GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

Afterglow AX.4 Communicator for Xbox 360

Afterglow Wired Communicator for Xbox 360 offers crystal clear communication for online gaming with flexible noise canceling microphone. The mic rotates to allow left or right ear placement and the communicator has a large mute button and dial volume control.
Average Customer Rating:
3.289
3.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (83 reviews)
10 stars
6
9 stars
5
8 stars
1
7 stars
5
6 stars
2
5 stars
3
4 stars
3
3 stars
6
2 stars
16
1 star
36
20 out of 8324%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Afterglow AX.4 Communicator for Xbox 360
Review 1 for Afterglow AX.4 Communicator for Xbox 360
I underestimated this headset
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/24/14
darkzone17
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
When I first saw this headset, I thought it would break down too easy; I was wrong. This headset far exceeded my expectations, everything I heard is crystal clear. Now I see why it's not called a noise-cancelling headset for a reason. Buy this product!!!! :D
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 2 for Afterglow AX.4 Communicator for Xbox 360
echo, dont buy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/5/13
Anonymous
Location: trion ga
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
just bought one of these today, brand-new, i can hear anyone thats talking to me and they can hear me, but everyone i talk to says i have a bad echo, ive done everything i can think of and looked up to fix it and still echoing, will be returning it tomorrow for a different headset
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Afterglow AX.4 Communicator for Xbox 360
Horrible
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:8/23/13
14323
Location: Ohio
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Pulled it out of the box and the headband part was already broken. Held it up to my ear and I could barely hear my friends, they could barely hear me. Returned in less than 24 hours
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 4 for Afterglow AX.4 Communicator for Xbox 360
it was bad
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/18/13
gtadudechaet
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i bought it the mic about a year a go and it just frankly sucked i was vary displased with it and it would work some times other tomes it worked
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 5 for Afterglow AX.4 Communicator for Xbox 360
No one will hear you
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:7/16/13
RedGTI
Location: NJ
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I purchased this headset because I needed to replace the headset that came with my Xbox. I was looking for something inexpensive so I wasn't really considering Turtle Beach. I was drawn to the design of this headset; sleek, LED glow, it's a good looking headset. The first time I got in a game to test it out, my buddy couldn't hear anything I said unless I spoke at a volume that would wake my two-year-old. Skip these; if you want to go cheap, just buy the Microsoft brand set that comes with the Xbox.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 6 for Afterglow AX.4 Communicator for Xbox 360
it's terrible
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:6/30/13
loganthegamer
Location: iowa
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
when i got a afterglow to replace my broken wired mic before this i got the afterglow plugged in and all the cliche's required i found out that it had horrific quality speakers and the "glow" was nothing but a little almost non-existent 1-millimeter baby-blue ring that is nothing compared to the box picture as well as when i talked over Xbox everyone sounds like there talking through radio/scuba equipment as well as a annoying echo that happens even when i talk quiet and when the mic was at least 6 inches away from my mouth causing me to use Skype on a laptop because everything i said echoed back to me even if i was quiet
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 7 for Afterglow AX.4 Communicator for Xbox 360
Somewhat good investment
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/21/13
LordDevilDriver
Location: Shelton,Washington
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
My 2 yearold murdered my original xbox headset, may it rest in pieces. I got the after glow for a few reasons 1. it was the cheapest 2. it looks cool and 3. they are comfortable on the ears. The ONLY issue with this product is that the mic doesnt pick up light sounds but for me that isnt an issue since im usually yelling into the mic anyway, but for ppl who are just talking it doesnt allways pick up your voice so i'd recomment talking just a little louder its worth the $17
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 8 for Afterglow AX.4 Communicator for Xbox 360
DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:5/6/13
loooooooooooooooooooooool
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Well first of at first it was nice (like 1 week) but then it stopped working I would have to YELL for my friends to hear me and I couldn't hear them. My cousin bought 2 and both of his stopped working to.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 9 for Afterglow AX.4 Communicator for Xbox 360
**DO NOT BUY THIS**
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:5/5/13
LenardTheSecond
Location: Somewhere
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
THIS IS HORRIBLE! I promise you this is NOT worth the stress it will put you through! It makes you want to roundhouse kick it into your TV. You have to speak VERY LOUD FOR ANYONE TO HEAR YOU. A normal Xbox 360 mic from microsoft would even be better. I feel sorry for anybody who uses this product
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 10 for Afterglow AX.4 Communicator for Xbox 360
What i thank of the prodoct
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/12/13
keithv708
Location: O'fallon IL
