GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dark Souls

Enter a dark world filled with despair and threaded by hope where your ability to creatively strategize, learn and overcome unpredictable and unique challenges determines your fate. Dark Souls will demand your absolute concentration, unflinchingly punish your mistakes, but reward your ability to learn from death. Each challenge is a mind game met with endless combinations that will test your ability to creatively strategize a way to conquer unimaginable monsters and progress deeper into this bleak and forbidding environment filled with the un-dead.
Average Customer Rating:
9.044
9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (117 reviews)
10 stars
75
9 stars
22
8 stars
4
7 stars
2
6 stars
1
5 stars
2
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
3
99 out of 11487%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dark Souls
Review 1 for Dark Souls
Great Game, if you are up for a challenge!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/1/12
Kanikkirulez4ly
Location: South Gate, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I picked this game up because it looked awesome, I was in a battle between this and Skyrim, and I chose this one because it said "prepare to die" and it just sent a red flag in my head, I HAD to get it, I HAD to beat it "challenge accepted". It's a great game, I enjoy games to play them, but I also have to beat the poo out of it, and this game took me well over 88 hours to beat the first time through, and I am now playing my second time and am at 92 hours Its FANTASTIC! You can't just beat a boss, or anything for that matter, by mashing on a button, you have to know when to strike, when to block, when to roll, etc. Its a strategy game, without the boring of a strategy game. I haven't tried Skyrim, but if I ever do, after looking at videos, I know I will not enjoy it because of its easy-ness. Buy this game, you won't regret it, and each boss dead, will be like "Oh my gosh i did it!" and when you beat the game you will feel great, its a beautifully made game. Just buy it, and "Prepare to die!"
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
My ending of Dark Souls
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Dark Souls
Game of the year
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/16/11
CloverSteel
Location: Fleming Island, FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Not going to say alot, other than this game is incredible. It's ridiculously hard and it doesn't give you any chances to cheat or cut corners but you'll come to love this because I can promise you won't play another game that gives you more satisfaction for conquering one of the many hurdles. The sound is like butter to your ears, the graphics are just jaw droppingly amazing, I"m almost scared to play skyrim now because I know it will fail in comparison. The world is seamlessly constructed and the way everything links together is just unbelievable. THIS my friend is a video game, THIS is what the hardcore gamer community has needed and deserved for the longest time!
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
A taste
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Dark Souls
AMAZING
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/15/12
Gamer1234567
Location: Salinas, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
After playing for about an hour, my expectations were met. I died. Multiple times. That is the real beauty of this game, because the difficulty makes almost every completion task a reward in itself. The graphics are definitely not meant to be photorealistic like FPS's, which is about the only thing they have going for them. It is the art behind the locales and settings that really caught my eye. It's no God of War in that sense, but it does a swell job at that.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Dark Souls
Do you like fun? Me too.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/16/12
Arikuza
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Ever play Demon's Souls? This is better. Never played it? Dark Souls is a sexy game. It is challenging, and forces you to go back and rethink your strategies. Intimidating as it sounds, even the most casual gamer will figure out how to solve the challenges and feel victorious after all their successes. The many areas in the game allow for a variety of pleasing visuals. For those who have trouble playing these games, do not fret. The multiplayer system allows you to summon other players to assist you through the level, at the risk of being attacked by invading players. If this game isn't for you, great, though there is no need to rate the game quality poorly based on your preferences. After you spend hours upon hours playing this game to understand what the game is about, instead of playing the first hour to scratch the surface, you can write a well thought out review.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
12 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dark Souls
Struggle to Success
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/10/11
RavenFuher
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
So this game is in no wise for the faint of heart. You will be beaten. You will be impaled. You will simply die in many many horrible fashions! The game requires you to survive with every swing or stab you make and every single movement you make. You will need to remember your surroundings and use them to your utmost advantage. The satisfaction the game gives is immense, but the struggle to get there is tedious. You need to celebrate every victory you can, then immediately get ready for that next encounter around the corner. There may be times you feel like throwing your controller into your wall, in fact, there will be times like that. The game doesn't just test every single skill you have, it will test skills you need in your own life, especially those of patience and diligence. Again, this is no game for the faint of heart. You. Will. Die. Period! But alas, the rewards for succeeding at what seemed to be an insurmountable obstacle make up all the difference in Dark Souls.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Dark Souls
Prepare to Rage
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/11/11
Highlanduhr
Location: Bloomington, IN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
First and foremost, Dark Souls is not a game for those easily discouraged or that don't expect to be humbled by a video game. No matter how good you think you are, you will die...a lot. Dark Souls will frustrate you to the core, force you to put the controller down (or throw it across the room) in frustration and contemplate bringing the game back to wherever you bought this God forsaken game. But you won't. Despite the difficulty, anger, therapy and tears, this game will entice you and keep you hooked if you give it the chance. But so much for the preface, let's get on with the actual review.
