GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dead Island

The island of Banoi is a lush, tropical paradise in the South Pacific where its flagship Royal Palms Resort serves as the ultimate getaway for vacationers with money to burn. However, all good things must soon come to an end - and the picturesque resort falls into madness, carnage and chaos after a mysterious and contagious zombie outbreak claims its once peaceful atmosphere. Cut off from the rest of the world, only four individuals who strangely find themselves immune to zombification have the power to protect the remaining survivors from the horrors of the island, discover what's really going on and find a way to escape before their own fatal ends.
Average Customer Rating:
7.379
7.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (323 reviews)
10 stars
79
9 stars
74
8 stars
46
7 stars
20
6 stars
13
5 stars
13
4 stars
13
3 stars
8
2 stars
16
1 star
21
216 out of 30371%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dead Island
Review 1 for Dead Island
An alright game
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/21/13
KnightTime
Location: New York, NY
First off this game is long, you think that would be a good thing but it feels to repetitive and just gets boring they had a very good idea with this but overall I'd just pass this up unless you have a lot of time to put into this the graphics are pretty good the story is blah and the character do not fit their voice
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 2 for Dead Island
It Sucks
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/27/13
brockfan18
Location: Michigan
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Dead island is an horrible Game, The weapons Break To fast , The ammo limit is to short, AND IS THE WORST
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 3 for Dead Island
UNDER THE RADAR & OVER THE TOP
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/1/13
HAZEEN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
THE SEQUEL OF THIS GAME WILL BE EPIC! THIS GAME IS AMAZING. IT IS A NICE REFRESHER TO THE ZOMBIE GENRE! TRY IT WITH YOUR FRIENDS! IT IS BORING OTHER WISE
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 4 for Dead Island
Epic
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/11/12
EricC38
Location: Lake Mary Fl
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is one of the best zombie games that I have played, It's the perfect mix of Skyrim, Borderlands and Zombies, and you'll never get bored with the 4 different characters and countless side mission's.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 5 for Dead Island
The good and bad
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/21/12
Rate
Location: Kansas
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Dead island is a awesome zombie game with interesting stuff and some bad stuff. The good:You can create weapons and partner up with friends. There's tons of zombies to kill, but can be really tricky to survive. You can get guns and customize the guns as well. Each character as there own skill tree and specialized ability. Also each character has there own RAGE which can be very useful to moe down zombies. The game also has a lot of side quest and each one different and has its own difficultly. Which get you money and mods.the story is alright. There's also a fast travel to get you to places and there's cars you can get in to RUN OVER THE SUCKERS. Finally there's a new game plus. The Bad: when the game get done loading the game has to take a little bit to get the graphics fixed. When you want to join some else who is farther in the game then you can't join them. There also glitches in the game not to bad of glitches but can be annoying. The game may cause you into rage because sometimes zombies can be overwhelming.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 6 for Dead Island
Awsome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/26/12
MikeVal2011
Location: Scotts Valley, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Best game ever played! Perfect for people who love using whatever items to use as weapons to eliminate zombies in a first person view.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Dead Island
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/18/12
GenericTheory
Location: Woodstock, Ga
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is a lot of fun, It has a very wide variety of quests which keeps the game going for a long time. My only con (that is worth noting) is a texture glitch that appears for about 10 seconds when you ender a new area.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 8 for Dead Island
A Great Zombie Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/17/12
kgbeast1975
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is a great game for zombie fans. It has plenty of gore and lots of neat and original weapons, but not a lot of guns though. It has good lasting appeal and lots of side missions to keep you occupied. The only problem i have is the multiplayer is a bit hard to figure out, but it's great with friends. I hope the small problems will be fixed in the next one...
