GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Resistance: Burning Skies

As New Jersey fire fighter and National Guardsman Tom Riley, you're about to come face to face with the brutal Chimeran invasion force in this blistering shooter built from the ground up for PlayStation®Vita. The latest installment in the hugely successful franchise focuses on a new mission that parallels and complements the existing Resistance storyline.
Average Customer Rating:
8.113
8.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (88 reviews)
10 stars
11
9 stars
19
8 stars
17
7 stars
6
6 stars
3
5 stars
5
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
51 out of 6282%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Resistance: Burning Skies
Review 1 for Resistance: Burning Skies
Not the PS Vita game I was looking for.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:9/23/12
nightdragon08
Location: Colorado
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I was recently on vacation in California (driving down the North Cost). Along the way I went to Game Stop to buy myself a copy of Resistance Burning Skies for the PlayStation Vita. I wanted to play something while waiting in my hotel room and while riding in the car. Before I go any further I would just like to say that I am a big fan of the PlayStation Vita. I believe that it is an incredible piece of technology with many good games available for the system, however Burning Skies is not one of them.
I held my expectations low with this game, because I have already read some fairly negative reviews of the game. I have just finished the game and I would have to say that most of these reviews are right on the spot. My first gripe with this game is the graphics. The environments are dull and lifeless, and the character models look like they came out of the PSP. I know that the Vita is capable of more than that, just look at other Vita games such as Uncharted:Golden Abyss or Little Big Planet Vita. What is odd though is how good the weapons look. The weapons are very detailed and look almost as if they came from the PS3 versions of Resistance, which really makes you feel out place. You have these graphically great looking guns, playing in a very pix elated game environment it is truly jarring. I only played the single player portion of the game so I can't talk about how the multiplayer is, but the single player is awful and short. I don't mind so much that it us short, but I was truly surprised how difficult the game was. I beat the game on normal difficulty but even that was truly hard. Not hard as in a fun and challenging way, but cheap. There many instances where I would walk into a room and instantly get killed as soon as I entered the room(the Auger is your best friend). Your character can takes very little damage before dying. Another problem I ran into was that there was an incredible lack of ammo for many guns, which means I used the Bullseye for the majority of the game. This is a true shame as there are so many cool weapons that you can collect and upgrade thorough the course of the game. Another downer was the sound. The guns sound like toy guns. I feel that the difficulty in the game was a cheap way to prolong the length of the game. Another downer was the sound. The guns sound like toy guns.
Overall I give this game a 6 out of 10. It was an ok game and the guns were at least good looking, but if you are looking for a new game for your Vita look elsewhere. Might I recommend Uncharted:Golden Abyss. It has great graphics great gameplay and great story that you would come to expect from the Uncharted series.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
chucy
la
 
Please wait while more information about chucy is loaded.
Additional information about chucy could not be loaded.
buy this if you get or have a ps vita
Posted 9/29/12
the graphics are like black ops or skyrim also the guns selection is big also i do not own this but it is one of the best games on the ps vita
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Resistance: Burning Skies
Its a Standard Shooter
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:6/7/12
Sacc
Location: STL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Im not much of a shooter fan but i do enjoy a good bullet between the eyes every now andd then. This game's story takes about 2 hours to beat (only 6 chapters) wich isnt very long. Online is Standard you only have one gun to choose from and when you run outta bullets thats just it but other than that this is a good substitute until a better FPS shooter is released CoD:Black Ops Reclassified anyone?