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I got this the replace my old mic. I do have a wireless headset. I use a weird on for win my many one goose dead. My old weird mic bit the dust. so I bought this one. I have bought this brand before and I liked the brand. Long story short. I do not like it
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 11 for Afterglow AX.4 Communicator for Xbox 360
TRASH!!!!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:4/9/13
210LOAF
Location: SA,TX
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Bought these at the store... Thought the design looked kind of cool along with the lights. That's really about the only good thing I could say about this product. In order for other players to hear what I am saying I have to yell into the mic... Then comes the issue of being heard clearly. Just over all a bad product... Wouldn't recommend to anyone looking to upgrade. Sorry guys this one was a swing and a miss.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 12 for Afterglow AX.4 Communicator for Xbox 360
Not Worth the Price
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:3/18/13
person12311
Location: place
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I got this headset for christmas to replace a broken one and out of the box I felt disappointed. When I started using it I noticed that everyone sounded like they were in a tin can. They had a little trouble hearing me but at least I didn't have to shout. On top of that yesterday, 3 months after purchasing this new, it simply died on me mid-sentance. Steer clear and pick up the Microsoft brand for the same price.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 13 for Afterglow AX.4 Communicator for Xbox 360
worked great... for the few months i had it
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:2/12/13
warfarefan210
Location: Pennsylvania
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This must be the worst headset I have ever had.I bought this product in December, and it broke today. I knew their was something wrong with it when the light on the mic would not turn on anymore.The head set had a 3 prong jack, so I even had to return a whole controler to make it work. All in all, dont buy this headset because it just plain out stinks.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 14 for Afterglow AX.4 Communicator for Xbox 360
Bad Quality!!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:1/2/13
extremegamer1
Location: Chicago, IL
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Do not buy! This headset is not worth the price or the time. I bought mine for $20 and it was a big mistake. The mic was to far away from the mouth to catch any sound. I had to yell so my friends can hear me. The headset need A LOT of care or it will break. I recommend the Xbox 360 Headset by Microsoft if you want a good quality headset and for a cheap price.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 15 for Afterglow AX.4 Communicator for Xbox 360
Garbage
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:12/23/12
PapaBear187
Location: Cleveland, OH
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Hearing is ok but the mic is so far away from your mouth you have to shout to get a word out. Bottom line SAVE YOUR $$
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 16 for Afterglow AX.4 Communicator for Xbox 360
It's horrible, never buy.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/19/12
Eyebrows
Location: NY
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Rather than this buy something more expensive.It has horribl hearing,speaking, and breaks WAY too fas
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 17 for Afterglow AX.4 Communicator for Xbox 360
This headset is awful.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/6/12
nklnvlkdnvks
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Don't be fooled by the design art. The headset only contains 2 LEDs in it making this item look like a clear plastic monstrosity. The microphone isn't long enough so a logical person would assume "It must be extra sensitive so it can pick up my voice!" That isn't the case. It seems the people at afterglow decided they wanted you to squeal into this headset for anyone to hear half of what you are saying. I wouldn't waste any money on this piece of garbage.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 18 for Afterglow AX.4 Communicator for Xbox 360
Great concept, but poor quality
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/3/12
Payton
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this mic over the normal Xbox 360 mic because it looked aesthetically better. I should have done more research because although the sound comes in well enough, the mic could not pick up my voice unless I was yelling into it. In order to get it to work I had to put the earpiece on my cheek just so I could barely talk into it which also hindered my ability to hear my friends talking to me. Would not recommend this to anyone
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 19 for Afterglow AX.4 Communicator for Xbox 360
Was great... Then had a problem with a loose wire
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/1/12
DarkDragonMoon
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Was great... Then had a problem with a loose wire that made it stop glowing and when muted the button didn't mute ether.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for Afterglow AX.4 Communicator for Xbox 360
This is above average.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:11/25/12
iitzTaco
Location: Pittsburg, California
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I got these on my birthday because my old one had recently broke. I really like the glowing affect, lighting up my room. The mic is a little too far away from your mouth, but my friends could hear me just fine. Other reviewers probably need Astros or Turtle Beaches but I recommend this headset to anyone who can get used to the design.
P.S: I recommend to people with small/average sized heads. If you have a big head, this headset probably won't fit your head.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 next>>