Gameplay: 9/10
The gameplay is incredibly smooth, from sword slashes to spear thrusts to spell charging/casting. Shield blocks are flawless and the archery is precise. The stamina levels are easily gauged and make it easy to chain together the best combos for the situation. The targeting system is helpful but a little difficult to manage at times. For instance, it's annoying when I would auto-target an enemy 15 yards away when there is another enemy 3 yards away readying an attack. The different statuses are a bit overpowered as well, especially in the early stages of the game. The poison rats about an hour into the game...ugh. Without any items to cure myself, even the five flasks could not keep me healed and my character was forced to succumb to the poison and procure the death screen again. However, despite its minor flaws, the battle system is on of the most polished that I have had the pleasure of playing.
Graphics: 7/10
The graphics were all right. Nothing spectacular, but they did not hinder the overall experience. The drab scenery and enemies did a great job of creating the dark and dismal tone of the game. Weapon, armor and character models are all standard fare for a fantasy role-playing game. Once again, nothing spectacular, but it gets the job done.
Sound: 9/10
The score for this game was very well done. Like the drab scenery, the gloomy music goes almost unnoticed, yet still sets up the dreary world. It's good that the music doesn't particularly stand out because then it could potentially cover up the shuffling footsteps that could prove to be the only precursor to your quick demise. That is where the game earns its 9 out of 10. Your ability to discern the sounds that your enemies make will inevitably make or break your gaming experience with Dark Souls. It was incredibly helpful being able to hear an enemy readying an attack, shuffling towards me down a dark corridor or even the beating of a dragon's wings to tell me to avoid that area.
Lasting Appeal: 9/10
Assuming that this game is like Demon's Souls, the New Game+ files make the game even more difficult and fun to play through. While there is not much of a storyline, the difficulty, weapon/armor upgrades and character customization make this game worth a second, third, fourth, etc., play through.
In conclusion, if you are a hardcore gamer looking for a challenge, Dark Souls will provide that challenge and will leave you feeling incredibly satisfied with your experience and eventual (hopefully) successes. I would most definitely recommend this game.
Happy Gaming!
-The Highlanduhr
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
34 of 35 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dark Souls
I've played chicken with a red dragon!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/4/11
Algosha3
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I have stolen valuable treasure from an Undead Dragon, and taught a few Black Knights conversational American. I have made Demons tremble, and called down the wrath of Heaven. Once, I even got kidnapped by a giant crow. I snatched a Great Grey Wolf's soul. I've been slapped by walking Mushroom People, and almost eaten by a Mimic with aweful breath. I tamed the Hydra and made a covenant with a Stone Dragon. I breathed fire on some Serpent Mages, and assaulted Sen's Fortress. I have body-slammed a few Undead Skeletons. I had a disagreement with a Chaos Spider ( that spit lava!!), and won. Presently, I'm on my way to discuss the functionality of lightning spears with a giant Iron Golem. It should be quite invigorating.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
10 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Mettle
In between here and there
 
Please wait while more information about Mettle is loaded.
Additional information about Mettle could not be loaded.
Whoa
Posted 11/8/11
Good stuff! Sounds Fun! Thanks for the informative review!
Customer Avatar
darthode
 
Please wait while more information about darthode is loaded.
Additional information about darthode could not be loaded.
That was Great!!!!
Posted 11/5/11
that made me laugh
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 8 for Dark Souls
You will die, but have fun..