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Resistance: Burning Skies
Alright Game
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/26/13
Kirpy
Location: Yorkville, IL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is more or less average as far as first-person shooters go for handhelds so far. Although slightly better than Black Ops: Declassified, this game does an average job at fulfilling the needs for hardcore handheld gamers. The graphics are pretty nice, gameplay might take some time to get used to mostly because you do have to use the touchscreen to do maneuvers such as throw grenades which not every gamer is used to. Sound isn't too impressive either since the gun shots and reloading sounds aren't too detailed. Overall it's a decent game but it might be worthwhile to wait for Killzone: Mercenary.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Resistance: Burning Skies
Resistance: Burning Skies
Posted on:12/5/11
johnnc2
Location: Texas
Honestly, I think putting this series onto the vita will establish for gamers who initially buy the vita to truly grasp what the vita could be or could not be capable of. With the release of the PS3 five years ago we saw Insomniac release the first Resistance, which really leveled the playing field as far as what the PS3 could dish out for future games, and I think that should be this title's goal this time around. While I have not personally been able to play the third installment just yet, I would have to say, despite the negative reviews, that I am excited to engulf in both the third installment and this game whenever it is released. To say the series should die out would be ludicrous in my opinion in that the story still has a lot to develop on, with or without the Nathan Hale story. Take, for example, the Firefly series. That was a wonderful show and for them to pretty much cut it off mid-series tore a big one for all of it's viewers who were still into the show. I still think that this game still has a lot of story potential, and if you are tired of the series because of the way the game plays itself, then that is why the have online multiplayer my friends.
11 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Resistance: Burning Skies
Great Online Gameplay
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/18/12
YourFault
Location: Philadelphia, PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I love this game, the graphics and sound are not that great but the game play is. Campaign is short but very hard to put down. I recommend playing on difficult but the last boss is ridiculous and very frustrating on that difficulty but you can change it to easy at anytime. The online game play is great and much better then I anticipated. It's very competitive, and smooth. The weapons and upgrades are great and they did a wonderful job with the touchscreen features for all the guns, I think the Auger is really cool, but I recommend the Sniper and Shotgun for online. The controls are great and easy. The game can be awkward at times when it has no music or no sound effects, it feels really solid but not polished, there aren't many trophies and just the little things that could have made this game a 10. On PS3 this game might be a 7 but I gave it a 9 because it's a real FPS experience in a portable device and that to me is very impressive. This game shows the potential of how good Call of Duty can be on the Vita, It can and will probably be amazing!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Resistance: Burning Skies
An excellent foray into portable FPS gaming
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/29/12
Zephyriasoul
Location: Vestal, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I picked this up today, after waiting for it for several months. I was very "Mehhh" on it when I first saw the beta gameplay footage, as the graphics looked Sub-par for the Vita, but honestly, I'm glad I picked it up. It's not quite the technical marvel that Golden Abyss was, but it's still QUITE a good-looking game. Character models are detailed, but sometimes blocky. I'd say the best part about the entire game would be the mechanics of it. The shooting feels right, and everything feels at home on a portable console. Holding down on the D-pad to run MAY seem hard to adjust to at first, but I started prefering that over Double-tapping the back touch pad to run. All in all, this is a very good game, and a worthy entry into the Resistance series. Having played every Resistance game up to and including this one, I'd honestly say it's my 2nd favorite in the whole series. R3 is slightly better in my opinion, though.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Resistance: Burning Skies
another awesome game.
Posted on:5/2/12
XxSKxGAMERxX
Location: MD
Resistance Burning Skies. An awesome first person shooter, that consists of a thick story line with many new chimera you have to shoot up, with epic boss battles to keep you going. Thats not all, 8 player multiplayer will keep you going with 5 maps plus dlc, 3 modes ( deathmatch, team deathmatch, and survival). Survival is the best mode in my opinion because it's just like infected in MW3. The weapons are creative, like the new weapon called the mule, it's a fricken "explosive" crossbow on a shotgun how cool is that! The best part is that it is portable and handheld to play which means if you have the 3G version you can blow off chimera's head anywhere! ; ) Get this game it's gonna be defiently worth your money. May 29th can't wait. See you'll guys once you get .
 
My Product Recommendations
 
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Resistance: Burning Skies
Multiplayer?
Posted on:2/14/12
ConstipatedPanda
Location: Texas
Does this game have multiplayer? Whats the point of having 3G and Wifi if games I want don't have multiplayer? I could care less about some social network enlisted in the description.