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 9 for Dead Island
Good but glitchy
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/14/12
Thegamerofthedark12
Location: Washagtion,Lakewood
This game is perfect for: party gamers
Its fun real is but u lag,freeze,and anything else that canstop u I hope 2 see impovment in the next
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 10 for Dead Island
GREAT
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/27/12
colephelps2
Location: weymouth,ma
This is a very good game but it is slow to start with when you first start you don't have many weapons but as you continue you get better weapons. Also there is so many side missions to keep you occupied. All in all a fun game
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Dead Island
A descent suprise
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/14/12
SteelCommando57
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Bought the game and was curios as to how good it might be. Started playing and was suprised in the amount of fun in chopping off zombie heads would be. The graphics were above average along with the game play. The online co-op is a good point in the game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 12 for Dead Island
Pleasantly Surprised
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/8/12
Deerock81
Location: Greenville, SC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I was on the fence about this game, mainly because of all the bad reviews it got. So I waited until it went down in price and I could get it used. After playing it for two days, I thought the game was awesome. I can only assume the average rating this game has, was because of all the glitches and problems it had at first. Obviously they have addressed all these issues, because I have had no problems in any player mode... Plus if you look at the GOTY edition, the ratings are a lot higher. And I would have to agree with a lot of other reviewers on the Fallout comparison. The melee is very close, the weapon mods/upgrades, and breaking/repair makes it similar. So I would say overall the game is definitely worth what you can buy it for now.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Dead Island
Boring
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/3/12
justbad100
I bought this game thinking it was going to be epic. And, i was right , at first. The first half of the game was outstanding. My heart was pounding and my adrenaline was rushing. However, after doing many similar quests over and over again, and killing the same zombies again and again, i instantly lost interest. The second half of the game was crazy boring. I wanted to beat the game to get the last trophy i needed, and earn the platinum, but finishing the game seemed like a chore. I would not recommend this game to anyone. Get this game if you like being bored.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Dead Island
Pretty fun, but has flaws
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/2/12
DaedricBeast101
Location: Los Angeles, LA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Dead Island is one of those games that you think is gonna be awesome but doesn't quite satisfy you completely. When I started playing this game it was pretty cool. I mean who doesn't like killing zombies with a chainsaw to a freakin broom. But after a while you realize what you really have been playing. A week after I started playing this game I started freezing on the multiplayer every 2 hours. To make it even worse the computer programs would walk in the wrong direction. Some of the good things about the game is that the location you are playing on is very big. You can pretty much explore anything to a sacrificial altar to a porta potty. Another thing that is cool to this game is that there is so many skills you can obtain with different characters. You can be an expert withh long blades or a perfect marksman with firearms. This game is pretty fun but doesn't make me that happy. I guess that's why it's only 35 dollars. 7/10
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Dead Island
A Basic Zombie Game
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:6/29/12
FastSack007
Location: California, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Dead Island is one of thoughs games that has its ups and downs, The gameplay in Dead Island is basically swinging your wepon by pressing R1 and throwing it with L1. But this gameplay is surprizingly fun. It gives you a more intense feeling when you are surrounded or killing zombies. Also since it alows you to slice zombies heads, arms, and legs off, it makes it feel more realistic during combat. There will be some guns in the game, but you won't be able to use them until you've completed a littl more than 1/4 of the game. The way you level up in the game is basically by killing zombies. Leveling up also gives you the chance to level up your perks. I was so happy when I found out that you an perk to have a larger stamina bar. The stamina bar makes the beginning of the game realy annoying. So this is a perk that everyone is probably going level up. Some perks can be leveled up thrree times. There will be many of perks to chose from but in order to get a perk below a perk you must purchase the perk above it sadly. Another perk that is commonly used is the RAGE perk. This perk allowes a player to use there player's special move/attack. At the begging of the game you chose one of the four players to start you adventure with. They each have there own advantages, perks ( only some of them ), and RAGE attack. Now lets talk about wepons. Each wepon can only ge used at a certain level. So you won't be able to use a axe at level 5. Guns in the game are sometimes not useful at all or are only used for life or death moments. You will be using bunch of sharp wepons mainly through the game. You will also be able to drive cars in the game using the R2 and L2 buttons. Wepons sadly brake after hitting something with it to many times.Guns