better at what they do then those guys over there. i will happily give them $150 for this edition. why not spend a little money to help advance an amazing company to even greater heights, and even greater games.
18 of 19 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
HallowKing
 
Please wait while more information about HallowKing is loaded.
Additional information about HallowKing could not be loaded.
Most Epic
Posted 10/25/11
I have been a fan since i first meet elder scrolls and already i am becoming impatient to grab this game no doubt we will all be blown away by the genius that is The Elder Scrolls
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Collector's Edition
Well Worth It
Posted on:8/12/11
zombelord
First off, there are a lot of people complaining about the price of the Collector's Edition. They're complaining that "all you get is a statue, a DVD, and an art book for $90 extra dollars." Well if anyone would do a little research, they could see that it's a very fair price for what you're getting.
The statue alone is worth the price. If you look up the people who are making the statue (IP Factory), you would see that the statues they usually make and sell are between $200-$325. Factor is this is a mass produced statue, but still limited in the fact that you can only get it via this Collector's Edition, then $90 is fair.
Taking that into account, the art book and DVD are just extras. The art book alone is probably worth AT LEAST $20. They can be expensive to make considering the quality of materials to make the covers, pages, and the quality and large amount of ink required for the art (I'm comparing this to the beautiful WoW Cataclysm art book that I own from the Collector's Edition)
In the end, $150 is well worth it. Many people complain about the price for what you get, but consider this; it's a *Collector's Edition*. It's meant for collectors, not casual game buyers.
I'm going out today to pre-order this. I can't wait until it's released.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
22 of 25 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Argonian
 
Please wait while more information about Argonian is loaded.
Additional information about Argonian could not be loaded.
Bravo
Posted 8/13/11
Well said dude.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Collector's Edition
SKYRIM!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/22/11
Maclane0911
Location: Des Moines, IA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Ok, so seriously. SKYRIM!!!!! This game is amazing!!! The CE is absolutely BEAUTIFUL!!!! My whole room is showcased with everything I can get my hands on thats Skyrim. I want a poster though too, and maybe some action figures haha. But I've played TES since I was 6, I'm almost 18. The 1st elder scrolls was released the same year that I was born =) I LOVE Morrowind, Love Oblivion, and LOVE Skyrim. Everybody buy this no doubt, get it while you can, the CE is AMAZING and definitely worth it, Every penny. Overall, I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THE ART BOOK MORE THAN ANYTHING!!! The Dragon(Alduin) is AMAZING. The Dragon Wall(The wall that hold the language of the Dova's) could be better but oh well. The video, I'm waaayyy to busy playing to watch haha, and the CE case of the game is LEGIT!!!! So everyday when I get home, I walk in my ES showcased room, dust of and kiss all of my items (While taking extra long to show the love to the Art Book) sit down, and leave the U.S for awhile, if only I never had to move from that chair :'( But anyway, if all of theses 10 out of 10 reviews aren't enough for you to go buy it, in fact if your even questioning buying it, somethings wrong. So go DO YOURSELF A favor. GET SKYRIM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
GamingLord
Aurora
 
Please wait while more information about GamingLord is loaded.
Additional information about GamingLord could not be loaded.
Skyrim was a awesome game but what about Dawnguad
Posted 6/20/12
Dawnguard is vampire and mortals at war you can choose to be a vampire or a mortal I would recemond being a vampire and the release date is... November 11 2012
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Collector's Edition
Went ahead and got the CE
Posted on:9/26/11
JD85
Location: Vault 101
I don't think the CE is for everyone. But if you're a hardcore Bethesda fan who loves Morrowind, Oblivion, and Fallout 3, I'd say it's a must have. The statue and art book look really nice, and plus this helps Bethesda pay the bills and ensure they keep making great games in the future! The games this company makes are truly one of a kind.
18 of 18 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
AJEDIWARRI0R
california
 
Please wait while more information about AJEDIWARRI0R is loaded.
Additional information about AJEDIWARRI0R could not be loaded.
Top 250 Contributor
for true fans
Posted 10/2/11
ya i dont see why everyone is complaining this is a true collecters edition for dedicated fans of Bethesda and the elder scrolls it will go nice with my fallout 3 CE Gamertag- A JEDI WARRI0R the o in WARRI0R is a zero
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Collector's Edition
Use your brains!
Posted on:8/20/11
Irradiatedarts
Location: Cali
As others have said, this is a COLLECTORS addition. If you are not a huge Bethesda buff or a collector then obviously this is going to seem overpriced. If you are just a casual gamer then buy the regular version, don't complain. The statue itself is worth more than $90, look up IP Factory. Seriously guys, stop complaining, no one is making you buy this. Just buy the regular version if $150 is too much. I for one will be buying this. I feel that this will be one of Bethesda's finest games and will certainly set a new standard for the entire role-playing genre. I would like to be able to say that I have the collectors addition. I am particularly excited for the art book, being an artist myself. And the statue will look great in my game cabinet guarding my loot!
16 of 19 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
AJEDIWARRI0R
california
 