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/27/11
iKiLLzombies
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Okay well first of all this game is insane. No pauses, Bosses are most likely going to be impossible when first seen, WHEN you die you go all the way back to your last bonfire, you're going to occasionally lose a large amount of souls that you can't get back ( highest I've lost was 50,000..and that's hurts BAD! ) and you will occasionally die by a weak enemy just because you weren't watching your health, or you might just walk off a cliff by accident. If you buy this game prepare to die about a billion times first play through. This game is a very hard challenge that will make you want to saw children in half. It is however a very good game and always fun. You get to pick a class, level him/her up to your liking, and have different weapons/magic to have different fight strategies. if you're someone that cries whenever they die then DO NOT get this. If you're a hardcore gamer that needs a challenge, GET THISS
 
My Product Recommendations
Dark Souls Official Strategy Guide
8.7 out of 10(12)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dark Souls
Def buy this game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/7/11
dazed8802
Location: TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
First, ive read a lot of reviews about the level of difficulty on this game. Anyone who has played Demons Souls knows that this game is mean to be HARD. This game is not for anyone other than hardcore gamers who want to test themselves in a game. Ive been playing it since it came out and have not yet finished it because there is so much to do. This means lots of replayability. Your characters are very extremely customizable and the game play is smooth. Honestly I couldnt ask for more in a game. It takes to away from the norm in video games nowadays and actually gives you a challenge. If you want a game that offers you a chance to test yourself this is def for you. If not, tuck in your skirt and move on to another game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Dark Souls
prepare for rage
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/13/14
windwaker
Location: nelsonvill oh
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game will maky you shout thing that you didn't even know you knew. don't take it lightly you will die multiple times over and over again. good luck.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Dark Souls
Takes a True Gamer
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/10/11
CrimsonGamer
Location: Glenwood, IA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
There are a lot of people talking about this game being bad. Im here to say that is a load. Dark souls is easily game of the year material and there's a list of reasons why. The big reasons are its insane challenge and content. The graphics have minor flaws that most people will not even see unless they are looking for them. The game leaves all choices up to the player and that is were some people get frustrated. This game will not tell you were to go or exactly what to do, you have to figure it out on your own. All it tells you is one goal is at the top of a castle and the other is deep underground. How you go about reaching your goal is all you and that is part of the magic of the game. With an insane RPG side that makes you think through every move and think out ever point you add to your character it takes a true Gamer to find his/her place in this dark twisted world. This game pushes a gamer to his/her limits and every victory you get feels just that much greater because of it. If you are a gamer looking to test your skills and face down probably the darkest and most twisted world ever created then Dark Souls should be a #1 priority.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Dark Souls
If u see a bad review u see another bad player
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/13/11
RacingFan2012
Location: lancaster,pa
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is awesome a lot of ppl complain about this cuz is too hard o cuz the game dont have dificult setings but i dont know what they expect from a game like this one if u see the review from ign or gamespot for this game the say in this game u gonna die over and over and over and they also said if u just get games to entertain your self this game is not for u this is a hardcore game hardcore dont mean u r good in call of duty games it means u r an awesome player,love to spend hours playing a game proving your skills dying and dying and learning from every mistake u made u have to be smart and patient in order to beat this game so if u dont like this kind of games o just your skills r not good enough to play this game dont buy it
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
11 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Dark Souls
A challenging, rewarding, and immerse game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/25/13
JZ69Hayden
Location: Santa Fe
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is not a game for the impatient or the weak minded. This game not only requires you to figure out how to beat the insane bosses and mini bosses by dying over and over again, but it also forces you to piece together the story on your own. The basis of the plot is given to you via the opening intro and limited conversation with NPCs but you are forced to interpret much the story and its meanings on your own. Most games these days will hold your hand, tell you what to do, where to go, how to get there, etc. Not this one! Its up to you to figure out your path. Leveling up, upgrading weapons, finding spells, and things like this are a privileges in this game and must be earned through hard work. That being said, this is what makes this game so special. The immense challenge, the open world, the vast amount of ways to play the game, are all the reasons this game stands alone in modern video games.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Dark Souls
If you dont like this game its because your weak
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/12/11
mantra
Location: Chicago
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Dark souls is for hard core RPG gamers that are looking for a challenge. Most bad reviews focus on the game being too difficult or too easy to roll off of the cliff and die etc. That just means its not the right game for you. More importantly you don't have the skill/determination required to play this game. Take some time and learn the tactics and remember that each button you push will have consequences if not thought out thoroughly. Be patient the game will get slightly easier as your character becomes stronger and levels up. You do not need to turn the difficulty down (nor are you able to) if you get stuck. Go soul collecting and add some stat points before you replay a difficult section. Once you break through seemingly impossible barriers and feel the satisfaction you will be hooked. Not for gamers that want instant satisfaction you have to work to get what you want in Dark Souls. Great Game Period.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Robmiezer66
CA
 
Please wait while more information about Robmiezer66 is loaded.
