GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Lollipop Chainsaw

Lollipop Chainsaw is the un-deadly' story of sweet and killer zombie-hunter Juliet Starling and her quest to uncover the root of a colossal zombie outbreak. With her wickedly awesome chainsaw in hand, Juliet slices, dices and splits her way through hordes of the undead, but soon realizes the horde is only the opening act to a festival of zombie rock lords determined to kill the chainsaw-wielding cheerleader. Lollipop Chainsaw is being developed by GRASSHOPPER MANUFACTURE, led by celebrated game developer Goichi Suda (aka SUDA 51) and featuring the musical compositions of the renowned Akira Yamaoka. In addition, Hollywood director and writer James Gunn (Super, Slither, Dawn of the Dead, Tromeo and Juliet) has brought his cult humor and edgy storytelling to Lollipop Chainsaw's script.
Average Customer Rating:
8.64
8.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (71 reviews)
10 stars
22
9 stars
15
8 stars
4
7 stars
4
6 stars
0
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
44 out of 5088%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lollipop Chainsaw
Review 1 for Lollipop Chainsaw
Very Enjoyable
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/10/12
Hikiikomorii
Location: Denton, TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Purchased this game recently and finished it and i must say, it is one of the most funnest games i have played in a long time. From the music to the gameplay and the story, this game rocked from start to finish.
A lot of the game magazine reviews say that the game has outdated graphics and that the gameplay felt repeatable, but i will tell you this is not the case, you should always judge a game for your self. I personally thought the graphics look pretty cool, i liked that cartoonish look they went with, it really suits the game. Gameplay also did not feel repetitive to me, it had awesome quick time actions, cool boss fights, and enough combos imo.
I've been a gamer for quite some time now, so if you are one like myself, i highly recommend you purchasing this game, it's worth every penny.
Also if you liked the Animes High School of The Dead & Deadman Wonderland, they are alt costumes for Rei Miyamoto, Saeko Busujima and Shiro amongst several others that you can change in to.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Lollipop Chainsaw
A twisted and hilariously fun zombie slasher
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/16/12
Wargreed
Location: Miami
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Lolipop chainsaw is a great game. The soundtrack is one of the best in any game. The combat can be a little lacking in the begining but once you start unlocking more moves it gets a lot better. You seriously cant play this game without laughing its hilarious. The graphics are certainly nothing to praise but surely not anything to criticize. Where this game realy shines in my opionion are the fun and twisted level designs and boss battles. These boss battles are definatly fun and memorable. And The level design will keep you guessing as to what you will see next, I totally recomend this game to any zombie killing or hack and slash game fan it will make a worthy addition to your collection. The biggest drawbacks of this game and the reason i didnt give it a ten was becuase the game is too short the campaign is roughly 6 hours. And im not interested in replaying levels to gain better scores on the leaderboar so for me personally there isnt much reason for me to keep playing after the campaign. But the game is still worth the play through
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Lollipop Chainsaw
An Unexpected Awesomeness.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/12/12
Wazz
Location: New Tripoli, PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Zombies, Chainsaws, Rainbows, and an 18 year old cheerleader... you typically wouldn't combine those for a video game. Well it has just been done. I picked up the game as soon as the store opened, since I am a Zombie Killer myself, and started playing. The controls are easy to learn, the gameplay is always exciting, there are a lot of "Wow, that just happened." moments, and you can never say "I saw that coming." because you'd be lying! It's fun, entertaining, and hilarious. Everything a video game should be. I'd recommend this to anyone who loves killing zombies, action, and has an obsession with hot teenage cheerleaders. (so pretty much any guy between the ages of 14 - 22) All in all, the game is great. I gave it a 9 because Juliet can get a little annoying after a while. But don't let that take away from the experience, the game more than overcompensates for it's minor flaw. Though that's just my opinion, buy it yourself and form your own. =]
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Lollipop Chainsaw
Underrated game!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/20/12
ThrashManiac
Location: USA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
When I went to Gamestop to purchase this, the clerk asked me if I was sure I wanted to buy it. He said the game was "pretty bad". I told him yes, I still want it. Man, am I glad I did! This game is insane! That's probably the best way to put it. Everything is over-the-top, from the combat to the dialogue. Despite what others have said, I really enjoy Juliet as a character, not because of her appearance, but because she is a breath of fresh air when it comes to video game heroes and heroines. Plus, slaying zombies with a chainsaw never gets old. I especially love the art direction; the environments and bosses are very colorful (literally and figuratively). The music also adds to the fun; this is one of the best soundtracks of any video game I've played! My only real gripe with the game is that the language is a little much. Now, I know it's M for a reason, and I don't mind cussing, but almost every line is a little annoying. Regardless, I still love this game and will continue to play it for a long time!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 5 for Lollipop Chainsaw
Looks Crazy Awesome
Posted on:3/8/12
CrazyRainbows
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Suda 51 has yet to make a game that I didn't like. I love that his games are so unique and crazy, it makes for a refreshing experience when compared to how most games are just a bunch of the same old same old.
