GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dead Island

The island of Banoi is a lush, tropical paradise in the South Pacific where its flagship Royal Palms Resort serves as the ultimate getaway for vacationers with money to burn. However, all good things must soon come to an end - and the picturesque resort falls into madness, carnage and chaos after a mysterious and contagious zombie outbreak claims its once peaceful atmosphere. Cut off from the rest of the world, only four individuals who strangely find themselves immune to zombification have the power to protect the remaining survivors from the horrors of the island, discover what's really going on and find a way to escape before their own fatal ends.
Average Customer Rating:
8.334
8.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (458 reviews)
10 stars
163
9 stars
119
8 stars
64
7 stars
21
6 stars
18
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
9
2 stars
15
1 star
10
359 out of 43183%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dead Island
Review 1 for Dead Island
a MUST-GET game!!!!! the best game ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/22/12
Biggestsonicfanintheworld
Location: the place you don't wanna know
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I love this game because,it is basicly like an RPG,you get to choose your way of life,like you can fend for yourself by just killing zombies,or you can live the life of survival and go through story mode,and help other people.At a certain point you will get to drive cars,and I love this feature because you can run over zombies and sometimes blood and gore will splatter all over the screen! You can play by yourself or if you are having trouble killing a big zombie and need help,go to co-op mode and you will get 3 more players to help you get through the adventure.This game does NOT support local multiplayer,although it takes system link and Xbox LIVE (you can buy membership for 3 months for $25.00 price may vary at different places or 1 year for $60.00) I'd say this is a game for the person who CRAVES blood and gore (like me) and an AWESOME GAME!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Dead Island
Really Good Concept, Just didn't go that extra mi
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/11/13
wontstopgaming
Location: NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Dead Island has a beautiful idea, survive with zombies everywhere. Simple enough yes, but there's not a lot of depth here. The RPG elements are pretty meh, the story is not the best, and the missions are pretty repetitive. That being said, the island looks great and was fun to explore. The combat wasn't blowing my mind but it was really enjoyable and didn't get boring throughout the game. Definitely worth a pick up at the current 20 dollar price point.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
A little bit of the combat for you
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 3 for Dead Island
Good Will See
Posted on:9/5/11
DubZro360
Location: Houston,TX
looks amazing but it could be a bust but i plan to get it still i reccomend this game
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 19 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dead Island
Multiplayer is a must.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/20/11
OwnDaBaby
Location: California
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
When I first bought the game it was quite buggy. I was never able to connect to other players lobbies and was forced to play solo. Now my main intentions for buying this game was to play with my friends who have also purchased the game. So I continued on my way playing Solo, I had reached the mid 20's and exited the game. The next day when I hop back on DI I find to my disappointment that my file had not saved, yet I waited for it to say "game saved" in the bottom left corner. I was now re-set to level 12 and had to complete all the quests that I had already done. I had lost 90% motivation to continue playing the game, but I stuck it out. Eventually the game for some reason or another began connecting to the internet, the game has saved 100% of the time and is a blast. Who doesn't like to just go around with a machete chopping off heads of the Undead? I think we all do or we wouldn't be here.
All in all I find the game quite a joy to play, but if you cannot connect to the internet I consider this game a NO-GO.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dead Island
Great First Person RPG with Flaws...
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/8/11
JohnD123
Location: Omaha Nebraska
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
"Dead Island" is one of those games that, when it came along, I was immediately stoked for. I love all things "zombie": Movies, games, stories. All of that. I got it Tuesday and, in the beginning, I was disappointed. I found the controls to be somewhat clunky, I thought the weapons broke too quickly, the combat was a little awkward. But as I began to play the game and get further into the story, I REALLY began to enjoy. I got used to the controls and the combat and I even found myself walking around the beautiful island, randomly picking fights with zombies, forgetting I was even doing a mission. I still have some complaints about the game: The inventory management I find to be time consuming, the controls are still "odd", the story itself is lacking, and the animations and voice acting for the characters can be rather cheap at times. But for my final comment I must say: Give yourself time to warm up to the game, and you will find countless hours of fun in "Dead Island".
