GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Red Dead Redemption: Game of the Year Edition

Experience an Epic Journey Across The Dying WestWhen federal agents threaten his family, former outlaw John Marston is forced to pick up his guns and hunt down the gang of criminals he once called friends. Winner of over 160 Game of the Year awards, experience Marston's journey across the sprawling expanses of the American West and Mexico as he fights to bury his blood-stained past and seek a new future for himself and his family. Red Dead Redemption Game of the Year Edition also features Undead Nightmare, the companion single-player story that turns the stunning world of Red Dead Redemption upside down as a mysterious plague transforms the West into an apocalyptic fight for survival against the zombie horde. Red Dead Redemption Game of the Year Edition comes packed with a complete suite of multiplayer modes including Free Roam, Co-Op, online Poker and Liar's Dice, Deathmatch and Undead Overrun survival mode.
Average Customer Rating:
9.75
9.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (55 reviews)
10 stars
42
9 stars
3
8 stars
2
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
47 out of 4898%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Red Dead Redemption: Game of the Year Edition
Review 1 for Red Dead Redemption: Game of the Year Edition
Finish the story then. Explore
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/5/12
riku87
Location: Porter texas
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
A great way to let out your inner John Wayne. This story is told brillantly. It's an open word western which can work against the story My first playthrough. I got addicted to liars dice about 30 percent the way through. You want to rob a bank by cracking a safe. You have to will yourself to okay stop gambling/robbing banks / breaking horses/killing-outlaws and work on the story. The game gives you a story. You could be the lone ranger or a bandit. It's about player choice and it is fabulous .
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Red Dead Redemption: Game of the Year Edition
Incredible
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/25/14
Panickyonion
Location: OH
Really good game. Comes with normal game and undead nightmare(worth $40) and 2 multiplayer packs and 3 pre-order bonuses (worth $23) and a special hardcore mode and gang hideout). Very fun game with good price. The only bad things are graphics aren't amazing and in my opinion multiplayer is dumb. Overall very good. Rockstar never disappoints.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 3 for Red Dead Redemption: Game of the Year Edition
Outstanding
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/27/14
BroliceOfficerClark
Location: Ohio
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
On of my favorite online and offline games. Love the tomahawks and the blunderbuss from the dlcs. The graphics are just whatever but the game is definetly a 10 out of 10.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 4 for Red Dead Redemption: Game of the Year Edition
Best Game Iv'e Played For Years
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/15/13
JL20
Location: Lutz,FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is perfect for players that love shooting,roleplay,and simulation of an outlaw life in the wild west. This is definitely my favorite game iv'e ever played!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Red Dead Redemption: Game of the Year Edition
Didn't Fall Under the Spell
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/12/13
Shanks
Location: NC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Everyone and their brother fell in love with this game when it was released. I waited for this edition before seeing what the fuss was about, and honestly it didn't captivate me as much as it did everyone else. The gameplay is solid, the story is good for the most part, and the little extra tasks that are scattered to occupy your down time are pretty fun. There just wasn't a wow factor to sell the game for me. I finished the story and did the majority of the extras, but once the story is over I never saw the appeal of replay. Keep in mind that I'm not one for multiplayer, which is what I hear to be the big selling point, so maybe that's where there majority of the development went. All in all this is a solid game with a good story, but I can't see what makes it so popular.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Red Dead Redemption: Game of the Year Edition
it was th best game i played make a second part.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/9/13
slasher2354
Location: california,ca
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
worth the money i spent on the best graphice i have ever seen i give the rateing 10000000000000000000000000000 persent
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Red Dead Redemption: Game of the Year Edition
Buy this game it is amazing!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/8/13
RushingSwag
Location: new york
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is Fantastic! If you love open world games you will love Red Dead Redemption. Totally worth the 30 bucks for game of the year edition.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 8 for Red Dead Redemption: Game of the Year Edition
the game is super
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/16/13
jacdel437
Location: calfornia
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
U could kill people call ur horse and more things and the zombie one u help people out and son turns into a zombie u have to find a cure
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Red Dead Redemption: Game of the Year Edition
STUNNED!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/17/13
AwesomeShadowNinja123
Location: West Covina, California
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I don't even know where to start with this game! It's classic old western. It feels like a video game dashed with movie style production that's integrated into the cut scenes and storyline. Gameplay, awesome! Random events happen that aren't part of the storyline, let it be a bar fight or bandit shootout or escaped convicts or a damsels cry for help, you can choose to ignore these events or increase your honor by stopping them. But proceed with caution because how you approach these events and everything in this game directly effects how things turn out. You can shoot on horse back, search the wild west, capture horses, kill unwanteds, take bounty's, buy supplies, take nightjobs, hogtie emies, gamble, play horseshoes, and in the case of this fantastic deal, FIGHT ZOMBIES!!! This is definitely a steal for the price, you get DLCs and the Undead Nightmare pack plus the original game for a price no one can beat. Graphics are great, sound is great, gameplay is semi-complicated but fluid, missions are interesting and entertaining, this game is so great! Go save a child and bring him to his mother, go kill a group of outlaws, go HAVE FUN. THIS IS A MUST BUY!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Red Dead Redemption: Game of the Year Edition
the best game ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/19/12
TheXxGUSBUSxX
Location: ny
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is amazing its been out for more than a year and me and my friends still go back to play it i recommend it to any one who likes free roam games
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Red Dead Redemption: Game of the Year Edition
best western and zombie game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/6/12
boothomas
Location: rock hill sc
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
the game is long lasting for the story and the zombie story. I play multiplayer for 3 hours before play in the main story or zombie story then ill go back to multiplayer
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Red Dead Redemption: Game of the Year Edition
