GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dead Island

The island of Banoi is a lush, tropical paradise in the South Pacific where its flagship Royal Palms Resort serves as the ultimate getaway for vacationers with money to burn. However, all good things must soon come to an end - and the picturesque resort falls into madness, carnage and chaos after a mysterious and contagious zombie outbreak claims its once peaceful atmosphere. Cut off from the rest of the world, only four individuals who strangely find themselves immune to zombification have the power to protect the remaining survivors from the horrors of the island, discover what's really going on and find a way to escape before their own fatal ends.
Average Customer Rating:
7.365
7.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (324 reviews)
10 stars
79
9 stars
74
8 stars
46
7 stars
20
6 stars
13
5 stars
13
4 stars
13
3 stars
9
2 stars
16
1 star
21
216 out of 30471%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dead Island
Review 1 for Dead Island
If Borderlands and Left for Dead had a baby
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/7/11
Blink64
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The reviews for this game have been all over the place. The fact is that this is a great game that has a heavy emphasis on melee combat. The game physics are crazy. If you hit a zombie in the knee the chances are you'll either break their knee or knock them over, making a head shot all that much easier. Not to mention that each character plays way different than their counterparts. The skill trees are very detailed and each character has three different tiers. Then their is fury mode. Each mode is different depending on the character your playing as. Its a great ability to use in a pinch. The weapons themselves have stats that effect everything from damage to how much stamina it will take to swing it. The level of detail is astounding the zombies move fluidly in their environment and the world itself is gorgeous. Not to mention that the co op is fantastic. It is by far more fun jumping in with friends. All in all its a great game that I would highly recommend to anyone who wants to destroy some zombies.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Dead Island
Amazing.
Posted on:9/4/11
AFilthyHat
Location: Peabody, MA
I've been waiting for this game since it was announced at E3 in '06. Back then, it looked to be just a first person shooter based on zombies on a tropical island. Hundreds of people are saying it's going to be exactly like Left 4 Dead, but it isn't. For starters, this is a RPG Survival Horror game, where as Left 4 Dead was just a FPS action/adventure game where you get from point A to point B. There are quests, side quests, experience to be gained, weapons to be customized, and even a mini game, or at least I think it will be a mini game (blood bath arena). You can't say this game is copying either L4D or Dead Rising, because it isn't. it was announced before the both of them. And also, for everyone saying that there isn't game play you aren't looking hard enough. Go on youtube and look up MrKQGaming2's channel. Also please add me on Playstation Network if you are looking to play this co-op, AFilthyHat.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Dead Island
Spectacular
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/9/12
Jbn1992
Location: Michigan, MI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
At first I thought this game was going to be boring and that you be stuck on the same island until I played all 18-20 chapters not sure though. The only problem I find in the game is that I cannot play with two of my friends and I can only play 1. I thought this was patched up, but guess its not sadly. Also I reccomend not sitting in the back of the truck when you co-op with a friend becuase your game can freeze like mine did. I like how you can upgrade weapons and mod them up and make cool weapons like the flaming baseball bat and short-circuit wakazishi I think it was and that one katana (forgot the name) and make it poisonous with the deathstalker mod! You can also use handguns or magnums, shotguns and assualt rifle which are sweet. Plenty of sidequests which I did more than 75 of them and plenty main story missions that can be pretty fun for hours. Overall, the game is awesome, but the multiplayer, not so much. Hope I can play with two of my friends soon.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dead Island
Decent.....
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:9/11/11
genisisx
Location: Indianapolis, IN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is as I expected it to be.....Average. Now hear me out, this was a decent game. There were graphical issues, but they were about the same degree as Fallout NV when it first launched. There are plenty of side quests, although some of them got lost in glitches somehow, and the world as a whole is just huge. Now combat takes some getting used to, but it gets addicting, and I like the weapons mod customization and skill tree. They really bring in the RPG elements. With that being said, there are just too many issues/bugs in this game right now, and the graphics just left me very unimpressed. The characters are shallow and leave no sense of story immersion, and most of the quest you will follow will be escort or fetch missions. Co-op was fun when it worked, but it's one of those things that fall into the bug category. Overall, this is a B-movie type game, and is worth checking out by means of renting or burrowing, but I wouldn't recommend a buy until the bugs get fixed or checking it out at least to see if you like it. :)
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dead Island
rpg meets zombies=epic
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/12/11
DarkPaladin
Location: Ut
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Dead Island
As always this is a detailed review. If you want a simpleminded “it’s good/it sux” look through the rest of the reviews, I’m sure u’ll find plenty.