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dead Island
underrated
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/21/11
DBeats
Location: Riverhead, Ny
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
When i first decided to buy this game i thought it was going to be just another typical zombie game or left4dead rip off of some sort. But I'm an achievement perfectionist and am always up for a new things in the video game world. Besides the fact that it was pretty buggy in the first couple nights of gameplay and still is (though it has gotten much better), my first thought was... WOW! As a fan of RPGs i really got into this game because well, it's right addicting. Everywhere you turn OCD kicks in and there's something to look for or loot. It's a huge mix of borderlands and left4dead. But mainly if you're a fan of borderlands you will love the feel and constantly checking around every corner for something new. Whether it be for new loot, weapons or even just the need to open and/or close everything you can possibly interact with this is definitely a game worth checking out. Btw, I am not discriminating against any game system you choose to play this on. I have played on both consoles and pc, gameplay is a great experience overall
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dead Island
Surprisingly fun game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/11/11
Shamrockboy
Location: Phoenix,AZ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I can't say I really expected much from this game, but I was pleasantly surprised. The first night of playing this over system link with my buddies was amazing. We couldn't stop laughing all night we were enjoying ourselves so much. This is definitely a cross between L4D and Borderlands, which is very much a good thing! Killing zombies is pretty fun with a fairly good assortment of weapons to use. You also have a truck you can cruise around in (with seating for 4) and mow down the randomly walking dead scattered about the island. The RPG system is pretty standard fare with skills, weapon upgrades and character leveling. There is also a decent amount of body parts flying around which should appease a lot of gore hounds too. Overall I think this game has probably something that will appeal to just about everyone (except of course small children lol). If you are a fan of RPG's, FPS's, Zombies games, Bloody games, Open World games or even Driving games (to a tiny extent) this game is for you!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 8 for Dead Island
Very very buggy, but still fun
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:9/11/11
djdbo10000
Location: TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Dead Island is a good game with a very large amount of bugs that hinder the awesome experience the whole way through. Some of the problems i experienced on my first play-through were sometimes not being able to pull up the inventory at all and having to quit and restart to get it back. Also this game seems to have a problem with kicking you out of the cooperative games pretty often. I played with 2 of my friends and we all experienced getting kicked out of the game for some reason. A couple of the quests messed up to the point that i had to load an old checkpoint to be able to complete the quest. And finally, the waypoint system in this game has many problems and sometimes it will be telling you to go somewhere you absolutely cannot go. All in all i enjoyed playing this game through once but am happy i rented and did not buy due to all of the bugs present. The experience of the game is good enough to outweigh the bugs for the first play, but it is obvious to me that the game was rushed, and could be a lot better.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dead Island
Dead Island - The First Zombie Role-Playing Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/11/11
StokedRider
Dead Island is one of the finest gaming experiences out there; it's ambitious, and it also amazes me what Techland did with their smaller non-AAA development budget. Dead Island is a huge game that pushes a new genre in some ways. While at its heart it could be compared to other open world role-playing games, like Borderlands or Fallout 3/Fallout: New Vegas, it's also the first zombie role-playing game set on an incredibly lush island that turns into a hellish paradise once you dig further into the madness.
Pros:
- Terrifying Beauty - The island of Banoi is soaked in atmosphere, from the most beautiful of locations, to the most horrific, this is one vacation that is a pleasure assault on the eyes. Pack your bags, and make sure to include a machete and spike baseball bat, because you'll be needing both. This is one huge island packed with a lot to both see and do.
- Top Notch Atmosphere - The sound design, the environments that come to life, etc., really put you into the experience.
- Undead Meat - A cool feature in Dead Island is the analog control option in the menus, which allows you to aim for any part of a zombie's body. Is the zombie swinging its arms wildly at you? Target each arm and begin to chop away. You can break the bones and make them just hang there, or you could just chop them off entirely. After chopping off a zombie's arms, the zombie may then try to headbutt you, so simply target the head and chop it off. The tech here is very cool and allows you to play around with the zombies and kill them in numerous gruesome ways.
- Tons of Content - Dead Island will take the average player around 35 hours or more to see everything there is to do on Banoi.
- Role-Play Depth - Level up, unlock skills, find loot, get tons of quests, go through your inventory, etc. Dead Island isn't some easy way to make a buck, this is a game packed with a lot of depth and it shows that the developers wanted to give players a rich experience.
- Fun Melee Combat - As I already mentioned, I can't recommend the analog option enough. It keeps combat from feeling repetitive, as it gives you various ways to defeat your enemies.
