GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

Afterglow AX.4 Communicator for Xbox 360

Afterglow Wired Communicator for Xbox 360 offers crystal clear communication for online gaming with flexible noise canceling microphone. The mic rotates to allow left or right ear placement and the communicator has a large mute button and dial volume control.
Average Customer Rating:
3.322
3.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (87 reviews)
10 stars
7
9 stars
5
8 stars
1
7 stars
5
6 stars
2
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
6
2 stars
16
1 star
38
21 out of 8724%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Afterglow AX.4 Communicator for Xbox 360
Review 1 for Afterglow AX.4 Communicator for Xbox 360
Not worth the hassle to try.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:9/11/12
MitchTheGuy
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I just picked up a pair of these from my local store to replace my beloved headset that has died on me today. I saw a few reviews figuring it wouldn't be the best but I figured I would give them a shot. Giving it my small test run to see if its up to par with my last pair I went into a party with a friend. The hearing is decent, slightly more muffled then I'm use to, but the volume at which I have to speak is ridiculous. I practically have to speak in a yelling manner for the microphone to pick up my voice. If I placed it directly next to my mouth like most pairs it can pick up my voice at any volume I speak in, but its not close enough in its designed position to hear me. I would rather go with any other brand of microphones then these.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
meza
carson
 
Please wait while more information about meza is loaded.
Additional information about meza could not be loaded.
not great at all
Posted 10/22/12
i bought these since they look so cool but i can't hear from my friends unless you leave a voice message but other than that it just plains sucks never buying these again
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Afterglow AX.4 Communicator for Xbox 360
Waste of cash
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/9/12
XxDesperadoxX
Location: Texas
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought these at Walmart for $20 because my brother stole my good mic. I'm browsing around the electronic department, looking for a cheap mic and I come across these. They looked cool, and the box made them look like they were worth the buy...I was wrong...Yeah they're comfortable and I can hear my friends just fine but in order for anyone to hear me, I have to yell into the mic...It gets very frustrating when I'm telling my buddies to "Go left!" or "Watch out cuz there's a bunch of people in that building!" and they can't hear a single word I'm saying
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
11 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Afterglow AX.4 Communicator for Xbox 360
Buy a regular mic
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:9/2/12
Sanctous
Location: Virginia
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This mic was terrible. I had a regular headset for close to a year and it eventually just decided to stop working. I then went to a nearby store and found these for $17 and thought it was quite nice and it looked like a decent headset. I took it home and when i plugged them in, i found that i had to speak quite loudly in order for someone to hear me like i was listening. Its been less than two weeks and suddenly they just started crackling and i couldnt hear any of the people in my party. I had been told that they break easily but i didnt realize that this is what they mean. My recommendation, spend a few more bucks to buy the normal headset if you're strapped for cash, and if you are not, then buy a good headset from turtlebeach or triton.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Afterglow AX.4 Communicator for Xbox 360
Complete Trash
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:8/6/14
dosperos13
Location: Simi Valley, CA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
When i opened the box, i was greeted by a headset with no headband, with a plug that wouldnt plug in unless i held it there, and a non functional microphone. However, I recommend this item highly for practice with smashing things with a hammer.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 5 for Afterglow AX.4 Communicator for Xbox 360
Excellent Product
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/11/11
MikeMike1337
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I was blown away by the built quality of this headset. It's very lightweight and comfortable, can wear it for hours. Speaker quality is terrific and it seems everyone can hear me even when my TV is very loud. I bought it after my 1st party headset cable broke, i was going to buy another Microsoft one but went for this one purely for its looks at first. I sure am glad it sounds as good as it looks. Highly recommended.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
10 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Afterglow AX.4 Communicator for Xbox 360
DO NOT BUY !!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:2/7/12
Ghostryder131
Location: Laurel,MD
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
THIS THING IS TERRIBLE MY FRIENDS CANT HEAR ME. THE MIC IS ONLY AN INCH FROM THE EAR PIECE SO U HAVE TO YELL!!!! I HATE IT AND SO DO MY PARENTS DO NOT BUY THIS.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Afterglow AX.4 Communicator for Xbox 360
Not great!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/9/12
Sped
Location: MA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The mic looks really good in design and all but it lacks quality when it comes to actually using it. My friends say "You sound very far away from your mic!" I would really like if they fixed the sound quality and distance of the microphone from your mouth.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Afterglow AX.4 Communicator for Xbox 360
Worth it if your trying to save $$
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/31/12
RsGanondorf
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
After reading the reviews a lot of people did not like it. So I decided to buy these. They are kinda comfortable but could of been better. This headset is perfect for people who have deep voices such as myself. But the LED lights drain your controller batteries so if you don't own a play an charge kit or charger base then I wouldn't recommend this for you. Again for those who have deep voices this would be for you but if not fond of buying batteries or dealing with controllers dying on you quickly then don't buy this.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Afterglow AX.4 Communicator for Xbox 360
good for starting off