Lollipop Chainsaw looks like a big mess of fun, crazy awesome action, and silly situations. I can't wait to play it. I'm going to have to pre-order it just for the Ash costume alone.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
NC
Ima get it
Posted 10/29/12
this looks fun, plus my mom said she was gona get it for me fo christmas so ...
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Lollipop Chainsaw
i have high expectaions because of the uniqueness
Posted on:5/10/12
couremixted
Location: jacksonville
i think it's its about time someone made the main hero of a zombie killer game a girl and not just that. it's a spin on the traditional dark serious atmosphere that you usually see in these knd of games. i as a girl are facinated and want to try it for myself and iv'e never played a zombie or killing game ever. it's playfull edgy with all the gore and masacore with an interesting spin on the plot. a teenage girl is a zombie killer with an wicked chainsaw she even has a boyfriend that she can also use as a weapon. i breaks the boundaries set by other games and stakes its plac in the gaming world. i am highly anticipating getting this game and hope that as good as it is it last for some time because the bad thing about good games is that they end too soon and more likely promt a sequel.well we'll just have to wait and see what's instore ;)
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Lollipop Chainsaw
Of course it's wierd!
Posted on:8/28/11
Dragano
Location: WV
It's by Suda51 and that's why I'm going to buy it.
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Lollipop Chainsaw
Cool
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:6/14/12
BlazingSoul29
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Lollipop Chainsaw delivers a solid zombie action experience, the gameplay seems to always fall just shy of being much more than it is, but It is definitely one of the few games I played almost entirely with a smile on my face.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Lollipop Chainsaw
UH... Nothing less than epic ; )
Posted on:9/19/11
zeldahero
Location: Ohio , OH
Ok yea it's kind of a wierd or creepy idea so wut ? It looks awesome like I mean your not your average cheerleader your a murderous zombie killing cheerleader with a chain saw ... cmon who doesnt like that ??? this game looks so awesome !!! And whether this game is Individual or random it doesnt matter !!! either way Im gonna try my hardest to get this game!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
9 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Lollipop Chainsaw
Hmm.....WAIT! Tara Strong? I'm in!
Posted on:2/19/12
Anonymous
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Tara Strong provides the voice for the main character. I personally do not need any more reasons to spend 60$ on this game. Twilight Sparkle swearing while slicing zombies in half? I think they hit the nail on the head with this one. /)*(\
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
ChaseZora
 
Please wait while more information about ChaseZora is loaded.
Additional information about ChaseZora could not be loaded.
IKR!
Posted 3/5/12
I was gonna get this game anyway, but when I found out Tara was the main voice, I hauled @$$ to the store and placed a pre-order. Slashing zombies that dissolve into rainbow sparkles....Yup, need Tara for that. Hmm...odd how being a Brony is the final selling point for this game to me.
Customer Avatar
TJF588
 
Please wait while more information about TJF588 is loaded.
Additional information about TJF588 could not be loaded.
Posted 3/3/12
Rikku voices Twilight voices Juliet (voices Bubbles)?! Hoo boy...</Gippal>
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 11 for Lollipop Chainsaw
Awesomeness Ensues.
Posted on:11/17/11
DrPixel
Location: Phoenix, AZ
WOW, THIS LOOKS AWESOME!
I think that pretty much sums it up. Oh, and it's being made by Suda 51, that one guy who created No More Heroes. With a man like that behind it, you know this is going to be good. :D
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
rukia210
san antonio, tx
 
Please wait while more information about rukia210 is loaded.
Additional information about rukia210 could not be loaded.
sexy and bloody
Posted 11/21/11
I can't wait for this release......I've put in my pre-order. Very interesting premise and really great graphics(from what i can see). Can't wait for this ultra unique looking game!!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Lollipop Chainsaw
Best Hack and Slash game I've ever played!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/3/12
TalesWarrior
Location: Gainesville, Florida
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Zombies taste my chainsaw death!!! This game has it all! Its funny, charming, has cute graphics, an amazing soundtrack, and it's mind-blowing to the last level! I love it!! At first when I saw the trailer to this I thought, "Really? Is this the best Suda 51 can think of? A cheerleader with a bunch of zombies?", Well I was totally wrong! This game was great!! The difficulty curb was fair on my first try. Then when I beat the game, I switched to super hard and it is just as fun! This game was totally worth the money I paid for it! I also got some costumes to use on Juliet in the game for preordering it but I never use them since she is adorable in her cheerleader outfit! I also love her bunny costume, reminds me of buck the bunny a little bit lol. Don't listen to what some people say, this game is awesome and it isn't ashamed of it for a second. Just listen to X-plays review xDD
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Lollipop Chainsaw
I am very disappointed
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:6/14/12
LookoutScience
I was really excited for this game. It looked like a really fun and creative game. What did I get upon release? A game that felt incomplete and did not meet expectations. I believe on my playthrough, I beat the game in 5 hours. There is also no co-op, or multiplayer of any kind. The only incentive for replaying the game is to get a better score and buy all the power ups, combo attacks(which in my experience only work half of the time), concept art, music, and skimpy outfits for Juliet to wear. At it's heart, it looks like they really tried to make something good. I see actual effort going into the design for the bosses, but that is not enough to save the game. It pads. Quite a bit. there are several repeated sections, and some where they outright make it very very difficult, and this is on the easiest mode. The worst part is, I feel they will add more modes as DLC. and I don't think it's right to pay more for something that should've been in the game upon release. If you are thinking of buying this game, I would suggest renting it or borrowing it from a friend, but save your money for a game that is better deserving of it.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Lollipop Chainsaw
its rated M for a reason!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/27/12
affliction377
Location: minnesota
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
why are people complaining about the cussing? its a fun game with lots of action and the reason why they rated it mature is obvious! lots of blood and gore and swearing, lighten up!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Lollipop Chainsaw
Oh my god! Jimmy urine!