Please wait while more information about AJEDIWARRI0R is loaded.
Additional information about AJEDIWARRI0R could not be loaded.
Top 250 Contributor
Epic
Posted 8/22/11
ya i dont know wats up with everybody this is awsome, my post is rite below yours send me a friend request if u want my gtag is A JEDI WARRI0R and the o in warrior is a zero. everybody cheer up!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Collector's Edition
I have to take off work!!!
Posted on:10/31/11
CivilProtection
Location: Kansas City, MO
This game is going to be game of the year I just know it. In all the game releases I've been to I never once taken off work. This time is different I have to tell my boss I'm going out of town. I'm not lying. It's true, IM GOING TO SKYRIM FOR THE WEEKEND!!!
14 of 14 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MuscleHead007
Skyrim
 
Please wait while more information about MuscleHead007 is loaded.
Additional information about MuscleHead007 could not be loaded.
Posted 11/9/11
I took off of work for this game, too. You're not the only one
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Collector's Edition
Worth It? Not for Me
Posted on:10/2/11
AnAlbinoWhale
Location: Texas
Skyrim will be an amazing game, no doubt. Sixty dollars is definitely worth an expansive game like this one. But paying an extra $90 for a statue, art book, and video? I am extremely excited for Skyrim, but to me the Collector's Edition isn't worth the money. However, the items in the Collector's Edition will be cool, and it's just a matter of opinion. To some people, an art book means everything, just not for me. Weigh your options, weigh the costs, but I'm sticking with the standard edition. If you want the contents of the Collector's Edition but don't think you can put up the money, I would pre-order standard and sell when Collector's price drops. That's what I did for Halo Reach. Originally $150, Gamestop sold me Legendary Edition new for only $90 a couple months after release. Whatever happens, GET SKYRIM. IT WILL BE AMAZING!
15 of 22 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
JustinDark
 
Please wait while more information about JustinDark is loaded.
Additional information about JustinDark could not be loaded.
No in game content?
Posted 10/23/11
For the price of this, you would expect them to throw some in game content our way as well. As it stands, I don't see myself getting this.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Collector's Edition
150 DOLLARS FOR THIS?!?
Posted on:8/11/11
EVILINMYMIND
Location: Michigan
Just when I was about to cancel my original preorder for this game and get this. Thankfully I actually took 5 seconds to read into it. First of all, yes a dragon statue and artwork are awesome and all but with NO exclusive DLC/ADD ON that is a automatic NO. The true meaning of collectors editions are for the excusive DLC that it brings that you won't be able to get. For example, Mass Effect 3 at 80 dollars gives you DLC. Weapons and a robot dog for the ship. Sure you might say oh that's not much, but HEY you are only paying 80 dollars compared to the 150 this sucker is going to cost you! Fallout New Vegas gave you DLC as well as many other games with collector editions. I am a true fan of this game. I have been playing it since Morrowin and have spent thousands of hours of these games. But I know a good deal and a rip off, if you have the money to waste go ahead. But honestly if you are speaking something that will actually impact your game, it won't. It's just geeky collectables that don't effect your game whatsoever.
2 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Collector's Edition
Is Skyrim really worth it?
Posted on:9/11/11
RedRaven2031
Location: Thompson, PA
OBVIOUSLY, the game is action packed. Who ever is a elder scrolls fan understands that their games are always fun. You can hardly ever find everything in the game, and you can play it multiple times and still find new stuff. Boss fights only at certain times, pfft, sorry but welcome to the new and improved. DRAGONS will be everywhere, you never know when they will attack though. You can find, fight, marry, and yes marriage is possible, and destroy the economy of any city. Forget that boring story line you MUST follow in every other game. You want to pay for a game that is longer then a couple hours of gameplay, ya try ENDLESS amounts of gameplay. It is your choice, choose SKYRIM!.
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Collector's Edition
Think about it.
Posted on:9/18/11
karatekat87
I am getting this (on Xbox) and I think its worth it heres why. The game: its huge, hundreds of hours of gameplay, Its Elder Scrolls= $60 DVD: Who wouldn't want to see how they put soooo much stuff into one disc= $15 Art Book: Its hardcover, 200+ pages full color=$30 Statue: an awesome dragon, Alduin, not everyone will have one, look up prices of IP Factory= $45 = $150 That is why i think its worth it.
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Irradiatedarts
Cali
 
