GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

TRITTON Detonator Headset for Xbox 360

Officially licensed for the Xbox 360 console, TRITTON's Detonator Stereo Headset will take your gaming audio to the next level. Independently adjust your chat volume and voice volume on-the-fly to optimize your audio experience. Easily enable or disable the ability to hear your own voice through the Headset with Selectable Voice Monitoring (SVM). Compatible with most MP3 players and mobile phones, the Detonator is ideal for all your gaming and music needs.
Average Customer Rating:
6.633
6.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (60 reviews)
10 stars
13
9 stars
14
8 stars
4
7 stars
4
6 stars
7
5 stars
1
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 star
7
33 out of 6055%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TRITTON Detonator Headset for Xbox 360
Review 1 for TRITTON Detonator Headset for Xbox 360
Do not buy
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/12/13
bluespell
Location: NY state
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This headset is bad. for one thing they hurt to ware. I can only stand to have them on an hr before i have to rest my ears. well i used my pair for 2 month and the mic cutout. I could not hear anyone or they hear me. It is made poorly.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 2 for TRITTON Detonator Headset for Xbox 360
Good at first...
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/15/13
MonsterSoul423
Location: Paterson, NJ
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
When I bought this item from gamestop I was so excited to try them. They were amazing for the past month, then the mic started messing up..Right now everything of the headset works but the mic. It doesn't allow me to talk, its just makes static noises. If your looking for a long-lasting headset, I wouldn't reccomend the Tritton Detonators.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 3 for TRITTON Detonator Headset for Xbox 360
works great for every game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/18/13
generalram
Location: queens , ny
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i find that this headphone is very good in many ways for example you have options that some other head phones don't give to you. the sound quality is really good and it is so simple to connect to your xbox and your tv. it preforms really well at any challenge that you put it up to. this headset rocks and it's one of the best headphones i had in a while.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for TRITTON Detonator Headset for Xbox 360
Bought these as back up...
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/10/13
Gr33k
Location: Chicago, IL
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Well I own a pair of wireless afterglows and those are epic, these headphones however echo all the time i have tried everything to fix this issue short from just not chatting with friends. They have a decent sound and feel good but if anyone knows how to fix the echo that would be awesome.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for TRITTON Detonator Headset for Xbox 360
good but break easy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/8/13
Anonymous
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
they lasted me for about 4Months because my mic stopped working i wish i could return it but i couldnt
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for TRITTON Detonator Headset for Xbox 360
Do not buy this headset.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/4/13
failingpig
Location: Joplin, MO
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This headset works great... For a little while. I have gone through 2 of these headsets in less then a year. The first one worked great for about 3 weeks and then the microphone went out. Worked fine in the SVM mode but anyone online couldn't hear me. Returned it back to GameStop and got another and it worked fine for another 5 months. Then mid sentence it went back to not working. Once again in SVM it worked fine but online no one could hear me.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for TRITTON Detonator Headset for Xbox 360
DO NOT BUY THIS
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:5/28/13
xS4vAgExGaming
Location: FL
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Ok so I bought these today 5/28/13 because I was due for another gaming headset and wanted to give Triton another try. Im mostly a Turtle Beach fan and started on the Turtle Beach x31's. I did have another pair of Tritons before these but the ear cups were way too small. These did fit my head quite well and they are very conformable which is the reason for my rating for design. Due to past experience with gaming headsets i was a little skeptical with trying these but for the Price of $50 I figured id give them a try. Right out of the box after plugging everything in there was a very annoying buzzing sound when attaching the communications wire. At first i thought it was because i plugged in the wrong end so naturally I switched the wires around. That didnt work at all. I then unplugged everything and did it again hoping that maybe the plugs were a bit loose. Still got the buzzing sound. The headset monitoring feature did seem to work but people will not be able to hear you when you talk to them. The only way to see the chat work is by practically putting the mic in your mouth. I drove back to Gamestop and got a refund and ended up buying a 120 gig HDD. DO NOT BUY THESE for the headache you will get is not worth it. for $60 you can just get the turtle beach x12's which is 100x better than these. These tritons DO NOT have any bass and the sound quality is very bad. if i could rate the sound quality 1-10 1 being the least i would rate them -100 yeah, that bad... dont waste your money
