GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Collector's Edition

The next chapter in the highly anticipated Elder Scrolls saga arrives from the makers of the 2006 and 2008 Games of the Year, Bethesda Game Studios. Skyrim reimagines and revolutionizes the open-world fantasy epic, bringing to life a complete virtual world open for you to explore any way you choose.
Average Customer Rating:
10
10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
10 stars
4
9 stars
0
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Collector's Edition
Review 1 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Collector's Edition
Pure Epic
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/13/11
Fasemeus
Location: Marietta, GA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Out of all of the video games that are available for someone to play, there is one that sticks out above the rest and that is “Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim”. It has a solid plot, character development, beautiful landscapes and scenery, and character detail. These descriptors may be small in number but, by no means, does it take away from the value of the game.
You start the game off with a short cinematic to introduce one or two of the main characters of the future conflicts of the game. After the brief sequence you are provided the opportunity to pick the race your character will portray. There are several to pick from and even more involved is the ability to edit such minor details of the characters facial features. This allows you to customize your character in near a limitless number of ways. At points in the game you are able to contract the disease that leads to Lycanthrope and Vampirism meaning that you will eventually be able to become a Werewolf or a Vampire. There are caveats to these bonuses however. There are certain restrictions in the game that prevent you from doing some of the more unscrupulous acts, like murdering a child or an important person in the game (unless part of the mission you are on). . These are just a few of the negatives and even fewer of the perks of this game. There are far too many to list.
This piece provides the people who play an “escape” from the confines of reality. The hyper-realism of the game allows people to completely immerse themselves into the game and feel as if they are an integral piece of the story line. This game has been rated by many different organizations as a potential for Game of the Year and has earned a 10 out of 10. The game may not be suitable for small children as it includes a large amount of violence and other vices that children should not be exposed to. This masterpiece is intended for mature players who have the ability to distinguish fantasy from real life.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Collector's Edition
Outstanding!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/13/11
OrcKing
Location: Canada
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Skyrim is without a doubt Bethseda's BEST work to date. It seems the developers have taken the best aspects of Fallout 3 and Oblivion and combined them into one brilliant masterpiece that is Skyrim. The world around you feels authentic with the wildlife roaming around randomly, every leaf and blade of grass moving in the direction of the blowing wind, the NPCs, unique in there personalities, etc. And the combat system has been much improved since Oblivion along with the animation (i.e jumping, running side ways no longer looks awkward)!. I've only spent 10 hrs in, but I can already see aleast 300+ hours of exploring and questing ahead. This game is a must for any hardcore RPG fan that enjoys an open world environment and exploration!!!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
World Of Warcraft
8.2 out of 10(57)
 
 
 
World of WarCraft: Cataclysm
5.3 out of 10(366)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Collector's Edition
I want!
Posted on:8/23/11
Toastwaffles
i will never buy an amazing game like this on the consoles! every game looks better on the pc!
 
My Product Recommendations
Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion - Knights of the Nine Expansion Pack
 
 
 
 
Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion
10 out of 10(10)
 
 
 
 
 
16 of 17 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Nmeseth
 
Please wait while more information about Nmeseth is loaded.
Additional information about Nmeseth could not be loaded.
Posted 10/3/11
I hope you reconsider oblivion, if you download the unofficial patches, the "Midas Magic" and "Deadly Reflex" mods, which overhaul the Magic and Combat system respectively, you will be unable to put that game down.
Customer Avatar
Kingofallacesonthepsn
 
Please wait while more information about Kingofallacesonthepsn is loaded.
Additional information about Kingofallacesonthepsn could not be loaded.
i hope this time it dont suck
Posted 8/29/11
oblivion was garbage from day one, i hope skyrim is as good as morrowind or better, bethesda is getting bad about crashing bugs and laggy games, lets hope skyrim is better. i downloaded oblivion to try it out and deleted it, i refused to buy that junky game. i may buy skyrim after i try it out.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 4 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Collector's Edition
11/11/11, greatest day of the decade.
Posted on:8/31/11
Xomsabre
I can not wait for Skyrim. This game, as with it's prequels, will be the game of the year. The storyline looks great, graphics look amazing, the E3 preview showed how much more smooth movement and combat have gotten...and the unscripted dragons....that will be astonishing. 2 months and 11 days...can not wait. __________ @Alildevil The map comes with all versions of the game, at least from GS when you pre-order.
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ryolacap
 
Please wait while more information about ryolacap is loaded.
Additional information about ryolacap could not be loaded.
RPG ReBooted
Posted 9/23/11
This just the begining, cant wait for my other favorite FALLOUT with the new engine
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Collector's Edition
Better to buy on PC
Posted on:8/7/11
Stephie
Location: Michigan
The graphics are gonna be 10 times better on PC than on console.
24 of 29 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Collector's Edition
Why PC?
Posted on:10/28/11
Binxi0
Location: Forrest City, AR
For one, on the PC, you can have far superior graphics. Also, you get the abality to mod the game in numerous ways. Finally, after you beat the game, it is fun to cranck up the difficulty all the way and hit ` (above tab key) to open up a console to input some VERY interesting cheats,
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Collector's Edition
PC for Me
Posted on:9/21/11
Grindill
Location: USA
I own all 3 systems which this game can be played, but I'll buy the PC version. Of course the visuals should be better, but the history of Bethesda is one of releasing games that are full of game breaking bugs, these can sometimes be easier to avoid or bypass on the PC and Steam has a history of delivering patches quickly, which is what you want when a game is broken.
If you doubt the above, then it's clear you did not buy Daggerfall upon release, a game that took over 2 months to patch to playable.
I'm hoping for the best, but will not be surprised if I see problems.
8 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Collector's Edition
Anticipating.
Posted on:8/7/11
Quenta
Location: South Dakota
Can't wait. Bethesda makes some awesome games and gaming experiences. 11-11-11 can't come soon enough.
7 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
xSxGhostWolfxSx
Connecticut
 