To start, I’d like to point out I’m a very picky gamer, it’s been roughly a years since I found a game that I was instantly interested in, and just wanted to keep playing. Dead Island grasped my attention right off the bat, making me want to call into work just to play it (didn’t do that, but wanted to).
First impressions are that this zombie game is unlike any other. It’s very focused on melee weapons. Less face it, if there was a zombie outbreak, there wouldn’t be an abundance of firearms. You would have to use things like ore’s, pipes, knives, etc. That is what this game is based around. The concept is that you start of in an island getaway with plenty of bungalow suites, hotels, life guard houses, etc. We can’t say “it’s realistic” as there is no real zombie scenario to compare it to. However, out of all the zombie games I’ve played (COD, LFD, RE, etc etc) this one seems the most realistic.
Many compare it to left for dead. To me left for dead was an interesting concept, but rather dumb. This took the concept of left for dead, and made it into what a zombie game should be. Theres no conveniently placed stacks of guns and ammo, no set path you have no choice to follow, etc. Unlike LFD, there are TONS of side quests, it’s literally an open world (like GTA, RDR, Fallout, Fable, other RPG games). So not only do you not have to follow one set path, but you can explore as much as you want for loot, for zombies to kill for experience… whatever you want. The variety is great, I can see replay value being high, maybe even very high. Even the quests are big on variety. It’s all about survival. So often times you need to turn power on, retrieve some parts to make something work, search for supplies (food, water, or medical) etc. Sometimes you have to save someone, sometimes you have to help them because they are surrounded, then help them get what they need to survive for a bit, etc.
The combat is great. It’s not the simple “spam the slash button at an enemy” you can chuck your weapon at them and retrieve it, you can kick them, sometimes they grab you and you have to hit buttons in-order, to break free, etc. It’s great, doesn’t feel repetitive. You can actually become distinguishly skilled. For example, with the melee weapons (what u use most) if doing a horizontal swing, you don’t have to have your crosshairs on them, your target just has to be on that horizontal swings path. It looks great, and makes you feel like a bada**.
Looting is great, and perfect for a zombie game. It’s not nearly as detailed as say fallout, or The Elder Scrolls, but that’s a good thing. I think it’s more relatable to borderlands. Theres a few containers every so often, and theres not much variety of loot. Most of it is “vendor trash” or weapons.
Leveling is pretty indepth, also similar to borderlands. You have 3 skill tree’s per character, each one would take… maybe like 30+ skill points (level 30+) it’s very in-depth. Anywhere from increasing a chance (such as chance to retrieve thrown weapons, chance for criticals) to increasing damage with a weapon type, abilities such as lock picking, etc.
The zombies look great. They seem “realistic” many u find laying down almost “playing dead” and u don’t notice they are zombies till they get up and charge you. Some will be banging on doors trying to get into buildings and you can sneak up on them. Etc.
Graphics. There are many highs and lows. The detail on zombies and gore is great. It’s not the simple “decapitation” there’s decapitations, bashing a head half off, making a head concave, etc. And that’s just the head. The zombies and corpses often times look like they had big chunks bitten or ripped off of them. It’s a zombie game, that makes it seem more realistic. On the other hand, sometimes rooms or areas will have a slow load, some parts look very poorly done, etc.
Gore. As I described in graphics, the gore is very realistic, not for kids. It’s not a simple bloody mess, some of it’s actually realistic to anatomy. You will see bodies on the ground and actually see muscle and tendon structure. So I’d say 16+, maybe 18+ depending on the parenting/kid.