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 8 for TRITTON Detonator Headset for Xbox 360
Comfortable, but underwhelming & dissapointing.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:5/24/13
FattyMcChubChub
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
First off, I won't say I have the best hearing in the world, but the poor performance of this headset is unacceptable. I was able to get the Detenators when they were on sale $10 off and even at this price it is still overpriced for the quality of sound you get. If you plan plan on using this as a microphone, forget it. Everyone I played with kept telling me my mic was cutting out and that there was a high pitched noise behind my voice. I brought up a message to test it for myself and they were completely right. That, and the fact I had to dang near yell for them to even hear me. Next is the white noise you will hear while wearing them. For $60 cans this is another unacceptable flaw. And don't plan on using "Selectable Voice Monitoring" unless you want to hear a consistent hiss over any in-game sound. About the only thing this headset has going for it is the comfortability and design look. Avoid these and get the Turtle Beach X12's instead.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 9 for TRITTON Detonator Headset for Xbox 360
Great, but with one downfall
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/8/13
ThePunslinger
Location: Zanesville, OH
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This headset has great sound quality, and a mile's length of cords. Overall it's a great choice for the price. My biggest problem is this: it's removable mic isn't gravity friendly. Many see this as a huge plus, but I see it as a negative. You could be completely still and the mic would swing away from your face and disconnect. I spend half the time making sure it's plugged in all the way.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 10 for TRITTON Detonator Headset for Xbox 360
Much better available
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:4/4/13
Tiger1
Location: Battle Creek,Mi
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The performance was good for about a month.It had good sound,comfortable,etc.,and then the wire broke.STAY AWAY FROM THIS HEADSET.It is a total waste.Listen to all these negative comments and stay away from this one.Technical support is no good either.I was on hold for 20 minutes only to be told I have to pay to have it shipped back to them.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TRITTON Detonator Headset for Xbox 360
Disappointed
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/17/13
Kramer
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i love the sound of this headset but the mic blows, i have to basically yell in the mic for anyone to hear me! its stupid!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TRITTON Detonator Headset for Xbox 360
poor performance
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:3/6/13
ccchall
Age: 45-54
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
The headphones had a constant buzz. I could not use them because of the buzzing noise. It was very annoying and such a disappoint because they cost so much and were a present for my son.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 13 for TRITTON Detonator Headset for Xbox 360
great value
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/26/13
bboiraven
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
don't listen to the complaints. I bought this because I'm a value man. these work perfectly. make sure you click the Mic in I had a problem with the Mic at first because of this. also the Mic picks up everything. I can hear my mom talking in the living room with my door closed over 30 ft away. svm is awesome cuz I like listening to my own voice which is awesome. the buzzing is only apparent when sound is low it doesn't affect in game. the option to mute your Mic and headset separately is great plus volume control for each. headset is comfortable for long use. hours on hours of great bass and sound effects await you. grab these while they are at great price and you won't regret not spending up the hole for a great headset.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for TRITTON Detonator Headset for Xbox 360
JUST WONDERFUL
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/9/13
Bigvato757
Location: VA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This headset is just.......... makes you speechless because the sound is so perfect the bass moves my ears the cords that go to my xbox cords my be in the way some times but it doesn't bother me im happy i spend 45$ on these and yes i said 45$ got them on sell three months ago about to be four and no problems with it i use it for everything my macbook or my ipod it just a good headset i think the makers did a very good job so check em out for your self .