Cons:
- An Overall General Lack of Polish - As a non-AAA endeavor, it's a given that an ambitious project like Dead Island had to suffer somewhere, so it's not a surprise that this game is rough around the edges. You'll see screen tearing, you'll see environment pop-in, you'll see some odd glitches, you'll see some odd animations, etc. However, all of these things are minor when you take in all of the positives this game has to offer.
Regardless of its technical shortcomings, Dead Island is a game with depth, beautiful environments to explore, and some really enjoyable melee-focused combat, so it should come as no surprise that I'm definitely recommending this to anyone that enjoys a meaty single player campaign or 4-player co-op. As long as you can deal with some not so great issues, you'll definitely get your money's worth out of Dead Island.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
25 of 25 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Sippio
Hamden/Cheshire CT
 
Please wait while more information about Sippio is loaded.
Additional information about Sippio could not be loaded.
Great review!
Posted 1/30/14
You did a great job.. I agree with all of it. 35 is abou 200 shy of what I put in, but I messed around a lot.. Btw,,red dead redemption IS-not considered a "zombie" game and that dude knows it.. This is the 1st zombie game I've seen that has so much RPG elements in it...I never even made it to the zombie expansion of red dead redemption,,but that's because finishing a rock star game is almost impossible because they just draaag on.. I haven't completed a a grand theft game since vice city,(still playing 5),, dead island doesn't have any other elements besides zombies..it's a horro game... Good review... Message me on xbox sippio
Customer Avatar
afdfdkj1
 
Please wait while more information about afdfdkj1 is loaded.
Additional information about afdfdkj1 could not be loaded.
UUUMMMM, NO!
Posted 3/20/13
This game was NOT the first zombie role playing game.......Red Dead Redemption Undead Nightmare.....ring a bell???!!!!
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 10 for Dead Island
This game ROCKS!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/7/12
Ethanbomb
Location: Florida
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is great! I just finished the game. It's good because: 1) you get a really good, and developed storyline. 2) you get really good graphics ( VERY rarely you get a bug, but still good 3) leveling up and getting different skills and abilities is AWSOME!!! 4) unli,e cod, you get guns, and a very wide variety of melle weapons (broom stick, knife, even a chain saw that is rare) and you get molotovs, grenades, and tons of more weapons. 5) many types of zombies 6) 3 different "skulls" that heve abilities to find, along with a lot of secrets and Easter eggs. 7) Not only zombies, but you must fight armed rebels two red the middle of the game and beyond. The game does lag time to time, and has 1 or 2 bugs, but this is no reason not to buy it. You may have a hard time playing at first, as did I, but when you get used to it, this game is sweet! Ps: when you play it, be Shute to be signed in to xbl/psn, if not then when you quit, all work is gone! I made that big mistake-hours of work GONE! So be signed in! My advise: BUTY THE GAME!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Dead Island
Border4Rising2...Dead Island Sounds Better
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/18/11
BigD66
Location: Saint Louis, Missouri
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is fantastic! Co-op is crazy fun. I will say that the difficulty SPIKES about halfway through. You will learn to hate the "Infected". They run. OH HOW THEY RUN! The sound is what sets the mood. You can hear special infected roar as you draw near and you become unsettled. The graphics are beautiful although I did notice that when there was a cutscene with people talking the background would kinda go wonky. Other than that the resort was a picture of beauty. At one point your character will even. Say "Wow, look at that". As you go down some steps overlooking the view. Combat is fast, frantic and fun. It reminds me of Fallout 3. You can craft and repair weapons like Dead Rising 2, you have skill trees as you gain levels to make you more deadly like Borderlands and 4 player co-op for zombie killing goodness like Left4Dead. All in all this game is fun. Some people will complain about the graphics or story or fetch quests. This game is about killing zombies. It's better with friends, but it would be a challange alone. Great game. Strongly recommended!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Dead Island
All Out Best Zombie Game Ever!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/12/11
ToddSuprise
Location: Genoa,OH
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is outstanding. The first person melee is very exciting. It has very good appel to hardcore zombie fans, its grafics are superb its story line is very interesting, the co-op is very productive because you can drop in and out of games and not lose any progress, the way the wepons work is very realistic in a real situation, the rpg elements of the caracters is very cool. All-in-all this looks like the most outstanding zombie game of the centry!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Dead Island
Zombie fun.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/2/12
Xbox098
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
First off, I'd like to say that this game is amazingggg, when I first played it I played it with two friends for 6 hours, we would've played more but it was 12:00 in the morning to 6:00, so yeah. This game is PERFECT for co-op, but lacks single player gameplay. It has single player, but it's just really tough, I guess that's the challenge. It reminded me of Borderlands but Zombies. Borderlands, as you know if you played it is really tough when your by yourself but amazingly fun when you have another person. Dead Island is really great with only 1 co-op partner, actually. Great story, also, I love how it ended, big twist. Graphics were alright, I mean, I don't see how they can be perfect in a game like this, so they're good the way they are. Sound is great, whenever a zombie is behind me and growls or whatever it gives me the chills. Lasting appeal, it kept me interested like I said for a few hours, and I don't usually do that at all. Not to mention after those 6 hours we barely put a dent into the game. But I hope you liked my review and hope it helped you out, if you buy it add me on Xbox, I'm always looking for people to talk to and play with, Gamer tag is A Grumpy Kitty.
