GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dark Souls

Enter a dark world filled with despair and threaded by hope where your ability to creatively strategize, learn and overcome unpredictable and unique challenges determines your fate. Dark Souls will demand your absolute concentration, unflinchingly punish your mistakes, but reward your ability to learn from death. Each challenge is a mind game met with endless combinations that will test your ability to creatively strategize a way to conquer unimaginable monsters and progress deeper into this bleak and forbidding environment filled with the un-dead.
Average Customer Rating:
9.044
9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (117 reviews)
10 stars
75
9 stars
22
8 stars
4
7 stars
2
6 stars
1
5 stars
2
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
3
99 out of 11487%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dark Souls
Review 1 for Dark Souls
This game wrecks Sykrim.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/20/11
TG484
Location: Newtown Square, PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
After having a traumatic experience with Demon Souls, I was expecting another terrible experience with this game. After dying for about a few hours, I finally got a hang of the game and made significant progress with the main story. This game lives up to its promise, you will die and die a lot. However, that gives the game a hardcore RPG experience unlike any other video game. If you are looking for an intense RPG, then this is for you!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Dark Souls Official Strategy Guide
8.7 out of 10(12)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
21 of 40 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
witty135
 
Please wait while more information about witty135 is loaded.
Additional information about witty135 could not be loaded.
Demon's Souls
Posted 1/25/12
I don't know if you'll read this, but I have a question. You said you had a traumatic experience with Demon's Souls. I'm struggling with Demon's Souls right now, not because of the difficulty, but because I just can't get into it. From the small bit of Dark Souls I've played at a friend's, it seems I might like Dark Souls more. When you said you had a traumatic experience, does that mean you didn't like the original, but like Dark Souls? If that's the case, I think I'll try Dark Souls out.
Customer Avatar
eyternal
TX
 