The biggest complaint I have about this game, is one that all Rpg’s share at some point. The dreaded “what do I do?” missions. So far I have only encountered one, but I fiddled it for an hour, and will have to use wiki or buy a strategy guide. Basically the mission says “check the two gas stations for juice crates, and bring back 2 to the base leader” ok so I checked both, their was 5 total, car can carry 4 at a time, so I brought all four to the base. He is upstairs far from the truck. So first I go their to see if the truck with 4 crates being in the garage would work, nope he still says “have you checked both gas stations?” I carry all four upstairs one at a time (long frustrating process) and put them right at his feet, still all he can say is “have you checked both gas stations?” And all that the quest objective says is “check both gas stations and bring back two juice crates.” Umm, hello, I did that. It’s just a hiccup, I’m sure once I read the wiki on this mission it’ll be a “omg I can’t believe it was that simple” moment, but it is annoying.
Another complaint, but not nearly as bad, is the random joining. I’m talking about how anyone can join your game. When I go to the menu for online options, I can see the options, but it won’t let me chose them as if it’s glitched or I have to unlock the ability to have like “friends only” or “invite only” so for now, every few minutes someone random joins my game. Most wouldn’t mind this, but I’m greedy, I want to play the game and get all the kills and loot to myself, unless it’s with a friend. I did get a used copy, so it could be because of that, but the disc looks fine so I don’t think it’s a damaged issue. It’s a minor issue since all it takes to get rid of them is pressing pause button then “leave lobby” but it gets annoying after a few times, much less 20 and counting.
On a high note about co op, it’s seamless joining. Meaning the game doesn’t suddenly lag when someone is joining, it doesn’t interrupt you when they join at all. And it seems like the main way to join, is to be in the same area as someone else and pressing up dpad (xbox). Whenever someone joins it’ll say “(such n such name) is in the same area as you, would you like to join (press up dpad)”.
Co op from what I can tell is system link/online only. So you must have two consoles, two games, two tvs. Dissapointing especially for those of us that don’t want to pay for another console so that someone in the same house (gf/bf/brother/sis/whatever) can play with us. Supposedly it’s because “consoles can’t handle these larger modern games running two players at the same time”. I think that’s an excuse for them to get us to pay double for every game and every dlc.
Either way in the end, I haven’t fully played this game, so i don’t have every last detail. I wrote this at “15% main story complete” so theirs more to know, but I thought I’d try to influence some people debating on buying it. Btw it’s 60$ new, 55 used but with gamer card at Gamestop it’s like 49$, 52ish after tax. And you have the 7 day return policy on the used version incase you don’t like it. I would recommend this to rpg lovers, people that appreciate a game with high replay value, and those that enjoy zombie games. It’s been a while since I’ve had a game I loved that wasn’t a series (such n such 2, such n such 3, etc) I hope to see many sequals of this game. Also it’s been a very long time since I’ve said this, but I give this game a 10/10. Even with that one flaw, that’s to be expected of rpg type games.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
19 of 19 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
zombiekiller123
 
Please wait while more information about zombiekiller123 is loaded.
Additional information about zombiekiller123 could not be loaded.
good game
Posted 10/21/11
Mindless fun smashing zombies heads in. Simple quest and long hours. like 25 hours of gameplay.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Dead Island
About time
Posted on:8/31/11
Spike2014
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
I'm a big fan of zombie movies and zombie games. I Played Resident evil and games like that but it just didn't really cut it for me. I'm a PS3 owner so Left 4 dead wasn't an option. Then i heard about this game. This seams like the perfect zombie bashing game a guy could ask for not to mention the scenery looks like the real deal. Overall i think this game will be a good addition to anyones gaming shelf.
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dead Island
Who doesn't love getting drunk with Zombies??
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/17/11
CrabApples
Location: Daytona Beach, FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is fallout 3 + elder scrolls + farcry2 + zombies... this game is amazing and every character has different specialties so you can play through it multiple times and still have fun! Yes it might start a little slow if you mess up and try to just explore everything before starting the main quest.. but don't be impatient. Follow the main story line quest until you unlock the Lifeguard station and finish the "car parts" quest .. cause once you have a car you can explore more areas faster and then use the fast travel (shown on your map) to get around and walk for a bit.. plus who doesn't like having HUNDREDS of different fatalities at their disposal? ?? So if you get bored or don't like it... then it's only because you were expecting a left 4 dead feel and not an open world zombie bashing story and action driven game.. and no. A million unstoppable zombies don't run out from no where and eat you like in left 4 dead (which is still a great game.. just this one is better) it's a must own.. even in a recession.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Dead Island
Honestly No...