are even worse, you have to find ammo for it! Finding ammo is hard and buying it is expensive. There will be three ways to get a wepon in the game. Purshase it, find it, or create it. Creating a wepon in the game isn't a fun experience. You baaically search for the items that are needed and getting the wepon needed. To get money to purchase stuff in the game is simple. Search for cash on the island or sell items you find on the island. You'll also be able to to repair and upgrade wepons with cash. There's also explosives you may purchase or find on the island to use. The game sadly has no story at all, you do't even find out how the infection started. The story is basically get off the island and do missions to help people. The games RPG experience isn't really good. The game feels like you can only go one or two ways any were you go. Yet this kind of makes it easier for driving to missions and driving away from tons of zombies. It is still kind of an RPG, its just it doesn't feel like you can go were ever you want to go like in GTA or Skyrim. Even if you do go of the the road and into were the trees are there is nothing to explore. The side missions aren't that fun in the game ( unless you want to level up). Story missions are fun, but after completing the story you gave to start a new game, you can't do the side missions after. The game allows full four player online coop. Players will be able to trade items and wepons additionally. The sad thing is the that the missions only count toward the party leaders story. The others will still be able to level up and stuff they just won't get thoughs missions counted toward their story. Another bad thing about the online coop is that is you lag you will freeze. It's not like Call of Duty where you basically lag. Your character just freezes, although you'll still be able to talk to your friend on your headset/bluetooth and listen to the music. You won't have to worry about having to each be a different character when online. So don't worry about that. The graphics in the game are good during gameplay but kind of suck during cut scenes. Soje times you will see that the characters mouths aren't even moving during cut scenes. The sound is repetitive in the game. You'llhere the same music over and over again and here zombies. Thankfully these sound are good and will usually not annoy you even though it is very repetitive. This game gets borring after completing your story ( and a friends if you promised to help beat each others story). Overall this game deserves a 7.5 out of 10. Dead Island has what you would expect in an adverage zombie game.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
DaedricBeast101
Los Angeles, LA
 
Please wait while more information about DaedricBeast101 is loaded.
Additional information about DaedricBeast101 could not be loaded.
too long
Posted 7/4/12
i know that your trying to help people by telling them all about the game but your spoilling some things like the rage attacks and throwing weapons but after than that everythings great
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for Dead Island
Fantastic
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/16/12
Gyosylego
Location: Fort collins, CO
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
So far this is my favorite game this year! Ive played every character now and have gone back to do it in all the difficulties and get all the remaining trophys. They out did themselfs on this one.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Dead Island
Good Challanging Game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/8/12
musicmaster03
Location: IL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is overall a good game. The gamplay controls are great and there is always a new mission and zombies to kill to make sure you don't get bored. The graphics aren't that great, but this is still a fun exciting game to play if you like a challange.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Dead Island
Zombie Paradise
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/4/12
GamerOmega
Location: Decatur, IL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Dead Island is the perfect mix of RPG and zombie action game. The setting is both beautiful and haunting. The zombie sounds are terrifying, however the musical score is lacking. The combat is smooth and intense, the crafting system is well done, and the leveling provides for a balanced RPG experience. Overall, Dead Island is a very satisfying game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Dead Island
GET THIS GAME!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/2/12
killerAssasin00
Location: wayne, MI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this is the best zombie game ever i would recommend this game to any one even my worst enemy you should totally get it and add me i will help you out. my psn name is killer_assasin00.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Dead Island
its all good
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/29/12
ZOMbiekilLER2012
Location: birmingham,al
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i love the game in every way, just , god man the graphics did not look good at all , everything else was perfect, graphics i give a 3 out of 10 because it was not good for a zombie game, you want zombie games to be crystal clear perfect viewing. the characters showed no emotion, no facial expressions. it was like they were robots. plus the game had more glitches than any COD combined, overall i thought it was a good game, very addicting game DEAD ISLAND, wonderful exploration though. (by the way the game freezes up when you try to play multiplayer
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
frikinchikin9
Baltimore,MD
 
Please wait while more information about frikinchikin9 is loaded.
Additional information about frikinchikin9 could not be loaded.
this game is a ten
Posted 7/18/12
FLUBBIN AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
1 2 3 4 5 ... 17 next>>