GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Resistance: Burning Skies

As New Jersey fire fighter and National Guardsman Tom Riley, you're about to come face to face with the brutal Chimeran invasion force in this blistering shooter built from the ground up for PlayStation®Vita. The latest installment in the hugely successful franchise focuses on a new mission that parallels and complements the existing Resistance storyline.
Average Customer Rating:
8.113
8.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (88 reviews)
10 stars
11
9 stars
19
8 stars
17
7 stars
6
6 stars
3
5 stars
5
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
51 out of 6282%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Resistance: Burning Skies
Review 1 for Resistance: Burning Skies
Not the PS Vita game I was looking for.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:9/23/12
nightdragon08
Location: Colorado
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I was recently on vacation in California (driving down the North Cost). Along the way I went to Game Stop to buy myself a copy of Resistance Burning Skies for the PlayStation Vita. I wanted to play something while waiting in my hotel room and while riding in the car. Before I go any further I would just like to say that I am a big fan of the PlayStation Vita. I believe that it is an incredible piece of technology with many good games available for the system, however Burning Skies is not one of them.
I held my expectations low with this game, because I have already read some fairly negative reviews of the game. I have just finished the game and I would have to say that most of these reviews are right on the spot. My first gripe with this game is the graphics. The environments are dull and lifeless, and the character models look like they came out of the PSP. I know that the Vita is capable of more than that, just look at other Vita games such as Uncharted:Golden Abyss or Little Big Planet Vita. What is odd though is how good the weapons look. The weapons are very detailed and look almost as if they came from the PS3 versions of Resistance, which really makes you feel out place. You have these graphically great looking guns, playing in a very pix elated game environment it is truly jarring. I only played the single player portion of the game so I can't talk about how the multiplayer is, but the single player is awful and short. I don't mind so much that it us short, but I was truly surprised how difficult the game was. I beat the game on normal difficulty but even that was truly hard. Not hard as in a fun and challenging way, but cheap. There many instances where I would walk into a room and instantly get killed as soon as I entered the room(the Auger is your best friend). Your character can takes very little damage before dying. Another problem I ran into was that there was an incredible lack of ammo for many guns, which means I used the Bullseye for the majority of the game. This is a true shame as there are so many cool weapons that you can collect and upgrade thorough the course of the game. Another downer was the sound. The guns sound like toy guns. I feel that the difficulty in the game was a cheap way to prolong the length of the game. Another downer was the sound. The guns sound like toy guns.
Overall I give this game a 6 out of 10. It was an ok game and the guns were at least good looking, but if you are looking for a new game for your Vita look elsewhere. Might I recommend Uncharted:Golden Abyss. It has great graphics great gameplay and great story that you would come to expect from the Uncharted series.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
chucy
la
 
Please wait while more information about chucy is loaded.
Additional information about chucy could not be loaded.
buy this if you get or have a ps vita
Posted 9/29/12
the graphics are like black ops or skyrim also the guns selection is big also i do not own this but it is one of the best games on the ps vita
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Resistance: Burning Skies
Not the best but still alright
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:2/20/14
SuperMehki
Location: austin,texas
This is the first shooter for the Vita. You will play as Tom Riley a fire fighter who helps fight the chimera in order to find his wife and daughter. But lets get on with the review. the graphics aren't that bad but could be better. the checkpoints suck.The touchscreen has some problems such as the secondary fire which could have been used with the back screen which really would have made it easier to throw grenades because the secondary fire and grenades both use the touchscreen. The voice acting was great and the sound tracks not the best but still passes in my opinion. Now lets get into the multiplayer its not fun if it was good this game would have got a higher rating but because the fact that multiplayer sucked and there's not much replay value there's not much of a reason to keep this game
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 3 for Resistance: Burning Skies
Best Handheld FPS I Have Played
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:9/4/13
oqeur
Location: Wisonsin
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
A great game for handheld but it felt all to similar to previous Resistance games especially Resistance 2. Graphics are on par with PS3. Overall campaign story is pretty good and the game play is smooth but at times repetitive. The multiplayer is pretty bad the games cut out and drop you like crazy and its impossible to level up i put more than an hour in and never gained a level. For $20 Its a great buy and is going to give you some good game play. I did like it incorporated the touch screen unlike many other vita games.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 4 for Resistance: Burning Skies
This game is Great
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/30/13
KnightTime
Location: New York, NY
I really do not know why people hate this it is a shooting game where you kill aliens how fun is that and its on a portable system very fun game in my option
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 5 for Resistance: Burning Skies
good game but bad online
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:8/22/13
iceman007
Location: west hazleton, PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is good but the online play is so bad you get spawned camped all the time. also once the game is over not much more to do. easy trophies should not take longer then 10h to finish the game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 6 for Resistance: Burning Skies
Alright Game
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/26/13
Kirpy
Location: Yorkville, IL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is more or less average as far as first-person shooters go for handhelds so far. Although slightly better than Black Ops: Declassified, this game does an average job at fulfilling the needs for hardcore handheld gamers. The graphics are pretty nice, gameplay might take some time to get used to mostly because you do have to use the touchscreen to do maneuvers such as throw grenades which not every gamer is used to. Sound isn't too impressive either since the gun shots and reloading sounds aren't too detailed. Overall it's a decent game but it might be worthwhile to wait for Killzone: Mercenary.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Resistance: Burning Skies
Fun FPS
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/11/13
Gamer37
Location: Atlanta, GA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I started to pass on this game because of some negative reviews but I'm glad that I didn't. This is a cool game and easy Platinum Trophy.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 8 for Resistance: Burning Skies
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/10/13
becauseiwantto
Location: nope
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
the graphics arent the best but this is a great and fun game. If you want the full experiance of the game buy it at gamestop so the game will come with a DLC for multiplayer. I kept trying to try out the game but then I got distracted, and then I finally decided im going to play the game, so I did and I was hooked on it from 6:00 pm to 10:00 pm. Theres another review that says he doesent like the game, that doesent meen you guys cant try out the demo. and im glad he gave his honest opinoin and honest ratings. but if your not looking to buy the game "yet" try out the demo! great fun :D
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 9 for Resistance: Burning Skies
Great game, but got kinda old
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:11/13/12
TRONIC
Location: stockton ca
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is a great game, don't get me wrong, but multi-player gets old pretty fast. for the fact that you level up really fast. The story is good, and fun, but has little to no replay value. But, If you like FPS's, I HIGHLY, recommend this game, just buy it used.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 10 for Resistance: Burning Skies
Good, But Missing A Couple things....