Please wait while more information about Irradiatedarts is loaded.
Additional information about Irradiatedarts could not be loaded.
Map
Posted 9/23/11
Yep, you get the map if you PRE ORDER. It won't come with the CE if you don't pre order it. I've had mine payed off since the announcement :D
Customer Avatar
AJEDIWARRI0R
california
 
Please wait while more information about AJEDIWARRI0R is loaded.
Additional information about AJEDIWARRI0R could not be loaded.
Top 250 Contributor
Map = yes
Posted 9/21/11
yes the CE comes with the map if you look in the picture of CE it shows it and its also been confirmed hope i helped and if u want to know exactley what the CE comes with go down to me review A True Collecters Item.
Customer Avatar
Famine
 
Please wait while more information about Famine is loaded.
Additional information about Famine could not be loaded.
Bonus Pre-order map
Posted 9/20/11
I just want to know if you get the Bonus Premium Burlap Map with the Collectors edition also, Since it is Preordered. Any One know this?
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Review 13 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Collector's Edition
Looking back...
Posted on:9/11/11
Zeke342
Location: oklahoma
Fallout New Vegas collectors edition was around $70 if im not mistaken.. Now it is currectly $30 BRAND NEW. $150 is grossly over priced and goes to show Bethesda makes this another rip off collectors edition. If the statue were made of pewter or something more... quality (NOT PVC) then maybe it could justify a $80.. $100 AT MOST price tag.. but $90 more than a brand new.. I'd rather buy it for $60 new and in 6 months go on eBay and buy the dragon for $10 lol. But of course true die hard fans of Elder Scrolls will pay $150 for it.. I however won't.. especially given the glitches and lack of completeness from the first day Fallout New Vegas came out.. Still find it remarkable Bethesda allowed such a glitchy and problematic game requiring multiple patches the first week alone to fix. I like elder scrolls enough to give it a shot and pray for a lack in glitches.. but certainly not a $150 risk.. or $80 at that. It will be an AMAZING game though I hope..
2 of 35 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Moondra
 
Please wait while more information about Moondra is loaded.
Additional information about Moondra could not be loaded.
Posted 9/13/11
Hey,not to correct you or anything,but Fallout:New Vegas wasn't made by Bethesda.There was a large amount of glitches and bugs in the game,but its still really fun to play.Like I said,Bethesda didn't make this.So don't blame them :)
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Collector's Edition
A True Collecters edition.
Posted on:9/10/11
AJEDIWARRI0R
Location: california
Allrite i have no problem spending this much on this collecters edition its one of my favorite games and its not like i need the money for other games i only buy games i know i love and that are my favorites or will be soon thats why they are limited collecters edition for dedicated fans not people who are new to the game and just want to have the CE, yes it would be nice if they add some dlc but if not i will still be getting allready have this pre ordered i would recomend the same if u want this edition for they are limited.and for those who dont know exactly what it comes with - copy of game in a special 2 disc case for the game and the making of dvd a 12 inch dragon statue a 200pg hardbound art book and a full world map. hope this helped! thanks bethesda for not letting me down.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
6 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
AJEDIWARRI0R
california
 
Please wait while more information about AJEDIWARRI0R is loaded.
Additional information about AJEDIWARRI0R could not be loaded.
Top 250 Contributor
Posted 10/2/11
sorry thats the way you feel but its the truth to many people just want a CE cause its CE and look at it this way bioshock 1 limited edition was 70 dollars when it came out good price but if u try to buy it now its from ebay or amazon its anywere from 250 -350 dollars amagine what this will sell for in a couple years not that ill ever sell it because im a fan and dont buy collecters to get rid of them and armor dlc would be nice but theres so much different armor in the game u wont need it i am very happy with this edition like i said a true collecters edition
Customer Avatar
Deth
On top of the Mountain ~Skyrim~
 