Additional information about Robmiezer66 could not be loaded.
Posted 10/15/11
I would not call myself weak and love a challenge, but this goes past being fun and is just to say you finished it. I would compaire it to climbing Mt. Everest, there is no fun in it, but is you make it to the top you can tell people you did.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for Dark Souls
Amazing Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/11/11
Dethaele
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Same great gameplay and control scheme from Demon's Souls. The same amount of depth in swordplay and a(n arguably) better magic system which makes you think before you cast. (Unlike in Demon's Souls, where magic was semi-unlimited and was an easy way to cheese the whole game.) I gotta knock down gameplay a point because of the multi-player. I keep getting "Invasion Failed" or "Summon Failed" messages a lot and so it seems harder to get some of the Co-Op or PvP going. Sound is great and the music really helps to create the atmosphere for each area. Graphics are amazing, but lose a point for some slow-down in certain areas (exploding tons of crates at once and Blighttown, I'm looking at you...). The game is great overall and is definitely one of the longer lasting games at well over 30-40 hours for a new game if you like exploring everything like myself. I'll be starting my NG+ soon and creating my PvP character soon after that. Definitely worth the buy.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 16 for Dark Souls
Started out great.... but then....
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:10/30/11
ElBosswood
Location: Minneapolis, MN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Dark Souls is actually an awesome game. So why did I rate it so low? The fact of the matter is that the gameplay is fine, graphics are as well as was anticipated and it does draw you into the story. However this is where the game took a turn for the worst. As a casual gamer I play for enjoyment and this game is definately not enjoyable after about the first fifteen to thirty minutes. Dying is the standard norm, losing your 'souls' which equate to experience points and/or money for items becomes a ritual occurance. After playing for a couple of hours, defeating a couple of "bosses", yada yada yada... I felt like I was truly no further in the game. Save and/or check points are rare making this game more of a headache for the casual gamer than it's worth. If you don't plan on spending hours upon hours playing this for a baby step then I wouldn't waste your time. I'm only sorry that I actually spent money on this before I truly knew.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
6 of 28 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ultimateRPGfanatic
 
Please wait while more information about ultimateRPGfanatic is loaded.
Additional information about ultimateRPGfanatic could not be loaded.
Top 250 Contributor
Response to "ElBosswood"
Posted 1/30/12
I truly feel that you should not have rated this game. You should have known this game is not meant for casual gamers. If you spent 5 minutes or even less looking into this game before you bought it, you would see it is for hardcore gamers. If you read any review, it says as much. If you read the game info, it makes it more then clear that this game is hard and you will die a lot. While it is perfectly fine that you are a casual gamer, it makes no sense for someone like you to rate a game that is a style you don't even play. Even more so because it is so obvious what kind of game it is.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Dark Souls
NO HAND HOLDING TODAY OR EVER!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/11/14
ZxBloodClutchxZ
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is by far my favorite and most challenging game i own, and i absolutely love it. It is ridiculously hard the first and second play through, but when you get the hang of it you will love it even more, and in the meantime still have a challenge. I have been playing this game for about a year or so and still play it religiously to this day!!!! BUY IT!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 18 for Dark Souls
Well folks, you should prepare to die!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/4/13
Rain770
Location: Sylva, NC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
If you have ever looked at the back of Dark Souls case, it says "Prepare to Die." When I first bought this game, I thought, "Heh, how hard can it be?" Two hours after I put it in my Xbox, I found myself wanting to brutally destroy my controller, and yell various obscenities at the TV. This is one of the most amazing games I have ever played, because of it's difficulty. I highly recommend trying this game at least once, it will give you a difficulty background for other games.
As a heads-up for everyone who is thinking of buying the game, or if you're very new to it, Bows are pretty useless in this game for actual fighting. I mean, if you want to sit out of a bosses reach and just whittle down his/her/it's health, then be my guest. (SPOILER: The bow is actually a necessity in a place known as Lost Izalith.)