14 of 19 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Resistance: Burning Skies
Multiplayer!!!!!!
Posted on:4/5/12
Joebobbillybob
The story of the game seems awesome. Cant wait to rank up in multiplayer. Gamertag monster4evah. #resistance
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Resistance: Burning Skies
Not the best but still alright
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:2/20/14
SuperMehki
Location: austin,texas
This is the first shooter for the Vita. You will play as Tom Riley a fire fighter who helps fight the chimera in order to find his wife and daughter. But lets get on with the review. the graphics aren't that bad but could be better. the checkpoints suck.The touchscreen has some problems such as the secondary fire which could have been used with the back screen which really would have made it easier to throw grenades because the secondary fire and grenades both use the touchscreen. The voice acting was great and the sound tracks not the best but still passes in my opinion. Now lets get into the multiplayer its not fun if it was good this game would have got a higher rating but because the fact that multiplayer sucked and there's not much replay value there's not much of a reason to keep this game
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 11 for Resistance: Burning Skies
Day One Review
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/29/12
hawky
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
So this review is just for the beginning of the game pretty much. I will say why it is only for the first little bit in a second. Ok so this is my first resistance game and it is super fun and addicting. The major downfall's to the game for me is the graphics which should/could be better with the vita's power, and the lack weapons. However the upgrading feature is really nice in story mode. So far the multiplayer is not working so that lowered my score from 9 to 8. However along with the single player their is a lack of guns but their are many different perks which somewhat compensates for that. Gameplay is pretty easy to get a hang of after about 5 minutes and the only thing i have issues with is the shield thing where you have to spread your fingers apart. This is pretty difficult to do while being shot at. So far first person shooters are looking good for the vita with this being a game you should check out.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 12 for Resistance: Burning Skies
very stable first fps for the vita
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/5/12
blademaster1121
Location: MI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
now this game has some good and some bad things about it but more good than bad... whats good is that the graphics were pretty decent but could have been a bit better and the multiplayer is quite good for a portable game and the bad is that the sound kind of lacks clearity and in one part of the campaign the dialoge cut off for a minute which sucked but yeah one more thing is that if you really want to buy this do not buy it used or downloaded if u buy it used you will have to pay 10 extra bucks just to play online so i wouldnt recomend it and for download idk if its the same way but its only 5 dollars off the store price but if you have a small memory card like me it chews up alot of memory i know cuz i downloaded the demo once and it took up 3.5gb of memory which sucked cuz i have a 4gb card so dont do it if you have a small memory card if you have a good 16gb or 32gb card by all means do it
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Resistance: Burning Skies
Killin Chimera like a boss
Posted on:5/26/12
psplaya
Location: Franklinville, NJ
I can't wait to get this game on Tuesday, just pre-ordered it. This sequal to the resistance series is going to be incredible. New features and new battle locations are going to make Burning Skies addicting for the players. New weapons, grey tech, and touch gameplay are going to open the eyes to many people about how good the vita is. Again this game is going to make you feel like a hero. Who doesn't want to be a firefighter going around New Jersey slitting chimeran throats with an axe?
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TweakRandom
P-FN-A
 
Please wait while more information about TweakRandom is loaded.
Additional information about TweakRandom could not be loaded.
add me
Posted 5/28/12
I need some PS Vita friends to play with TweakRandom
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for Resistance: Burning Skies
fun game great first shooter for the vita.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/31/12
nate17
Location: denver,co
This games is pretty awesome. the graphics could have been a lot better. The people could be better and cars. Overall this game feels right as it should like the other shooter games. I have not been able to try online i imagine it will be fun though.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Resistance: Burning Skies
Perfect?
Posted on:3/14/12
Chronikbudz
Location: St Petersburg, FL
This could be the perfect handheld game for hardcore gamers. From what I've seen there is going to be online multiplayer for around 16 players, a very nice and well designed story line, and a nice game to use the array of resources the Vita has to offer. All in all, this should be the game we have all been waiting for!