Please wait while more information about eyternal is loaded.
Additional information about eyternal could not be loaded.
AWSOME game
Posted 1/18/12
Loved demons souls this is alot better and harder Not for the weak gamer invite me to be friends eyternal psn lvl12
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 2 for Dark Souls
prepare for rage
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/13/14
windwaker
Location: nelsonvill oh
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game will maky you shout thing that you didn't even know you knew. don't take it lightly you will die multiple times over and over again. good luck.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Dark Souls
NO HAND HOLDING TODAY OR EVER!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/11/14
ZxBloodClutchxZ
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is by far my favorite and most challenging game i own, and i absolutely love it. It is ridiculously hard the first and second play through, but when you get the hang of it you will love it even more, and in the meantime still have a challenge. I have been playing this game for about a year or so and still play it religiously to this day!!!! BUY IT!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Dark Souls
Best game i have ever played
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/11/14
someguyyypuertorico123
Location: Puerto Rico
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
A friend recommended this game and I tried it out. Now its my favorite game of all time. Challenging. Obscure. Masterpiece.
Clueless to Amazement
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Dark Souls
A challenging, rewarding, and immerse game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/25/13
JZ69Hayden
Location: Santa Fe
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is not a game for the impatient or the weak minded. This game not only requires you to figure out how to beat the insane bosses and mini bosses by dying over and over again, but it also forces you to piece together the story on your own. The basis of the plot is given to you via the opening intro and limited conversation with NPCs but you are forced to interpret much the story and its meanings on your own. Most games these days will hold your hand, tell you what to do, where to go, how to get there, etc. Not this one! Its up to you to figure out your path. Leveling up, upgrading weapons, finding spells, and things like this are a privileges in this game and must be earned through hard work. That being said, this is what makes this game so special. The immense challenge, the open world, the vast amount of ways to play the game, are all the reasons this game stands alone in modern video games.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Dark Souls
AWESOME
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/20/13
jvasq
Location: El Paso, TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
THIS GAME IS SOOOOOOO AWESOME!!!! WARNING: Not for those looking for an "easy" game. It is VERY punishing but VERY rewarding.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Dark Souls
EPIC MASTERPIECE
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/18/13
darksting
Location: mississippi
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
challenging wait scratch that prepare to die this game is so much fun and rewarding when you finally kill a boss pick it up you wont regret it BLIGHTTOWN will welcome you with open arms.....
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Dark Souls
Well folks, you should prepare to die!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/4/13
Rain770
Location: Sylva, NC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
If you have ever looked at the back of Dark Souls case, it says "Prepare to Die." When I first bought this game, I thought, "Heh, how hard can it be?" Two hours after I put it in my Xbox, I found myself wanting to brutally destroy my controller, and yell various obscenities at the TV. This is one of the most amazing games I have ever played, because of it's difficulty. I highly recommend trying this game at least once, it will give you a difficulty background for other games.
As a heads-up for everyone who is thinking of buying the game, or if you're very new to it, Bows are pretty useless in this game for actual fighting. I mean, if you want to sit out of a bosses reach and just whittle down his/her/it's health, then be my guest. (SPOILER: The bow is actually a necessity in a place known as Lost Izalith.)
If you're a hardcore gamer like me, who plays every game on the hardest difficulty, then you will love this game as I do. If you're a casual gamer who likes to enjoy a smooth game with little trouble, then I recommend you go play Skyrim. However, if you're a casual gamer who enjoys the occasional challenge, then I recommend Dark Souls, simply for the pleasure of it. There is nothing more satisfying than brutally impaling an enemy who killed you and made you lose all your things. This is one of the most frustrating games you can play, because when you die, you pretty much all of your progress, and you have to go back where the game last saved(Which could be the beginning of the game.) The rewards, are worth the effort. I won't spoil anything, but Dark Souls holds some of coolest weapons and armors I have seen in a RPG.
To my fellow DS players, I hope you will join me in violently cursing the Four Kings.
Thanks for reading.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dark Souls
Perfect game for a true gamer
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/4/13
xXKeveniXx
Location: Canovanas Puerto Rico
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game called Dark Souls is a game that has various strategies, is a game where you fight with demons and dark knight this game is good only for true gamers and really this game have the places combinated is not like demon souls , demon souls if you whant to enter to another place just you need to enter in a rituals like the first ritual Boletaria. I recommend this game to many people.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Dark Souls
so unforgiving
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/7/13
peachers
Location: henderson nevada
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is hard but so fun..i havent rage quit yet because i like these kind of challenges...oh and have fun levelig u because the level cap is 710...but all in alll a very rewarding and unforgiving game..no flaws really.....it just really hard
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 11 for Dark Souls
Prepare to die!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/6/13
DannyM
Location: Chicago, IL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I love this game. I've played on 9 different characters and accumulated over 300 hours of play time. At first, I almost quit because of the challenge. Then I realized I was just being an idiot and I wasn't playing the game correctly. The graphics can be iffy in the Blighttown area, but that's it. The PvP can be laggy but that's something I don't care about. You're going to die. You're going to lose a lot of "souls"(currency in the game). You think losing your 2000 souls and 1 humanity is a big deal? Try losing 99 humanity and 3.5 million souls, then you're allowed to complain. You're going to die over and over again before finally realizing "Wait this is how to beat this guy!" You're going to kill the boss. You're going to feel accomplished. You're going to get your face smashed in by the next area because of your confidence level. Don't complain about the challenge. The back of the case literally says "Prepare to die". If you aren't expecting a challenge, you're just an idiot. This game is really not for the faint of heart. It's a challenge that most people aren't used to (meaning it's harder than recruit mode on CoD). I just can't believe how many stupid people gave this game a low rating. They clearly didn't play it while expecting a challenge. Definitely would recommend this game. I'll leave you with one piece of advice: Prepare to die!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Dark Souls
prepare to buy a new controller!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/24/13
roarkmonster
Location: sanjose california
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is fun but very very very very hard. i havent had to buy a new controller yet but my brother has broken three just on this game!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Dark Souls
Takes me back...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/12/13
Emankcinon
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Both Demon's and Dark Souls take me back to the early days of gaming. The days when developers DIDN'T rely apon mindless violence and cliche servings of "adult material" to distract the consumer. A time when developers made games to challenge as well as entertain, when the game itself (rather than the developers expensive lifestyles) is what mattered. Demon's and Dark Souls are definately NOT for the shallow instant gratification types. The only entitlements here are challenge, sorrow, anguish, and death, anything else you have to earn with wit, skill, and relentless devotion.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Dark Souls
One of my favorit games
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/4/13
ExtantWisdomx2
Location: Corvalles, OR
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is amazing but I admit it is not for everyone as it can be brutally difficult at times. But that in no way stopped me from having a great time with this game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Dark Souls
Breath of fresh air
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/14/12
Anonymous
Location: Victoria,TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Definitely a breath of fresh air in a market saturated by repetitive games. Upon starting this game you will realize that you get virtually no help, which can at first turn new players off from the game, but after getting used to the game play, navigation, and combat you'll realize that this is definitely one of the best games you'll play for the PS3.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Dark Souls
Words can't even describe...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/13/12
SiLeNcEd3000
Location: California
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is the best game I have ever played. That's saying a lot. But about these people rating it down just because it's hard, that's what the "This game is perfect for hardcore gamers" section is for
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for Dark Souls
It's not hard, if you take the time to learn.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/10/12
SphinxyLove
Location: Albany, New York
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I'm a causal gamer that is increasingly getting more into games. Dark Souls is one of my bf's favorite games so I decided to try it. It is really difficult at first because it seems daunting. You should get familiar with all your buttons and controls, early on in the game. Also know how to use your menu in the top right corner. Just experiment, that's what I did. Once you get the hang of it, it's not as hard as it was in the beginning. It's a game that requires patience and you have to work for your reward. It is not self explanatory so you really will have to think, amd figure it out. But definitely give this game a try but don't give up! -Linda <3
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 18 for Dark Souls
Super Hard!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/9/12
Andrew24
Location: California
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is only for hardcore gamers. I warn you now the game is extremely hard and frustrating BUT very rewarding. I would recommend this game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Dark Souls
A Wonderful RPG
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/28/12
ILikeIt
You will either like this game or hate it. It's challenging, but with enough play and practice, you can overcome anything the game throws at you.
The game takes place in a dark fantasy realm. There are bizarre and devilish creatures to battle and environments that will kill you. The game constantly builds a sense of dread and tension.
If the dark creatures weren't bad enough, other players can invade your world for vengeance, to honor an oath or just to be hostile. Try to locate a spirit willing to help you do battle, learn to fight better or run!
Do I enjoy this game, despite all the challenges of play? Oh, yeah.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for Dark Souls
An amazing idea for a game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/9/12
Feeldin
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Such a great idea for a game and near perfect execution. Definitely takes some time and skill. Not a game you can just walk through without being touched. And in no way is everything handed to you so be prepared to work and figure things out and on top of that be prepared to die over and over and then maybe a little more after that. However a real feeling of success comes after accomplishing a task. The feeling of unity and solidarity with the other players on your server is a nice touch as well. They may be unseen but they walk the same path you do through Dark Souls.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>