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/22/12
Gamedout
Location: Denver, CO
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The game, to be honest, lacks "heart". It provides you with a likeable main character, but the game was, at least to me, rushed out. The devolpers seemed to have just made the game, you don't get the most exciting story ever. It's predictable, hard to follow, and expects you to understand everything every step of the way. But if you aren't looking for a terrific story line, you may enjoy it. The graphics are impressive for the most part but lacks detail in some areas, but overall, very smooth. As for the game play... unless you're a die hard first person shooter gamer, you're gonna have a tough time on some ocassions, but if you like a half hearted challenge, I encourage purchasing Resistance. Now multiplayer, from what I've played, it's not that great, but it's fun in small doses. But, if enjoy a shoot 'em up type of game, I suggest getting this!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 11 for Resistance: Burning Skies
the best game for the ps vita
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/29/12
chucy
Location: la
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is like black ops if you get a ps vita or have one get this also i do not won the game but played the demo and it was really cool
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Resistance: Burning Skies
Great but not perfect
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/22/12
Beatbye
Location: chester, new york
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Game seemed to be very good in the beginning and it was the only thing i did not like was there are few campaign missions, but i found out that each of the 6 last about 1hr and 30mins. the game has very fun multiplayer and it isnt a you are guarnteed to live after every fight kinda game, you have to take your time and its just more rewarding because its not like so easy that it becomes boring. I feel it could be better but im not complaining, its a great buy.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Resistance: Burning Skies
People say its bad but they are lying
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/6/12
zayzay5855
Location: miami florida
This game is perfect for: party gamers
For the first fps on ps vita its a good game the graphics are good and its fun dont listen to anybody until you play it
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Resistance: Burning Skies
Underrated
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/28/12
1990James1990
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I really dont know why this game got terrible reviews!!! sure it has small flaws but most games do. I got this game expecting so little but it gave me so much. the storry is good even if it is short, the only problems ive had was that the sound cut off once and ther guns kinda sound like toys but i dont mind! the multiplayer is great and to tell you the truth, im addicted to it. I would recommend this to anyone that wants a fps for the vita. The game gives you what you need and for only $30 thats a steal. also, if you want to play online you need to activate the pass from your ps3. then you can use it on the vita. Happy Gaming!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Resistance: Burning Skies
Wow,Thats All I Can Say......
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/24/12
YounqDominicanBoii
Location: Brooklyn,New York
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I bought this game a week ago & to be honest with you i loved it!
I mean who wouldn't buy this game has excellent graphics,i played this game so much that i even brought my PSVita on the airplane so i could play once we landed it felt like only 3 minutes has gone by when the flight was 3 hours long...But In My Opinion,This game is hardcore so stop thinkinq and just buy the game already.........
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Resistance: Burning Skies
NO no
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:8/21/12
TacosOut
Location: SomeWhere
OK i don't want to sound like an butt whip but this is why I'm mad they only made 4 online multilayer maps only 2 of them a decent campaign was OK could have been a little longer and to be honest there wasn't a good combination of enemy you fight the same guys over and over again. if you ever thing of getting this game get the card so maybe u can get some money for it when you done or give it to a friend. but then again you cant get mad over this game because its the first fps of its kind on the vita. I'm Tacos out and thanks for reading this report
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Resistance: Burning Skies
Definitely the best FPS for the Vita, a MUST buy!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/18/12
Lovelady
Location: Vermont
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I don't understand the low rating and bad reviews because this game is definitely fun and more so than not, it's a great start for the First Person Shooter style for the Vita. Everyone's expecting some amazing online multiplayer gameplay but it's not that bad. I met a lot of people already on this game, and it's fun, you can play it all day if you have friends to play with. It's a great start and I hope they continue the Resistance Series with the VIta. I've been a Resistance Fan since the first game and it being the first Vita FPS it's actually good. Go back to Call of Duty if you can't handle the awesomeness that is Resistance. Viva la Resistance!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Resistance: Burning Skies
there should be more games like this
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/12/12
gamefan4564
Location: shelbyville mi
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
for being the first dual analog shooter, this is actually really good. it controls fin, the touchscreen actions aren't that bad, the graphics are good, and this feels like resistance. I also like how this has blurred the line between resistance 1 & 2 by adding elements of both. so I have to say this is really good
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Minecraft: Xbox 360 Edition - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 1600 Points
9.3 out of 10(408)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Resistance: Burning Skies
really dosnt deserve a rating right now
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/10/12
tomtom1000
Location: wolverine, mi
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
well the graphics and sound and gameplay are excellent for a portable. multiplayer is also suburb just note that to get on multiplayer you need the code inside of your case for game to be able to play online (for the stupid people out there who made this a bad rating cause they thought that you had to buy it seperately)
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Resistance: Burning Skies
It is a great game for the ps vita as a fps.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/30/12
somebody343
It's a good game but hopefully the vita will bring more of these types of games. It also depends on your internet connection when it comes to online multiplayer.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>