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:8/13/14
VikingsPro
Location: Minnesota
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I feel like I just wasted my money... This game from the start looked pretty so I didn't complain much bout the graphics then again I never really do so much anyways when it comes to gaming. I figured awesome melee weapons and a Dead Rising feel to it should be what's expected but no no it wasn't at all nor in First person. I had little to contrast from this and trying to compare to other games. This game is insanely Repetitive, I mean even the dodging system here is kinda screwed and it's nothing really special at all. Died a lot spawned in same location where I didn't want to be spawned in. (Horde Area) Not to mention the AI looks all the same. Trust me you'll get bored of it within 20 mins.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 9 for Dead Island
The good and bad
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/21/12
Rate
Location: Kansas
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Dead island is a awesome zombie game with interesting stuff and some bad stuff. The good:You can create weapons and partner up with friends. There's tons of zombies to kill, but can be really tricky to survive. You can get guns and customize the guns as well. Each character as there own skill tree and specialized ability. Also each character has there own RAGE which can be very useful to moe down zombies. The game also has a lot of side quest and each one different and has its own difficultly. Which get you money and mods.the story is alright. There's also a fast travel to get you to places and there's cars you can get in to RUN OVER THE SUCKERS. Finally there's a new game plus. The Bad: when the game get done loading the game has to take a little bit to get the graphics fixed. When you want to join some else who is farther in the game then you can't join them. There also glitches in the game not to bad of glitches but can be annoying. The game may cause you into rage because sometimes zombies can be overwhelming.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 10 for Dead Island
it's a great zombie game that i can't stop playing
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/20/11
CptCuddles
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i find this to be a great zombie game, i'm on my 3rd play through. if you liked borderlands, this game is about a 5x better version of it. you get weapons, you upgrade them, mod them out, and kill. not only does it allow you to free roam the map and kill a bunch of zombies, but you level up off of it! you also have so many choices of upgrades for your weapons, and there are a couple of different versions of every weapon as well, and some of these upgrades look awesome. i prefer it over black ops zombies mainly because you can roam anywhere, and you aren't just trapped in one area, however i prefer the mechanics of cod more. my only main disappointment was the gun mechanics. you would expect zombies to be a one shot head shot, but not really in this game unless you have some badass modded out shotgun or pistol, also the lack in variety of cars sucks a bit, you only get to drive two different vehicles, a truck, and a bank truck. overall, the mechanics are great, and it's a great game for people who love fast pace zombie games, and you will be playing it for a while.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Dead Island
Dead Island is an example of a game with potential
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/8/11
Ace313
Location: Detroit, MI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I started seeing trailers for this game about one month ago. I decided not to pre-order, one because there were no bonuses, and two because I was on the fence about it. So come Tuesday, I just went in and picked up a copy.
I did notice after putting it in the graphics were choppy and that they didn't run smooth. Then after getting into Ch.2 of the game, I realized that the trailers made the game look so touching but somehow I did not get that feel from the game as I progressed through it. On the upside, it does give you a lot of land to explore and it does offer somewhat chilling experiences when entering dark rooms. The fact that you get a lot of weapons and can upgrade them is always a plus. I have played dead rising and this game wont win GOTY, but it definitely will stand up as one of the year's best releases.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
blam956
texas
 
Please wait while more information about blam956 is loaded.
Additional information about blam956 could not be loaded.
good game
Posted 9/9/11
i think it was a good game it had a little bit of flaws but there is always room for improvement and for all the ppl that are talking smack about this game did not live up to the hipe whos hipe your hipe what i think is all these ppl worked them self up and thought this was gonna be the best game ever but thats why there is improvement for the next one.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Dead Island
Avoid if you like STORY in a game
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:9/25/11
Fennec
Location: Salem, VA
This game is perfect for: party gamers
I picked this up at the behest of multiple friends. I pre-ordered it and everything. Now, don't get me wrong: It's a decent game. The gameplay is excellent and the world is very lovely.