Please wait while more information about xSxGhostWolfxSx is loaded.
Additional information about xSxGhostWolfxSx could not be loaded.
Definatly....
Posted 9/19/11
11-11-11 is definatly going to be the day of days. As far as being on the consle or pc, pc I think will be more fun 'cause you know modders are going to come up with some crazy stuff for this game now o.o.
Customer Avatar
Benji12
Sicily,Italy
 
Please wait while more information about Benji12 is loaded.
Additional information about Benji12 could not be loaded.
It's Going to be amazing!!
Posted 9/10/11
This game is going to be the best game of the year by far and im going to get it for pc and for Xbox the xbox one will be better but the visuals wont be as good but overall it is still easier and more fun on consoles.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 9 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Collector's Edition
Is it worth $149.99?
Posted on:10/7/11
Nmeseth
Location: Iowa
Personally I think it's worth it because if you look up some of the PVC statues of similar size and detail available on the web they go for around 100$. Also full size 200 page, hardcover art books go for about 50$. Not to mention Bethesda has stated that the CE will be extremely limited so it will one day be worth more than today's asking price.
Game = 60$
Art Book = 50$
Statue = 100$
DVD = 20$
Total value = 230$
 
My Product Recommendations
Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion 5th Anniversary Edition
 
 
 
 
 
9 of 14 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ingested
San Antonio, TX
 
Please wait while more information about Ingested is loaded.
Additional information about Ingested could not be loaded.
Without a doubt worth the money
Posted 11/4/11
IP Factory statues (Gaming Heads) are worth between $200 and $300. Check their website for a better look at the statue.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Collector's Edition
This is gonna be awesome
Posted on:10/30/11
Snowpanzer
Location: Laguna Hills, CA
I decided on the spot when i picked up my BF3 limited edition pre order to go ahead and pre pay off skyrim collectors edition. I CANT WAIT ANY MORE
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Collector's Edition
Best Elder Scrolls
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/11/11
JackKnife
Location: Chicago, IL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I haven't played Morrowind, so ease off on that one.
Pros: The graphics are purely epic, with a few minor tweaks here and there.
+ Sound is INCREDIBLE.
+ AI is a lot better this time around.
+ 3rd person animations are MUCH better.
+ Dual wielding is a MAJOR PLUS.
+ Crafting weapons, armor, alchemy, and enchantments on armor and weapons. (Not sure if they kept in making your own spells from Oblivion though. Just got it today!)
+ Dragon AI is INCREDIBLE.
+ I remember from Oblivion that there weren't that many sound actors. There are a whole bunch NOW! No more hearing every single race sounding the same!!
+ The voice actors fit the part. The whole environment is extremely convincing and I felt like I was there.
+ Art book is incredible. The detail, artistry, and beauty of it all is overwhelming. It also gives background info on some of the locations that are displayed like the main towns and general places that you encounter on your journey. The book also is LITERALLY, a BOOK. It has the look, feel, and I bet if you smelled or tasted it, it would smell/taste like one too. (Yeah, I'm a bit goofy.)
+ Documentary DVD is a MUST for any Bethesda fanboy/girl.
+ The dragon figurine and wall are intensely detailed. It seriously looks like it JUST came out of the game.
Cons:
- I really dislike when you're walking and you turn, your player somewhat snaps into that direction irregularly.. But it has a fine transition while running, I don't get why it snaps while walking. Probably a mod will come out later on for it.
- I've encountered a rare glitch with the water. Keep in mind, I HAVE MADE CHANGES TO MY INI FILE. (The .ini file holds the settings for things like Depth Of Field (DOF) for grass, trees, shadows, etc.)
- A few sound actors sounded a bit young like they didn't fit there, but then again, you have range of actors too.
- Don't look at the shadows too closely or they'll look a bit cube-ish...
Summary:
GET THIS GAME. You will NOT be disappointing! The art book, documentary DVD, and 12" tall figurine are a MUST for any Bethesda fan. It is also just incredible to have! I have the dragon towering over my little Vault-tec bobblehead guy and I absolutely love it.
Bethesda put so much effort, care, AND LOVE into this game. I think it's worth the 150 pricetag.
 
My Product Recommendations
Oblivion GotY Deluxe
8.7 out of 10(7)
 
 
 
Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion 5th Anniversary Edition
 
 
 
Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion Game of the Year Edition
9.5 out of 10(27)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Collector's Edition
Finally, CE is revealed!
Posted on:8/14/11
endersblade
Location: Portland, OR
But kind of disappointing, if you ask me. No in-game items? Yes, the statue is AMAZING. I'd definitely buy it purely for that. The cloth map will go up on my game wall, next to all of the other cloth maps I have from other games. But I really like it when they have exclusive in-game stuff, even if it's just fluff and nothing actually useful.
2 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Collector's Edition
Skyrim FTW
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/11/12
CodMasta
Location: charlottesville, VA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
my favorite game is skyrim i have it on Xbox360 and loved it so i am getting the CE of Skyrim on PC in a few days + its a lot cheaper now
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Collector's Edition
EPIC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted on:11/10/11
Sackwarrior
Location: Columbus, OH
I am soooo excited for this game! i will be counting down till midnight!
 
My Product Recommendations
PlayStation 3 The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Strategy Guide Bundle
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Review 15 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Collector's Edition
I am also waiting on this to come
Posted on:8/9/11
Alildevil
Location: usa
Map not listed in desc, but in pic, hope included.
0 of 3 found this review helpful.