The best wild west story ever.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/23/12
randomOSUfan
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is truly epic in every sense of the word. It is really fun to see how the story plays out and John Marston is a very entertaining character gamers will know and love for ages to come. Pretty much anything you can think of doing in the wild west is possible in this game. Want to capture a woman and tie her to train tracks? You can do it. Want to get into a duel and shoot a gun out of someone's hand like a true western hero? Possible. Or maybe you want to rob a train, perhaps? You name it, its in RDR. Even just exploring the vast, beautiful world of RDR is rewarding in the beautiful vistas you can see. Once you finish single player, the multiplayer modes are sure to please. Between horse races, poker, gang matches, and other entertaining modes keep the RDR experience alive after beating the story. Finally, the additional story titled undead nightmare is also fun to play. Overall, this is an excellent game sure to keep people entertained for dozens and dozens of hours.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Red Dead Redemption: Game of the Year Edition
AWESOME
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/2/12
cowlovers101
Location: Dry Ridge,KY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
total awsomeness it is a game with alot more features than the regular rdr grafics awesome multiplayer watch out for hackers and this is a good game in any mode.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Red Dead Redemption: Game of the Year Edition
best western ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/6/12
baller82
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is like GTA for the wild west!!!! It is one of the best games i have ever played besides the assassins creed franchise (of course)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Red Dead Redemption: Game of the Year Edition
Perfect game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/29/12
campingclaymore
Location: New York,NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
If you don't like the theme of the wild west you will still love this game it's just that good. The main Game it's lasted me 19 hours of gameplay. You can do so much like go hunting bears, buffalo, bobcat and sell the meat. The combat is great not awesome but great. The multiplayer is that awesome because instead of a multiplayer main menu you get put into a free roam session where you can fight other people that is your main menu. This game has so many game modes some unexpecting ones are poker, liars dice, ect. Zombies are absolutely awesome zombies campaign lasted me 7 hours. Undead overrun is so much fun with friend which is a hoard mode. Each new copy comes with a map of the game world but in the game of the year edition you get a double sided map with a zombies side. Most certainly worth the 30$.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Red Dead Redemption: Game of the Year Edition
Amazing!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/12/12
BriarAsh
Location: Galion,Oh
I have been addicted to it ever since I bought it and im not one for western things but I had played a little bit when my sister had it so I figured what the heck! and I absolutely love this game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Red Dead Redemption: Game of the Year Edition
:O
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/11/12
Mandy1303
Location: ATL, GA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
words cant describe how awesome this game really is. everything about it is great. it deserved game of the year. well done rockstar, well done big round of applause to you.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Red Dead Redemption: Game of the Year Edition
Great game for action gamers
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/26/12
BIGgulper
Location: randolph,nj
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
red dead has been game of the year and has been successful i would sugest the following games below if you have enjoyed red dead redemption:)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ABest34
 
Please wait while more information about ABest34 is loaded.
Additional information about ABest34 could not be loaded.
Absolutly the best Game ever
Posted 12/20/12
This game is great, It Blends in that western feeling but also the feeling of civilation claiming the Western Frontier, and the western music which by the way is fantasic by its self. The Story is amazing althrough out, except the beginning which is a little slow to reach the climax of the story.In the single player game there are several challenges to complete like finging gold,hunting and sharp-shooting. there are also many maingames like poker and liars dice Undead Nightmare is also great. Mulitiplayer although a bit buggy at times is great the hub is Free roam instead of choosing a game type from a Main menue Free Roam is the main menue. You can take on gangs of NPC's (at ganghideouts) or other players Posse's. As you play you level up 1 to 50 once you hit 50 you can chosse to legend (there are 5 legend levels(I'm legend 4)) at each level you unlock new chacters mounts and weapons. outside of freeroam there are deathmatches,races,and 4 player co-op. and gambling. If your'e sane you would by this game because it is a work of art
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for Red Dead Redemption: Game of the Year Edition
Favorite game of 2010-2011
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/21/12
bulldoggaming
Location: Long Island, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This may singlehandedly be the best game I have ever played in my life. While everyone was playing call of duty and battlefield, I was playing Red Dead Redemption. I flat out gave this a 10 out of 10 for many reasons. This game arguably out does any game that Rockstar has done in the past. Not only is it a very enjoyable game, but it also has a high amount of replayability. The campaign is heartwrenching and has many activities that will take hours to complete. The achievements/trophies are also a lot of fun to complete. The campaign had me on the edge of my seat in all 3 locations being the west, Mexico, and the north. I will not spoil it for any gamers out there, but be in for a pleasant/unpleasant ending. By that I mean it may be controversial to the gaming community. Lets get into the multiplayer now. The endless hours of sandbox multiplayer a.k.a Free Roam makesthe multiplayer experience. You can meet up with friends, riot at gang hideouts, start up a posse(playgroup), and do much more. This is what most players participate in if they are just looking to have a great time. It is also a great way to discover the xp system in which you level from 1-50 and then enter legend mode(there are 5 legend modes by the way). There is also a less played multiplayer playlist that has many objectives and you may just be skilled enough to get the much sought after and awesome looking golden guns. This was all great, but my overall favorite part of Red Dead Redemption was the free co-op campaign playlist. This is not on the disc itself, but must be downloaded for FREE on either psn or xbox marketplace. I believe it has 9 missions and all of them have an awesome story line. This is also a great way to earn x.p. This game is awesome and you will get your moneys worth out of this game due to the awesome graphics, huge map, and huge amount of fun you can have with friends.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
11 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Red Dead Redemption: Game of the Year Edition
Best
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/3/12
maxrocks
One of the best games ever made, I just got it 3 days ago and it is worth 29.99! You get everything you paid for!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>