If you're a hardcore gamer like me, who plays every game on the hardest difficulty, then you will love this game as I do. If you're a casual gamer who likes to enjoy a smooth game with little trouble, then I recommend you go play Skyrim. However, if you're a casual gamer who enjoys the occasional challenge, then I recommend Dark Souls, simply for the pleasure of it. There is nothing more satisfying than brutally impaling an enemy who killed you and made you lose all your things. This is one of the most frustrating games you can play, because when you die, you pretty much all of your progress, and you have to go back where the game last saved(Which could be the beginning of the game.) The rewards, are worth the effort. I won't spoil anything, but Dark Souls holds some of coolest weapons and armors I have seen in a RPG.
To my fellow DS players, I hope you will join me in violently cursing the Four Kings.
Thanks for reading.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Dark Souls
Bigger, Better, & More Challenging Than Before
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/6/12
MrTran
Location: The Moon
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
If you thought Demon's Souls was hard, this game will make you feel like crying. I've beaten Demon's Souls more times than I care for and it still is one of my favorite games. This game just improves over the previous one in every way. The story is much more immersive due to the large expansive world they place you in. Remember in Demon's Souls where you had to touch a stone to warp to a level? Well, forget that. Now you have a seamless world with no loading screens! Your only places of refuge are bonfires which act like a hub for you to level up, repair, enhance equips, etc. You don't have herbs in this one, instead you have Estus Flasks, which refill everytime you sit down at a bonfire. Sitting down at a bonfire is nice, healing all your HP... but it comes at a price, which I'll leave you to figure out. This game is very hard and playing through your first time, you're guaranteed to miss a TON of stuff. There are many, many secret areas and if you don't do thorough exploring, you'll find yourself crying for mommy near the end of the game. If you're a casual gamer, this game is definitely NOT for you. Don't be like my friend and trade it in just because he couldn't beat the beginning tutorial! If you are looking for a challenge and are committed through and through, you will be rewarded greatly. The game has gorgeous graphics, and nothing about it seems repetitive. The atmosphere and the level design are top notch, and been considered with great care. Overall, this game was my Game of the Year. Skyrim is great in all its glory but if you've experienced Oblivion, you've essentially experienced Skyrim, in essence. Dark Souls brings so many new things to the table that it literally turns Demon's Souls into a "hollow". The only thing that "curses" this game are the framerate issues. I experience framerate issues particulary in some parts of the swampy area (don't want to give away too much). I'd say the framerate goes down to a poopy 20-25 frames per second, judging by how it looks. Lastly, I am on NG++++++++, I'm on my 8th playthrough for those that don't know how to count more than the fingers on their a single hand. I've only played through so many times to get stronger in PVP (Gotta get those Wrath of the Gods!). PVPing is much, much more fun in this game than Demon's Souls. There are many variations and it's up to you to figure out which one you prefer. But if you don't like PVPing or getting invaded, you could always just sign out of PSN, at the cost of viewing helpful hints (some are not so helpful lol) other players leave on the ground. Heck, you owe it to yourself to just TRY this game, casual or not. If you don't like it for whatever reason, give it to a friend and watch THEM be miserable LOL. One other thing, summoning your friends is NOT as difficult as everyone makes it out to be. The person you summon has to be 10% of your level, NOT within 10 levels. In my experience, my friends see my summon sign the quickest if I place it near or around a bonfire, or by a boss door. Hope this helps, prepare to die.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Dark Souls
Fair, but seriously overhyped
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:10/13/11
Gandalf86
Location: Chapel HIll,
Yes, it's a hard game. Yes, I love a hard game, where you die alot and get frustrated and finally have a sense of accomplishment when you beat the area. But, in all honesty, this is not a fun game. I spent over 14 hours playing without ever being interested in the story. Character development is pitiful. For starters, after about 10 levels, all the starting characters start to look the same. Also, the use of magic and ranged weapons in this game is awkward and impractical; and melee-ers never do anything cool (no special melee attacks). My last complaint is the huge amount of grinding you will have to do, grinding so much that you are literally killing the same dozen monsters about 10 times in order to advance to the next area (and I typically don't mind grinding...Dragon Quest Series anyone?). The game has some neat ideas with the multiplayer and invading other player's worlds, but even that is executed awkwardly, although it was funny to read other players' comments in-game. Overall, I was sorry I spent the $60 on this game, but at least I got a decent trade-in value.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
3 of 15 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>