6 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Resistance: Burning Skies
Events before Resistance 2
Posted on:2/2/12
Buttertoth34
Location: TInley Park, IL
As far as i am aware of this game is taking place during the initial invasion of Manhattan (before Resistance 2). You play as a firefighter/reserve solider. The game looks really great. The auto cover system makes a return. Hide behind a object and your character will crouch down and avoid enemy fire. Wonder how long this game will be since all Resistance games are quite lengthy. I hope the friendly AI in this game is smart and wont run blindly into enemy fire or stand out in the open shooting at bad guys.(will multiplayer be on this game) I am anticipating this game for the vita. A great game that has a great storyline, great characters, wide range of weapons.I can't wait to get my hands on this bad boy. :3
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Resistance: Burning Skies
Was not worth the wait.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:5/30/12
Anonymous
Location: Fort Lauderdale
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I was really waiting for weeks for this game, hadn't played my Vita like for two months.Picked it up yesterday I honestly the game did not come down well for vita.These developers did not take there time on this, and it's not gonna save Sony.What the is up with the graphics? I don't expect it to like playstation 3 but how come it was so good on PSP.Resistance retribution is much better, even look at the graphics, they made burning skies look like a demo .Sony needs to do something better, vita has lots of potential but it seems like nobody wants to take the time to do it right.With all that said I hope Nihilistic the developers look it over and come up with some kind of update to help this game, starting with the graphics.Am still trying to figure out how come PSP resistance was so well, and burning skies on a better hardware looks like a demo.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Resistance: Burning Skies
Good first attempt but needs more work
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:5/30/12
Anonymous
Location: Fort Lee, NJ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Nothing I hate more than bad AI and this game really is the worst of them all. Enemies just stand around and run aimlessly. At some point in the game, I feel like I am just at a shooting gallery hitting moving cardboard targets. The graphics is great! The controls is great. I was not blown away by the story but it is passable. It's not a game that will engross you give you that feeling of accomplishment. It doesn't give you that "I want to play more" feeling. It was a good first attempt but maybe the original developer should have taken the reigns on this run or they should have reviewed the game more closely before releasing it into the wild. Save your money. If you can get it cheap, by all means snatch it up but at full price, it's not worth the trouble. I should have downloaded the demo first but alas, I am stuck with this forever.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Resistance: Burning Skies
Great
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/25/12
IcelandicViking
Location: Lebanon, OR
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
It is an awesome game that I bought off PSN and the best part of the game is the Survival mode for online multiplayer. I recommend this to everybody.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
infamousjoker123
St. John, IN
 
Please wait while more information about infamousjoker123 is loaded.
Additional information about infamousjoker123 could not be loaded.
Good Job
Posted 12/10/12
I find that they could have done a better job with Resistance Burning Skies. Although for the first fps on the ps vita, I would recommend this title to any fps. And this is coming from a playstation vita fan.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for Resistance: Burning Skies
not happy !!!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:6/1/12
alskdfslkd
Location: chicago
I wrote one review and gave the game an 8, but that was after just couple hours of playing the game. Now that I beat this SHORT game, and I have to correct myself, and change my review to 5. Game is too short, graphics are from 1995 (round objects are supposed to be ROUND) yes ??? Didn't know cars have square wheels !!! When the main character is walking it sounds like he is wearing high heels. Most of the game is happening in some sorts of wearhouses, hallways, and factory settings = boring. I'm really dissapointed with Resistance, with sony, and all of the players, because it seems like everyone is just looking at the multiplayer portion of the game, and gives reviews based on multiplayer. Well I'm a bit older player and I don't really care for playing over and over online shooting other players and reapeatting the same thing again. Again - I don't care for multiplayer, and I'm upset that I have to pay for a vita game $ 40 for 5 hour game - (bad game) That is why I'm so in love with Resident evil 4 because not only the main game is 25 - 30 hrs of game play, there is two more mini games you can play which both are about 6 -8 hrs of game play. What happened to games like that ?????????????????
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>