 
My Product Recommendations
Borderlands Game of the Year Edition
9.4 out of 10(45)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
tcronk
Trumbull CT
 
Please wait while more information about tcronk is loaded.
Additional information about tcronk could not be loaded.
nice review
Posted 4/19/12
hey im probably gonna get this game so i'll add u when i get it (my gamertag: XxUGotSkillZxX)
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for Dead Island
Great all around game. Don't hesitate!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/17/11
Samurai777
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I was on the edge about buying this game when it was released. But when I bought it, I adapted very quickly to the controls. The graphics are solid 9, and the gameplay is very fun and entertaining. Some comments on this game say that its very repetitive of killing undead, but the objective of this game are to acquire supplies for yourself and others to escape the island which requires killing whatever thats in your way (in this game, zombies). The characters have individual awesome personalities. Also, a special thing what I like about this game is that when you die you don't lose anything and it brings you back approximately 10 feet of where you died so you don't need to go back in a mission to complete it. If you are deciding whether to purchase this game you will be comfortable about your decision after you buy it. Its a game that you would want to keep after you beat it because you can go back to any level any play with friends or random people online. Its truly one of the better games on the market and the game expresses the time and effort the producers took to create it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ej88
Hermanville, MS
 
Please wait while more information about ej88 is loaded.
Additional information about ej88 could not be loaded.
Posted 9/19/11
great review!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for Dead Island
IT'S SO FUN!! BUT....
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/25/12
TACOmagic
Location: keller,TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is VERY fun and it's so cool and unique it's not like any other zombie game it's diffrent in a good way! it's cool and fun but when you get to around 70% completion (the game is really long) the game kinda gets boring and VERY VERY VERY HARD! im stuck at 82% completion doing a mission called the evil purity or something and im with this guy "Ope" and we walk into a village and there's a thug about 6 walkers all level 27 or higher and a scavenger (i HATE scavengers) and it's FRIGGIN IMPOSSIBLE!!!! i beat all of the zombies when i was in rage mode and i had very little health left so i was grabbing apples and energy drinks and stuff and "Ope" was like 15 feet away from me and for NO REASON AT ALL HE FALLS OVER.........DEAD!!!!! and i keep trying it over and over and over but "Ope" keeps getting killed by the thug and i keep getting killed also so if you can please help me give me some tips or something it would be much appreciated! -thanks, J.T.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
CptCornlog
california
 
Please wait while more information about CptCornlog is loaded.
Additional information about CptCornlog could not be loaded.
I dont think the game is that hard
Posted 5/3/12
many other people posted 9s and 10s and i don't think they would post that if they couldn't beat the game. you just need to step your game up.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for Dead Island
GRAPHICS!!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:4/21/13
CDUKSHN
Location: La Mesa, Ca.
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I don't multi-play or play on line with others.
Having been one of the most redundant games I have ever played I was blown away by the graphics and smoothness of the game.
To say the graphics were amazing would be a major understatement. Even the character mentions something about the view at some point.
Having a myriad of characters to choose from is nice but seems it may have been a bit of a burden later in the game regarding weapon purchases. I was using the "blunt weapon expert" and during deals with trader characters I was finding much more bladed weapons than anything else.
I did finish this game which is saying something and the main reason was the graphics.
There are really only 2 or 3 really cool ways to destroy enemies but the gore and consistency is very impressive.
I only finished the game with one character and have absolutely no desire to play it again.