However, call me crazy, but a game should have more of a story than 'Island full of zombies. Escape.' The 'cutscenes' are generally including all 4 characters, dispite none of them appearing if you've been playing mostly single-player, so this makes no sense. A game involving zombies shouldn't be an excuse to ditch all semblences of storytelling.
Heck, I had started to doubt I even cared about the story before playing Dead Island. But honestly, I have no interest in the game anymore BECAUSE of this. Now, if you enjoy mindlessly killing zombies, go right ahead and enjoy this game. The gameplay is fantastic and the combat is entertaining, to a degree. Otherwise, it's safer to go with games that make a bit more of an effort on the story side.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Dead Island
I see potential.
Posted on:9/6/11
gamef4ce
Location: Manlius, NY
this game looks really cool, but also looks a little repetitive. hack n slash your way through zombies and mini bosses and complete the objective, however, it does not look too linear, which is good. i see potential in this game because of the co-op. you can drop in and out of your friends games as you please, and you can fight alongg side them or go off on your own like a rouge soldier. iv been paying close attention to this game, and there are a few problems that i, personaly, foresee. the weapons: over all the gameplay iv watched, iv seen the same weapons. machettes, boat ores, knives, an ak-47, a stick, and maybe a bat. and for the customization... adding nails to something and lighting it on fire really isnt enough for me... i dont know though, i hope what i saw was just a small portion of what's to come. otherwise, i feel like this may be a big ol' floppity flop. PSN= mikezabeast.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Dead Island
Surprisingly Great
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/7/11
Spyke1231
Location: Tucson, Az
I purchased this game as something for me to play until the great games start coming out around November. I thought this game was pretty much a hit or miss in my opinion, but I really think DeepSilver created a great zombie survival game. I would describe this game as a Fallout 3/Borderlands feel with zombies added into it. Story line is good so far, although the beginning is very slow. Just tough it out for a while with the game and you will start to really enjoy it. The replay value is very high and the game will take you a while to beat, which I like because I hate running through games quickly. Overall I recommend this to everyone who is looking for a great game to bridge the long wait of November.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Dead Island
Very stunned
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/2/11
Eathams
Location: Fleetwood, PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I purchased this, expecting a good game. I was wrong. I had realized I purchased a FANTASTIC game. This very realistic 1st Person game is phenomenal. Very fun, but very hard at some parts. That's the fun of it. With many kinds and types of zombies, the fun continues. I thought I had beaten it. I hit start, and- 36% complete. Very long and fun game. - My recommendation? 10/10 EXTREMELY recommended. A must buy. -Eathams Official (ModNation, Dead Island, MW2 + MW3, Rise of Nightmares, The Sims 3, Just Cause 2, Fracture + more reviewed)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
milpton9
Tennesee
 
Please wait while more information about milpton9 is loaded.
Additional information about milpton9 could not be loaded.
THIS GAME IS OWNAGE!
Posted 10/17/11
This game is amazing alot of people just dont like is because the graphics and in my opinion the graphics are ok some times they load for a bit then itll get fixed and thats all its like 5 seconds but the fighting is intense when you hit a zombie their body will move in that direction you hit them. like remember hitting people with cars in GTA and there bodys will fly in somecases its like that the story is awsome and the weapons will own everything GET THEGAME!
Customer Avatar
12534
my house
 
Please wait while more information about 12534 is loaded.
Additional information about 12534 could not be loaded.
awsome but long
Posted 10/15/11
i like the game but i dont have the money to buy it so i rented it it is good but sooo long dont not rent it just buy
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 16 for Dead Island
Solid game with alot of potential
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:2/24/12
straightlurkin
Location: FLA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I too was caught in the hype of this game. An open world zombie game set in a paradise island? I'm in. But once you get into the game its not really as advertised. You can explore all you want but the zombies regenerate and there isn't really much of an incentive to start exploring the world.