Posted on:4/6/12
msigal
Location: Port Townsend, WA
Totally buying this game because, 1) it looks awesome, and 2) the SINGER FROM MSI IS A CHARACTER OH MY GOD!
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Lollipop Chainsaw
Not My Cup Of Tea
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:6/15/12
xSniperWolfx
Location: Magnolia, DE
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
As a hardcore gamer who plays various games of all different types and backgrounds, this game disappointed me. Like movie trailers, the game trailer made the game seem better than it truly was. The graphics and sound were amazing, maybe even close to superb, but the gameplay, in my opinion, was horrible. I felt like I was playing a little kids game made for adults. It was very cut-throat and dry. You can only do what the game allows you to do with no incentive or surprises. Juliet's chainsaw/pompom skills are wicked awesome, but you have to purchase them. The dialogue is hilarious, which was what kept me interested for what little I was. If you like an easy game that tells you step by step what to do and nothing more, this is the game for you. Honestly, it is very mediocre and I feel people should wait to buy it or should try it out first before buying it.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Lollipop Chainsaw
Very Fun Hack and Slash Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/19/12
NuclearToaster
Location: Weight Room
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game had such a unique storyline that I figured I had to buy it on release day and I wasn't disappointed at all! It has all the gore and necessary grit for a great zombie game and just enough of that teenage flare to make the storyline work. The game makers made sure to allow for replay value by adding unlockable character outfits for Juliette (some of which play into the hands of the male players, if you know what I mean). The overall story was a little short, but that does not take away from how fun and interesting this title truly is.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Lollipop Chainsaw
Never been so embarrassed
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:6/16/12
NanoTech
Location: Rochester, New York
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I want to start off by saying I find it upsetting that people are comparing this game to legendary games like Resident Evil and Devil May Cry and saying that this game is the next best thing. As a heavy gamer and someone who pays attention to details of all aspects, Im dumbfounded by this game and others comparisons. GAMEPLAY: Hack and slash with no real plot or point, other than to kill zombies, play mini games, and save the day. At first, it looks awesome, but after awhile, it gets old. You have to earn coins to level up Juliet and her skills. There is also a lot of cursing, dirty/bad references, and all that kind of stuff, if you find that type of dialogue hilarious. SOUND: The songs are pretty good, a mixture of classics and made songs. Each stage has set music that fits the bosses theme, like rock or funk, since each boss is music based. GRAPHICS: A lot of rainbows and sparkles to go around to hide its flaws. I will admit the graphics were good like most game graphics are as we advance in technology, however you can tell the designers started losing their touch, especially in the bosses and stages. LASTING APPEAL: From the start, I liked it, until I realized that for the rest of the game, I was going to be told what to do and deal with same scenarios and zombies. OVERALL: I suggest waiting to rent this game or borrow it from a friend and seeing if its what you like. Don't let the trailers, screenshots, or comparisons persuade you to buy it out right. Its about the gaming experience.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
6 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Lollipop Chainsaw
Splendid choice of music and enjoyable gameplay!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/13/12
KoruLeigh
Location: Chelmsford, MA
I gotta say, before I actually played this game I was very anxious: I knew for a fact that Lollipop Chainsaw would either be incredible or terrible. Thankfully it was not the latter. As a gamer who has long been too deeply rooted in FPS and TPS based games, this is an amazing and awesome turn away from the shooter genre of gaming. The music choice is brilliantly played into the game; the only reason I even rated an 8 on gameplay is that although I absolutely adore this game I can tell some people will be a little more on the indecisive side in terms of the controls or format of the cutscenes, voices, etc. Graphics are very enjoyable if you like comic-styled graphics as oppose to your typical "It has to be realistic, super, ultra crisp like Battlefield 3 or something" graphics. Lasting appeal I rated 8 only because its a single player so it has SOME limitations, few as they may be. For what its worth, the game more than deserves the rating of a 9/10 that I gave it. Near perfection. Hardcore/Casual gamers are more likely the ones to get into this game as a majority. Please do take my word for it when considering it. Be it getting the game now at full price or pre-owned/reduced later price I really do recommend you adding this game to your gaming collection..!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Lollipop Chainsaw
great game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/15/12
atomicz
Location: LA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this is a really good game the music fits the game perfectly. i admit, the game is short but has a high reply value because im the type of gamer that likes to unlock everything in a game. this game will have you laughing the whole time why you play. overall i highly recommend this game
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>