It seems this game would likely be best for on line co-op which is something I don't engage in.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 17 for Dead Island
Perfect Zombie Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/7/11
Couzi
Location: CT
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
It doesn't get much better than a huge open world filled with blood thirsty zombies, add RPG elements and a leveling tree and this game almost reaches perfection. The voice acting is weak with very one sided and emotionless NPC's but the action gameplay more than makes up for the lack of solid voice overs. The melee combat is exceptional and sprinting in this game feels real, especially with the use of stamina.On top of these features, gamers who are looters are going to love this game. Hundreds (possibly thousands) of weapons to be looted, created and rewarded leaves your thirst for different styles of zombie slaying satisfied. Pick this game up for endless amounts of fun, the online co-op is solid and fighting the zombie apocalypse with 3 buddies never felt better. I strongly recommend this game to all zombie fans out there.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
JestoNsane4u
colorado
 
Please wait while more information about JestoNsane4u is loaded.
Additional information about JestoNsane4u could not be loaded.
Top 100 Contributor
Posted 9/8/11
hey dude, if you haven't read there's problems with steam. they're in process of fixing it. i have no problem playing multiplayer, i just have to either invite someone on the game list or have them invite me. I play all day with a few of my friends in 4 person coop. so boohoo that you can't figure it out nub.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for Dead Island
Let the bodies hit the floor!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/7/11
mayorwestify
Location: Seattle, WA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Wow. The only word to describe this game is "Tense". The atmosphere they've created is pulse pounding to say the least. I haven't felt such a pulse rise since the days of Aliens vs. Predator 2001 release, the game box quoted that a change of underwear was required after playing. You'll always be keeping your ear out for the zombies’ moans, keeping you at a constant lookout over your shoulder. The style of play of arm swings, graphics and movement really remind me the Riddick games. People also mention it reminds them of Borderlands, but I think this game is one that has its own elements that work very well; in the fun factor category I’d give it a 10. Graphics of the landscape, buildings, weaponry look great and really give you the feel of isolation. The facial look of the NPC's aren't all that great, they look like they’re made of shiny play dough, but it works. I really do feel a part of the world they've created, good job Techland. I really enjoy the customization of weaponry and the added disintegration level of the weapons, this only adds to the experience. You feel alone and survival mode has just kicked in, so survive or be killed. I really like the tracking system for doing copious amounts of damage to individual body parts of each zombie. I recently purchased Dues Ex and I would really have to say this game is far better job of sinking its teeth in me, I want more. I would definitely recommend this game to the survival fans out there, especially if you enjoy zombies and being at the edge of your seat during the whole experience. Turn off the lights, crank up the sound and you'll see what I mean. Now bash some zombie skulls!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Dead Island
A brief, but amazing game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:9/24/11
ForDaHorde
Location: The Citadel, Zakera Wards
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I've played thoroughly through this game. Completed all the quests, side quests, and unlocked all the continuous quests. Although I've only been through the game as a single player, this game was an amazing experience. The game play is just amazing. Fighting zombies up close, chopping off limb by limb and watching the blood splash onto the floor. The masses crowding around me. Intense, frightening, yet lovable action. Always an innovative way to dispatch a horde of zombies. Fighting not just to get home.The graphics, beautiful. You're on a wonderful beach resort. Sun shining, ocean waves washing upon the shore. Clear white sands, stained with blood, guts, and bullets. You're "in a paradise to die for". The music, sound effects, etc. All help captivate the moment. A somber song for that one moment you're in a safe house, and you realize you have to go out there again to fight just to live. The rustle of the palm trees. Like I said, it was a brief, but awesome experience. What can prolong it, would be to get an actual group of 4 to start the party.. A great game not for the storyline, but for the experiences you have.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Dead Island
Very addicting, deep story
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/14/11
kyre007
Location: waterford, MI
I'll admit, I was a bit worried when i spent $60 on a zombie RPG from a company i didnt even know existed. But i was so releved when i got home and put this game in my xbox. Dead island is unlike any zombie game I've ever played, From the very first mission to the very last this game never losses intrest at all. Dead island has a deep rich story line that is so unforgetably intense, you'll never get bored of this game. The online drop-in drop-out co-op feature is fantastic especially for difficult missions, you just press left on the D-pad and you join someone else that's doing the same mission you are. Dead island offers hundreds of weapons with tons of customizable options for them. The playable area in Dead island is unbelevably HUGE, so much to do, so many things to find, so many zombies to kill! I would recommend this game to a friend and for you!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 23 next>>