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:7/22/14
Gaabester
Location: Portland, OR
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This headset look like it would be cool but only lasted me 7 months. It was disappointing that I could only here chat and not the game audio. It is good if you are new to xbox live but you should move up to a better quality headset later on.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 10 for Afterglow AX.4 Communicator for Xbox 360
Terrible Mic.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:3/28/12
Nyykb13
Location: Orlando, FL
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I was looking for a cheap, cool mic to buy.. Sadly I bought this one. When I got it and used it the lights were cool and all. One problem. NOBODY CAN HEAR A WORD I SAY! Not only is the mic right next to my mouth but I have to say what i said twice for people to hear me. And i have to yell it. WILL BE BUYING A NEW MIC! Wasted my time and money.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Afterglow AX.4 Communicator for Xbox 360
Bad waste of money don't get!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/22/12
julez123
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I thought this product was going to be very good, it turns out to be very poor. The people that you are talking to cannot understand you. Also, when you are talking to people you cannot hear them that well. I will not recommend this product to anyone because its a waste of money.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Afterglow AX.4 Communicator for Xbox 360
I underestimated this headset
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/24/14
darkzone17
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
When I first saw this headset, I thought it would break down too easy; I was wrong. This headset far exceeded my expectations, everything I heard is crystal clear. Now I see why it's not called a noise-cancelling headset for a reason. Buy this product!!!! :D
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Afterglow AX.4 Communicator for Xbox 360
Disappointing
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:7/8/12
Reiko
Location: New Jersey
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
It made communication with my friends over Xbox horrible. They all complained how they couldn't hear me when no one else was talking. I had to refund this product immediately. The design is great, but bluetooths shouldn't be used over Xbox. I spent most of my time screaming since it was far away from my mouth. Don't waste your time with this headset.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Afterglow AX.4 Communicator for Xbox 360
Best Value Mic! Free upgrade from normal Xbox set!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/24/12
BNL78STEEL
Location: PA
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Best value mic there is, hands down! A cat ate through the wire of the normal $20 Xbox headset that I had previously, so I went on down to the Gamestop but they were sold out of those. Found the only $20 and got it. Then my roommate reams me out saying Afterglow is cheaper than even Mad Catz. But, instead I was extremely pleased. Basically for the same money you get every feature upgraded. 1.Mute button/volume control is super convenient on your ear 2.Obvious light for mute 3.Comfortable ear piece that actually cancels out sound 3.Study plug that won't constantly unplug 4.Sleek design with glow 5.Comfortable grasp of head instead of constant pinch 6.Perfect level for talking voice(doesn't pick up mumbles)
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Afterglow AX.4 Communicator for Xbox 360
I WOULD RATE THIS A ZERO IF I COULD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:6/3/14
micah0D
Location: NEW YORK
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
THIS IS COMPLETE GARBAGE DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY I WASN'T SO LUCKY MY 30 DAYS WAS UP BEFORE I FOUND HOW MUCH THIS SUCKS PEOPLE CANT HEAR YOU AND WHEN YOU PLAY BACK A VOICE MESSAGE YOU CAN BARELY HEAR YOURSELF BUT I SURPRISED THE AVERAGE RATING WAS A 3.4 THIS IS GARBAGE SAY THAT I HELPED.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 16 for Afterglow AX.4 Communicator for Xbox 360
Not compatible with the Afterglow controller
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:6/10/12
anon11
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
My brother needed a new headset since his broke, so I thought it would be cool if he had the Afterglow headset to go with his Afterglow controller. I find out just minutes after he opens it that you cannot plug the headset into the controller. On the standard xbox controller (which it can be plugged into), the feel and sound quality are good, but it does not pick up your voice clearly, if it picks it up at all.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Afterglow AX.4 Communicator for Xbox 360
ok spare mic
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/1/12
mochse
Location: pennsylvania
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i bought this mic thinking that it would be pretty decent i could hear my friends in my chat party just fine but it was hard for them to hear me and thats a problem. as far as looks go i think it looks pretty cool dosnt light up as much as i thought it would wich was kinda dissapointing but o well....i think the price kind justifies the quality but i think it is a good back up mic if needed.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Afterglow AX.4 Communicator for Xbox 360
Good but the mic needs to be longer
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/11/12
AlexS30265
Location: Arlington,TX
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
its a good mic but whats wrong with it is the mic. If your an allnighter gamer i recomment and dont recomment this to you if your trying to be quit and trying to talk to your friends you wont be able to unless you speak louder or if the mic is close to your mouth
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Afterglow AX.4 Communicator for Xbox 360
Disappointed
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:8/24/12
LEXOR
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I thought this would be amazing but once i hooked it up people were having issues hearing me and I had to raise my voice like to an outside voice. Luckily I had the original Xbox mic still.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Afterglow AX.4 Communicator for Xbox 360
Excellent
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/11
BALDWINMIDDLESCHOOL
Location: New York
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
NO STATIC NOISES at all. It is great. The mic isn't dangling in front of your face. The lights are cool. For the same price as Microsoft this is better.it is very light. Cool
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>