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for TRITTON Detonator Headset for Xbox 360
Good for game sound, but absolutely terrible mic
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:1/28/13
Bl00DSoldier25
Location: Middleport, OH
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought the Triton Detonators to see how they would stack up against my Turtle Beach X12. The differences between these two headsets is just upsetting. The only trait that these headsets share is the Game sounds, It was really good for both headsets. The place where the Triton failed was the microphone. The microphone has so much trouble picking up my voice when it is as close as can be to my face, that I actually have been scolded by members of my house for yelling because nobody can hear me. That is how pathetic the microphone is.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 16 for TRITTON Detonator Headset for Xbox 360
GOOD PRODUCT BUT WHEN BROKE THEY WOULDN'T FIX IT
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/24/13
Peters
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Great product but broke after 1 year of use. I called them and they told me without a proof of purchase that they would not be able to fix them and that I would have to spend my own money to send it back in also because I didn't not buy it from the web page that I would not be able to get a prepaid mailing label. I told them I was in college and that I didn't have the money to send the product back in. I really did like this headset and now it is a useless paper weight. MadCatz has backed their name with making sub par products and not taking care of their customers. I for one will not be buying any Tritton or MadCatz product ever.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TRITTON Detonator Headset for Xbox 360
good headset
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/23/13
tomyjfjn
Location: ridgefeild, ct
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
it is a very good headset it has great audio and and a great mic. but the headset does get uncomfetible after HOURS OF USE.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 18 for TRITTON Detonator Headset for Xbox 360
Quality and Affordable
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/20/13
DMBRI
Location: Westerly, RI
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is my 2nd headset, my first being DATEL WIRELESS TALK PRO 2 FOR XBOX...needless to say I sent the other one back after a week...After reading many reviews I decided I would get either Turtle Beach X12s or these TRITTON DETONATOR-both were very similar in price$$...The only difference was that the X12's were $10 cheaper-but the age old issue of using HDMI *(which I'd think atleast 90% of gamers use, I mean c'mon, we live in the HD age dont we?) with a Turtle Beach headset you would be forced to buy the $20 XBOX audio adapter...Wonderful Girl working at my Westerly GameStop talked me through the pros and cons and recommended this one over the Turtle Beach and I defintely appreciate it, after all thats why I go to GameStop, the workers at my local one really know their stuff and have even stopped me from buying certain things that they deem "useless". They aren't only in it for the sale, they truly want to help, and it seems the Store does a good job of hiring people who are passionate about Gaming...
PROS:
*Sound Quality is AMAZING. I play mostly BO2 and ASSCREED3 and games of the same genre...FPS games are great with this headset, I can hear people walking up behind me, grenades clear accross the boat on HIJACKED sound as if they are 10 ft away...SUPERB
*Relatively Comfortable. After 1.5 hrs it does get a little uncomfortable but I realised that if you wear the band on top at the very top of your head or slightly forward (as opposed to slightly on the back of your head) it is much more comfortable.
*Easy setup, and everything you need is in the package-no need for special adapters
*Volume Controls are GREAT. This was a big issue in me purchasing this particular headset. I am not a big "Talking" guy when I play online, and sometimes the young people talking smack and acting stupid annoys me, so I like to turn the Chat Volume down sometimes, and I like to MUTE my mike often. Nobody likes when all you can hear is the background music or dogs barking picked up by someone elses mike, and I dont want to be that guy:) Needless to say the SEPERATE GAME and CHAT Volume controls are big-not all headsets have them. MUTE is also huge-not all headsets have that either.
CONS:
*Only thing I do not like is all of the cords, it is a little inconvenient; however, from my experience with wireless or blutooth headsets is there is often interference, or sometimes a delay in sound. WIRED is my preference, so I have to deal with the wires.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 19 for TRITTON Detonator Headset for Xbox 360
Great product, very few cons
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/13/13
Deadlynuke
Location: Chicago, IL
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
So, i purchased this today and they were a real easy setup, no huge hassles, no need to go through TV cables, just a couple clicks and your done. When I started using them, the mic was a bit insensitive, and you had to speak up in order for the mic to pick up (This shortly disappeared after I continually used the headset). Overall, the sound quality is great, and you can get crisp sounds perfect for any Xbox game. I also tried them on my iPhone, which worked for sound and as well as the Mic, it also is compatible with my Mac (Macs support 3.5 mm Jacks) and are just as good. They are also very comfortable, and easily fit around any size ears, even mine, which I sure I can fly with them. Pros: Good sound, mic, durable, good with phones and Macs comfortable Cons: Insensitive mic (Only at first) and trouble pulling out mic. I believe this is an overall good buy and you should get them.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for TRITTON Detonator Headset for Xbox 360
Broke in One day
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:1/7/13
birdhouse757
Location: Me
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
alright i bout this headset for my first GOOD headset it worked for like a day and the piece where you mute the mic broke and now it doesn't plug into the mic this mic is terrible its good except for that piece which is dirt.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 2 3 next>>