Please wait while more information about Deth is loaded.
Additional information about Deth could not be loaded.
Awesome game! Way too much!!
Posted 9/29/11
Skyrim will be hands down be prime candidate for GOTY, but asking 150.00 for a collectors edition that doesn't offer anything consisting of the actual game is a real bummer, I would be willing to pay 150.00 for some custom in gear armor or weapons, or something along that line, but a dragon statue? something my children will break or try their best to break... not worth it in my opinion.
Just because someone isn't willing to throw away an extra 90 bucks doesn't mean they aren't a "real gamer" or die-hard fan of the Elder Scrolls series so please quit spitting that out
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 15 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Collector's Edition
Needs a middle ground
Posted on:8/15/11
UNDEADxTOFUx117
Location: Florida
Its nice that they're following halo and others with a super crazy overkill version with a statue, but they need to take another hint and give another version too. I loved oblivion, I can't wait for skyrim, but there's no way I'd spend 150 on a game. I would do an extra 10 or 20 for a neat case and little book, like the GoW2 or Reach limited editions (in recommendations). But for this price I could buy a 2nd game and still have some left over for massive amounts of caffeine to get me through playing both games. Give us an $80 version and I'll buy it.
 
My Product Recommendations
Halo Reach Limited Edition
9.6 out of 10(100)
 
 
 
 
 
9 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Collector's Edition
Well Worth Every Penny, Every Time !!
Posted on:8/10/11
Strazzen
Location: Gettysburg, PA USA
This is by far and away the best looking and most worthwhile hardened/special/collector's edition X-Box game I've ever seen. Yes, an extra $90 is a good chunk of change. But when MW2 was packaged with a silly I.E.D. RC car for your $90 this is more my style. True, I'm an Old-School fool for RPG's and Elder Scrolls in general since I have played on PC since #2-DaggerFalls (if I remember correctly) and on X-box since #3-MorrowWind . I've been playing RPG's since 1st Ed. AD&D with pencil, paper & dice long before PS2 , Xbox, & Wii were even thoughts and I still feel this is the best clan of system based RPG's ever. And I know if a junkie RC car is supposedly worth the extra money then the statuette, book, & DVD should be worth it as well. I love the main storylines in all the Elder Scrolls I have played and look forward to fighting Dragons in my homeland very soon. I've always loved how you can also go non-linear and do just about anything you want to at anytime with the games as well. May Odin bless these truthful words of mine and Tyr guide my sword of Justice.
 
My Product Recommendations
Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion
10 out of 10(10)
 
 
 
 
 
 
4 of 12 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Nose
 
Please wait while more information about Nose is loaded.
Additional information about Nose could not be loaded.
Correction
Posted 8/10/11
It was Black Ops, not MW2. MW2 came with the Night Vision Goggles, which was probably worth the 90$, if i had gotten it, but i didn't. Just saying.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Collector's Edition
cant wait!
Posted on:10/15/11
Jeronimo
Location: MI
i just got enough money saved up, and i went into the store and preordered it today. its going to be so awesome!!! :D people say its too overpriced, but when u think about it, its not. (look at other coments lol) and its for collectors. so if u LOVE elder scrolls then this may be for you!!! i know im going to always be happy i made this decision :)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Collector's Edition
Priceless
Posted on:10/18/11
greer
Location: ky
this comes with an amazing cloth map of skyrim, a statue crafted straight from the game engines of a dragon, a huge concept art book thats hardback and 200 pages, and last but DEFINITELY NOT the least a copy of skyrim collectors edition to let people know that u have the collectors edition by the amazing and beautiful art on the case, and i cant forget the awesome box/container to put it in. this is really the most amazing collectors edition and if u are a fan on the elder scrolls this is a DEAL of a life time and you will also need to get the collectors edition of the strategy guide that has 592 pages of pure AMAZING AND AWESOMENESS. this is a priceless thing that i will have showcased and kept and cherished for the rest of my life. thank you todd howard. you are a hero and and a person i look forward to become just like in my game design career. THIS IS ABSOLUTELY PRICELESS
4 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Collector's Edition
This game looks legit.
Posted on:9/21/11
Mikaiel
Location: Salt Lake, UT
Oblivion was a great game. It won game of the year in 2006 for a reason. I have pre-ordered the collectors edition, and from what i've seen, it is going to be game of the year for 2011. Everyone should be sick of those first person shooters by now, so pick up a game that is new and fun and you have no limits to what you can do.
9 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Collector's Edition
Incredible!
Posted on:9/16/11
D0VAHKIIN
Location: Daggerdale
A bargain at any price! Certainly not for the casual gamer, but to those of us that have spent the past 4 months trying to decipher dragon-tongue, this is truly a gift from the nine!!
Blessed be the nine
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>