People throw around the world 'great game' loosely and I wouldn't classify it as that. Its a good game, and the environment was beautiful, I just feel like it was missing something. The storyline was pretty dull and personally I thought the combat could have been a little better (for instance, there is no block button, just kick). The potential is there it just needs to take that next step.
Overall though a really fun game that could have been much much better. I recommend this to any zombie fan or rpg player. Its one of those games you beat once and trade it in/sell it. For a first try it wasn't bad, lets hope they make another one and get it right.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Slifer
USA
 
Please wait while more information about Slifer is loaded.
Additional information about Slifer could not be loaded.
Ok Uhm...
Posted 3/22/12
I Think All I Have To Say Is A. They Need Better Actors (Nolan North? lol He Voices Like, 2 Tons Of People) And B. There's Absolutely No Use For A Block Button, Because U Can't Block Zombies Anyways, They Bite, Scratch, And Etc. U, Sooo, lol
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Dead Island
I was hoping it would be better...
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:9/10/11
SMG1992
Location: Tulsa,OK
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
At first I was thinking,yes finally a good zombie game.I was wrong.At first it was cool,at the beginniing you get hit by one of the zombies,and find out you have bite marks but not showing any signs of infection.As I progressed through the game I found out that all you do is thousands of quests,hack and slack zombies,and you pretty much do everything by yourself unless you do co-op.It reminds me of Oblivion.Not to dog Oblivion,but all you do is run around and do quests.I also found out that if you pick the firearms expert,your fury is a handgun,but you go through the whole game with pipes,knives,and paddles.That doesnt make since.I understand Deep Silver with the whole surviving on a island with whatever you have pretty much,but if you make a character whose special power is a gun,but you cant play the rest of the game without it is stupid.I think it would've been better if it had guns,less glitchy online,and same stupid zombies who you have to hit 15 times or more to even kill even if all hits are headshots!!!Doesnt make sense!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Dead Island
Doesnt save, deletes my files, sound/ graphics bad
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/10/11
baxterbear
Location: Minnesota
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The rpg leveling / skill system, zombies, open world envirnment, mulitplayer and with a bunch of side quests, I love the concept of the game, the idea is amazing and they just almost had it. They released it with to many bugs first off the sound is way off and glitchy which is okay but might as well have the sound off. The graphics are nice but hey! whats the point of having nice graphics if you cant enjoy it!! it freezes, glitchs & lag its hard to play! lastly this is the big concern cus i can get past the other stuff buttt!!!!! the auto-save feature ( the only way to save your progress ) doesnt work! i have put hours and hours into the game over and over replaying what i have already done because the game fails to save it or deletes my save files.... overall wait to buy the game until it drops in price or republishes because right now its not worth it unless you wanna play it through in one sitting. other than that the game is amazing.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Dead Island
Absolutly Terrible
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:9/11/11
jt0729
Location: Sterling, IL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I wouldnt reccomend getting this game till it is 20 bucks. It has a lot of glitchs and the sound is way off. Freezes a lot when playing multiplayer as well as inventory and levels arent kept. Thats right, whats more frustrating in a game than when you turn it off then turn it back on and all of your items and level ups are gone?! To top things off, the developers of this game are very rude in handling customer issues and offer no reassurence to counsel users that the problems will be fixed or that we will be rewarded for buying theyre horrible unfinished game. With the problem with the saves, there is no point to even playing it since you lose all of your progress until they fix the issues, which at this point almost a week after release there is still not even a word of a patch for counsels that is going to fix this. Worth 20 bucks, maybe even 30, but no more than that.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Dead Island
This game is just weird.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:9/27/11
eltonjohn47
Location: Rockford, IL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The overall gameplay is simple, but you're never totally sure if you hit the enemy or not. My other concern is that the game almost seems to get really hard really fast. They send hordes of zombies at you, and if you're like me, then you are going to die a lot. However, the game is really cool. It's really suspenseful and even scary. The whole island you're on is beautiful and amazing. It almost looks like a photo in the background that someone took in real life. Anyway's, even though this game is hard and annoying, it's still really fun and I would recommend this to anyone who is a fan of getting scared and a fan of zombies.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Batman: Arkham Asylum
9.4 out of 10(17)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 17 next>>