GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Strategy Guides or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at GameStop.

Dark Souls Official Strategy Guide

Going into Dark Souls unaided will get you killed...a lot. Even armed with the complete knowledgeof the game that this guide will provide, you're still certain to die at least a few times. Butwhen a gigantic demon takes you by surprise you'll at least have a chance to not lose everything.This is a true survival guide for a game that's almost impossible to survive.
Average Customer Rating:
8.7
8.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
10 stars
8
9 stars
0
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 1080%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dark Souls Official Strategy Guide
Review 1 for Dark Souls Official Strategy Guide
Decent guide but hard to follow
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Detail: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Accuracy: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/16/12
azuldul12
Location: MI
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The cover is nice and it's detailed relatively well. It starts off real well with an intro to the guide and game. Each section starts with a guide on using the section which is helpful. However, the helpfulness ends there in my book. This game is an open world/sandbox type of game and non linear so it's relatively hard to right a step-by-step guide. At the end of each section in the game, there is usually a boss, and in the guide, it's not in that section, they tell you to refer to an earlier section so you're constantly flipping through the book. The book doesn't include quite a bit of loot in the game or where it's located. The weapon guide is incredibly frustrating when trying to ascend weapons, the guide won't tell you whats required to actually ascend the weapon. This guide is just laid out poorly, this is a poor excuse of a guide by namco. I would never recommend this to anyone due to how hard and useless this guide is, I've found that I'm constantly looking things up online due to the ineffectiveness to this guide.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Detail: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Accuracy: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Dark Souls Official Strategy Guide
Bring it!
Posted on:9/10/11
Mekanik32
Location: Missouri
I hear ya there... I plan on taking a week off to play, and the week after, I will have a full beard when I emerge.
11 of 12 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
KingOfPawns
Roanoke Tx
 
Please wait while more information about KingOfPawns is loaded.
Additional information about KingOfPawns could not be loaded.
not comming out yet...
Posted 10/3/11
the guide isn't coming out in my area till over a week after the game has been released.... that's kinda dumb seeing as i wanted to get the guide with my game....
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for Dark Souls Official Strategy Guide
If you are serious about Dark Souls, get this!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Detail: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Accuracy: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/5/11
trwaters
Location: Baltimore
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I cannot express how impressed I am with this guide. Usually, they tell you a few things that may or may not help you, but this one, WOW! Anything you need to know is there. Something great for people new to the PvP system from Demon's Souls is the fact that they explain in great detail about how multiplayer works. There are amazing maps that show you where all the good loot is, an index of items and enemies, and most importantly, detailed instructions on how to fight every foe.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Detail: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Accuracy: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Pandanugget
 
Please wait while more information about Pandanugget is loaded.
Additional information about Pandanugget could not be loaded.
Awesome sauce
Posted 10/9/11
i really need this thing lol. the game is absolutely incredible, as was the previous one. i love games like this but i could use every bit of help i can get. from basic information to the best way to farm souls and level up. i love this game :D
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Dark Souls Official Strategy Guide
Has all informations u need but poorly constructed
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Detail: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Accuracy: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/21/11
spardinng
Location: Fresno,Ca
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This book has all the information u need about Dark Souls.. If you are serious in playing dark souls and don't wanna die many times u should get this.. The only thing i didn't like in the construction is how they separated enemies and the map for every place.. I mean they did a chapter for enemies each place and then the map for each place with the item locations in it in separate chapters...I would love if they did like the map and enemies for each place in the same chapter like for example this place then next page is the map then next page is the enemies and strategy for that enemy.. Coz when i go exploring and look at the map and suddenly i wanna check the strategy for the enemy im facing or i will face i have to jump atleast a hundred pages.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Detail: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Accuracy: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dark Souls Official Strategy Guide
Great Guide, Great Price
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Detail: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Accuracy: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/14/11
DWCoeur
Location: Michigan
Age: 45-54
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This guide is well worth the money. It includes enough to help a player along the way, but balances it by not telling everything. Dark Souls is a game of exploration, after all.
I did give it a ten for accuracy, but have found some differences when playing the game. It may be that random things happen to different people and that some other things are just glitches or unintended just as in Demon's Souls.
They also could have had a better layout for certain maps, because some of them are split between 2 pages and the parts in the middle cannot be seen.
These are minor issues though in a book that details such a large game in terms of customization and all. In the book, you will find charts that help you consider what to upgrade, but the book will not tell you what to upgrade.
Overall, it's a fantastic guide. Well worth even the original price.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Detail: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Accuracy: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dark Souls Official Strategy Guide
More than expected
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Detail: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Accuracy: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/25/11
Gearhead
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Purchased the guide on gamestop.com. Was sent quickly and the quality of the strategy guide itself exceeded my expectations greatly. The detail and information given is very helpful.
The most beneficial part of this guide is the Item Information & NPC Information. (i.e. covenants and merchants)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Detail: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Accuracy: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dark Souls Official Strategy Guide
Best guide ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Detail: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Accuracy: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/9/11
Dosadi95
Location: Seattle,Wa
Age: 45-54
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This guide is amazing, not to mention absolutely gorgeous. I was surprised when I got it that it was a hardcover book. I loved it so much and was so impressed with it I believe it will be a collectors item and bought one to use and one to leave in the original package. If you are serious about Dark Souls or even if you just want to die a little less then GET THIS GUIDE.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Detail: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Accuracy: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Dark Souls Official Strategy Guide
Cant wait 4 this guide
Posted on:8/28/11
junior88
10/4/11 needs to hurry,taking 2 week vacation from work to play DS
6 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dark Souls Official Strategy Guide
Excellence
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Detail: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Accuracy: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/22/11
DoXX
Location: Knoxville, TN
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Everything you could ever ask for in a guide bound between two hard covers.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Detail: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Accuracy: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Dark Souls Official Strategy Guide
This game could use a better guide.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Detail: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Accuracy: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:7/7/12
RedWings
Location: West Jordan, UT
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I didn't find this guide helpful at all. The enemy guide is practically worthless. All it really does is tell you how hard this game is. People that buy this already know that. The equipment and item guides are decent, but inaccuarte due to patches. (but you can't blame them for that.) It doesn't tell you how much items you need to level up covenants, which is a massive negative. The Dark Souls community online is very helpful in the first place, so it's not like you don't have any help online. This guide just simply isn't worth the money.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Detail: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Accuracy: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Dark Souls Official Strategy Guide
What service!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Detail: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Accuracy: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/14/11
wjhopper
Location: Toronto, Canada.
Age: 45-54
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The guide is everything it says it is. My point is, that living in Toronto it was virtually impossible to get this when it came out. Gamestop.ca didn't even have it listed on it's site. I ordered from Gamestop.com at 3pm Thursday and received it the following day at 10am!!! Now that's service. Well done Gamestop.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Detail: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Accuracy: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Dark Souls Official Strategy Guide
A Must Have Piece
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Detail: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Accuracy: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/11/12
Khidafi
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
So wish there would've been a guide like this for Demon's Souls, this guide is perfect in almost every way, including maps, items, and boss strategies. Couldn't have imagined playing this game w/out it...
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Detail: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Accuracy: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.